Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

It's Hot

• Registered Users Posts: 910 ✭✭✭FlubberJones

Hundreds of people on Killiney beach, the parking down there was depressing to see.... Cars backed up and people in them sweating to get a space so they could actually get on the beach.

Glad I was able to walk there and even be able to nip for a swift cider in the boozer as I walked hoe

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 6,914 Mod ✭✭✭✭shesty

Unfortunately living a beach town in North Dublin has become difficult since the 5km limit was lifted.None of these towns were hugely popular or much thought of, until the last few months.Crowds started to arrive the first weekend the 5km limit was lifted, and it has only got worse.Lots of people living here have given up on the beach at weekends because it's so crowded.Love where we live but I will be glad to see the back of the crowds.Eventually.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,879 ✭✭✭ArtyM

It's gonna be hot and wet!

That's nice if you're with a lady, but it ain't no good if you're in the jungle.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

Not a fan to be had anywhere

The Mrs managed to buy a fan today thankfully.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,849 ✭✭✭buried

onlyfans.com probably encountering some serious new levels of Irish traffic

"You have disgraced yourselves again" - W. B. Yeats

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,680 ✭✭✭✭bodhrandude

Maybe you should borrow one of these beasts from A Quiet Place II, they would keep the beach nice and quiet for you. :)

If you want to get into it, you got to get out of it. (Hawkwind 1982)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,067 ✭✭✭✭fryup

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,731 ✭✭✭Montage of Feck

Delete, how does one?

🙈🙉🙊

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,631 ✭✭✭✭Akrasia

Accuweather had temperatures in Ennis today at 28c

In my house, the thermometer had the kitchen temperature as 31c and at about 7pm, the outdoor temperature reading was 32.5c in the shade

I know these are not official temperatures and my particular garden is south facing with a large patio that is a heat trap, but it was very very hot for us today

And the house is not in any way equipped for this weather. Every single window is wide open but not making much of a difference. Kids are sleeping practically naked with blankets off tonight

• Registered Users Posts: 10,117 ✭✭✭✭Junkyard Tom

It'd be great if they could could turn down the heat for sleepy-nighty-snooze time.

'They'.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,291 ✭✭✭em_cat

i flippin' hate this kind of weather, it’s not so much the sun, it’s the humidity. I dress the bed in ice packs & we’ve a dehumidifier in the bedroom, it helps but I’d still prefer it to be around 15cor a bit lower for sleeping.

Currently on the balcony watching tele from there as it’s actually cooler than inside the apartment even with all doors & windows opened.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,553 ✭✭✭Sgt Hartman

In Balbriggan the main beach is normally way too crowded in weather like this. Luckily I can find a few nice secluded beach spots if I walk north past the headland and go towards and beyond the Bremore Passage tombs. I can't understand how people can congregate in big crowds on a beach. I find it totally uncomfortable. If the mob go one way I often prefer to go the other way.

Myself and the OH took a walk around Malahide towards the beach yesterday and again it was mobbed. I looked across the estuary towards the Donabate side and it was deserted. I would have much rathered to have been over that side away from the mobs if I had a little boat to get over there :) We just went back home and chilled in the back garden with a few bottles of Corona away from the crowds.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,731 ✭✭✭Montage of Feck

I woke up sweaty and feeling like I'm hungover.

🙈🙉🙊

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 6,914 Mod ✭✭✭✭shesty

I'd have to be able to get to the beach first😁

Both of the Rush beaches, Loughshinny and Skerries all very local to us.All inaccessible and mobbed this weekend.Paddling pools it was, hate the crowds.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,003 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

Can't stand this sort of weather to be honest. Sweaty, uncomfortable and not sleeping right despite a fan going constantly.

Plus, no benefit to me as I don't have a back garden (or front garden for that matter!), and the idea of going to a massively overcrowded park (no beaches around here) doesn't appeal at all - no fear of "de virus", I just rather a bit of peace and quiet in those cases.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,496 ✭✭✭fun loving criminal

Anyone else have chocolate completely melted on them?

• Registered Users Posts: 39 BurntAsh

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=940rzFtFNbs sums the situation up nicely.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 56,778 ✭✭✭✭walshb

I love the clear blue skies and sunshine, but am always in the shade. Paddies are not designed to take intense heat/rays from the sun.

Yesterday and Saturday were propr sun days......not this crap of bits of sun here and there and clouds...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,728 ✭✭✭Badly Drunk Boy

There's a housing estate near me that has a small lake in it, but apparently a loads of fish in the 'lake' just died. I presumed it was the heat although I'm sure other reasons can't be ruled out. Is that something that happens much?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,001 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

I’m heading to the gym later this afternoon, not particularly craving a workout but the aircon there is unbelievably perfect... like a wall of pure hot though walking out..

