Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Republic of Ireland Team 2023/24 [old thread]

• Registered Users Posts: 696 ✭✭✭Stewball

Playing Randolph is of no benefit for the future though.

We've no hope of making the WC and after this campaign ends we go into a Nations League campaign. It's a perfect time to give the 3 young keepers match experience before the next serious campaign which doesn't begin until March 2023.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,774 ✭✭✭eire4

I agree with you. For me now it should be about Bazunu and Kelleher competing for the number 1 jersey because as you rightly say this qualifying campaign is already done so it actually is the perfect time to bring through the young keepers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,989 ✭✭✭johnnyryan89

Swansea made an official approach for MK Dons manager. You really hope that Spurs and Parrott knew about this before going on loan.

Some teams interested in Coventry. Peterborough would be an interesting option with the few Irish qualified players currently there

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,274 ✭✭✭✭ben.schlomo

Wouldn't be the worst move for him in terms of the level but you'd think the Posh would be battling against relegation this season.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,793 ✭✭✭✭Francie Barrett

ffs, this is what happened to him at Ipswich. Paul Cook came in and didn't fancy him and he ended up not playing a load of games.

You hope all parties knew this was going to happen before the loan happened. The biggest positive about the loan was Russell Martin's style of play. They're currently losing to Bournemouth with Gavin Kilkenny having a good game and got himself involved in the first goal with the assist.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,711 ✭✭✭dr.kenneth noisewater

Connolly scored for Brighton and McGrath scored a peno for St Mirren the first game of the SPL

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 22,408 CMod ✭✭✭✭Pawwed Rig

email today saying 25k allowed at September internationals.

Assume that the regulars will be guaranteed a ticket but does anyone know how many season tickets were sold last time round?

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 22,408 CMod ✭✭✭✭Pawwed Rig

That's what I thought alright. Cheers

Long got an assist for Southampton.

Kilkenny was MOTM for Bournemouth, Travers got a clean sheet in the same game. Should hopefully boost his confidence.

No Irish lads in the Celtic squad for the league opener, time for them to get onto their agents I reckon.

Cullen starting for Anderlecht.

McGrath got a peno for St Mirren aswell. Good few Irish lads in starting 11

Anderlecht drew 1-1. A better display from the team and Cullen tonight, they controlled the game and had the lions share of the possession and passing, but created very few chances. Cullen was on the ball a lot more than the previous game and was able to initiate a few decent bits of attacking play that led to half chances. Very solid display, didn't do much wrong. Unfortunately the fans won't be happy with the team getting only a single point from two games. Pressure is going to increase on Kompany, next few games could be vital.

Has been playing a deeper role this season under Scott Parker, and it seems to suit him. Not sure what he's like defensively but the lad can pass it about when playing centrally rather than out on the wing.

Hopefully today's man of the match performance gets him a start in the league. Also a clean sheet for Travers.

Similar to Ronan last season we could see him deployed as a deep lying playmaker. I can't see it happening but would be more beneficial if the 21s switched formations like the seniors to get the best out of everyone rather than pushing lads out wide or into full back for the sake of it.

While it was only a post season camp Duffy did look a lot more confident and even against Hungary he wasn't hoofing for the sake of hoofing but was playing some good long balls forward especially into space out wide. If the introduction of David Forde into the coaching team has had a positive effect on Duffy then fair play to Kenny for the appointment.

Big thing for Duffy is how the wing backs are performing as that will decide where Dan Burn and Joel Veltman mostly play next season.

While it's Alan Nixen and the sun, Obafemi is once again being linked with Blackburn and they're reporting that Southampton have put a 6m price tag on Obafemi who has a year left on his contract.

Derby are fucked, and it's a pity they didn't go down. None of their trialists played today so there's a good chance most of those lads will be starting next weekend and probably most the season. Gonna be a rough season for our lads there.

