Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Liverpool FC Team Talk, Gossip, Rumours 2024/25

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 33,275 CMod ✭✭✭✭ShamoBuc

1800 rail seating installed at the back of the Kop, a further 6000- lower Anfield Road- will be done by our first home game.

Apparently 8 Prem clubs are trailing it.

https://www.thisisanfield.com/2021/08/liverpool-fc-install-rail-seating-anfield/?fbclid=IwAR331hOVFljMmkF3_Ox2zsBk-Id8-CO4ax9ast4mI8k3qCBRnYfVZa2GZz0

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,504 ✭✭✭✭martyos121

Surely I’m not the only half expecting (okay, not really) City to end up with Grealish, Kane, Messi and get Aguero back now as a result of this Barca debacle. If they only just stopped pretending they didn’t have the money to do it, there’d be little standing in their way tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,881 ✭✭✭passatman86

Id say Aguero is kicking himself joining Barca to play with his best mate Messi, only for Messi to not re-sign

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,000 ✭✭✭Pauliedragon

The rumours are he's got his lawyers looking for way out of his Barca contract.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 60,930 ✭✭✭✭Agent Coulson

Thaigo is saying he is aiming to be fit for the first game of the season.

Is Hendo back?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,580 ✭✭✭✭Riesen_Meal

Hendo been back training in Liverpool Klopp said post match the other day...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,225 ✭✭✭marklazarcovic

If sterling is available,and we don't sign him,one of our rivals will... hypothetical of course

• Registered Users Posts: 2,374 ✭✭✭robwen

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,688 ✭✭✭✭Muahahaha

The overhaul needs to happen gradually. For example, you can’t find yourself in a position where you are trying to replace all the front three around the same time.

From memory this line was reported at the time Klopp signed his contract extension and then was also repeated last summer as well when we added Jota. Adding no one this summer would seem to suggest the plan is off schedule, either because of a lack of money or a specific target not being available. Its a bit worrying pushing out the next transfer to 2022, thats an entire season where we could have had an understudy learning off Mane and Salah in training and being a good back up in the event of injuries

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,042 ✭✭✭✭~Rebel~

Adding no one this summer would seem to suggest the plan is off schedule

They did spend over 30 million on a top young CB...

Seems like that was the transfer we could make immediately regardless of outgoings, but that the next ones will require thinning out an increasingly bloated squad first.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,490 ✭✭✭✭BorneTobyWilde

For the last 3 summers we've been told '' next summer is when we will spend 250m on players''

The Club who cried wolf

Reality is every window is we sell, and buy bench warmers

I fully expect that come the end of this window we'll have made back the 36m we paid for Konate

£110m spent on three players who are and will be more than bench warmers have been bought in Jota, Thaigo & Konate in the last two summers and this window isn't closed yet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,396 ✭✭✭✭TitianGerm

Do you have a quote from the club were they've said we'll spend 250m on players?

Facts are we've a average net spend of 18m a year for last 6 years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,504 ✭✭✭✭martyos121

Nearly had a heart attack at 38 seconds when I thought I spotted Alberto Moreno back with the squad.

Thankfully it was just Harvey Elliot with a new hairstyle. 😂

Ah but we sold 75m worth of players in last 12 months.

• Registered Users Posts: 925 ✭✭✭JPup

In the last five years the club has spent big on the stadium and training ground, brought our wage bill (much more correlated with league position than transfer spend) on a par with the top clubs in the league and built up a championship winning squad. All while keeping the finances on a good footing. Don’t see how there can be any grounds for complaint.

So what?

We improved the squad by selling those players.

Yea no complaints. No one wants to be Barca

You say that as if for all of those 3 summers we didn't have squads competing for leagues and champions leagues, winning both in the process...

You only want spending to count if the money magically appeared from somewhere instead of coming in through operating like a normal business? Those player sales didn't weaken the squad - that's, like, the absolute ideal scenario.

The squad as it stands, basically needs nothing. We do of course need to continue the work of building for the longer term, but we still have another year or two to accomplish that before it becomes a real problem.

Ultimately, the club have invested heavily but smartly in a balance of the playing squad, wages, training infrastructure, and matchday infrastructure.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,417 ✭✭✭.G.

Which is the prudent way to run a club when you aren't owned by a country. We spend what we earn. The accounts show that year on year. The owners have never taken a penny out but also don't put a penny in. I'm OK with that.

