Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

New Alternative News Channel "GB News" chaired by Andrew Neil launching - read OP before posting

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,160 ✭✭✭✭pjohnson

It was only about 12 hours ago he claimed the poor lefties are jealous of his wealth and business acumen :D

His memory is shot to bits.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 39,615 CMod ✭✭✭✭ancapailldorcha

There is no rise of conservative thought. The only thing that's changed is that conservatives have fully embraced ethnic nationalism, racism, xenophobia and conspiracy theories. GB News is nothing. It's baffling to think that people in business would support such a stupid idea.

The only person I've seen get emotional here is you. You were so upset by a working class black man who'd made a fortune spend some of said fortune on starving children that you had to compare him to Jimmy Saville and Jeffrey Epstein. Since then, you've tried to gaslight people here about it but we all saw you do it.

I'm fine with people believing whatever nonsense they want but it'd be nice if conservatives stopped wailing about being silenced despite being the most privileged demographic ever to have existed in history.

The foreigner residing among you must be treated as your native-born. Love them as yourself, for you were foreigners in Egypt. I am the LORD your God.

Leviticus 19:34

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 39,615 CMod ✭✭✭✭ancapailldorcha

Does that include your attempt to frame someone as a racist on this thread?

The foreigner residing among you must be treated as your native-born. Love them as yourself, for you were foreigners in Egypt. I am the LORD your God.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,494 ✭✭✭francois

I later went on to clarify that, at the very least, his remarks could be classified as xenophobic.

Xenophobic = having or showing a dislike of or prejudice against people from other countries.

The fact that he drew a parallel between English voters, low IQ, and Brexit suggests that he does indeed have a particular problem with English people - despite the fact that as many in Wales opted to Brexit, too. But the chap would rather demonise English people as low IQ voters.

But whether we apply the racist or xenophobic label is not what's important; it's the crass way that he speaks about English people and their legitimate reasons to opt to Brexit.

If I said that Nigerians were low IQ voters who are so stupid they fall for a charismatic leader, I'd be - at the very least - rightly called xenophobic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,656 ✭✭✭✭Timberrrrrrrr

Why do you consistently lie? I never mentioned Brexit yet you STILL claim I did in every post, get your facts right and stop telling lies!

And F.Y.I, I'm English, I live in England.

You were more than happy to do it at the time though. Fine for thee but not for me it would seem.

When those of a conservative bent complain about -isms and -phobias, we aren't saying these terms are meaningless and should never be used. Of course they should be used.

But they should be applied to legitimate circumstances, irrespective of whether you're a far-left anti-Semite (which is extremely common!) or a far-right white supremacist.

However, what many on the Left now do is apply these terms quite casually to large swathes of the population. There is next to no engagement with ideas.

I refer back to the example I made before; that a friend of mine believes the mere existence of border controls and discussions around them is a form of racism.

That, to me, is extreme. Perhaps you share his opinion? I don't know.

But there are many examples like this. And I haven't even mentioned how overused the terms, Islamophobia and transphobia, happen to be.

Robs the meaning of words when they are overused and overapplied in too many cases where it's simply a difference of opinion and nothing more than that - certainly nothing malign against the people in question.

Right, and it wasn't too long ago when you and others were arguing that I'm a homophobic homosexual!

So that's the new angle then, is it? The word is fine but only when it's used "legitimately".

I think it's the height of hypocrisy when you're happy to describe vast amounts of people as being lazy but are suddenly concerned about the meaning of words being diluted by overuse.

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 16,224 Mod ✭✭✭✭Quin_Dub

Many on the Left should ask themselves whether what they really think is reality and true; to take a step back and ask whether there's even a chance that the other side might be right.

If ever there was a question that should be asked rhetorically by the poster then this is indeed it.

As pointed out to you earlier - There isn't a single country on earth where the "Conservative" viewpoint that you espouse holds a popular majority among it's voters.

There are places that as a result of undemocratic voting systems, "Conservatives" hold power but they have never had the support of the majority of their voters.

