Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Cycling on the Footpath?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,513 ✭✭✭Ray Palmer

But you avoided saying if you follow the law when ridding your motorbike! That seem hypocritical

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,808 ✭✭✭Badly Drunk Boy

I often cycle on the footpath (in very short stretches), usually because the road is too busy/cluttered, and if the footpath is clear, I'll use it. I'd go slow enough since I'd only be on it temporarily, and if a pedestrian appears, I'll slow down even further or stop, or I'll go back onto the road. I don't have a bell so I won't be aggressively tinkling at anybody. Maybe it makes a difference that I'm not in a city because I get the impression that there is a different breed of cyclist that emerges from that situation.

But people saying that discussing motorists is getting off-topic are wrong. Most of the time, the reason for cyclists are on footpaths is to avoid motorists, so that should be part of the discussion. And pedestrians aren't faultless either. Just because they are on the footpath doesn't mean that they are absolved of being aware of their surroundings. Cyclists shouldn't ring a bell and expect a pedestrian to move, but a pedestrian can't just say "I was on the footpath with my headphones on, therefore anything that happens is other people's fault. I was on the footpath!!". Other pedestrians (like runners/joggers) could cause similar distress that a cyclist might.

I'd still prefer to be on the road, and that's where cyclists should be. Cycle-paths would be lovely too, but there are none on the route from my house to work so I'll continue to cycle on the same 20 metre stretch of footpath on the way home from work..

Indeed, and I'm sure the person who is the inconsiderate cyclist is also an inconsiderate driver when they change mode of transport.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,150 ✭✭✭Princess Calla

Personally I liken ringing a bell to someone walking behind me shouting "get out of the way" . If someone is infront of you, bide your time until it's safe to overtake.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,548 ✭✭✭✭Hotblack Desiato

A "friendly warning" from someone who is not allowed to be there

In Cavan there was a great fire / Judge McCarthy was sent to inquire / It would be a shame / If the nuns were to blame / So it had to be caused by a wire.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 50,891 CMod ✭✭✭✭magicbastarder

i don't think she was specifically talking about footpath cycling, but about the use of a bell in general.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,150 ✭✭✭Princess Calla

I have no problem if a cyclist rings a bell to alert me of the presence if they are on the road or cycle lane....ie if they think I'm about to cross their lane and cause a collision.

On a footpath though, feck off.

You should see what happens when you ring a bell at somebody walking in a cycle lane. Reactions vary from the clueless to punches been thrown.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,815 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

I don't use a motorbike so I don't know where you got that idea from.

Sorry as a motorist. Do you want to answer now?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,815 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

If all you can retort is a childish "Oh I bet you don't break any laws EVER" I think we're done here.

Really who is being childish here? You made the statement it is illegal so should never be done and you also said you would call out other road user if they were in the wrong. So I am asking you based on these statements are you true to your word or a hypocrite? The answer seems apparent from your response. You are done because you won't be honest and repeat your points while doing the things like deflection you keep accusing others of.

You see, this is a classic example of why cyclists piss people off so much.

The poster @ger vallely outlined an issue he has with cyclists speeding past his front door and instead of saying "ok, that's out of order and really shouldn't be happening" he gets a typically rude response that basically implies he is making it up and IF it is happening, he should be filming it and reporting to the Gardai to impose fines.

By the way - how are Gardai supposed to identify rule-breaking cyclists to impose fines? Oh, that's right. They can't. Which I'm sure @Flinty997 knew full well when he made his snarky dismissive reply.

Perfect example of the entitled and absolutely **** attitude of SOME cyclists towards, in this case, a pedestrian, with no acknowledgement of the wrong-doing of the cyclists described.

Really, cyclists do themselves no favours when they reply like this.

There is question about it being exaggerated the same way somebody went on about cars not being parked on the paths around the country. I doubt the original post about cyclists as do others seems perfectly valid to ask for easy obtainable video IF the problem is real. Do you believe everything you read on the internet?

