Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Greatest League in the World 2024 [new thread available]

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,041 ✭✭✭✭chopperbyrne

Grace is out injured, and Finn will be playing right back.

If Tallinn are smart, they'll try to exploit that. Hopefully Finn handles the pressure.

• Registered Users Posts: 585 ✭✭✭the heathen

Genuine question, in what way does it help the league if Rovers reach the group stage?

Is it just a profile thing? Or does it actually help the other team's coefficients?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,933 ✭✭✭kksaints

Profile mostly although there might be increased solidarity payments also.

They're playing poorly atm tho, midfield is non existent when Flora have the ball.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,506 ✭✭✭Underground

Rovers defending has been fcking shocking. Did really well to get it back to 3-2.

Just park the bus at that point and take it back to tallaght at 3-2. Ffs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,306 ✭✭✭sonic85

Yeah it's been amateur hour at the back for Rovers. They did well to get it back to 3-2 but to concede again straight after was laughable

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,742 ✭✭✭Dr. Bre

Sickener for hoops. Get it back to 3/2 then a minute later concede a 4th

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,274 ✭✭✭✭ben.schlomo

Didn't see the game but it looks like a really poor defeat on paper for Rovers. They'll need a huge performance next week.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,762 ✭✭✭Dillonb3

Desperate defending from Rovers all game and could easily have been 6-2 if Flora took those two chances at start of second half. They're still in it but they can't let Vassilyev have a free reign in the second leg

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 10,797 Mod ✭✭✭✭artanevilla

People often point to Rosenborg in Norway as the model the LOI should look to in terms of European football but in my opinion it would be a disaster.

Generally good results in Europe are good for the club in the short and not really for the league. In the most case the European money also just goes on wages and doesn't get invested back into the infrastructure at the club. It just means the same players get paid more, the club with the money can poach their rivals players with big money offers and so it continues until one season they don't get to Europe and the prize money they had been using to cover the big wages dissappear and the club goes into free fall. Rinse and repeat.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,480 ✭✭✭pgj2015

Hoare was poor for Dundalk in the Europa league last year. He isn't good enough for European games. I know he scored a good goal against Arsenal but his defending wasn't good and he wasn't good on the ball.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,870 ✭✭✭CrabRevolution

While it does little harm, I think the "great for the league" tag gets thrown about too loosely when a LOI team does well in Europe. We've had about a decade now of LOI teams competing well above their historical level, with innumerable European nights which have been "huge for the league" and "a great advertisement for the LOI", but there's few visible benefits outside of money to the clubs involved. It hasn't brought a discernible increase in fans or general financial wellbeing to the league.

I've always found it a questionable notion anyway that someone seeing Dundalk in the EL group stage will convince them to start supporting Athlone or Limerick as their nearest club.

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 10,797 Mod ✭✭✭✭artanevilla

It's always non LOI fans that throw it about as well, sometimes with the line "it might get more people interested" when they themselves have no intention going.

Just as an example as a Bohs fan I want Rovers out of Europe ASAP, not that fussed on other clubs but certainly don't support them in their European endeavours, I understand why some do, but non LOI fan always seems surprised when I tell them that.

Generally they are Liverpool or United fans but certainly don't like the suggestion that they should support other English teams in Europe as it's "good for the League".

• Registered Users Posts: 6,254 ✭✭✭joeysoap

Viteese and POAK both trailing by a goal at HT. A team Dundalk beat last year are in the Champions League playoffs ( Sheriff) that was a big win.ok we were lucky the playoff round was a once off in Dublin but we had to get past Sheriff first (away - only)

• Registered Users Posts: 5,174 ✭✭✭hardybuck

The rising tide should hopefully lift all boats.

If they can get a win next week it'll mean a couple of million quid going to Ireland rather than Estonia. That'll mostly go into wages and maybe to the academy.

Better players playing in the league raises the overall standard, puts more bums on seats and encourages more commercial revenue from businesses.

Except what we see is the same players getting more money.

Couldn’t agree more. In 2016 Dundalk paid a bonus of €40,000 a man. To Dundalk players. Not to anyone else.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 22,408 CMod ✭✭✭✭Pawwed Rig

Attendances were well up pre lockdown though so it might be working. It will be interesting to see average attendances once things open up fully.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,589 ✭✭✭Awesomeness

Did Bradley really call hoares performance tonight one of the best by an Irish player in Europe

Well the players who got them there should be rewarded to some extent.

Injections of cash into the league offer opportunities for improvement.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 22,408 CMod ✭✭✭✭Pawwed Rig

Well he could hardly go Mourinho on it and start calling his players out. 😄

Still have a chance in Tallaght. No choice but to go for it anyway. It's a pity the away goals thing is gone as that would be a small bit of a positive.

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 23,230 Mod ✭✭✭✭GLaDOS

We should have some system where a portion of the European prize money is shared around the league. I know the teams qualifying (including my own) wouldn't be happy, but it might go some way towards improving the league as a whole.