I find all extremism deeply flawed and damaging - Whether Left or Right so I'm just as annoyed and irritated by some of the crap from the far left as I am from the far right.

I would consider myself Centre/Right politically - I absolutely believe in Capitalism , in the ability of people to be successful and to earn as much as they wish. Equally though I believe in equality of opportunity which means Healthcare, Education and Social supports being available to everyone regardless of their financial situation.

Absolutely no one should go Sick , hungry or uneducated because they can't afford it. In the US this viewpoint makes me a Far Left Socialist extremist today , which is frankly nuts.

The biggest problem I see is the dramatic loss of the Centre in countries that continue to utilise FPTP and whatever the hell you call the shambles of the US system.

Politicians in Ireland and elsewhere are forcibly held relatively close to the centre by the electoral system as pandering to just "the base" will get you absolutely nowhere. so they must find common ground, they must make concessions to a majority of voters etc. This is a very good thing in my mind.

This is not the case in the UK or the US where parties , particularly those on the right have realised that if they just fire up their base with fear and rhetoric it will get them them the ~40% or so that they need under FPTP systems to win them overall majorities.

The issue is that to get "the base" fired up it means demonising anyone and anything that is not the base. Hence the utterly toxic environment in the US right now.

The UK , freed from the "shackles" of the EU is clearly beginning to head that way as well seeking to drive wedges between people to drive that separation they need to make sure that "the base" gets out and votes.

Both sides becoming more and more entrenched and insisting/demanding that everyone complies with their position will never ever succeed.

The solution to all of the things you complain about is not "Anti-Woke" or whatever guff that the like of Farage and GB News are trotting out.

It's a move to the centre from both sides with consensus and seeking common ground.

tl;dr GB News isn't a solution to the issues you complain about , it will actually make things worse , much worse if anybody was actually watching it.

Again with the lies!!!

Please show a post of mine where I said you were a "homophobic homosexual" if you refuse to provide this proof then I have no other choice than report you for constantly telling lies about me in this thread.

Can you not recall the conversation over Anne Widdecombe?

Show me the post where I said that or be reported, your choice chief.

I know you won't be able to because I never said anything of the sort.

What I can say is that, during the Anne Widdecombe phase of this discussion, it was pointed out that I was somehow aiding and abetting homophobia by "defending" Anne Widdecombe. That implies that I am, in some way, a homosexual that allows for the promotion of homophobia, thereby making me a homophobic homosexual.

Obviously I reject the accusation wholesale.

• Site Banned Posts: 12,341 ✭✭✭✭Faugheen

Honest question for you.

Mike Pence or Kamala Harris? One vote. Who is it going to?

I'd have to review their manifesto commitments.

During the 2016 election, I backed Trump. In 2020, I backed Biden.

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 16,224 Mod ✭✭✭✭Quin_Dub

Ok - So what drove the change between 2016 and 2020 ?

What was it that Trump did or did not do that brought to the Biden viewpoint?

Policy-wise, I think Trump was smart - and had many of the right ideas. He understood his base and what they wanted.

However, he mismanaged the COVID-19 crisis and his contribution to the events at the Capitol led me to believe that he had many of the right messages, but that he wasn't the right messenger. Up until COVID-19, I think even most Americans would have voted Trump back in. I certainly would have. But the two events above were the catalyst for me to change my mind on this occasion.

So whilst I have no love for Biden (in fact, I deplore many of his policies), an interlude of calm was needed for the Republican Party to try and find the kind of messenger that I'm referring to.

It now appears that Trump is likely to re-run in 2024, though.

Nah, it was pointed out that you being gay and saying Anne Widdecombe isn't homophobic, doesn't make her not homophobic... So substantially different to your inferred interpretation.

• Site Banned Posts: 20,685 ✭✭✭✭Weepsie

Like if you're going to make something that is supposed be statistical up , provide the actual data and not from the daily mail, or gript or some shite like that.

Statistsa, CESSDA, or any one of the numerous reputable, independent data gathering and publishing firms out there.