• Registered Users Posts: 937 ✭✭✭swimming in a sea

Love this weather, wouldn't be great if it could last all the way into September. I could annoy my grandchildren about it like mine did about 1976...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,475 ✭✭✭✭ednwireland

reminds of going to singapore years ago getting of the plane into the terminal thinking this isnt bad, walked out of the main doors and a wall of heat hit me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,034 ✭✭✭Hyperbollix

Love that. Nothing says the beginning of a holiday like that wall of heat hitting you like a punch when you step out onto the tarmac after a flight.

Not a big fan of it in Ireland when you're trying to get anything done though.

• Registered Users Posts: 467 ✭✭nj27

For some Irish people like my aul wan there seems to be a twenty minute sweet spot in late May between freezin and roastin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,456 ✭✭✭✭Larbre34

Considering we have neither the electric power generation capacity, nor the water storage capacity to manage, nor the hospital capacity to cope with mass heat induced illness on top of accelerating Delta Covid, I think I speak for everyone when I say I hope it returns to 18C and semi-overcast with lots of passing showers soon and for the rest of the summer months.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,726 ✭✭✭Feisar

First they came for the socialists...

Be Warned!! - the roads are wet out there ----> with tar😬

just shows how hot it is

Outside is lovely it’s the inside that’s the problem. Too warm inside and horrible at night trying to sleep.

26 / 27 and above is a bit too warm. 22 or 23 perfect.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,835 ✭✭✭✭TheValeyard

I found keeping the blinds and curtains mostly closed during the day has greatly reduced the heat in the rooms.

All eyes on Kursk. Slava Ukraini.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 961 ✭✭✭Burt Renaults

The thing I hate most about this weather is the fact that, without a jacket, I don't have enough pockets to comfortably carry my keys, wallet, phone, etc. So I'm going around with huge bulges in my trousers, in addition to the usual huge bulge (which is caused by my huge penis).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,553 ✭✭✭Sgt Hartman

I wouldn't recommend doing that to be honest because it will encourage the build up of mould.

The thing I hate most about this weather is the fact that, without a jacket, I don't have enough pockets to comfortably carry my keys, wallet, phone, etc. So I'm going around with huge bulges in my trousers, in addition to the usual huge bulge (which is caused by my huge penis).

Invest in some cargo trousers. I find them great for holding my wallet, keys and phone without the bulges.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,141 ✭✭✭✭listermint

200 mm of external insulation in our place and attic insulation all doing its job nicely. The thermostat was reading 25 but the real feel is about 20 . It's actually pretty nice with a few Windows open during the day for fresh air. Haven't opened any during the night just the wall vents.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 800 ✭✭✭a fat guy

I'm enjoying it, leave all the windows open at night and sleeping is grand 👍

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,391 ✭✭✭olestoepoke

I'm loving the good weather, I find it hilarious when I read people complaining about it. Probably the same people who give out if we dont get a proper summer lol. I loved in NYC for many years so this heat or humidity is pretty tame to what we were used to.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,141 ✭✭✭✭listermint

New York doesn't have the same humidity as Ireland. Tbf. It's a different heat. But it's equally as terrible in its makeup specifically due to the concrete and street design.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,157 ✭✭✭Mister Vain

Great to see the young ones outside wearing feck all.

Yes for sure, the humidity in NY is the work of the devil, yes we get humidity here in Ireland but its tame in comparison. Mid July or August 96F and 95% humidity some days, I've seen older people come to visit who couldn't leave the house.

😎😜

Post edited by fryup on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,657 ✭✭✭archfi

Still seeing some gobshites dragging their dogs for a walk on hot pavements/tarmac. 😡

The issue is never the issue; the issue is always the revolution.

The Entryism process: 1) Demand access; 2) Demand accommodation; 3) Demand a seat at the table; 4) Demand to run the table; 5) Demand to run the institution; 6) Run the institution to produce more activists and policy until they run it into the ground.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,662 ✭✭✭✭Esel

Do you think their feet are being burned or something?

Not your ornery onager

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 18,726 Mod ✭✭✭✭Kimbot

In some cases the tarmac can be far too hot for dogs paws. I seen tarmac melting under foot yesterday.... I wouldnt let a dog walk on that.....

noticed the cars in one part of the car park were in shade yesterday evening . guess where my car is today !

I am loving this weather! Long may it continue.

I walk the dog after 7pm in the evening when its cooler, poor animals don't like the heat at all

and the one's stuck in cars while their dopey owners go shopping😕