I acknowledge some cyclists are dangerous but I also know people exaggerate, the claim sounds like exaggeration because I have been in Galway City. Love to see how bad it is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,474 ✭✭✭jim o doom

I was chilling with my dog outside Dundrum shopping centre waiting for my wife, some teenager was walking along with his headphones in, and there was an auld lad behind him ringing his bell for the young lad to move and giving out that he'd hear if he didn't have headphones in..

The aul lad didn't need to be cycling, he was 10 foot from a bike lock up spot that he wanted to use. The kid was mostly obvlivious to it all.. but I wasn't. I told the aul lad he didn't have the right of way, that this is a footpath for pedestrians and to please shut up.

I don't mind people using the footpath to cycle at all, however you do not have the right of way. If you are behind a pedestrian then you get to go pedestrian speed. It's not a cycle path. It doesn't matter if the road is "more dangerous" or whatever your problem is that has you on the footpath, it's the FOOT path, or as Americans would say the side-WALK, it's really all in the name isn't it.

If you don't like the speed of the pedestrians, cycle where the flow of traffic is quicker.

This is a discussion forum, not a courtroom and @ger vallely does not have to provide anyone with video to prove the "validity" of what he has posted.

You either accept he posted in good faith, or you don't.

If you don't, that's your issue.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,290 ✭✭✭✭AndrewJRenko

Presumably, no-one should report any crimes to Gardai other than those done by drivers in cars, given that Gardai are apparently unable to identify or act on any complaints of crimes other than those done by drivers?

If the situation was happening as @ger vallely outlined, it would be remarkably easy for a Gardai to position themselves to apprehend the frequent cyclists terrorising the residents.

I don't have to accept anything you say and can question anybody I like about the validity of their claim. It is your issue if you believe any statement that seems highly unlikely. Can I ask to see it if I just want to give out about the cyclist. If you choose to believe something just because it suits your narrative you have a much bigger bias issue. To then use it as some reason to hate SOME cyclists really doesn't make much sense

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 100 ✭✭Redkite200

Pedestrians in this country are generally clueless. People can't even follow the basic idea of walking on the right and cycing on the left.

I've come around narrow bends in the car on some local roads in recent months and encountered people pushing prams on the left side and on one occasion someone being pushed in a wheelchair. Actually surprised not to hear of more fatal accidents.

Cyclists for the most part I have to say seem to know the score and keep to the LHS of the road.

As per the RSA...

If there is no footpath, walk/run/jog on the right hand side of the road, facing oncoming traffic and keeping as close as possible to the side of the road

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,253 ✭✭✭jackofalltrades

Pedestrians are faultless in accidents between them and cyclists that shouldn't be on the path in the first place.

To suggest otherwise is ridiculous.

They're more than entitled to have a walk, possibly with headphones on and not have a care in the world. They're not on a road.

If you're faster moving keep out of the way, as most the vast majority of joggers and runners who are entitled to be there already do.

There's a serious case of not being able to take any criticism from some of the posters who cycle here.

Delighted to see the usual whataboutery shutdown as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 494 ✭✭Billgirlylegs

Well, they don't have to respond. Which doesn't mean they're liars.

And for the record, no I don't believe everything I read on the internet.

I certainly don't believe all your stories about the various altercations you claim to have had on this and other threads, including one where you put a Garda straight, and one notable one about a motorcyclist where I believe you boasted about ripping his helmet off before beating him up after you challenged him for being in a cycle lane? Pot / Kettle \ Black.

Next time I'll ask you for video proof, just to be sure.

(Seriously, IF even half of these tales you tell are true, you really should look into getting some anger management.)

@AndrewJRenko I have received notifications from you, however, as I have previously advised you, you are blocked. This is what I see when you post, so 🤷

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 494 ✭✭Billgirlylegs

Sad story for everyone.

But a very poor example to support your argument. The Court didn't apportion blame( I don't know why seeing as the van seems to have been on the footpath).

The little girl was on a scooter, probably concentrating on maintaining her balance. That greatly increased the hazard to her.

