Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Electric Picnic 2021 - Cancelled :( **No Ticket Sales / Requests **

• Registered Users Posts: 4,972 ✭✭✭endainoz

Luke O'Neill article explaining why it should go ahead. He must read this forum!

Edit: after reading until the end I realized this was the same article from the Sunday independent.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,632 ✭✭✭Seathrun66

No mention whatsoever of 3k jobs for the community.

The Irish Times in 2017 assessed EP as contributing €36m to the Irish economy, €16 of that directly to Stradbally. Given the steadily increased capacity the figure for the town iis surely above €20m per annum.

https://www.irishtimes.com/business/economy/electric-picnic-contributed-36m-to-ireland-s-economy-1.3016462

Not to be sniffed at and something the local councillors seem startlingly unaware of. I understand their duty of care to the local community but their pronouncements on crowd sizes at previous festivals, the outdoors nature of the event and and the financial boon to thee area displayed an utter lack of research on the festival. That carelessness or laziness is not conducive to good political representation for locals.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,652 ✭✭✭Dr. Bre

Luke ONeill must have tickets

• Registered Users Posts: 3,696 ✭✭✭Stillill42

He played a sold out gig in Mindfield a few years ago. I messaged the These Charming Men lads to see if they had anything coming up in Dublin. They're slated for October 2nd in Whelan's apparently. That would be the spot for a meet up if things are up and running by then.

• Registered Users Posts: 77 ✭✭Button_y

I'd question those figures, I don't think there are enough businesses in the community to take in €16m in spend, also bear in mind that is spend not profit. I'd love to see the breakdown of these figures and the true value it has to the community. I don't dispute that the picnic brings a lot of value to the town and probably sustains businesses throughout the year who otherwise may not be able to remain open in a small town. I think the impact to local jobs is very much overestimated (the population of the town is less than 2K) but in the arts and music community across Ireland there is a huge impact to jobs.

Overall I think the locals have been very supportive of the picnic, really enjoy the buzz about the place in the weeks coming up to the picnic and the weekend itself. Across the country there is a huge divide of people who are genuinely afraid and those who are ready for normality to return, Stradbally is no different and in this case I think the council are trying to do right by a large portion of locals and follow the guidelines. If they were going ahead because of the revenue generated despite the guidance they'd be considered reckless.

I personally am very sorry to have no picnic this year, it marks the end of the summer!

• Registered Users Posts: 3,414 ✭✭✭griffdaddy

Was in London over the weekend, saw Shanti Celeste indoors at a club on Thursday and then Floating Points outdoors at a festival on Saturday. Needed self-declared antigen tests for both. Everything is pretty much back to normal over there. There's absolutely zero reasons why EP shouldn't go ahead. Even if there was a Covid outbreak on site the odds of anyone getting seriously sick if they're fully vaccinated are minimal. As stupid as Borris' freedom day sounded at the time I'm actually thinking that it's the right thing to do. It is either now or never to fully open. Looks like the devolved administrations in Scotland and Wales are coming to the same conclusions as well.

• Registered Users Posts: 19,564 ✭✭✭✭everlast75

I think it is not too much to ask that the local councillors read their brief and make the decisions based on facts. If the community is not with them, then educate them. Unfortunately to me, it appears that it is populism. They wet their finger and put it in the air and made a decision based on what they felt the community wanted. It was only after people talked about FR pulling out of their that they paid proper attention.

And to be fair to FR, they deserve fair procedures. Someone making a decision without applying themselves to the finer details is not giving a company that has provided so much business to their area it bang out of order.

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 10,686 Mod ✭✭✭✭melekalikimaka

This is fair, they made a call to appease, and now the potential loss to the town long term as a result of their decision will really come home to roost when they are looking for re election. Probably why they are throwing out wishy washy compromises now

• Registered Users Posts: 5,084 ✭✭✭scruff monkey
    Snarky Snark Snark

Gombeens gonna gombeen but they should not have been put in that position in the first place. Central gov should have squashed this months ago.

Why should central government have squashed this months ago? For all you know the roadmap might show a return to live outdoor events by the end of September. Indeed, if on the off chance the Government follows Scotland's lead as they previously intimated, that's exactly what will happen. (I'm not by any means saying they will of course.) Laois Coco could have granted the license subject to health conditions at the time being met.

Snarky Snark Snark

Why? Because they've left what's a public health planning issue to the lowest level of politcs, the co. council whilst we are still in a pandemic (yes, the vaccines are doing the job but this thing is not done yet).

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 10,686 Mod ✭✭✭✭melekalikimaka

its fair to say no one handled this well at any level, but could anyone give a clear answer? its a fairly divisive issue too. there s not enough evidence to back allowing it happen, or not allowing it happen conclusively

• Registered Users Posts: 6,539 ✭✭✭ghostdancer

Yes, TDs intervening in planning disputes is a great idea and has never ever lead to issues in the past 🤨

I stayed in the town in 2019 for the first time. Between accommodation, food, coffee and goods I spend €420 in Stradbally itself. Most festival goers don't but packed pubs, cafes and shops show that many do including a high percentage of the staff and artists. If the attendees spent a third of what I did the take for the town would be €9.8m.

How much are the Cosby family being paid for the site? How many ad-hoc B&Bs are available and houses rented out alongside the usual accommodation?

The owner of the large Napper Tandy's pub (two indoor bars and a large garden for GAA matches) told me their take for festival week (not only the three main days but staff and crew for several days beforehand) is equal to three months normal taking.

Add in taxis, buses, locals selling stuff on stalls, local contractors employed, electricians and other tradespeople benefitting. And I can't confirm this but wouldn't Stradbally Council get some cash for the inconvenience?