There was loads of moaning the summer before we won the league too. Some people are never happy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,791 ✭✭✭✭Charlie19

Two CL final appearances and the holy grail of a PL title in the last four years.

FSG can run the club whatever way they want.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,392 ✭✭✭GiftofGab

I'm not complaining about way the club is run, we're very much on the right track. But I do hope that when the right player comes along, that we have a real go at signing them, Mbappe, Haaland. With the La Liga cap Mbappe and Haaland are impossible to sign for Barca and Real at the moment, but not for frugal Liverpool, Mbappe on a free in 5 months is something we should be trying for, pay him 25m a year for 4 years.

I think the wage structure is grand at the moment and I wouldn't be interested in players on stupid money but the likes of Mbappe, Haaland and even Virgil should have been looked at and gambled on before their last transfer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,337 ✭✭✭✭monkey9

In fairness, we have a good record over the last few seasons of buying the 'right player'. The likes of Mbappe and Haaland are almost ready made superstars that Liverpool have never been in for. I like the PSG model of spending what we earn.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,710 ✭✭✭54and56

And who hired (or gave the ok) to hire Klopp?

If FSG had hired a complete disaster of a manager who'd gotten us to 5th, 7th & 6th over the last 3 years would you be saying "X is the man to blame not FSG"?

Would you fcuk!!

For people like you owners are to blame when things go wrong and others deserve the credit when things are good.

Ill informed and/or ignorant hurling from the ditch at its finest :-(

Post edited by 54and56 on

Obviously it’s both. They went and got him against the odds. They gave him the best scouting analytics out there. They’ve backed him with building his support staff and playing staff, and they’ve stayed largely out of his way. They’ve built long term too, with both our physical and technical infrastructures leaps and bounds beyond what they were when they arrived. Oh, and they also saved the club from going to the fcking’ wall!

They’ve made some stupid PR fck ups, but have apologised and rolled back every time there was a reaction. Tbh, looking around the league i’m not sure there’s an ownership I’d prefer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,615 ✭✭✭Damien360

Agreed. I would add to that. Too many people forget that Gillet and Hicks brought Liverpool within weeks of administration/bankruptcy. Without FSG, we would have been handed the same fate as Leeds Utd.

The current FFP rules or lack of them make a mockery of financial prudence. La Liga is attempting to apply their own rules to Barca and Real in a simple attempt to prevent collapse.

Without Sky’s money, the PL is in trouble. There is no guarantees that money will continue long into the future. Subscribers will only pay so much and PL clubs will want more and more. Something has to give.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,417 ✭✭✭.G.

Squad places. Our squad is full. We can't sign other players as the squad is full. We have exactly the same problems as our rivals do in that we have to get rid of our shite before we can add to the squad. People interpret that as having no money and maybe we don't but the facts are we can't sign any foreign players until we have a squad space free to put them in.

Or maybe we should just pay lads to sit in the ressies and keep buying players for the craic.

• Registered Users Posts: 925 ✭✭✭JPup

Almost no chance we sign Mbappe or Haaland. Mbappe looks like he’ll end up at Real and Haaland will probably end up at one of the Manchester clubs is my guess.

Our strategy under FSG the last few years has been to target players in the £40-70m zone with the potential to increase in value. I can’t see us buying in the £100m plus market unless something drastic happens like someone bidding Coutinho money for Salah.

I like the intention, but the reality is that 25m a year wages wouldn’t come close to getting Mbappe. That would only be a hair above what he’s on now. His next wage contract will be closer to 42m a year. Haaland will be the same.

Those are just the sorts of players and terms we’ve never been in for, and never will be in for.

We could just be saving our money for that one big outlay on Mbappe, as FSG would see it as an investment

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,081 ✭✭✭Fromvert

Whoever gets Mbappe is not getting him for free if he runs his contract down. He's going to be getting his transfer value (or at least the majority of it) built into his contract. Large signing bonus, loyalty bonuses, and wages. And I think we'll be seeing more of it, why let clubs get the money when you can very likely get someone to insure you in case of a career ender (very rare) for a small (in comparison but still millions) fee.

The biggest stars should sign short term deals, 2-3 years, insure themselves against a disaster and move if they feel like it every few years. Or you go the Haaland route and force in a low (in comparison to his worth) get out clause.

Mbappe on a free he would be looking at a minimum of 500k a week.

