Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Who is the one living person that you admire the most?

• 28-06-2021 05:36PM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,898 ✭✭✭its_steve116

Dr. Tony Attwood for me. Australian psychologist who knows his Aspergers/autism well. He's come up with some great quotes about living with the condition.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,074 ✭✭✭I see sheep

Me

"a terrible war imposed by the provisional IRA"

Our West Brit Taoiseach

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,893 ✭✭✭Montage of Feck

Jesus Christ

🙈🙉🙊

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,091 ✭✭✭lc180

Based purely on the last 15 months - the delivery driver for my local chipper

Mary Lou

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,639 ✭✭✭completedit

I really like

Daniel Kahneman

Alain De Botton

Yanis Varoufakis

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,898 ✭✭✭its_steve116

quote-i-see-people-with-asperger-s-syndrome-as-a-bright-thread-in-the-rich-tapestry-of-life-tony-attwood-54-63-22.jpg

I really like

Daniel Kahneman

Alain De Botton

Yanis Varoufakis

Good choices

Larry David.

Good call.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 303 ✭✭.42.

Elon Musk

.42. wrote: »
    Elon Musk

Another Aspergian 🙂

• Closed Accounts Posts: 173 ✭✭Henry...

Angelababy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,156 ✭✭✭furiousox

Eric Cantona.

CPL 593H

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,707 ✭✭✭✭EmmetSpiceland

Brian O’Driscoll.

EmmetSpiceland: Oft imitated but never bettered.

“It is not blood that makes you Irish but a willingness to be part of the Irish nation” - Thomas Davis

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,821 ✭✭✭✭Timberrrrrrrr

Sir David Attenborough, he started my lifelong love for nature programs.

• People who volunteer. People who don’t need to communicate the good things they do everyday across social media. People who give up their time to help others without any angles or photo ops. I admire Irelands hidden hero’s.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,374 ✭✭✭HalloweenJack

George Clinton.

Without him, there would probably be no hip hop music. I think he's the 2nd most sampled artist ever after James Brown?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,528 ✭✭✭Hamsterchops

QEII

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 672 ✭✭✭bureau2009

Duplication - see post below.

Irvin D Yalom

Writer, Emeritus Professor of Psychiatry, Psychotherapist

Nigella Lawson

Secretly, I suspect she can't really boil an egg but I ask you...." does that matter????"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,919 ✭✭✭simongurnick

An ENT surgeon here in Canada who has saved two of my children's lives.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,854 ✭✭✭✭silverharp

no particular person but someone who can be successful in different fields, it takes a bit of extra talent to be successful in different fields. An Elon Musk character is interesting

A belief in gender identity involves a level of faith as there is nothing tangible to prove its existence which, as something divorced from the physical body, is similar to the idea of a soul. - Colette Colfer

People who care for those with special needs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,427 ✭✭✭corner of hells

The blokecwho gives me advice about looking after my tropical fish , tank water quality and plants.
    He appears to know everything.

bureau2009 wrote: »
    People who care for those with special needs.

❤❤❤

Several of my siblings, but if we're talking about public figures, I'd say Mike Murphy.

The Irish Terry Wogan.

An eminently decent man, with a greater intellect than most of the Montrose broadcasters combined. He should have gotten The Late Late Show.

Several of my siblings, but if we're talking about public figures, I'd say Mike Murphy.

The Irish Terry Wogan.

An eminently decent man, with a greater intellect than most of the Montrose broadcasters combined. He should have gotten The Late Late Show.

Terry Wogan was Irish!

thatsthejoke.jpg :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,785 ✭✭✭KungPao

Probably Arnold Alois Schwarzenegger. Super smart, incredible dedication and belief, not much of an actor but is so great at the same time. Smokes cigars and eats Green Berets for breakfast.

All round legend.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,322 ✭✭✭✭branie2

Liam Neeson

KungPao wrote: »
    Probably Arnold Alois Schwarzenegger. Super smart, incredible dedication and belief, not much of an actor but is so great at the same time. Smokes cigars and eats Green Berets for breakfast.

All round legend.

He's a good role model.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,327 ✭✭✭antimatterx

Jeff Bezos. The fact he could build a company so big in ~25 years is very impressive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 293 ✭✭Fils

Tony Houlihan

branie2 wrote: »
    Liam Neeson

Really? Out of everyone in the world, Liam neeson?

He will find you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,219 ✭✭✭✭biko

My mother. Managing the family and a PhD at the same time. One of the most intelligent people I know.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,322 ✭✭✭✭branie2

Fils wrote: »
    He will find you.

And kill you!

biko wrote: »
    My mother. Managing the family and a PhD at the same time. One of the most intelligent people I know.

Is that how you got a modding job?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 89 ✭✭Covieland

Warren Buffet, great role model and teacher of investing, also donated billions to charity

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 715 ✭✭✭Stihl waters

My wife, 2 degrees and a PhD, published in several scientific journals and the most humble down to earth caring person I know, her thirst for knowledge and teaching is never ending and her work on environmental issues will hopefully pave the way for changes down the line

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,983 ✭✭✭mikemac2

Covieland wrote: »
    Warren Buffet, great role model and teacher of investing, also donated billions to charity

I read he will give his children one million dollars each and that is it

As more money may ruin them

I know his son is a guitar player and tours in a band

Buffet seems a down to earth guy. Lives in the house he bought in the 1970´s

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,111 ✭✭✭sporina

My Dad. Every breath he takes seems to be for someone else.. I actually wish he cared more about himself.. I don't have words to describe how much I adore him - I am blessed..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,489 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

Al Bundy

giphy.gif

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,707 ✭✭✭Bobblehats

I am a simple man, I see thumbs I click thumbs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,669 ✭✭✭policarp

Sister Stan or Peter Mc Verry.
    Can't decide.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 67 ✭✭ireallydontknow

The tragedy of not being able to spell one's own hero's name.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 307 ✭✭Will_I_Amnt

The responses are probably gonna be predictable, but

Bono!