Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Dublin mother shares footage of offered council house

• Registered Users Posts: 927 ✭✭✭BuboBubo

What does she want exactly? A five bedroom detached mc-mansion in Dublin and taxpayer mugs to pay for it?

Keep spawning multiple sprogs, with no means to support them, you get everything you want it seems.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,938 ✭✭✭✭Kermit.de.frog

The thing about these stories is what it boils down to is cradle to grave welfare which is helping no one in Ireland and is destroying the lives of children brought in to that world of entitlement without any give.

None of this benefits a single person in Ireland, not even themselves.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,195 ✭✭✭✭end of the road

oh of course, we put children into the care system because people don't like their parents/the parent is on the housing list.

absolute bull.

I'm very highly educated. I know words, i have the best words, nobody has better words then me.

So. She had 13 years to get off her butt and buy her own gaff. But decided to squirt out 4 kids instead?

Where is daddy or daddies?

She has a feckin cheek.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,435 ✭✭✭Scoundrel

Yeah it's a bit shabby to be fair and they could have cleaned it up first but nothing a bit of elbow grease on her part couldn't solve.

I am torn on this because I do believe in social housing and it certainly has its place and they probably should have offered her something better than this but the stink of entitlement off her bugs the hell out of me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,556 ✭✭✭✭HeidiHeidi

I actually meant which version of the stories we hear is correct, not which is the correct approach (so to speak).

But I agree with your point.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,024 ✭✭✭✭Dempo1

Mother of God, we're is that 🤔 Beirut? Before the bomb?

I've mixed feelings on this entire subject but do feel reasonable accommodation should be offered especially with children involved. That place, couldn't be described as a home is a cesspit notwithstanding children's safety not even being considered.

13 years on a waiting list is in fairness extraordinary, 8 year living in Citywest is even more extraordinary, how much has that cost FFS.

Alot of people are against modular homes but surely with vasts tracts of land available could this not be at a minimum short term cost effective solution.

Can't wait for that clown of a housing ministers response

Is maith an scáthán súil charad.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,004 ✭✭✭FileNotFound

This reminds me of the mother of 4 a few years back that refused a house in wicklow with sea views as it might "make her feel sea sick" - to be fair all she really asked for was a brand new apt in Dun Laoighre. Least all us dopes paying tax could do is give her that...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,195 ✭✭✭✭end of the road

buy what gaff?

do you think the bank would give her a mortgage? really?

even when they were throwing them around like sweets, i would suggest that was unlikely to happen.

I'm very highly educated. I know words, i have the best words, nobody has better words then me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,225 ✭✭✭marklazarcovic

sickens me that there a so many people like this who pop out child after child without any means to support them fully, and feel like everyone else should sort out her finances for the rest of her life in a forever home,sickens me isn't strong enough terminology being honest. literally, they cant fathom how or why they should be responsible for their own lives.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,938 ✭✭✭✭Kermit.de.frog

Can you tell us why is it our problem that she didn't get off her hole for 13 years?

Ample time to get yourself trained and a career.

Do you seriously think this one wants a job. Work for her free money? Would you catch ypurself on!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,887 ✭✭✭SteM

Probably not but she certainly hasn't put herself in the best position to find out.

Maybe she should have consudered that while she was churning out sprogs.

Sick of spongers looking for free everything. The rest of us have to work pay rent or a mortgage. Whats so different about her?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,709 ✭✭✭Feisar

*In typical boards style* So you are saying you want her kids living on the street? She can't look after them so what are we to do? It's pure nonsense to think we can keep paying for forever homes.

First they came for the socialists...

• Registered Users Posts: 4,177 ✭✭✭Fandymo

The council has to offer a property that is up to liveable standard. Which they do. They don’t, and never have, offered “any old crap”. And paying your own way 100% does entitle you to be more worthy and entitled.

No its not too late.

Might encourage her to stop having even more kids. When she realises shes not going to get that 5 bed in foxrock

You dont seem to have any issue with this entitled one. Which makes me think you either know her. Are in a similar situation or are not paying tax to support the likes of her.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,354 ✭✭✭✭endacl

Didn’t read the article. Did she discuss the positions? Was it a different one for each pregnancy?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,367 ✭✭✭JimmyVik

She is going for the 6 bed. 2 more kids and she is in.

