Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What's with this 'Poem in a Dublin accent' thing?

We always hear of how badly Irish is taught in schools. It's english that is probably the worst offender, in terms of an outmoded, outdated curriculum. What does some lad, growing up on Sheriff Street, with a gift for wordplay and imagination, care about the 18th century hijinx of a romantic poet? Stop trying to make Shelley cool.

Why would the guy on Sheriff st care any more or less about Shelley than a guy in Killarney or Clonmel, Donegal or Drogheda, Artane or killiney? None of these people are 18C aristocrats.

I think by mentioning Sheriff st. you’ve the game away here - the idea poetry has to be “authentic” - which generally means from certain areas and not others. In this sense Sheriff st isn’t a standin for most of Dublin’s streets or even working class areas, there’s a lot of working class areas, but for some reason the inter generational poverty in Sherrif street is considered more authentic than other parts of the city or country.

A cousin of mine whose dad drove a bus down the country told he grew up believing that sheriff st or the inner city in Dublin was the working class area of Ireland and everywhere else was middle class.

Bambi wrote: »
    Examinations of the National Conscience :D:D:D I know middle class Ireland lapped up his northside nonsense like Sma from a rubber tit but leave the hypberbole to the Irish Times.

It was horse****. And I’m from the same background as Roddy Doyle, as in lower middle class, but from a working class area. The movies looked like they were filmed in Beirut after the civil war or the recent explosion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,707 ✭✭✭✭EmmetSpiceland

...there’s a lot of working class areas, but for some reason the inter generational poverty in Sherrif street is considered more authentic than other parts of the city or country.

Yeah but it’s the one area where they’d “put a green light on” you just for walking through it.

EmmetSpiceland: Oft imitated but never bettered.

“It is not blood that makes you Irish but a willingness to be part of the Irish nation” - Thomas Davis

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 308 ✭✭GypsyByName

Those of you making up your own raps here are the cringiest shower Ive come across on boards, holy jaysus!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,707 ✭✭✭Bobblehats

Those of you making up your own raps here are the cringiest shower Ive come across on boards, holy jaysus!

I’m rapping now, I’m rapping for fun
    I’m your poet laureate your number 1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 598 ✭✭✭pioneerpro

Examinations of the National Conscience :D:D:D I know middle class Ireland lapped up his northside nonsense like Sma from a rubber tit but leave the hypberbole to the Irish Times.

I'm afraid a lot of the themes in the Snapper and the Van have passed you by - never mind the whole plot of the 'rising' trilogy which starts with 'A Star Called Henry'. These are the dominant themes in Doyle's work, themes which have repeatedly been recognised and have seen him shortlisted for the Booker twice, and winning it once.

As for the eh 'Irish Times' comment - I'll stick with the literary credentials of the selectors for two of the most prestigious literary prizes on the planet, cheers.

You might find yourself subject to 'cultural cringe' as a result of your engagement with his writing - but this is the same pseudo-socialism masquerading as literary-realist criticism rubbish that's been at play in the literary scene in Ireland since Behan's 'Borstal Boy' was banned, and the reason that Joyce/Behan et al have historically made the trip to Paris.
    It was horse****. And I’m from the same background as Roddy Doyle, as in lower middle class, but from a working class area. The movies looked like they were filmed in Beirut after the civil war or the recent explosion.

Tell that to the kids and parents of Greendale Community school in Kilbarrick on whom the whole Barrystown trilogy is effectively based, I'm sure they'd love to hear your opinion. Especially given that Doyle was the English teacher in the school for 20 odd years. Movies also aren't books just for the record; discussion is about Irish writers on the senior cycle. I've very little time for the movies.
    Oh yeah, right up where with Brendan O'Carroll’s ‘The Chisellers’ and Joseph O’Connor’s ‘The Secret World of the Irish Male’.

Be disingenuous all you want. Doesn't stop the rest of the world recognising, celebrating, and awarding his work.

pioneerpro wrote: »
    Tell that to the kids and parents of Greendale Community school in Kilbarrick[sic] on whom the whole Barrystown trilogy is effectively based, I'm sure they'd love to hear your opinion. Especially given that Doyle was the English teacher in the school for 20 odd years. Movies also aren't books just for the record; discussion is about Irish writers on the senior cycle. I've very little time for the movies.