Russell Martin is officially Swansea's new manager. Hope Parrott and Spurs knew this was happening because Martin's was the reason that MK Dons looked decent.

Nice pre-season goal for Curtis. I know he's not done it for Ireland, but I don't think he should be written off just yet.

https://twitter.com/RepTracker/status/1421559152501997573

Moyes has apparently given the green light for Coventry to go out on loan to Peterborough. This would be a fantastic move for him. Peterborough played excellent football last season and there's a decent chance they will have an Irish midfield three of Taylor, Coventry and Szmodics in the number 10 role.

https://twitter.com/Efl72Hub/status/1422106230600962050

Afolabi on season loan to Ayr, hopefully he can use it to kick-start his career.

https://twitter.com/AyrUnitedFC/status/1422218271592488960

Man should bite the bullet and just return to Ireland. It's where he's going to end up anyway when his contract expires in two years. He's already playing the equivalent of non league football in the UK. Don't overstay your welcome like others have before you. Get home and try to salvage your career closer to home.

Similar I think Coffey should just remain here now that he's back playing at home.

Agreed. I just do not see Afolabi or Coffey or for that matter Connell making the break through at Celtic. Time for them to look elsewhere most likely. O'Connor probably will join that list but I think there is maybe some hope for him still. Although he needs a good loan deal for now.

He signed a contract extension last year to 2023 with a bump in wages. He is probably on £2-3k a week quite easily I'd say. He'd be crackers to walk away from that to come back to Ireland and probably earn half that amount and only get a 1 year deal.

Ya it's hard to argue with that. If he feels he's going to drop down the leagues in future or come home then he's wise to just stay in contract and make as much as he can while he can.

Elbouzedi made his starting debut for AIK this evening, I watched and he had a really decent game. Played a very wide right wing position and had the beating of his full back on several occasions. Showed good pace and athleticism to get up and down the wing and had a few nice tricks in the bag to help beat his man. Nearly got a goal too in the second half, after connecting with a tricky ball from left wing to get a shot off that was beaten away by the 'keeper.

The Allsvenskan is a good stepping stone into some of Europe's bigger leagues so a good season and a half or two there and he could earn a decent move.

Find a team that pays that where he will play then

James McCarthy signs for Celtic. Good move for him as the schedule will be lighter.

Edit:

Didn't see that it is a four year contract. Probably the main reason he moved. Hope they got him on pay as play or a low weekly salary with fees to make up the rest when he plays.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,711 ✭✭✭dr.kenneth noisewater

4 year deal seems crazy for a player with his injury record but hopefully it works out for him

Happy enough with Celtic for McCarthy. A few less games a season, the intensity should drop a little, hopefully he see less issues with his fitness this season. If he can stay fit, the big question is whether he is still motivated to play for Ireland. I guess we will know that next month.

Will Ferry joins Crawley Town on loan after signing a two year extension to his contract that had 12 months remaining.

Hopefully not. Depends on whether you're more worried about a scottish teams finances or an Irish players wellbeing. I hope he got top dollar from them

Idah in the goals again tonight. Norwich don't look to be in any rush to bring in offensive reinforcements.

Pity it's away and not home to Newcastle. Though if Newcastle bring last season's form into this season Norwich should be more than capable of the win. Good chance for Idah to get some minutes before September.

Talk that they are going to spend 10million on Christos Tzolis

His second goal was a peach. Dan Crowley was playing as a trialist for Gillingham. Has been on trial with a few league one clubs.

Speaking of young midfielders, it's not looking good for Molumby whose still nowhere near a loan move, not even some rumours like there is with Coventry. Has been playing with Brightons U23s, which Andrew Moran has been impressing with but looks like Molumby isn't even in the managers plans.