Someone with 4 kids is on the housing list 13 years before being offered what is evidently a dump, and still posters are here coming out with the same nonsense about “free forever homes” for single parents. Brainworms.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

So, without digging any deeper into what is no doubt a rage-inducing rant on Facebook, what I gather from a short video is that she's annoyed that she's been offered a place where externally it's a bit shabby, where she doesn't have a nice view and the underground car park is a bit messy from rubbish? Two of those three are easily fixed with a few phone calls and pestering people. The other one is very much a beggars =/= choosers thing.

Is she aware of the conditions that other people live in? If the apartment itself is in good nick, there are plenty of private tenants who'd be more than happy to take that if it's at the right price. Hell, there'd be plenty of people happy to buy a penthouse apartment and work on sorting the other issues if it meant they had a home.

Some amount of entitlement in that video.

Her requirements 13 years ago were probably for herself and one child. Each and every time she’s had another child, the type of property the council would deem that she needs would change.

She could have been offered a place a lot sooner if she didn’t have any more kids. How long was she on housing list with one child, how long was she on housing list with two? They’re all different lists and timescales!

But I thought the way to get a free house was to have as many children* as possible? Now you’re saying having more than one will extend the waiting time? Which is it?

And how come when you do get one it’s a dump? I thought you got a lovely forever home that would be the envy of your hard-working friends who are stuck renting.

*Note that it does typically take 9 months to produce one child, so 4 will take a few years, unless one is blessed with quadruplets.

Ehhh not brainworms. We are called taxpayers.

And sick of these freeloading parasites

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,174 ✭✭✭screamer

Ah well, most of us have to pay for our “forever homes” for more than 20 years. You’ve at least another 7 to go there Aoife, so another 7 years in private rented a accommodation paid for by Johnny tax payer. She gets 0 sympathy from me. If you want better, do better.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,760 ✭✭✭Effects

How many other decent homes were offered but just not in the desired location?

More and more people take to social media these days in an effort to paint a narrative and get what they want.

Zero chance the council offered someone a house/apartment that still had the windows shuttered with steel.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,785 ✭✭✭✭padd b1975

It's not where you live, it's how you live.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,211 ✭✭✭✭One eyed Jack

What’s this “we” business? In just the same way as I’m sure you can speak for yourself, I can too.

People who are expected by the council to live in run down derelict shìtholes which are unfit for human habitation can speak for themselves too, and it’s good that they do, to highlight the kind of shìtty standards they are expected to endure as if that’s all they, or any other human being deserves.

I’m sick of people who appear to have missed their calling as private dicks.

That’s what Aoife herself thought too going by her post in the OP only asking for a foreva home and a garden.

Shes the one saying it’s been 13 years to make it seem so bad. Dunno how old her kids are but it could have been 4 years with one child (1 or 2 bed required) 4 years with 2, 4 years with 3 and however long she’s been pregnant making it up to 13 years. And who’s to say she was never offered anywhere else?

ps: her current home doesn’t look too shabby so maybe that’s why she’s pissed.

It's nice to know she can buy Canada goose jackets for her son though. Brown Thomas is cheap. Isn't it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 896 ✭✭✭DarkJager21

Sorry but no, why should you be housed in accommodation that either matches or exceeds that which people have to work and pay for? What’s the point of working in that case, just pop out a few kids and put your hands out for free everything. If you want to contribute nothing to the economy but feel “entitled” to take take take, you can live with the rats for all I care.

Then we can say that, at best, social housing is a crapshoot. You may be waiting and you may be offered some dump. So the free forever home that will make you the envy of hardworking stiffs is bs.

So the council offered a council tenant, a free house but the council tenant doesn't want it because it's in a council area?

It's always a single mother, with a load of kids, too. Never yet have I seen a father/man appearing in these stories.

I follow an online website called Drogheda Life. There was a story there recently of someone giving back a council house because of the state it's in. There were photos: A broken tile, some mould on a wooden window and a hole where a switch was moved in the hotpress.

https://droghedalife.com/news/house-given-to-young-mother-in-such-poor-condition-she-gave-keys-back-to-council

I don’t think she’s been living in an hotel for 13 years though, do you?