Kilbarrack isn't was exotic to me as it is to you, though, as I live close by. That school is gone, so who would I look up?

fvp4 wrote: »
    Kilbarrack isn't was exotic to me as it is to you, though, as I live close by. That school is gone, so who would I look up?

Lmfao. This is exactly what I mean. Someone discussing irish representation in literature couldn't *possibly* have lived in a working class area in the northside, never-mind gone to Greendale :D

Again, it's crass pseudo-socialism masquerading as literary-realist criticism and is probably the core reason why this 'Poem in a Dublin Accent' phenomenon is so popular. Why would aspiring authors and poets risk meeting the ire of all the backseat literary critics here by adopting an 'unauthentic' voice, or otherwise leaving them open to accusations of having 'notions'.

Thankfully the best and brightest from our literary tradition have never traditionally given two ****s about how 'Irish' they're perceived to be, or allowed class-politics to censor or otherwise manipulate their work to satisfy the cultural insecurities of people who've no interest in engaging with it. More to the point, that same demographic has (thankfully) no sway over the set texts in the senior cycle. Long may it continue.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

You might find yourself subject to 'cultural cringe' as a result of your engagement with his writing - but this is the same pseudo-socialism masquerading as literary-realist criticism rubbish that's been at play in the literary scene in Ireland since Behan's 'Borstal Boy' was banned, and the reason that Joyce/Behan et al have historically made the trip to Paris.

Coming from good working class dub stock, what makes me cringe is people who take Doyles Nortside sit-com scripts as anything more than light entertainment caricatures on a par with Ross O'Carrol Kelly books, although not as funny :D

Behan was the real McCoy. The bould Roddy is only a carpet bagger. :)

Coming from good working class dub stock...

The 'No True Scotsman' argument, right on cue.
    Doyles Nortside sit-com scripts

Ah yeah, I've forgotten that famously wry and hilarious examination of domestic abuse 'The Woman who walked into Doors'.

Or the laugh-a-minute fictional account of an oprhaned footsoldier in the Irish Citizen's Army 'A Star Called Henry'.

Or for his more recent work, what about that chuckle-inducing picture of institutional abuse 'Smile'?

Hell, if we're talking about *actual* scripts that he wrote - why not Rosie? That feel-good hit of the summer 2018 which gives a heartbreaking glimpse into economic insecurity in contemporary Ireland for the 'hotel homeless'.

Honestly, have you any exposure at all to Doyle asides from flicking past 'The Snapper' at Christmas time? It certainly doesn't seem so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,985 ✭✭✭Stovepipe

Behan was the real McCoy? Sure about that? The only thing "real" about him was his drinking and the effect it had on the people around him. Some of his writing is magical and other parts are pure dross. Hugh Leonard wrote about meeting him by chance in Dublin and having some quiet time with him and some of his real character came out; he was effectively playing the part of Brendan Behan and was stuck with it and it would kill him eventually. His audience expected a performance and that's what he gave them.

Stovepipe wrote: »
    Behan was the real McCoy? Sure about that? The only thing "real" about him was his drinking and the effect it had on the people around him. Some of his writing is magical and other parts are pure dross. Hugh Leonard wrote about meeting him by chance in Dublin and having some quiet time with him and some of his real character came out; he was effectively playing the part of Brendan Behan and was stuck with it and it would kill him eventually. His audience expected a performance and that's what he gave them.

Yeah I am. My Grand da knew the Behans long before Brendan became famous, they were all half-mad, according to him, and I'd take his word over Hugh ****ing Leonard :D. Behan played up the drunken Mick for the attention but he wasn't the first or the last dipso to do that (o hai Shane)

The 'No True Scotsman' argument, right on cue.

I wouldnt go dragging logical fallacies into it given your reliance on argumentum ab auctoritate ;)

Ah yes, that famous last refuge of the 'working class-dub stock', Latin.

Lmfao. This is exactly what I mean. Someone discussing irish representation in literature couldn't *possibly* have lived in a working class area in the northside, never-mind gone to Greendale :D

That’s a response to me saying a I know kilbarrack?

