Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

The AH Tokyo 2020 Olympics/Paralympics Thread in 2021

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 70,127 ✭✭✭✭FrancieBrady

Fair play McCormack and Diver from Aus.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,706 ✭✭✭Montage of Feck

Molly Siedel in her second marathon in bronze was a big surprise though.

🙈🙉🙊

Bah more golf on rte, what about the b ball with the two cork lads??? Off to sleep i suppose.

🙈🙉🙊

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,229 ✭✭✭mvl

watching is one way to put it. did stream some of it (using VPN)+ was checking the live updates on svt.se to compensate for some of the technical messups with the stream.

... gutted about the end, have been rooting for ⚽🇸🇪 all the way up to the final; while silver is still an Olympic medal, am actually sad how these penalties were bad luck for the Swedes, truly wish some AI decided the best team instead.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,037 ✭✭✭Cosmo Kramer

A fantastic top 10 finish in the marathon at age 44 for Sinead Diver from Belmullet, Co. Mayo (or Sinead Dyver as she was called throughout the Eurosport commentary tonight). No doubt a very satisfying two fingers from her to Athletics Ireland who deemed her times insufficient to represent the country some years ago, requiring her to switch to her second choice nation, Australia.

Interesting reading her bio on the Olympics website she is very critical of her catholic school upbringing where she says the nuns that ran her school discouraged female participation in sports - as a result she didn't realise her athletic talent until she was in her 30s - who knows what she might have achieved had she been brought up in a more positive sporting environment. While things will have improved somewhat since then, if we want to improve our performances in international sports we need to develop and encourage talent from a young age rather than treat sport as an afterthought as has been done in the past.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,717 ✭✭✭YFlyer

Who stopped her? Ankrom who like to push the envelope?

Post edited by YFlyer on

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 11,795 Mod ✭✭✭✭Say Your Number

It's fierce misty where Clare McNamara is.

Men's Basketball third place match hasn't been played yet, I know the final just finished a while ago, find it strange they'd play the final before it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,503 ✭✭✭✭Mad_maxx

Watched the last 30 minutes of the women's marathon, very enjoyable

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,322 ✭✭✭✭gmisk

I see the coach of the German pentathlete has been thrown out of the games for....punching a horse?!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,322 ✭✭✭✭gmisk

It seems like a really odd thing to give someone a horse at random, it cost her a shot at gold, I know the Irish athlete had similar issues

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,067 ✭✭✭✭fryup

maybe the horse was jewish?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,122 ✭✭✭✭breezy1985

They love their horses them equestrian athletes.

In fairness the punch probably hurt less than that whip in her hand

• Registered Users Posts: 718 ✭✭✭Kunta Kinte

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,094 ✭✭✭bcklschaps

But seriously, women's sport 🤭

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,139 ✭✭✭✭normanoffside

Women's high jump is always quite the spectacle :)

Last chance for the US to get a hold track medal in the 4x400.

🙈🙉🙊

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,330 ✭✭✭✭namloc1980

US finally gets a track gold in this Olympics.

India get their first ever gold track and field gold, in mens javelin. Mad to think a country with such a population hasn't got one until now.

🙈🙉🙊

The Indians had their own ancient sport events.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,194 ✭✭✭✭Strazdas

Quite a bad German media reaction to the entire incident. The rider took a lot of criticism and her coach even more so. Also, German Olympic officials were distancing themselves from the whole thing last night.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,191 ✭✭✭✭Pherekydes

The Germans also had to send a cycling coach home for being heard calling Middle Eastern riders "camelherders"

they are not very "sporty" people in general at all outside cricket and are not really naturally genetically gifted in any particular event like say the North and Sub-Saharan Africans in distance running

their only other Gold medals at the Olympics was team field hockey ones (where they do have a tradition) except for an air rifle shooting one in Beijing

in fact their only ever previous track and field medal history was way back in 1900 won by a sprinter of 100% English descent (2 silver)

considering the huge population it's a bit of a farce, notwithstanding the fact that a large part of it that live in poverty (over two thirds)

Guess so. And gave up Pakistan and Bangladesh.

• Registered Users Posts: 831 ✭✭✭hahashake

If India get their act together then they should be at least top 15. Even if they aren't the most gifted, with 1 billion people you should do much better based on sheer numbers alone. Just need the infrastructure to identify and nurture the talent they have.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,424 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

India record is abysmal

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,536 ✭✭✭✭ohnonotgmail

it is down to the origin of the event. Originally it was things that gentlemen should excel in. so shooting, running, horse riding, swimming and fencing. General George Patton came fifth in the first olympic modern pentathlon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,603 ✭✭✭MrMusician18

The question is what do we want to achieve with our spending on sport, do we want elites winning medals or do we want mass participation.

If the masses want GAA, rugby and soccer facilities and that is what gets more people off the couch well then that's a far better use of public money than for a feel good factor every four years.

Cricket and hockey are most popular sports in India, with cricket bring a national obsession. Obviously cricket isn't in the Olympics but they've won the men's hockey 8 times, albeit the last time was 1980.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,701 ✭✭✭dasdog

The concept is about being a soldier behind enemy lines trying to escape - which is quite interesting and explains the jumping on a random horse aspect. Maybe they should replace the horses with WWII era motorcycles and have barbed wire fences instead of poles.