It’s not a free house though? It’s unsuitable and unsafe accommodation, unfit for human habitation. It’s the council’s responsibility to ensure that any accommodation they provide is fit for human habitation and is suitable for the families they expect to live in them. It’s not their tenants responsibility to carry out any repairs or maintenance that needs to be carried out to bring any accommodation up to standards.

It wasn’t just because the accommodation was in a council area either. It was because the accommodation is unsuitable and unsafe for human habitation.

• I **** hate the term forever home.

Usually used by dopes like Aoife and that Erica Fleming wan.

Well you're not talking about the house I linked to, because it's fine inside (as we see in the photos) and you're not talking about the house that is in the OP as the tenant was obviously too disgusted to actually film inside, so you've no idea what it's like.

What are you actually talking about?

Didn’t say she was. I have no idea. But we have visual evidence she has been offered a dump. So evidently, apply for social housing and you may end up being offered a dump.

Haven’t seen the interior so couldn’t comment.

I don’t agree that the accommodation in the article you linked to is actually fine. It’s not, and whether the tenant is or isn’t capable or qualified to carry out repairs and maintenance isn’t the issue, because it’s not their responsibility. The property belongs to the council and it is their responsibility to carry out any repairs and maintenance which is necessary to bring any accommodation up to standard.

What was filmed outside btw is enough to determine that the accommodation was unsuitable for human habitation, be they adults or children, and the council should be held accountable for the state of the properties they are suggesting is suitable accommodation for anyone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,676 ✭✭✭mondeo

Why is she complaining? She is not paying for it is she ? What does she expect? A three bedroom house in Dublin 4 all paid for ye ? 13 years waiting doesn't entitle you to pick and choose your own place.

I wish someone would give me a free gaff all paid for but I got a mortgage to deal with for a few years to come. Beggars cannot be choosers and that's the way it is. Be worse if she was stuck in a homeless shelter with her kids.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,504 ✭✭✭✭MEGA BRO WOLF 5000

This, if she closed her legs she wouldn't be in her situation, but it's everyone elses fault. I've worked all my life, earn too much to be on any "list" and not enough to afford anything half decent...and then you have her, gimme gimme gimme!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,994 ✭✭✭✭expectationlost

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,125 ✭✭✭xhomelezz

I don't understand why she didn't posted how that offered place looks inside?

Anyway, no sympathy for her at all.

I’m not sure whether her legs are open or closed has any bearing on the point she is making that the council accommodation she is being offered is unsuitable for human habitation. It’s not so much gimme gimme either as the point being that the accommodation being offered by the council is simply unacceptable by any standards in the condition it’s in.

• Registered Users Posts: 743 ✭✭✭PmMeUrDogs

Except there's no proof it's unfit for habitation. If the actual apartment is in as awful condition as outside then yes, it's not fit to live in and she's right to turn it down and go public.

But if it's a clean, liveable apartment? Who cares if the bin area or corridor is run down? It has pretty much no impact on your standard of living if your actual apartment is in good condition. There's a reason she didn't film inside the apartment, because it wouldn't fit her narrative.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,348 ✭✭✭sonofenoch

On the bright side at least she'd never get burgled.......glass half full post

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,375 ✭✭✭✭Larbre34

I like the way it was offered to her when she has "nearly 4 kids". Is she not sure?

I really, really think we need to manage expectations of people in this Country who continue to have children without having the resources to house them in the way they would prefer.

There are ways to avoid getting pregnant. Employing those methods is called personal responsibility. Those of us who have no kids and pay 40% of our earned income in taxes, social insurances and other State charges are utterly and entirely sick of making up the shortfall.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,186 ✭✭✭✭jmayo

To paraphrase Oscar Wilde ...

to have one baby may be an accident, to have two may be put down to carelessness ...

I haven't a clue how he would phrase it for 3 and 4. 🙄

I could say fook her, but ...

BTW how come some stuff was brought across to new site but ignored list was not.

Yet another migration fookup I guess.

I am not allowed discuss …

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,887 ✭✭✭SteM

She made it very clear she wants a house with a garden and not an apartment. Seems like "gimme gimme" to me.