Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Murder at the Cottage | Sky

• Registered Users Posts: 89 ✭✭CowgirlBoots

I don't know. That's a question for them. Maybe they didn't speak with the right person and later they did.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,248 ✭✭✭nc6000

Maybe that's it but is there anything related to this whole episode which make the Gardai look good? I have no doubt that they have no idea what happened to the gate.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,514 ✭✭✭MoonUnit75

That's not quite what's in the report though. GSOC give a general summary regarding all missing items and noted that they requested information on when the items were first noticed to be missing and what steps had been taken to locate them. Then a shortlist of missing items is given which mentions the gate. It does not say what the specific response was regarding the gate.

• Registered Users Posts: 310 ✭✭drumm23

hardly

I think everybody accepts that Bailey's a reasonable suspect but Moonunit is actually, and ironically, showing exactly how the Gards got it so wrong with the same "sure it must have been him" attitude .... things like my point about the scratches: if he had scratches from the murder night, then ergo he didn't wear gloves, which has implications - but Moonunit invents wooly gloves that wipe the briars clean of any DNA - after being pierced to scratch the skin - and leave no wool fibres on said briars... Is this possible? Sure. But it's highly unlikely and you wouldn't want to take it as your base case scenario if you have any balanced interest in trying to figure out what's happened.

Similarly - if Bailey did it and had to wash himself off, then he most probably didn't wade into the sea in late December 😶 - he went back to "the studio", which is likely plumbed, and cleaned up there before bringing Jules her coffee in the morning - this is far more likely than the swim in the sea - but Moonunit's is weirdly besotted with Marie Farrell's peculiar "sightings" so has to try to fit in with them. Ian Bailey could have committed this crime without ever being seen anywhere by Marie Farrell - just like "the scratches" - she should be ignored.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,346 ✭✭✭dublin49

I think you are probably right about not obtaining a conviction,but the information revealed on here and elsewhere suggests to me IB is far and away the most likely person responsible for the crime.There's just too many aspects that point to his guilt without there being a silver bullet piece of evidence.Theres probably 25 to 30 anomalies around Baileys involvement and for me I dont think they have been explained away.

I agree with what you are saying that from what we know he is the most likely suspect, but that in itself just proves that we know damn all about the case.

There are so many other suspects just ignored by the investigation.

Bailey Is the only suspect in town here.

Because the investigators didn't even try to do their job.

I think everybody accepts that Bailey's a reasonable suspect but Moonunit is actually, and ironically, showing exactly how the Gards got it so wrong with the same "sure it must have been him" attitude .... things like my point about the scratches: if he had scratches from the murder night, then ergo he didn't wear gloves, which has implications - but Moonunit invents wooly gloves that wipe the briars clean of any DNA - after being pierced to scratch the skin - and leave no wool fibres on said briars... Is this possible? Sure. But it's highly unlikely and you wouldn't want to take it as your base case scenario if you have any balanced interest in trying to figure out what's happened.

No fibres or DNA from either the victim or the perpetrator appear to have been detected on the thorns. Of course, that doesn't mean they weren't there immediately after the murder.

The killer could have worn woollen gloves which would have left no fingerprints while allowing the thorns to scratch the skin. On the other hand, they might not have worn gloves, there would be no prints preserved on the stone or the block and the sharp instrument that caused wounds to the back of her head and hands was entirely missing.

Similarly - if Bailey did it and had to wash himself off, then he most probably didn't wade into the sea in late December 😶 - he went back to "the studio", which is likely plumbed, and cleaned up there before bringing Jules her coffee in the morning - this is far more likely than the swim in the sea - but Moonunit's is weirdly besotted with Marie Farrell's peculiar "sightings" so has to try to fit in with them. Ian Bailey could have committed this crime without ever being seen anywhere by Marie Farrell - just like "the scratches" - she should be ignored.

Why bring bloodstained clothes home though? Both IB and JT's statements say the two eldest daughters had themselves not come home from socialising when they arrived back from the Galley pub. There's the possibility someone arriving back or leaving after dropping someone home could have spotted bloodstained clothes or gone to stay in the studio.

Five or six witnesses saw Ian Bailey playing music with his sleeves rolled up, spoke to him or served him several times at the well lit bar hours before the murder and none of them saw the multiple, obvious scratches up to the elbows that practically everyone who had dealings with him saw after the murder. That's very, very hard to explain away.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,065 ✭✭✭tibruit

I don`t think the killer had to be wearing gloves. You are looking back to 1996 but thinking in terms of current evidence gathering techniques. The most likely scenario is that the killer drove to the scene. In Bailey`s case he couldn`t really go home with a bloodstained car interior because he would have explaining to do. Seems to me that the simplest solution was to walk down to the bridge and give himself a good wash.

What are the current theories as to WHY the gate was open when it was usually kept closed?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,339 ✭✭✭TheW1zard

Was there any blood found in Jules' car?

• Registered Users Posts: 79 ✭✭Polly701

If there had been any blood found in Jules car the Guards would have (rightly) made a huge deal of it. So, no there was not. I don't think though that they would have looked at the car until when they arrested him 6 weeks later. But i don't believe that Jules, her daughters and the Italian student would have stayed quiet about blood in the car.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,339 ✭✭✭TheW1zard

Seems odd there was no blood in the car if he did it.

the killer didn't have to be wearing gloves - but it helps explain the total lack of fingerprints anywhere (not a recent scientific advance) and the lack of blood/skin etc around the briars - no external DNA on her body etc. etc.

like, if you think IB did it, then you have to have some explanations for the total lack of any forensic evidence pointing to him - and gloves helps that a small bit but it makes the "scratches" thing look a bit contrary - and, without any pictures of these scratches (thanks - you lazy fcukers), I think you probably need to ignore them

• Registered Users Posts: 3,695 ✭✭✭chooseusername

no idea - important question ...