It isn't a literal statement, obviously.

It's hyperbole to reflect what is happening on the ground and how these terms are now casually and flippantly thrown around like verbal confetti.

• Site Banned Posts: 20,685 ✭✭✭✭Weepsie

We'll stop accusing people of shouting down the right if they different on opinion of you're going to post absolute shite like that

You may be talking about me, but I never called you homophobic.

I said you were a bootlicker because you were extolling her virtues and claiming she was anything but a bigoted, hateful geebag who, if she had her way, would strap you to a table and hook you up to a car battery in order to "cure" you. That is, of course, assuming that you are actually gay and that you really do think AW is a nice person, instead of making **** up on the fly in an attempt to be contrarian. Given how the thread has developed since then, 'twould take a real gambler to bet against that option. I stand over that bootlicker description. You're either taking the piss or too far gone to be saved.

Because, let's face it, modern conservatism is a walking hypocrisy. You're a gay man who professes themselves to be on the same side as bible-thumpers and nazi knuckle-draggers walking around with swastika paraphernalia? Really? Those two groups being entirely friendly towards gay people, famously.

Same with the dopes in 'Murica running around protesting about not black sportspeople ignoring the flag, while having another flag of a (failed) seditious group tattoo'd on their arms and emblazoned across their cars and houses. You do realise these idiots are representative of you and everything you're defending here, right? "Respect the flag".......except they aren't even aware of proper flag etiquette, never mind adhering to the principles of it. The same people who decry regular Muslims for not speaking out against extremists are nowhere to be found when the bold kids on their side of the fence start acting the maggot.

I mean, one of the major cornerstones of Conservatism is the sanctity of hetero family nucleus.......two fathers is a no-no (despite Jesus himself having two fathers). How can you look at a group of people who think you're unnatural and go "yeah, them's my kinda people".

"God is infallible, and can do no wrong, but he made a mistake with all these gay people and that needs to be rectified". What colour is the sky in the world in which these people live? The cognitive dissonance is astounding.

"Most Americans" would not have voted Trump back in - The GOP have won only one popular majority in a Presidential election in the last 40 years. Trump wasn't ever going to be the one to break that run.

Absent his abject failure around Covid he may have done just enough to squeak through in more States to allow him to hold on but he would have lost the popular vote by a larger majority than 2016.

Other than a massive Tax cut for the ultra wealthy - What policies did Trump have that you agreed with?

From a legislative point of view he achieved essentially nothing , even when he and the GOP had full control - Contrast that with Biden who already has several Legislative achievements under his belt 7 or 8 months in to his tenure.

What exactly does his "base" want? , because from the outside looking in it would seem that what they want is a White Christian Authoritarian government beyond that their policy platform is pretty vague to say the least.

His base seems to want nothing more than someone who'll make them feel vindicated and who'll oppress people they dislike. That seems to be about it.

Conservatism is a vast cathedral of ideas.

Plucking the most extreme examples, barking, "You're with them!", is neither honest nor sincere.

As I have said elsewhere, I don't support Anne Widdecombe's religious convictions - not least because I'm an atheist. For me, the Pope is nothing but a clown. But it's no business of mine, nor does it affect me, for her to hold the view that marriage should only exist between one man and one woman.

I'm not butthurt at the prospect of other's holding different views to my own.

And on the question of fascism, I'm against it (partly) on the principle of its left-wing ambitions.

Nazism = National Socialism.

Stalin saw Hitler as a competitor in that specific regard, actually.

You're missing the point, one suspects that's on purpose at this stage.

It's pretty insignificant that she holds such views herself, as an individual. It's that Conservativism, as a whole, not only embrace those views but attempts to force them on all and sundry. Using their opposition to gay marriage isn't a "most extreme example", it is literally one of the most common examples you'll find right throughout the political ideology. It is one of the most defining characteristics of Conservatism. Literally called social conservatism. That you are so blasé about this and are trying to shrug it off like it's a) not common and/or b) not important, speaks volumes. These aren't extremist views. These are the hallmark of pretty much everybody who identifies as a Conservative.

