If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

The trashing of our parks and beaches

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,272 ✭✭✭mrslancaster

I've made my point. Not putting up with the personal abuse I'm getting here.

Didn't think people should be driving after consuming alcohol either whether they pick up the empty smelly cans or not. :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,748 ✭✭✭whippet

Didn't think people should be driving after consuming alcohol either whether they pick up the empty smelly cans or not. :eek:

nah .... it's the wife who needs to drive home after she hauls all the kids and stuff in to the car while the husband finishes off the cans and has a piss in the dunes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,129 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

Lillyfae wrote: »
    Picnic in the back garden if yourself and your small wife aren't able to carry less back to the car than you carried away from it.

Somehow, they managed to bring all their shyte with them...unless they were forced to kill and eat their dog sled team on their expedition.

I tip my hat Paddy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,461 ✭✭✭✭Pawwed Rig

Don't call me a scumbag please.

It's extremely difficult with small kids and a wife who can't carry very much to go gathering up sacks of rubbish and packing them in to an already packed car with buggies and all the other paraphernalia.

It's a valid form of protest. It allows the council to easily identify which areas need more bins.

They would love nothing more than everyone to bring their rubbish home like mugs and completely abdicate their responsibility to provide bins.

I have small kids. Never leave rubbish behind us.

It is a scummy form of protest if that is what it actually is. More likely just scummy behaviour and a poor example for children who will grow up to copy their parents scummy behaviour and so the cycle continues

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,519 ✭✭✭Sunny Dayz

How do people not understand this. It's not about the volume of the rubbish. I normally bring a few cans with me. Fine when full and sealed. After they are drank there is stale smelly beer in them. My boot is full, I'm not putting them in the back seat with the kids where they'll spill everywhere and stink the car out of it. There should be a bin at the picnic area or beach. If there's not, there will be next time when the council see where the rubbish is piling up.

Same goes for sandwich wrappers. Fine when you're bringing them, afterwards they're covered in mayonaisse and sauces. Doesn't mix well with a car, especially on a hot day. The less said about nappies the better.

If you've dealt with nappies you've surely heard of scented nappy sacks?! Look unless you are trekking cross country for HOURS in a hot stuffy car after your picnic, your left over picnic scraps and beer cans are not going to make much of a stink or mess. Bring a bin bag, a pack of nappy sacks and a pack of wet wipes and you're sorted.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators Posts: 7,217 Mod ✭✭✭✭Sheep Shagger

Two things would fix this problem but one will never happen....

Personal responsibility
    Bring a rubbish bag

There simply is no excuse for littering, but again for any of peoples its always someone else fault (for not having enough bins).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,741 ✭✭✭Effects

After they are drank there is stale smelly beer in them. My boot is full, I'm not putting them in the back seat with the kids.

Why not just get the kids to finish the cans off for you?
    Sounds like your style anyway.

There's no need for it, you're right...apologies for earlier post about DD, none of my business & not my place to comment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 23,205 ✭✭✭✭Tell me how

Don't call me a scumbag please.

It's extremely difficult with small kids and a wife who can't carry very much to go gathering up sacks of rubbish and packing them in to an already packed car with buggies and all the other paraphernalia.

It's a valid form of protest. It allows the council to easily identify which areas need more bins.

They would love nothing more than everyone to bring their rubbish home like mugs and completely abdicate their responsibility to provide bins.

No, it isn't.

If you can carry the stuff there, you can carry the remains home.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 21,257 ✭✭✭✭Stark

No bins anywhere in Toyko and the place is spotless. Why is that? It's because the people living there weren't raised as scumbags.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 8,146 ✭✭✭plodder

Surely this is trolling but at the same time I wouldn't be surprised if there are people out there with this attitude.
    Reminds me several years ago in a breakout area at work, I saw a group of young lads (well qualified university graduates) get up and leave all their lunch rubbish at the table. So, there are people with that attitude. Someone else (Mammy probably) always cleaned up after them.

“Fanaticism is always a sign of repressed doubt” - Carl Jung

plodder wrote: »
    Reminds me several years ago in a breakout area at work, I saw a group of young lads (well qualified university graduates) get up and leave all their lunch rubbish at the table. So, there are people with that attitude. Someone else (Mammy probably) always cleaned up after them.

