Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

We Passed 5 Million Population this Evening.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 443 ✭✭TP_CM

It's crazy to think we still haven't recovered from the famine and the aftermath of the famine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,464 ✭✭✭✭Potential-Monke

And gas to think that we're only 0.06% of the total global population...

Lucky five millionth person will get 10 minutes to zip around Super Valu and fill their trolly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,859 ✭✭✭Real Donald Trump

Something to tell the grandkids about

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,555 ✭✭✭KevRossi

I think that was Kellie Harrington and Emmet Brennan returning back from Tokyo that did it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,555 ✭✭✭KevRossi

We were actually supposed to have a census in April, we would have known the real population if it had been held. Postponed to April 2022 instead.

Is it just cow farts or do human farts contribute to global warming?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,802 ✭✭✭Dr. Bre

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 52 ✭✭Sy Kick

I hope no one dies tonight.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,186 ✭✭✭beachhead

Building electric cars contribute to global warming and heavy breathing of the working(robots?)involved.The next official Irish government census will determine how many people are living here.If,they all participate,that is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 696 ✭✭✭Housefree

Where did everyone pre famine live? Considering we don't have enough housing now

Mud cabins which includes there own poop, you learn something new everyday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,266 ✭✭✭Juwwi

I blame the generous children's allowance

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,580 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

4,588,252 was the population 10 years ago in 2011 as per that census.

4,757,976 in 2016

5,000,102 now ?

Around 411,850 more people living here now then 10 years ago.

our population has increased by around 9% (8.976% to be exact) in a decade.

is that growth sustainable ? I doubt it. That growth won’t stop..An island nation our size and how we live I think we is in trouble.

An island nation our size, we are not densely populated not one bit. We are actually probably under populated even with the housing crisis but we have idiot after idiot getting elected.

Population of holland - 17.3 million

Population of Belgium - 11.5 million

and so on

• It would be nice if we could keep it around this figure in my opinion. We have a nice little island here.

The rate of infrastructure building is not correlating at all with the population increases. Reactive and not proactive so we are.

i agree, such a population surge, the infrastructure and services to cope, deal and facilitate it comes at a price, a massive one... one which in truth in the main, the rest of us end up paying for... when our quality of life, security/safety and indeed wellbeing are compromised.... we need to speak up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 443 ✭✭TP_CM

I'll happily stand corrected on this but I believe larger families lived in smaller houses, and a large number of those houses were knocked by the british landlords after the introduction of a property tax. It led to an incredible amount of evictions which led to an incredible rate of emigration.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,073 ✭✭✭I see sheep

"a terrible war imposed by the provisional IRA"

Our West Brit Taoiseach

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,274 ✭✭✭Figerty

Have a look at the historical maps on the OSI website. Just look at your own area or any rural area at the pre-famine and post-famine and you can see the wipeout of the small 1-acre type households.. or look at the census data for inner-city Dublin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,227 ✭✭✭blackcard

Cork had the highest population of the 26 counties back then, followed by Galway, Tipperary and Mayo. Hard to believe Dublin was fifth

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 51,689 CMod ✭✭✭✭magicbastarder

counties like cavan and monaghan had far higher pre-famine population than they do now - cavan was at a quarter of a million pre-famine, less than one third of that now IIRC.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,260 ✭✭✭✭Peregrinus

On the other hand, population surge increases the workforce, increases the productive capacity of the economy, increase the tax base, and increases the ability to construct infrastructure and provide services.

In 1987, Italy's GDP overtook the UK's to make Italy (then) the 6th largest economy in the world (and the UK the seventh). In 1991, Italy overtook France as well. Today, a generation later, Italy's GDP is about 67% of the UK's, and 71% of France's. The difference in performance over that period due to a number of factors but by far the biggest is the much lower Italian birthrate, leading to a smaller workforce, leading to a smaller economy. Even though they have a smaller population to maintain, this still causes problems; Italian living standards, measured in GDP per capita, were ahead of both France and the UK 30 years ago, but are now well behind.

So, yeah, restraining population growth may have other advantages, but it's not a good way of preserving prosperity. It has very much the opposite effect.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,260 ✭✭✭✭Peregrinus

They live in hovels, mostly. But that was because they were poor, not because they were numerous. The dramatic fall in population after the famine was not associated with an improvement in housing conditions; people still lived in hovels. It was another generation before the land wars lead to reforms which saw living standards for tenant farmers start to rise in any significant way and - as far as housing conditions went - that was a painfully slow process.