Gate was not usually kept closed.

Sophie liked to have it closed for security, but neighbours preferred to leave it open.

Neighbours may have been last through the gate.

This had caused some friction between them in the past.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,958 ✭✭✭Deeec

How do we know the gate was open and not closed when the killer arrived at the gate

The smudges of blood might be easier to explain if the gate was closed and Sophie was trying to get past it. The gate was beyond where the body was found so either Sophie still tried to get over the gate and into the field beyond (rather than being outrun on the track) but then tried to get over the brambles and barbed wire instead, or the killer, for some unknown reason, brushed off or handled the open gate in several places after the killing.

Maybe Sophie was just so dazed and disorientated after the initial attack outside the house that she had no idea where she was going.

I don't think the scratches can be discounted though. Everything else about the killing seems completely unplanned and messy, a 'contract killer' wouldn't let her get all the way from the house down to the gate, screaming her head off. So either the killer just happened to be wearing heavy duty garden gloves in the middle of the night or they would have had scratches on their hands.

No one else in the small community was noted for having any kind of scratches on their hands. There's no accounts of anyone being mysteriously missing for several days either. The gardai were at the Christmas swim looking for people who might have similar cuts or scratches so even at the earliest stages they were aware the killer must have gotten similar scratches and cuts to Sophie. It's just unfortunate that there was one aggressive christmas tree and spiteful turkey that very same year.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,715 ✭✭✭ShamNNspace

Gemma O Doherty was a decent reporter when she wrote those articles posing pertinent questions which have never been answered, her reports on the Niall molloy murder and the penalty points craic were also on the money, so much so that she lost her job and went a bit off the rails due her work on one of those subjects

the Gards were on the look out for scratches at the swim? Then took not one single picture of Bailey's hands. Mmmmmkay.

We don't. I read somewhere they determined or thought the gate was most likely open at the time of the murder. One of the docs mentions Shirley Foster thought it unusual for the gate to be open before she noticed the body laying on the ground. The blood was only on one side - the side facing the lane.

• Registered Users Posts: 29,424 ✭✭✭✭odyssey06

As the DPP report concludes they were scratches not cuts from briar thorns. If he had gotten briar cuts they would not have healed so quickly and Bailey would have left trace evidence of blood hair fibres at the briars at the scene.

The scratches are a red herring. The Guards didnt even take a photo of them or ask for an expert opinion of them when visible. Bailey made no attempt to conceal the scratches in the days following the murder and voluntarily provided forensic samples.

It is reasonable to conclude as the DPP has done that the scratches on Bailey have no connectiom to the murder.

"To follow knowledge like a sinking star..." (Tennyson's Ulysses)

I think people underestimate the difficulty in getting photos of someone who is not under arrest or been cautioned.

Maybe they could take a 'sneaky' photo, would that be admissible? How could they prove the photo was taken when they said it was? They could ask 'can you just stand there and hold your hands up to your face so we can get photos of those scratches' and would probably be told to take a long run off a short pier. A photograph of a pair of hands taken covertly would not be evidence unless you could clearly identify the person, so it would have to be a half-length photograph so his face could be seen. That would mean the scratches would be tiny in the photo.

As far as I can see, gardai can take your photograph without your consent after you have been arrested. To be arrested, the gardai must have a reasonable suspicion you were responsible for a crime. IB would have had an extremely strong case for wrongful arrest if he was only arrested to take photos of the scratches on his hands. Remember, at the time he had a 'rock solid' alibi of being at home in bed with Jules.

They did seize videos of the Christmas swim to see if there was anything evidential in them.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,958 ✭✭✭Deeec

She could have went down to open the gate for somebody. Hence why she had time to put on her boots. I wonder what was said in that final phone call from her husband that night. He could have told her to expect a surprise visitor at x time and to open the gate for them. Only it wasnt the surprise visitor she expected when she got to the gate. The fact she had time to put on boots always puzzled me.

Very little seemed to happen at the house. It all seemed to have happened at the gate. There is no way she was running from the house to flee an attacker if she had time to put on her boots.

Where exactly should we find fingerprints? The initial murder weapon is missing. The only place I can think of is the door handle where blood was evident but the killer might not be responsible for that.

If the lack of forensic evidence rules out Bailey, then surely it rules out everybody else as well?

I think the DPP is wrong about this. Garda testimony said that the scratches left "scabs". There are no thorns on Xmas trees. Six witnesses gave testimony about the night before the murder when Bailey played the Bodhran and scratches should have been evident. Five of them saw no scratches, one noticed some marks on one hand. This is what one might expect after cutting down an Xmas tree. After the murder, the Italian visitor saw scratches on his hands that she thought could have been made by thorns, and Gardaí noted scratches with scabs.

sorry, my phrasing there is poor: I don't think it rules him out at all; I think it means you have to figure out how the crime happens while leaving no forensics - Bailey or AN Other; so, for me, gloves are likely - and IB's scratches are a distraction; no blood leaving the scene - perhaps supportive that a car was used? etc

they could not take photos he was not arrested

That is nonsense. no one would walk 200 yards on a freezing night in bed wear to meet visitor at the gate. If a visitor was to call mentioned by husband they would go to the door

That sounds like the cops all right a sneaky photo of someone not under arrest, be laughed at so loud they would hear it 100 yards from the court house. The issue in previous post was that Jules arrest was never determined legal by a criminal court. You said it was deemed legal but only by GSOC which is just a joke. When i challenged that you changed to talking about Bailey's arrest. you keep changing your arguments and changing the goal posts to suit your one way narrative