For a full breakdown you'd have to contact the Irish Times but €16m not a huge stretch with 70,000 visitors and 25,000 plus staff and artists in the area. Hence I imagine a fair bit of unhappiness on the part of many Stradbally and Laois locals right now.

Snarky Snark Snark

What I am saying is that it should not have gotten to the point where planning was even being considered.

So central government basically comes out and says it's not going to happen, then three weeks later potentially issues guidance that allows similar events to happen? This was entirely down to the council and they made the wrong decision and it seems like the penny is dropping now. It wasn't their call to make on health grounds and they've put themselves unnecessarily in the firing line. They could have granted the license and let it run to Government to have the final call.

Phrases like 'this thing is not done yet' are just truisms at this stage. This thing is never done, it's going to become endemic. This is more or less as safe/good as it gets. We'll never have higher vaccination cover than now.

We're probably in agreement that the UK is behaving incautiously and there's a fair chance they'll suffer from it. Though many here may disagree I believe the way we've re-opened, slowly and following guidelines, has been clever and has matched the increasing inoculation.

Where we may disagree Scruff is that I think the chances of safely putting on EP in 6.5 weeks are pretty high. Vaccinations and tests are ensuring that hospitalisations will decrease (eg Galway down from 19 to 13 today) and a fully inoculated outdoor event should have minimal transmission. Certainly less than say in Dublin city centre over any given weekend where people socialising must easily be in six figures. However, I'd happily be led by scientists and should they say that this event cannot proceed safely then I'd accept that. As is the likely outcome anyway.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,577 ✭✭✭✭bodhrandude

So who's in the lineup this year, Chems, Liam Gallagher and Coronas are definitely in there, who else?

If you want to get into it, you got to get out of it. (Hawkwind 1982)

• Registered Users Posts: 12,577 ✭✭✭✭bodhrandude

I suppose some of this will be unchanged too apart from the American acts.

If you want to get into it, you got to get out of it. (Hawkwind 1982)

• Registered Users Posts: 2,373 ✭✭✭Fatfrog

We make decisions in Ireland and tend to look elsewhere and chastise others that have made different calls.

Look at Sweden, had restrictions but almost all businesses stayed open, pubs and restaurants included, no pup, never had a lockdown not one! Things went a bit south for a bit they were getting 5000 cases a day and we were straight in to critise, of course we needed some justification and "we told you so" ism for the lockdown pain we had, but it didn't get much worse in Sweden.

The UK also were bold but strategic in their vaccine plan, got a huge jump 1-3 months on everyone else, in theory saved countless lives. Hindsight is a great thing, there's no right answers, but I think UK are showing the way here again.

"Keep cases down as we don't want to create new varients" look at India and South America, breeding away, we could lockdown and have zero cases for the next 2 years, but our borders will still be open, new variants will spread!! Fact!

This is as best protected as we'll get! There will be cases, there will be deaths from Covid, but that's just going to be another fact of life.

Put it this way, you have more risk of dying/killing someone on the drive there and back to EP, than attending EP with full vaccine compliance.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 14,944 Mod ✭✭✭✭Furious-Red

Ian Brown wont be at EP anyways as he has just pulled out of Transmit Festival in the Scotland

• Registered Users Posts: 1,655 ✭✭✭Mucker46

Not great news but at least they are talking about it and who knows what will happen

Sweden the anti-vaxxers/conspiracy crew example of choice comparison. A bad one. And I don't mean that as a personal dig. It's just regularly used as an example of how to do things differently and was an abject failure hence the King's intervention to change policy and the ongoing mess over there.

They had 43% greater deaths than Ireland (1,436 per million to 1,009), a shocking figure for a country that is 6.5 times greater in size than us (450m sq km to 70m sq km) with just over double the population. The smaller population density should have protected them as it did neighbours Finland, Denmark and Norway. Sweden had 3.5 times the death rate of Denmark (439 deaths pm), 9.5 times that of Norway (147 pm) and 8 times that of Finland (177 pm). Sweden is not a good comparison. Sweden's idiot population killed their population and now there are several regional lockdowns dotted around the country.

The UK had double the death rate of Ireland (1,911 per million to 1,009) and the British figures are greatly underestimated, probably closer to three times given the excess death (year to year) figures. The tories hid deaths by not counting any community deaths at first and not doing tests on all the dead. Thus people who died in care homes, home residences and even NHS staff or care workers in the community weren't counted unless they died in hospital. Whatever our mistakes on this side of the sea we handled things greatly better than the British. And continue to handle things better.

The initial failure to protect nursing homes was a catastrophe. Xmas was a mess. There was much dithering. But overall, given what the government, NPHET, NIAC and the HSE had to do to combat an entirely unique situation they have done very well. And in comparison to Sweden and the UK they have done phenomenally well.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,696 ✭✭✭Stillill42

Ahem. Even after all this time, it still hurts the eyes a bit, doesn't it?

• Registered Users Posts: 4,972 ✭✭✭endainoz

Those useless pricks will have their summer holidays before anything is done anyway, it think it'll be too late.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,655 ✭✭✭Mucker46

Fair point Endainoz. What is people's livelihood compared to summer holidays for politicians.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,580 ✭✭✭lawrencesummers

Im genuinely surprised there hasnt been more of a backlash against this being cancelled.

For long enough we all heard about protecting the elderly and vunerable, and the frontline workers, and then the importance of vaccinations which young people have answered.

With croke park allowing 40k in its a double standard whats happening.

I hope the powers that be get some cop on and fast.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,773 ✭✭✭✭The Nal

Croke Park isnt remotely comparable. 40k people sat socially distanced for a couple of hours vs 70k milling arund, drinking, singing, talking loadly over music, sharing cans, spliffs, tents etc for 3 days. Airborne virus remember.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,239 ✭✭✭sprucemoose

in fairness, the match thing is a false comparison