I didn’t say anything about Roddy’s background. I think his portrayals are badly written simplistic gibberish.
    Again, it's crass pseudo-socialism masquerading as literary-realist criticism and is probably the core reason why this 'Poem in a Dublin Accent' phenomenon is so popular. Why would aspiring authors and poets risk meeting the ire of all the backseat literary critics here by adopting an 'unauthentic' voice, or otherwise leaving them open to accusations of having 'notions'.

Thankfully the best and brightest from our literary tradition have never traditionally given two ****s about how 'Irish' they're perceived to be, or allowed class-politics to censor or otherwise manipulate their work to satisfy the cultural insecurities of people who've no interest in engaging with it. More to the point, that same demographic has (thankfully) no sway over the set texts in the senior cycle. Long may it continue.

You seem to be running off into the woods again with various ad hominems. I’m not a socialist. I didn’t say anything about notions.

I don’t like Doyle’s writing. It’s just not very well written. It didn’t really explain the kind of places I grew up except in a cliched style.

All of the rest of your paragraphs, and I have to say I did have to wipe virtual spittle from my screen, have nothing to do with Roddy Doyle. You are fighting an army of straw men, which has to be a fire hazard of some sort. Don’t light a match.

Ah yes, that famous last refuge of the 'working class-dub stock', Latin.

Grew up in the Ballymun flats, family from the North Inner City. I can remember the times they filmed a lot of Roddys ouevre on my road, they had to bring in extra rubbish to make the shots more "authentic", seems fitting :D

I suppose if you're the type to take the bould Roddy seriously, you could well get the impression that working class dubs are all just uneducated, happy-go -lucky gob****es.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 475 ✭✭AdrianBalboa

Roddy Doyle was a middle class teacher who was inspired by his “salt of de ert” students and farted out a series of risible novels where casual racism and rape are treated as jokes by the working classes.

He’s like Blindboy Boatclub where he assumes the mantle as the voice of the “common man” while simultaneously treating them with condescension. He hates them and thinks they’re morons.

fvp4 wrote: »
    That’s a response to me saying a I know kilbarrack?

Nope, its a response to this silly baiting:
    Kilbarrack isn't was exotic to me as it is to you

You know exactly what you were at with the implication, and you were answered. You missed the mark by a long way as well.
    I don’t like Doyle’s writing. It’s just not very well written. It didn’t really explain the kind of places I grew up except in a cliched style.

Good for you. The wider literary world would strongly disagree. Not to mention his students, his inspirations, and the source of actors for his first plays - who are all from the area - would disagree with you. This goes for his own work and the various other plays he staged in the school outside of his own stuff, like his superb production of 'Blood Brothers' I attended in 1998.

Roddy Doyle was a middle class teacher who was inspired by his “salt of de ert” students and farted out a series of risible novels where casual racism and rape are treated as jokes by the working classes.

He’s like Blindboy Boatclub where he assumes the mantle as the voice of the “common man” while simultaneously treating them with condescension. He hates them and thinks they’re morons.

Absolutely disgusting slander, and you'd be very hard pressed to find anyone who knew the man or his ability to engage as an educator to agree with you. His students absolutely loved him.

How'yre Paddy.

Arrah jaysus how're John Paul. What's the ****in story?

Nothin. C'mere, d'yeh ever heyore of that ****in coronavirus?

Coronavirus? With the ****in lemon in the bottle? A gwan outta dat.

No Charlo, the coronavirus. Our Tommy was ****in riddled with it dere over the christmas.

Ah sure you can't beat the auld christmas.

Ah stop. Isn't it lovely.

Have you ever wanted to ride a man, Deco?

7675bbc9b781a920d52e861072639c72

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,733 ✭✭✭Did you smash it

If people like it fair enough, i find it cringe. Are the original rudeboys still going?

Absolutely disgusting slander, and you'd be very hard pressed to find anyone who knew the man or his ability to engage as an educator to agree with you. His students absolutely loved him.
    I hope he was a better teacher than he is a writer or his students would have been left as illiterate as the many Charlies and John Pauls littered across his literary oeuvre.