Minimum… he’s thought to have 800k on the table to stay with PSG.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,688 ✭✭✭✭Muahahaha

Without Sky’s money, the PL is in trouble. There is no guarantees that money will continue long into the future. Subscribers will only pay so much and PL clubs will want more and more. Something has to give.

This often gets said, that at some stage the PL bubble has to burst and most fans wonder why it hasnt yet. But I read an interesting article a few months back that said there is still plenty of growth left in subscribers worldwide. Its central example was that China has 180 million Premier League fans and the EPL allowed them to watch it on free to air tv for many years in order to get them hooked. Now that they're hooked pay tv and streaming services have entered the equation.

Its still early days but in China you get 3 or 4 free PL games per week from a streamer and then they have to pay for the other six games with the top teams playing. Eventually there will be no free games and they'll start upping the subscription prices as China gets wealthier which it is at a ferocious pace. The sub prices wont get as high as here but they dont need to because of the much bigger population. But that aside the article said what will really blow things up will be the first Chinese player to play for a top PL club, at that point subscriber numbers will explode. They already saw this effect when a Chinese basketball player made the NBA in the US, he drove the popularity of the sport to huge levels right across China. The same effect is already in play in South Korea right now where millions tune in to Spurs games just to watch Son.

In the US there is similar growth in tv subs expected, the PL is only now beginning to really take off there. It has become popular with the under 30s with many of them now following it over NFL or basketball. Between there and Asia there is lots of growth still to come. It will all end up driving tv money, players wages and transfer fees even higher than what they are now. It makes a lot of sense when you look at the revenues of the NFL ($13bn) and Major League baseball ($10bn) compared to the PL on only $5.2bn at the moment. Football is easily more popular globally than NFL or baseball and PL is the most popular league worldwide. Theres no reason why the PL wont some day challenge the NFL as the highest revenue generating league in the world. As long as they continue to grow it globally the tv money can only go one way. Theres been talk of the PL bubble bursting for year after year after year now but I think it is just lazy journalism when you look at it objectively.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,392 ✭✭✭GiftofGab

That would have a domino on the rest of the team's salary. Don't want someone like that at the club.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,954 ✭✭✭garra

A lot of talk about marquee signings as per the time of year. Hope the club are looking at the next big things and not the current big things, the Grealishes & Sanchos of 2 years ago. I have faith in the recruitment department. I don't lose sleep about price tags, just buy hungry talent - it's served us well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,199 ✭✭✭Talisman

West Ham have allegedly opened talks to sign Origi and Philips. If true it could be a perfect move for both players.

He just signed a new contract with Sporting, but I’d love us to move for Pedro Gonçalves. Just turned 23 and scoring at an incredible rate as a wide player. Already has 3 in two games this season.

Not sure it would, Milner in reality was a 50,000 a week player, but on a free he was paid, not sure, but 130k? No one in the squad complained, even though they played more and were far younger.

So if Mbappe was to sign for us in 5 months on a free, we could pay him more than what he's on currently. After tax Mbappe only takes home 10m a year at PSG, but those figures are different everywhere you look.

In Premier league contracts are clear as day, and they are after tax, while in France they can say '' we'll pay Mbappe 500k a week'', and leave out the fact it's before many taxes and he ends up with 180k in the pocket

To an extent, but that only really applies to lads on their first contract. Anyone renewing is effectively in the same position as a new free-transfer. Those players choice is literally to sign on for longer or leave for free. So you have to be competitive towards what they'll get elsewhere. Someone like Mo isn't going to be happy extending his contract on 250k, instead of leaving on a free, while a guy comes in who left elsewhere and gets 500k+. That sort of disparity disincentivizes our biggest players from extending.

Also, I'm pretty sure UK contracts are reported as gross, not net. And France's super high tax bracket has been gone for a while - their highest bracket now is 45%.

Thiago and Milner both came in as league-winning free transfers with a view to being key midfielders - and while they got high wages, they still fit into an existing wage bracket. It's just not really comparable to someone coming in and blowing everyone else away with double anyone elses wage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,199 ✭✭✭Talisman

We were linked with a move for him before he signed the new contract. The previous contract had a €50M release clause which is believed to have been increased to €80-90M.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,661 ✭✭✭DJIMI TRARORE

Wilson scores for Fulham, wasn't aware he had joined them at all