Which is another example of why kids should not be playing with scooters and bikes on footpaths.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,624 ✭✭✭✭meeeeh

I have no problem with it if I stray on cycling lane. Zombies walking on cycling lane pose danger but on footpaths it is a d1ckhead behaviour. In the same vein as beeping in almost all circumstances is d1ckhead behaviour. Why do people think they are entitled to pollute with their noise just so they won't be delayed 3 seconds? If you can't get safely by someone who is walking or cycling according to the rules then don't ring or beep but slow down and wait. It's not that hard.

That's the nastiest piece of victim blaming I've come across here for a long time.

Kids ABSOLUTELY SHOULD be using bikes and scooters on the path without fear of being crushed by inattentive drivers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,819 ✭✭✭✭Thelonious Monk

Yeah you don't have to believe me and you would be wrong but there is a difference between once of events and something happening all the time that can be recorded. I don't think I ever said a story about a motorcyclist as you described it now I am curious.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 599 ✭✭✭iffandonlyif

It is exceedingly rare to find a car driving in a pedestrian area. Ramping up on footpaths p1sses me off no end, but it’s almost always done while yielding to pedestrians.

Yeah it's not like i cycle through pedestrian areas just footpaths sometimes, and that seems to be permitted for cars and bikes so why would I worry about it if I'm courteous to any peds.

Ive actually seen cars mistakenly driving onto Grafton st when it's busy, coming from where Nearys is!

Once off events that seem to happen multiple times. I've read of you posting at least three of four such altercations with different people across various threads over the last week or so.

You are an aggressive person and it comes across very clearly in your posts, and the impression that leaves is that you are aggressive on the roads (or footpaths) as well.

But that's motorists' fault, right?

What this discussion shows, is there is really no point in trying to engage in a discussion where one side refuses to even acknowledge there is a problem in the first place, and they are part of making it.

I wasn’t agreeing with you. I include footpaths in ‘pedestrian areas’; I don’t ever see cars driving there.

Non-delivery vehicles on Grafton Street is vanishingly rare.

Every cyclist cycles on the footpath in Ireland now and again, it's part and parcel of using a bike here. If they annoy people sometimes so be it, bikes are great for society overall. If you hate people on bikes for this you need to meditate or something, don't sweat the small stuff.

You dont ever see cars driving on footpaths, what Ireland do you live in? Proof you're prejudiced against people on bikes and blind to the driving and parking on footpaths plague, with deaths occurring regularly.

Multiple different events over a 20 year period of cycling seems to have you confused. You can be specific if you want. If a motorist does something wrong and I remember it as I nearly got injured and repeat it to others this seems strange to you? Do you know what humans are like?

The most ridiculous comment from you yet

How do you think all the cars, vans and trucks we see parked on footpaths get there?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,624 ✭✭✭✭meeeeh

I cycle on footpaths sometimes, personally I have no issue that and I often send my kids on them. I can even tolerate cars parking on footpaths in certain circumstances (never on cycling paths). However I have very much an issue with 'move out of my way peasant' attitude that some think it's ok. It's pure ignorance and people who think it's acceptable to ring the bell on pedestrian paths for everyone to jump out of the way will most likely behave ignorantly in the car too.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 50,891 CMod ✭✭✭✭magicbastarder

these threads in AH about cycling always end up as tedious merry-go-rounds, so i don't usually stick my oar in except to try to be funny occasionally.

but i will say this - when people complain about cyclists cycling on the footpath, it's not whataboutery for cyclists to point out that motorists frequently park in cycle lanes. i live facing onto a road with an on-road cycle lane, a bus lane, and two 'normal' traffic lanes, and several of my neighbours - despite having driveways that can take up to three cars - make it a habit of parking on the road. there are multiple schools nearby, and i recently saw a chap out cycling with his son getting close passed as they had to cycle round one such car. so i'm not going to fault someone for cycling on the footpath if the very lane created for them is almost always blocked.

obviously, you do get dickheads who will cycle wherever they want without care for anyone else, but until parking in cycle lanes is tackled, the issue will remain.