Edit: You've altered your original post to now include the piece about "National Socialism". Like that makes it okay for you to associate yourself with modern day Nazis or something. I suppose DPRK is an actual democracy or a republic, using that logic, huh?

It's not a cathederal. There are not enough original conservative ideas to fill even a snuff box.

Calling Nazism left wing because of the "National Socialism" portion of the name of the party is beyond pathetic. The Trump supporters are waving swastikas, not hammers and sickles.

Nazism was an attempt to respond to Marxist socialism.

Hitler despised Marxism, but he was sympathetic to a collectivist response and was hostile to free market capitalism. Nationalizing industry was also key on the agenda. In the 1930s, the contention that fascism arose out of socialism was accepted across the board; an observed historical fact. Fascists marched under red banners on May Day. Nazism began life from the German Worker's Party. Its leaders believed in high tariffs, in worker's control of factories etc. It's true that socialists of the nationalist and Leninist varieties opposed each other, but they were fishing from the same pool. They were competing for the same kind of voter. The one kind of person that neither brand of socialist had any time for was the classical liberal - the person who elevated the individual over the state rather than the state over the individual.

I could go on, but to deny the link between socialism and Nazism is simply not to understand the history.

This is just nonsense. Free market capitalism doesn't really appear until arguably the advent of the Thatcher and Reagan administrations of the UK and the USA in the latter half of last century whereupon both readily embraced the free market orthodoxy of the Chicago School of Economics. Most countries had large state behemoths at the time. The USA is the only pre-war nation that would come close to a proper market capitalist society as we would imagine it.

Anyways, since this is all you have and that the thread is about GB News and your weak attempt to attribute Nazism to the left I'm going to leave this latest tangent there.

I've heard it all now; free market capitalism only began in 1979. 😆

Gaslighting doesn't really work when the original post is directly above in black and white.

• Site Banned Posts: 12,341 ✭✭✭✭Faugheen

The fact you, as a homosexual, would even have to ‘review their manifestos’ is genuinely baffling to me, considering one of the candidates doesn’t actually want you to exist.

You comprehensively dismissed a clear historical fact: that national socialism (Nazism) had direct links to, and arose out from and as a response to, Marxist socialism.

Don't take my word for it. Conduct even the most cursory historical scholarship on this question.

Both national socialism and Marxist socialism sought to elevate the state over the individual, rather than the individual over the state.

Here's the thing though , people like Anne Widdecome don't just was to hold those beliefs , they want to enforce them on everyone else which is a key difference to some of the left.

Advocates for Gay Marriage or Trans rights or whatever are not saying - "We only want gay and trans people and everything else should burn" , Widdecome is though - She doesn't want you to exist at all. Generally speaking the left want everybody to be able to be who they want to be , which seems reasonable enough really.

I'm also an atheist and have no problem with anybody believing whatever they want to believe. My issues only arise when other people want to enforce their belief system on me/others or when they try to codify those beliefs into the prevailing system of law.

You want to be an strictly observant Christian/Jew/Muslim or whatever - Work away, absolutely fine by me , but do not ever try to tell me or anyone else that we can't do what we want because it's "not consistent" with your religion.

Therein lies the problem with large swathes of the right across the world - Not so much in the UK to be fair as thus far politically at least it has all remained quite secular.

They seek to create this Ethno-Christian hegemony and force everyone to adhere to their world-view - They can f**k right off to be honest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,123 ✭✭✭✭breezy1985

I can't believe this thread is still going round in circles 536 posts after I last left it.

Can we just rename it "The people Vs eskimohunt and his crazy views"

But you are describing religious conservatism.

I don't subscribe to their doctrine, and wouldn't support a political party that did.

And I'm against religious conservatism precisely because I'm a classical liberal that doesn't believe that the State should interfere with the rights of individuals.

On that, we have exactly the same view. The only difference is that I justify my view based on conservative thinking and you justify the same position from your own political persuasion.