Seriously he uses the same names over and over again. He hasn't had a new idea since 1990.

The wider literary world would strongly disagree.

So what? Would the wider literary world know enough about inner city Dublin or working class to Ireland to know his stuff is poor caricature?

As for Blindboy, lad is making a mint stealing a living, imo, so fair play to him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,722 ✭✭✭Finty Lemon

De Dublin builder
    Goes to work in white runners
    Leaves at four o'clock

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,913 ✭✭✭Pintman Paddy Losty

Roddy Doyle is a complete charlatan. The man's various "works" are just repetitious nonsense. He essentially poorly caricatured the people he encountered as a teacher. Aping the 'trew blew' dubs and making money off it.

It's laughable to suggest he is loved by his students in Kilbarrack. My cousins both went to school at the time, and Doyle had a reputation as a pompous and condescending git.

Comparing him to Behan or Joyce is ludicrous and delusional.

It's laughable to suggest he is loved by his students in Kilbarrack. My cousins both went to school at the time, and Doyle had a reputation as a pompous and condescending git.

In an school that had Patrick Potts as principal at the time (a sad google I'm afraid), the 'punk' English teacher in a leather jacket who put on community theatre was the pompous/condescending one?

The man who literally went on to set up 'Fighting Words' in the middle of town to cater specifically for nurturing and developing such young voices?
    https://www.fightingwords.ie/about-us

Sorry but you (or your 'cousins' rather) are full of ****.
    Comparing him to Behan or Joyce is ludicrous and delusional.

Comparing Internationally acclaimed and award-winning Irish authors and playwrights, who write about the concept of 'irishness' and the national consciousness is delusional? Only on boards.ie I'm afraid.

In any case, it seems that to 99% of people here that Roddy Doyle = the movie of the Commitments. Not much point in continuing a conversation if people don't acknowledge the other 40 or so entries into his work, or the sheer acclaim he has.
    • Royal Society of Literature Fellow
    • 1991 Man Booker Prize shortlist for The Van
    • 1991 BAFTA Award (Best Adapted Screenplay) for The Commitments
    • 1993 Man Booker Prize for Paddy Clarke Ha Ha Ha
    • 2009 Irish PEN Award
    • 2011 "Prix Littéraire des Jeunes Européens" for The Snapper
    • 2013 Bord Gáis Energy Irish Book Awards for The Guts

It's a sad reflection on the internalized inferiority complex that has historically plagued critical interpretations of any Irish writer writing about Irish society in anything other than a 'neutral' voice.

How'yre Paddy...

Have you ever wanted to ride a man, Deco?

Just for a bit of balance, I'll admit that this had me pissing myself laughing. Fair dues :D

These hackneyed 'oirish' social-media oriented sharing pieces have always rubbed me up the wrong way - I've no idea why he resorted to this proto-Myles na gCopaleen stuff but its obviously incredibly popular and a money spinner. Pity because I'd have to agree that it is fairly trite stuff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,698 ✭✭✭✭lawred2

They're all the go the last few years. It's either a poem or a sort of rap song thing. And they ALWAYS go on for ever. You get the impression that these sorts think their poem will have a more working class hero feel to it if they exaggerate the Dublin accent.

You get these sorts on the Tommy Tiernan show every now and then. Half way through the interview they say "oh I've a poem". You can generally tell by the intellect of the individual whether that means a real poem, or one of these gish-galloping attempts at poetry with the usual references to drugs and murder and how the rich steal from the poor. You'd feel sorry for poor Tommy just sitting there. In fairness to him though, he doesn't pretend to like it. When they finally finish he'll just say something like "where was that from then?".

Seriously hate it

And every two bit media agency jumping on the bandwagon doing the same thing

Smacks of typical middle class "hah, isn't she great with her working class accent actually able to compose some poetry! Sure how did she manage that?"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,640 ✭✭✭andekwarhola

Got so much fresh rhymes
    I'm burstin' at the seams
    Gonna tell all your Ma's
    They smell of Bourbon Creams

I think it's more of a sign of an inferiority complex to determine that someone is a good writer simply because a bunch of poncey literary luvvies in France say so, rather than coming to the conclusion yourself after reading his work (like I have).