It only increases the workforce is the people arriving want to work and there are jobs for them.

more potential employees and a more competitive jobs market also drives down wages as it is an employers market. So we lose again.

if a logistics company now pay 35,000 euros plus 100% of health insurance for a warehouse operative... if they end up with 60 applications for two positions they don’t need to have that health insurance sweetener, don’t need to pay that competitive salary because they know the demand exists for those two positions...now people willing to work just to exist over making a living.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 749 ✭✭✭Fuascailteoir

I remember being at some lecture where the famine era population decline in Cavan was mentioned. Pre famine the county was quite wealthy as had a substantial linen and textile industry. This was wiped out in the mid 1840s and lead to mass emigration

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,596 ✭✭✭✭rob316

Just 3.2m in 1900 it was, by 2050 its predicted to be nearly 6m. In 150 years the population will have effectively doubled.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 13,350 Mod ✭✭✭✭JupiterKid

The 5 million mark for the Republic of Ireland is a very significant one as the area now occupied by the country passed this mark post-famine - on the way down - around 1861 or so. The nadir of our population was in 1961, where it dropped to just 2.8 million, slightly more than half of the current level.

Census 1966 was the first census since 1841 that showed an increase in population, due largely to the modernisation and industrialisation of the Irish economy during the heady 1960s and 1970s. During the 1970s Ireland experienced rapid population growth, fueled by a baby boom and returning emigrants - only to be reversed in the late 1980s by high emigration. Growth resumed in the mid 1990s and has been the trend ever since. We passed the 3 million mark in 1972 and the 4 million mark in 2003.

Ireland has gained nearly 1.5 million people since Census 1996. That's an almost 40% increase in just 25 years and very significant.

As for the pre-famine times, the island was over-populated for its carrying capacity at the time, with big concentrations of population along the Western seaboard in counties Kerry, Clare, Galway, Mayo, Sligo and Donegal. Almost all supported by an over-dependence on the potato crop (the lumper variety of spud) which in hindsight was completely unsustainable and very risky.

Much of this population lived in Clachans - rural "villages" of clustered small dwellings based on the old Rundale system of farming. Post famine, there was massive depopulation of the West and South and these areas were reconfigured by the Congested Districts Board, who built new roads, reoriented farms into linear patterns and obliterated the old Rundale "infield" and "outfield" system. Many people lived in one room hovels, mud huts etc. As recently as the 1930s there were still people living in rural mud huts.

Dublin took a big share of those survivors of the famine who did not emigrate - this is when the slums and tenements of the inner city grew, leading to a severe housing crisis by the turn of the 20th Century.

Post edited by JupiterKid on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,957 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

"...this tenant Mc Swiney had lived in a one roomed house and he had his cows, sheep and goats all in the room with himself,

After Mc Swiney had left this house it had taken two men , three days to throw out forty loads of manure….this was in the year 1848."

And shyte inside as well. Nice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,768 ✭✭✭kabakuyu

I reckon we reached 5 mil a couple of years ago,census returns can't be 100% accurate.There are thousands of people who do not return census forms and are undocumented in the country.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 691 ✭✭✭jmlad2020

Let's hope this starts to decline sharply. Last thing we want is further population growth.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,327 ✭✭✭✭Donald Trump

Still doesn't sound in that bad compared the state that many council tenants leave their free rent houses now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 601 ✭✭✭iffandonlyif

Maybe for the best. Will be nice to have 5m certified as the population rather than having to wait ten years with a census population of 4.97m, or whatever it would have been.

Well, for one, the five million excludes NI’s two million. But we haven’t ‘recovered’ because we are a socially advanced society that prefers smaller families; it’s not because the effects of the Famine are still felt. A population of eight million was the product of an impoverished, peasant society.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,100 ✭✭✭✭Spanish Eyes

Not a chance if potentially bogus asylum seekers are given their own door properties after four months whether their claim is legitimate or not.