Look at the comments above. That guys kids are going to grow up to be scumbags aswell so not surprising that some have not the sense to tidy up after themselves.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,111 ✭✭✭PhilOssophy

We had this in our work place just pre-Covid, the grads got up and left their plates at the sink, there was half eaten chicken legs and things like that literally beside the bin.
    A very strongly worded note was left there - did not happen again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 8,146 ✭✭✭plodder

scrumqueen wrote: »
    Brought the dog to the beach last night, the rubbish on the way in littered all over the grass was saddening, but then, on the beach, in the car park everywhere smashed glass.
    I understand the odd bit of broken glass but this just smacks of wanton destructive bad behaviour. :(
    I met a chap picking litter up the Dublin mountains a while back and he said when they come across the groups of teens drinking they just tell them - please don't smash the glass as that makes it almost impossible for us to pick up after you. At the time I thought, this is nuts. But, maybe baby-steps is the only way when it's been ingrained for generations.

“Fanaticism is always a sign of repressed doubt” - Carl Jung

.... But, maybe baby-steps is the only way when it's been ingrained for generations.

We've had anti littering campaigns for years on tv and the problem is getting worse.

I regularly see black bags full of household rubbish left at the side of clothes banks. It's very clear the big bins are for clothes recycling but maybe some people don't realise that.

Maybe we need a different campaign. It would be interesting to see how other countries tackle it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 23,205 ✭✭✭✭Tell me how

We've had anti littering campaigns for years on tv and the problem is getting worse.

I regularly see black bags full of household rubbish left at the side of clothes banks. It's very clear the big bins are for clothes recycling but maybe some people don't realise that.

Maybe we need a different campaign. It would be interesting to see how other countries tackle it.

Currently in US and one thing that has struck me is how little litter there generally is on relatively rural roads in my area (rural but still with relatively high population density and traffic flow).

In Ireland, when you walk or cycle along byroads, there always seems to be a litter in the ditch beside you. Much of it faded and dirty so hard to see but still there. This is often drinks cans, wrappers, napkins etc.

Have often wondered just where so much of this comes from, there seems to be an awful lot of it, do people still throw rubbish out of car windows? Is it from a fly tipped bag that has burst open and the rubbish has been blown everywhere?

I think in Ireland everything should be focused on. Education aimed at both children and adults. More bins in public spaces. Informative display boards in these locations that show the damage littering does and also, serious fines handed out for all levels of littering whether it's throwing away a napkin, or flytipping a mattress and everything in between.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,630 ✭✭✭jrosen

How do other countries handle it?

We dont have enough public bins thats for sure but I have seen litter on the ground right next to a bin that had space. If you are someone going to a park/beach with your car and a picnic you have packed up to get there, why cant you pack up to go home?

If you finish your coffee cup/water bottle why cant people just hold onto it untill they see a bin or take it home if no bin

The litter problem is very obvious if you've travelled abroad & see how clean other places can be in comparison. The problem with giving fines is that garda or litter warden need to see it happening. Expecting some people to take their rubbish home doesn't work either.

Maybe a lot more public bins as a first step & outsource the collection to one of the waste companies who could empty more frequently than the current system, especially in popular areas. The local councils don't seem to be managing the problem at all.

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 35,250 Mod ✭✭✭✭AlmightyCushion

I've seen people drop stuff on the ground when there was a bin within less than 20m from them. Bins won't solve it. I honestly think shaming people can do a lot if enough people do it. I have been calling people out when I see them littering for a few years now and the vast majority will pick up their rubbish when I do. It is rare that any one get's abusive with you and I've never had any one threaten me or get violent over it even though there were a few that I thought would just by the look of them. If everyone done it, then a lot more people would change their attitude to littering and they would stop littering.

There is also, the knock on effect. If people see others littering, they are more likely to do it themselves. If they see a place with lots of litter about, they will be more likely to litter that area themselves. If you start shaming people into not littering and they stop doing it then it will mean others will be less likely to as well.

jrosen wrote: »
    If you are someone going to a park/beach with your car and a picnic you have packed up to get there, why cant you pack up to go home?