Cake, and grief counseling, will be available at the conclusion of the test

Rovers messed up and despite tickets supposed to be on general sale from 11:00, you can already purchase them. Just a heads up for anyone looking for tickets.

#BELIEVE

• Registered Users Posts: 1,090 ✭✭✭wrestlemaniac

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,681 ✭✭✭Cape Clear

In the smaller leagues around Europe team's that do well in Europe consistently, usually enjoy a period of dominance in their domestic leagues. European money makes a huge difference to teams in the LOI as prize money, transfer fees and TV earnings are insignificant.

Dundalk are (unfortunately) much changed too. It was still a much underrated performance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,394 ✭✭✭Patrick2010

Looking at the seat selection on the website its almost sold out, only 37 seats left

We're a bit away from having teams that do well in Europe consistently and our clubs that have done well (i.e. qualified for European competitions) haven't really had any period of dominance.

We have one club who've earned quite a lot of money over recent years and are currently in the bottom half of the league. We have another who qualified for the Europa League and have won the league once in the ten years since they qualified.

Clubs in the LOI are so strapped for cash and investment that we should be happy to see any money coming in from Europe.

2nd leg sold out.

Can't wait.

Agreed. There’s just no money in the LOI. Dundalk got More for beating Maccabi then winning 3 league titles.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,306 ✭✭✭✭Drumpot

Break in shels game cause no corner flag!! Ha, was wondering what was going on.

Every game there’s always some defender pulling the hoop off o Connor and he gets no protection from refs.

drogheda by far and away the sharper team.

If I were the St Moctas manager I’d be happy. Very happy.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 15,694 Mod ✭✭✭✭dfx-

Dundalk currently in the relegation playoff....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,369 ✭✭✭✭Oat23

You could sense a night like tonight was coming for Owolabi. Always looks dangerous.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,742 ✭✭✭Dr. Bre

That’s crazy. Should get out of it with the games in hand

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,044 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

Getting out of it isn't the issue, as they will.

But the fact they are where they are is shocking. What has gone wrong at that club?

His pace caused us huge issues, Barrett and Bone couldn't handle it at all but the first and third goals had a strong suspicion of offside and the second one was also questionable enough but not as strong as the other two.

Mind you Harps deserved their win, we were very poor after the first 20 minutes and Jaros had to make two very good saves to keep the score down.

Another poor night for Longford. The last 2 times we have been up we have not been competitive at all. It wasn't unexpected but no league win since the opening day of the season is grim.

Are they the same players that got promoted or what's the craic?

Yea we brought in very little. Dobbs came back he tries hard but is hardly a prolific scorer. We have a couple in on loan from Rovers. We came fifth last year in the first division which contains 2 teams who you'd like to think you'd beat every time you play them. We are a middling first division team unfortunately.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,224 ✭✭✭overshoot

Best performance I've seen from us in a long time. Thought he was fine for the goals, he's always playing the line looking for the ball behind, but must watch the peno back too. Seemed soft but was the other end of the pitch. Connolly, seymore and coyle ran the show in midfield. First time all 3 played together

Our first hatrick since 2006, first in the premier since 1997 apparently. Scary stats!

Mid table is getting tighter all the time, very little in it

Ball bounces up off King and hits McNamees arm which knocks the ball away for the penalty. It's unlucky but most of the time it's a penalty.

Ah at the time it felt sickening, here we go again kinda thing but we regrouped and pressed on. Other times this season we'd have folded.

Feel for Longford, season like that is tough. They're well organised, work hard, just lacking that bit of quality.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,274 ✭✭✭✭ben.schlomo

We were fcuking red rotten in Athlone tonight. I gave out about Shels and their ineffective long ball last week. We were the worst kinda version of it tonight. Just lump for the sake of it, no plan b, no alternative thinking, just keep doing it and hope for something, amateur hour. Athlone deserved their win and had a couple of excellent performers in Scott Delaney and the sub Tummise Sobowale (huge impact in midfield when he came on). Kurtis Byrne took his goal very well too. Typical of us dropping points when Shels and Treaty also do. One step forward and two back again.

Yep there is no questioning our lads work ethic they give it their all.

The league table doesn’t lie. Dundalk are crap.

the signings have been piss poor.

the Moroccan lad is as good as Han who as good as Abibi who is as good as Junior was as good as Mitskogan was.......

None can touch Zahibo though. He’s on his own.

did i say as good as?

i meant as poor as

we have to hope the playoff team is also piss poor

Havnt had a chance to look back yet but twitter will always supply! theres the third, was a post there too for the first one.

Can't see him getting such a high defensive line again

Yep, photos show that both were onside. Fair play to him, he timed them well. Really poor from our backline.

Waterford away next up in the league - that'll be an interesting fixture.