• Registered Users Posts: 736 ✭✭✭Das Reich

India could do then like England does. It seems to me that most of medal from England were won by non natives. Probably Italy is the first European country if excluding all non natives that won medals for European countries.

• Registered Users Posts: 673 ✭✭✭Morris Garren

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,191 ✭✭✭✭Pherekydes

They gave up Pakistan. Pakistan gave up Bangladesh. Interestingly, Pakistan had a 5th placer in the Javelin today.

6 of NZs 7 golds came in rowing and canoeing (the 7th in Rugby!). They've put huge money in to both over the last decade. What it does show is that the best strategy for Olympic success for small nations is to heavily target 2 or 3 sports max. where there may be potentially "soft" golds available. Pointless building velodromes and large pools imho.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,375 ✭✭✭✭Larbre34

We have targeted a small number of sports. We could target a few more IMO

But we don't build velodromes and 50m pools for Olympic Games, we build them for the use of people at all levels, for the health and fitness and leisure of our population and, yes, for finding those gems who are gifted at these things and who might like to represent their Country.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,339 ✭✭✭Markus Antonius

One way of getting more medals is to make GAA professional but force the players to take up an olympic sport on the side

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,067 ✭✭✭✭fryup

so who's getting up at 6.00am? to watch Kellie knock seven shades of sh1te out of that Brazilian one😐️

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,742 ✭✭✭Dr. Bre

Philippines got its first gold medal in over a century at this Olympics- population over 100m. This shows it comes down to money

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,174 ✭✭✭Xander10

It's correct application of both. Population alone is nothing if people don't have access to training and facilities. What population gives you is good numbers in every sport even the very niche ones but it definitely still needs plenty of money to turn it into GB or Japan level medals

The 100m gold for Italy who was also in the 4x100 relay is actually Italian American so "non native" to people like you ( apt user name by the way )

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,375 ✭✭✭✭Larbre34

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,688 ✭✭✭✭Muahahaha

So now its almost over whats peoples thoughts? Must say for me it was the least live watched Olympics due to the time zone, most of what I watched was highlights. It was the same with the Rugby World Cup in Japan, watching international rugby at 7 in the morning just doesnt feel right.

I think between the covid situation and no crowds at any event it is going to be an Olympics that just gets filed away and not spoken of again. Its a pity because the Japanese are wildly enthusiastic sports fans and they would have gotten right behind even the smallest of events. I was watching the womens marathon and was disappointed that even though there was the opportunity to have fans watch it the government wouldnt let them. The entire 26 mile course only had a handful of spectators, presumably the only people allowed to watch it was those who lived in buildings where the course was right outside their front door. And then the marathon didnt end up in the main stadium either, I think they moved it to another city because Tokyo was too hot. Even in the cooler city a good few competitors dropped out because of heat exhaustion.

The 50km walking race was something like 15 minutes off world race pace because of the heat and humidity which was at 33c and 70%, crazy stuff and dangerous for athletes who want to win badly after years of training for it. I heard the commentator say that the IOC are thinking of adding 2 extra days onto the Olympics in future so they have wiggle room to postpone events if the day is too hot. The media reported that it was the hottest Olympics on record ever with average temperatures a good bit above other versions of it.

Finally there was a big huge Usain Bolt hole in this Olympics, he was such a big character for the last three Olympics and he hasnt been replaced. Everyone had thought that Simone Biles would go some way to filling that hole and blow the competition out of the water with six or seven gold medals but that didnt work out either. It was a kind of Olympics lacking in remarkable performances.

Im looking forward to Paris in three years already but this one for me was pretty average.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,033 ✭✭✭✭Richard Hillman

Individual sports have always been a lack of emphasis on individual sports in Ireland. Pretty much the non field sports.

When I was growing up I don't think I knew anybody that competed in an sport other than the Big 3 or Hockey. A couple of lads played golf but that's about it.

There also needs to be questions about lottery funding. The UK has a sporting system that is the envy of nearly all countries which is funded by the lottery. I was watching something the other day (Track Cycling,I think) and one of the athletes was doing an interview after and she even took time to thank the lottery.

The lottery was originally meant to for funding sports. Remember all of the sports apparatus on the old tickets? Now it goes to funding things the HSE, dodgy NGO's and some box ticking excercises.

Essentially we need an elite sporting programme. Where money distributed is done on sporting grounds and not politically. All of those AstroTurf pitches are not being built because politicians really care about kids playing sports.

Ultimatums need to put to sports to start getting your houses in order. Start bringing value to the country either economically or emotionally, or your funding is getting cut. And that includes the Big 3 field games.

Spot on. At the end of the day, very few people are even going to be in a financial position to take up equestrian, or sailing or modern pentathlon. These sports leave no legacy whatsoever to the masses. People knock the GAA but look at the level of participation and development in every parish, big or small, in the country. It is lazy nonsense to suggest that the GAA is hampering our chance of gaining Olympic medals.

The sports council needs to be over spending, first emphasis should be the overall health and fitness of the nation and then international competition. At the moment spending is political with blatant favouritism given to the constituency of the Minister for sport.

🙈🙉🙊

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,456 ✭✭✭✭ednwireland

the gaa should never have been allowed to build facilities that weren't multi sport.