Fantastic result last night for Bohs with Irish U21 players Andy Lyons, Dawson Devoy, and Ross Tierney all starting in the 2-1. Yet Irish TV didn't feel the need to show last night's games, or any games so far.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,938 ✭✭✭✭Kermit.de.frog

Everytime a promising Irish "generation" comes along it inevitably falls by the wayside and they don't go on to achieve at a high level in their own careers. The only time it actually worked to some extent was when Robbie Keane, Damien Duff and a couple of others came through in the late 90's. That's really the only time I think that a generation came through the junior Irish ranks and delivered. Pre and post that it was nabbing British players mostly to make up big deficits in our squads.

I don't see much to suggest this time is any different.

In fact I really think Irish players need to start to look to the continent rather than Britain as the natural next step for their careers. Because it ain't worked for us for 20 years for whatever reason.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,328 ✭✭✭Did you smash it

i’m unaware of any other generation of Irish players that were lauded as youngsters in Ireland other than the Keane Duff generation.

I agree, not as much. But every few years there is a few decent looking players coming through and the forlorn hopes resurface - "maybe this time"... I think not this time either.

Maybe they just aren't good enough at the end of the day.

Whether emerging Irish players are getting a fair crack in England is a question I do think deserves some attention in some cases.

And if the generation of players that came through in the late 90s were Connolly and Idah's age again they'd struggle.

We really only changed up how we do things at schoolboy level about 8 years ago, and even then most schoolboy leagues just continued to do whatever they wanted.

You can't produce another top class player while your way of doing things still screams early 2000s, and countries we class as minnows have better structures in place for young players to reach their potential.

Robbie Keane would probably have gotten his first taste of professional training when he moved to England, the same can be said for Connolly, Idah, and Parrott.

100% agree. It's why Luxembourg can come here and get a deserved victory. It's really depressing to see so many fans lauding Luxembourg (deserved) and essentially letting our team off the hook for a result that should have initiated serious soul searching and seen at least the manager go. It just reconfirmed where we stand in the world of football atm which is absolutely no where.

It's hard to see a way out atm.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,909 ✭✭✭Coillte_Bhoy

What? Less games than he has actually being playing in recent seasons? 🙄

Why do you think his schedule will be lighter? Celtic typically play a crazy number of games over the course of a season more then even the teams in the epl in Europe.

No question the move is a gamble but I am guessing that the length of contract was a big part of how Celtic persuaded him to sign as I am sure he could have got higher wages elsewhere.

SPL has already kicked off and will probably finish mid may, the championship will kick off this weekend and will finish first weekend in may. And no disrespect but overall the SPL is a weaker league and let's Celtic manage him better than teams in England would have done.

Also don't believe he would have gotten higher wages elsewhere. Pre covid yeah, but what team is gonna give good wages to a lad that's played the equivalent of 42 games for his club(s) since Euro 2016. Even Newcastle who gave Hendrick a pay rise and a long term contract weren't even linked with McCarthy.

If Celtic offered a two year contract they'd have probably still been his best option IMO.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,159 ✭✭✭✭pjohnson

Long and Obafemi are 2/3 of Southampton's strikeforce so they should get plenty of minutes.

The spfl have played 1 game prior to McCarthy's arrival hardly a big difference. Celtic play more games then epl teams easily and at least as many if not more then championship sides. No question the spfl is a lower level standard wise but less games depends on how they rotate Soro in the holding spot. Hopefully Soro does well enough to get 20 or so starts over the season that would leave McCarthy getting getting 35 odd starts. In that scenario it would be less games but time will tell.

As for wages sure covid has dampened teams finances but still the gap between what a club like Celtic can pay and even many Championship sides is crazy given the difference in TV income and an epl team its not even up for discussion. As an example when Tierney left Celtic for Arsenal he quadrupled his weekly wages. Wages were the stumbling block for Celtic trying to resign Forster from Southampton hardly a big epl side but the wages gap was enormous. Hart who did just sign has had to take a more then 100% wage cut to make the deal work for him to sign with Celtic for 15k week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,159 ✭✭✭✭pjohnson

What makes anyone think McCarthy would manage more than 25 games a season?