That's why I think the Global warming scare stories are all talk, no action.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,316 ✭✭✭✭dxhound2005

Depends on how many thousand you mean. The Methodology seems to be very exacting, and gives financial incentives to Enumerators to ensure high compliance. Pages 19 to 22 have a lot of that info.

https://www.cso.ie/en/media/csoie/methods/censusofpopulation/Census_2016_Quality_Report_rev_0918.pdf

I’m no mathematician but if the entire planet was populated to density of Holland we’d all be in bother.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,503 ✭✭✭✭Mad_maxx

Italys problems are about a lot more than that, perhaps the biggest issue being the single currency which left German manufacturing not that much dearer than Italian, with the Lira gone ,Italian industry lost it's competitive edge

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 356 ✭✭Diddley Squat

People can't grasp compund figures , population will double in less than 50 years in my opinion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,711 ✭✭✭✭murpho999

Really don't agree with this. Look at Ireland it's underpopulated and it has suffered because of it.

Our infrastructure in areas like transport is behind other more populated countries due to less demand in areas but also less people to fund it. I really think this would be a vastly different place if the 19th century decline had not happened and if we had a population now of 20 million or more.

The idea that Ireland could not cope with more people is just fear mongering and populist and not based on reality at all.

It’s based on reality...

hospital waiting lists are unreal, public transport struggles to cope with demand, social welfare bill is rising..lots of jobs being lost to automation/technology but some people want more people competing for fewer jobs. More people competing for and driving up property prices. More people fighting to access health services etc..with priority given to medical card holders and those with health insurance.

irelands population grows .97% per annum... of the whole continent not just the EU, we are in third place, in terms of population growth rate, only behind Luxembourg and Cyprus.

more people arrive looking for dig outs, hand outs, leg ups... we need to be of the ability to limit this... as of now we cannot...the EU is failing it’s citizens by prioritizing the wellbeing and welfare of non EU citizens. Non tax payers...

pits going to effect our wellbeing big time, it’s started and it will get worse before it gets better.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,700 ✭✭✭Billcarson

If there is one thing I like about this country it is our low population, let's keep it that way. I certainly wouldn't like many millions of people living here. Isnt the world itself overpopulated enough.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,745 ✭✭✭Sgt Hartman

Our services can barely cope with the amount of people we have here already without adding more to the population

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,159 ✭✭✭✭AndrewJRenko

Sounds like we need more people to provide services so

The funding for that simply comes at a cost to our own wellbeing really ... keep the population ballpark to what it is.. ensure the best of accessible health, education, support services and excellent public transport infrastructure and services are readily available and attainable to the citizens and taxpayers here..

if and when we want to give a dig out, that should be our call.

In the proclamation of the republic ...the right of the people of Ireland to the ownership of Ireland is enshrined.

That goes against this EU shîtshow which shows we are no longer the ultimate decision makers.

Who do you think is going to provide those accessible health, education and transport services? Home care companies are turning away business because most of their Filipino and African workforce have either gone home or gone elsewhere during Covid. Most of the houses we were building in the boom time were built by Polish and other Eastern European lads, most of whom have gone home or gone elsewhere. If we want better services, we need people to provide those services.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 497 ✭✭Fritzbox

A population of eight million was the product of an impoverished, peasant society.

Nonsense, prove it.

Do you think that 28 million population of today's Belgium and the Netherlands, 2 countries which cover an area no greater than the Irish republic, is the product of an "impoverished, peasant society".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 497 ✭✭Fritzbox

A strange way of looking at population density! Do you realise that the pop.density of Scandinavia and Finland is far less than that of Ireland - as is the pop. density of Australia and New Zealand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,744 ✭✭✭Hamachi

Can you provide data to suggest that Filipinos, Africans, and Eastern Europeans have returned home en-masse? Otherwise, I’d venture that you’re speaking through your hole.

I have a close association with the caring sector for family reasons. Foreign carers have not emigrated in appreciable numbers. On the the other hand, you seem to be suggesting that we construct a giant pyramid scheme of Irish society. This notion is nearly as maniacal as your attitude to working from home.

SO why are care providers now turning away business?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,535 ✭✭✭Padre_Pio

Well, Scandinavia has vast areas of uninhabited land, same as Australia, due to mountains, forests, deserts, tundra.

Ireland has no such thing. The population density is sparse, but one-off houses are everywhere, with people demanding the same services as those who live in cities.