He's a middle class spoofer who observed his working-class students like an anthropologist before transcribing their whooping, hooting and "wha's" onto the written page. He's as much a voice for the regular bloke as David Norris. At least Norris doesn't pretend to speak for the common man.

Imagine comparing Roddy Doyle to James Joyce.

LOL!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,693 ✭✭✭Hangdogroad

That fella in the My Name Is Rashers Ad from the 80s was the original Irish slam poet.

Imagine comparing Roddy Doyle to James Joyce.

LOL!

Ehm yes? JSTOR et al is full of it. Lot of people with zero academic background in literary criticism or theory taking the high moral ground here to my great amusement!

For the quickest example

Rejoyce Again: "An Encounter" with Paddy Clarke
    David Garrison
    Studies: An Irish Quarterly Review
    Vol. 93, No. 370 (Summer, 2004)

image.png

Ehm yes? JSTOR et al is full of it. Lot of people with zero academic background in literary criticism or theory taking the high moral ground here to my great amusement!

For the quickest example

David Garrison

image.png

LOL!

Just heard another of these Irish/Dublin rappers today..

Rapping about being a scumbag over trad music..

Probably the worst thing I've ever heard..

For the quickest example

David Garrison

Ah, come on now, P. You can’t be putting Roddy Doyle in the same breath as Joyce. I’ll grant you that he’s better than, that fraud, McCourt but they both stole a living fetishising, and sometimes mocking, poverty.

At least with the Paul Howard “schtick” you get a bit of a laugh and it’s not to be taken too seriously but Roddy Doyle is still languishing behind the likes of Banville, Enright or Tóibín, tedious bores that they are.

It’s fiction for those who don’t know any better. You know, the types who read “true crime” books or get obsessed about world war 2, particularly the concentration camps.

“It is not blood that makes you Irish but a willingness to be part of the Irish nation” - Thomas Davis

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,913 ✭✭✭Pintman Paddy Losty

I was at a thing Roddy Doyle did over near me a few years ago where he was brought in to unveil some graffiti that young lads did at the DART station. Commemorating the Van. It's desperately ugly thing, but I don't have a major issue with it, as good to have the young ones doing something more productive than robbing cars.

I was waiting to head in to town so just happened to be there. It was a poor showing. A handful of people, mostly like myself who just happened to be passing by. He's not well known here anymore, and was never well-liked. People don't like being mocked in the name of "art".

Shouldn't Roddy Doyle be cancelled for 'The Snapper'?

Fire that up on twitter there for the laugh..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 233 ✭✭Annd9

Re: Accents

David Balfe rockin a fairly neutral accent in 2012
    youtu.be/Ed5NX9HyHG4

new working class accent 2021
    youtube.com/watch?v=roqCzHhV8BU

Any interview I've seen he has a very neutral accent , how many singers (not sure if he is considered a rapper ? ) actually sing in their own accent ? Delores O'Riordan springs to mind but can't think of many others .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,597 ✭✭✭dan1895

Annd9 wrote: »
    Any interview I've seen he has a very neutral accent , how many singers (not sure if he is considered a rapper ? ) actually sing in their own accent ? Delores O'Riordan springs to mind but can't think of many others .

Cerys Matthews. That's about it.

Also depending on who you converse and spend time with your accent can change over time. I can't understand a Dublin mate of mines once he goes outside the pale.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,474 ✭✭✭Obvious Desperate Breakfasts

I was at a thing Roddy Doyle did over near me a few years ago where he was brought in to unveil some graffiti that young lads did at the DART station. Commemorating the Van. It's desperately ugly thing, but I don't have a major issue with it, as good to have the young ones doing something more productive than robbing cars.

I was waiting to head in to town so just happened to be there. It was a poor showing. A handful of people, mostly like myself who just happened to be passing by. He's not well known here anymore, and was never well-liked. People don't like being mocked in the name of "art".