Please quote the post where I said I hate people on bikes.

I'll wait.

I don’t - genuinely. I find it so unpleasant as a pedestrian that I go out of my way on principle to avoid doing it. That you can’t conceive of someone being able to operate without cycling illegal reveals a lot.

You really are delusional. For one, I don’t have a driving license, so I have no reason to be prejudiced, and I prove that by regularly reprimanding motorists who don’t give way to pedestrians at junctions or who stop on the pedestrian crossing. I am not blind to motorist misbehaviour, but it very rarely involves driving (with the exception, as I said, of ramping up to park) on footpaths.

No Ray, four altercations I read you bragging about on various threads over the last week or so, and not all these altercations involved cycling. But from what you posted above, I presume there are more over the last 20 years.

Honestly, get some help with that temper of yours.

Adding you to my (growing) ignore list, and I see no purpose in continuing a discussion. 🤐

Please feel free to return the favour. 🙈 🙉 🙊

I am waiting on you and your claims. I will wait too

If I tell you something about the past today it doesn't mean it happened today or last week. Time seems to be a difficult concept for you

" I am not blind to motorist misbehaviour, but it very rarely involves driving (with the exception, as I said, of ramping up to park) on footpaths."

Well apart from all that Mrs Lincoln, how did you enjoy the play?

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 27,316 CMod ✭✭✭✭spurious

Just enforce the farking laws, for everyone.

Not just motorists, not just cyclists, not just pedestrians.

Simple enough really.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,474 ✭✭✭jim o doom

Fully enforcing all the road laws would require a lot more gards. That would be a huge cost to the state, regardless of whatever fines they manage to bring in from said enforecement.

And should we really be spending all that money on enforcing people not cycling on footpaths or road laws when there is real, legitimate violent crime happening every day?

It's not really all that simple. It would be a lot better if all road users were a bit more cogent of what's going on around them, and were less self involved, but that's never gonna happen either. People are going to act selfishly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,128 ✭✭✭✭Flinty997

You are missing the point. if its happening with that frequency, he can show the video evidence to the Garda. Which will be enough to persuade them to rock up in person when its busy and physically grab the cyclists like fish in a barrel with fixed penalty notice fines. Its not rocket science. I was just curious to see it. That you took should offence, makes me wonder why you jumped to the conclusion its snarky.

Offences now the subject of €40 fines are:

1. Cyclist driving a pedal cycle without reasonable consideration.

2. No front lamp or rear lamp lit during lighting-up hours on a pedal cycle.

3. Cyclist proceeding into a pedestrianised street or area.

4 . Cyclist proceeding past traffic lights when the red lamp is illuminated.

5. Cyclist proceeding past cycle traffic lights when red lamp is lit.

6. Cyclist failing to stop for a School Warden sign.

7. Cyclist proceeding beyond a stop line, barrier or half barrier at a railway level crossing, swing bridge or lifting bridge, when the red lamps are flashing.

Three things:

1. That is utterly reprehensible driving. If I were there, I would wait for the driver’s return and verbally abuse him on his return. I mean genuinely shouting insults in his face. That is not an idle claim: I have done it several times before when a driver’s behaviour has shown as much disregard for pedestrians as the position of the car in that picture does. I wish more would do it. But…
    2. that is not a car driving on the footpath; it is a car that has driven onto it, possibly with no pedestrians around at the time. It would not be a problem if that is what cyclists did, too. But, instead, they cycle along footpaths, at pedestrians, causing them great uncertainty about the cyclist’s intent.
    3. It is also behaviour not characteristic of motorists generally. Of course society has antisocial scumbags, and if they drive they will behave like in the picture. The question is whether it is behaviour replicated by all sorts of people who drive, in the way that driving on paths is by cyclists. And I think it very obviously isn’t.

Btw, hundreds of thousands of people drive every day. If you are relying on Twitter for evidence of rule-breaking, you are going to see many more incidents than you would in everyday life and will therefore exaggerate the prevalence.