If you finish your coffee cup/water bottle why cant people just hold onto it untill they see a bin or take it home if no bin

It is a form of protest apparently

I've seen people drop stuff on the ground when there was a bin within less than 20m from them. Bins won't solve it. I honestly think shaming people can do a lot if enough people do it. I have been calling people out when I see them littering for a few years now and the vast majority will pick up their rubbish when I do. It is rare that any one get's abusive with you and I've never had any one threaten me or get violent over it even though there were a few that I thought would just by the look of them. If everyone done it, then a lot more people would change their attitude to littering and they would stop littering.

There is also, the knock on effect. If people see others littering, they are more likely to do it themselves. If they see a place with lots of litter about, they will be more likely to litter that area themselves. If you start shaming people into not littering and they stop doing it then it will mean others will be less likely to as well.

I've never seen anyone in the act, I've often come across stuff that was dropped maybe minutes before. The sneaky fcukers probably look around before they do it.
    I do agree that shyte attracts even more shyte like a shyte magnet. It takes a special kind of asshole to drive a good few k to an isolated forestry which seems to be a favoured spot and dump all their crap out.

jrosen wrote: »
    How do other countries handle it?

Maybe their citizens aren't selfish tightfisted assholes?

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 35,250 Mod ✭✭✭✭AlmightyCushion

I've never seen anyone in the act, I've often come across stuff that was dropped maybe minutes before. The sneaky fcukers probably look around before they do it.
    I do agree that shyte attracts even more shyte like a shyte magnet. It takes a special kind of asshole to drive a good few k to an isolated forestry which seems to be a favoured spot and dump all their crap out.

I live in the city centre, walk a lot and run a bit when the weather is nice so I would probably see it a lot more than your average person alright.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,111 ✭✭✭PhilOssophy

I don't get it at any level but even financially, by the time you've driven to this place to dump all your crap you've probably cost yourself what it would have costed to get your bin lifted in the first place.

Like I recently brought a car load of bulky stuff to my local recycling centre, it was €30 for a full car load and I filled it to the gills. Everything I brought could not be re-used, re-homed or recycled. I thought it was great and why anybody would be bothered driving to a wooded area or whatever to ultimately cost themselves (i.e. the tax payer) to get a private company to pick it up, is beyond me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,445 ✭✭✭BluePlanet

[/B]

Currently in US and one thing that has struck me is how little litter there generally is on relatively rural roads in my area (rural but still with relatively high population density and traffic flow).
    That's true.
    However many, many people in rural US are burning their combustible rubbish in those metal oil drums, a practice outlawed here.

Like I recently brought a car load of bulky stuff to my local recycling centre, it was €30 for a full car load and I filled it to the gills. Everything I brought could not be re-used, re-homed or recycled. I thought it was great and why anybody would be bothered driving to a wooded area or whatever to ultimately cost themselves (i.e. the tax payer) to get a private company to pick it up, is beyond me.

You're not a scumbag. That's your problem.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 7,505 ✭✭✭Allinall

Was in the supermarket car park yesterday evening while herself was in shopping.

Two lads arrived in a pimped up Audi and drove straight into the disabled bay.
    Hopped out of the car and went into a nearby chipper.
    Came back out, eating their grub.
    When finished, dumped the empty cartons on the ground, jumped back into the junker, and drove off.

I was itching to confront them, but was afraid I would end up in the same state as their chipper wrappers- squashed up and dumped on the path.

Allinall wrote: »
    Was in the supermarket car park yesterday evening while herself was in shopping.

Two lads arrived in a pimped up Audi and drove straight into the disabled bay.
    Hopped out of the car and went into a nearby chipper.
    Came back out, eating their grub.
    When finished, dumped the empty cartons on the ground, jumped back into the junker, and drove off.

I was itching to confront them, but was afraid I would end up in the same state as their chipper wrappers- squashed up and dumped on the path.

No consequences, no enforcement so why would they care ? People like that only respond to punitive penalties. They couldn’t care about their city or anyone else so just fine them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,190 ✭✭✭tritriagain

Back from a walk with my dog on my beautiful local beach. About 20 tents on it with lots of bags of rubbish. Will be interesting to see whats left this evening. I brought home 2 bags that were dumped in open view(as well as the poo bag from dog).

A lot of rubbish piled at top of slip which coco seem to take away. I cat understand it....if you can bring it with you, yo can bring it home with you.