More gaslighting. I'm surprised you haven't called me a racist by now, the way you're going on.

You referred to my post as just nonsense.

There's nothing nonsense about it. It's historical fact.

With no evidence. Again.

How is this relevant to GB News, exactly?

What, exactly, are you trying to say here?

If we ignore the bullsh1t deflection of your premise that one of the most authoritarian regimes in the history of mankind was actually socialist......how does that in any way make it okay for modern right wingers to embrace it? I mean the fact that the far right are embracing their ideology should be proof enough that the comparison is bollocks, no?

Your entire argument seems to be "well the Nazis started off as left-wingers, so it's okay that today's right-wingers have swastikas on their clothes". That is, to put it mildly, patently fcuking absurd.

So, fill us in Mr "I'll answer everybody's questions"..........why are you defending neo-nazis? And why do you think calling them socialists, when they clearly were anything but, means that today's fruitcakes can masquerade as nazis without criticism?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,297 ✭✭✭✭Penn

Like throwing in the Saville/Epstein comparisons with Rashford through the tenuous link of "charity", he's simply now trying to draw a link between "the left" and Nazism through the tenuous link of "socialism".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,023 ✭✭✭✭Joe_ Public

So basically, when the Nazis were busy banning trade unions, arresting, torturing and murdering many thousands of actual socialists, we are to take this as a mere example of the revolution "devouring its children." As the saying goes, i think I've heard it all now!

Not an uncommon practice on this site, especially when an argument is being lost or as a deflection attempt.

Was a common one brought up by a good few trolls and rereg cases in the trump threads and the ones on the likes of Steven Yaxley-Lennon or Kate Hopkins or our home grown f*ckknuckles like Barrett etc.

Sort of like the other common practice of stating anyone who does anything to do with showing a bit of human decency and generally not being a c*nt to others, is all about Marxism or being woke

You made a claim against me, you said I said these things about you which is a lie! Last chance to prove it or apologise for telling lies about me.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 36,711 CMod ✭✭✭✭pixelburp

Ah so we're at the "Nazis we were really left-wingers all along" part of the deflection? Good stuff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,576 ✭✭✭✭Tony EH

Hitler appropriated the term Socialism as a means to draw working class voters away from the SPD and the KPD. But neither Hitler, or any of the DAP/NSDAP, were socialists in the generally accepted meaning of the word. They were a conservative movement, founded by conservatives and primarily interested in conservative mechanisations. In fact, everywhere the nazis went they courted conservatives. They instilled conservatives as proxy power merchants in occupied countries and hunted down the left wing at every opportunity.

There is no link whatsoever between left wing socialism and the right wing nazis. They are the polar opposites.

As for you going on, you'd be well advised not to, because you haven't a fucking clue what you're trying to talk about.

Nice try.

I'm not for one moment suggesting that Hitler was some raging left-winger by modern standards.

But that both Hitler and Stalin had a collectivist approach to their politics, as I say - elevating the state over the individual.

A larger state; against free market capitalism; belief in nationalizing industries; a belief in high tariffs etc. (exactly the same thing that modern socialists argue in favour of). These are common threads among national socialism and Leninist socialism.

As for the standard and expected reply, "...but Hitler killed socialists". He sure did, the kind he disliked. Just as Stalin killed many socialists, too. They were both wanted to concentrate power as much as possible in the centre with a larger state. Exactly the same as communism and various forms of modern socialism.

The clear difference between national socialism and Marxist socialism is, of course, the racial dimension. But both of these forms of the socialist ideology hated capitalism and wealth accumulators. As I say, what became fascism was seeded from Marxism-Communism; the links are abundantly clear.

Nobody is arguing the two are synonymous with each other, but one had an evolutionary link to the other. Both communism and fascism are totalitarian ideologies and it's not a coincidence that the one ideology they hated, free market capitalism, is the one that has proven to be the most successful in modern history.

To deny all possible links between the two is illiterate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,035 ✭✭✭✭J Mysterio

Thats some awful, garbled shite.