Could have been badly publicised. It’s not really indicative of anything. You’ve extrapolated a lot there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 715 ✭✭✭Stihl waters

I've often wondered about that slow dublin inner city shìte accents they keep subjecting us to on the radio, and if its rural its either a hard Kerry accent or the creepy cork one that reminds me of some lad with a pair of paedophile glasses, theres one on now that's starts with a young boy talking about catching something in a jar which I thought sounded good but inevitably ended up with the usual dublin schtick

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,980 ✭✭✭pgj2015

Just heard another of these Irish/Dublin rappers today..

Rapping about being a scumbag over trad music..

Probably the worst thing I've ever heard..

:pac: what is it called? I am intrigued.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,640 ✭✭✭andekwarhola

That fella in the My Name Is Rashers Ad from the 80s was the original Irish slam poet.

Probably responsible for Damien Dempsey as well

pgj2015 wrote: »
    :pac: what is it called? I am intrigued.

I'll pm you..

Wouldn't want to encourage them..

Ah but they “updated” the curriculum years ago, ATNM. Out went your Donnes, Kavanaghs, Miltons, your Andrew Marvells and in came your Larkins, Heaneys, your Bolands and Durcans.
    Augustine Martin would be spinning in his grave.

Gerard Manley Hopkins made the cut but no room for Swinburne, Browning (Robert) or Tennyson. Criminal, if you ask me.
    I had a look at the curriculum – it's actually the one that's been there for nearly 20 years, they just change the reading list every year.

You only have to study 6 out of 8 poets, which means that you can usually avoid contemporary poetry altogether.

The majority of urban working-class kids are not going to be inspired by ballads about nightingales, hillwalking, or small gossiping rivers.

Even the nearly contemporary guys are as distant as John Donne. Sheriff Street Sharon finds no solace in Heaney's bog poems, I can almost guarantee. Eavan Boland's reminiscences about a childhood spent eating Ferrero Rocher in the ambassador's residence is more likely to provoke a yawn than an intelligent thought. Even Sylvia Plath's oven-side laments can wait until the kid has learned the fundamental elements if poetry.

First, give them poems that is capable of provoking any reaction — usually comedic, but violence and sex are fine too. It helps if it's local and current, but it doesn't have to be. Chaucer wrote about a lowly clerk who serenaded a woman by night with his song. After he leans in for a kiss, her boyfriend sticks his ass out the window and farts in the young man's face.
    The point isn't to reduce poetry to farting noises, but to overcome the first prejudice against poetry, which is that it is a fusty art for middle-aged bachelors whose mothers have sewn elbow-pads onto their tweed jackets.

And the second thing is to teach kids to actually write poetry. That isn't part of the curriculum, shockingly. Imagine if PE was just watching old All-Irelands. Nobody teaches PE expecting a Pele or a Lar Corbett to emerge. Same with literature, but they should know the techniques.

It's all a mess if you ask me. I'm not a teacher, but I've had great teachers, as we all have. We all know what it's like to sit through an impermeable, irrelevant literature lesson, too. It's a waste of everyone's time.

First, give them poems that is capable of provoking any reaction — usually comedic, but violence and sex are fine too. It helps if it's local and current, but it doesn't have to be. Chaucer wrote about a lowly clerk who serenaded a woman by night with his song. After he leans in for a kiss, her boyfriend sticks his ass out the window and farts in the young man's face.

Poor Nicholas gets a hot poker up the arse for that dirty trick. A little poetic “justice”, you might say.

Bawdy stuff is it, Emmet? Like that Rabelais guy - obsessed with bonking, drunkenness, flatulence, and explosive bowel movements.

Read “the tales” years ago, ADP, after watching a, particularly, risqué film adaption. I believe it was Italian but dubbed, badly, into English. Great fun altogether.

As, ATNM, mentioned above, you expect stuffed shirt, soporific, godly nonsense from such old literature but there are a number of, very, funny stories that would appeal to anyone with a sense of humour.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,008 ✭✭✭✭Beechwoodspark

Lowest common denominator stuff

Moon June spoon rhymes

Complete Chancers have hit on it as a way to get a bit of publicity.

Usually delivered in a overly strong dublin accent for authenticity.

Absolute verbal scutter

RTÉ show it because ...diversity.