Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Murder at the Cottage | Sky

• Registered Users Posts: 30 Kelvinyook

Bailey's alcohol-fuelled incidents of domestic violence were life-threatening on at least one occasion according to his own notes he kept, but

"One of the country’s leading ER specialists says cocaine is synonymous with grotesque violence.

Dr. Chris Luke, Adjunct Senior Lecturer in Public Health in University College Cork, is calling for drug screening of suspects in all violent crimes, particularly murders.

"While he said the three main drugs linked to violence are alcohol, cocaine and benzodiazepines, cocaine is the drug most linked to shocking levels of violence.

“Without a shadow of a doubt if you’re working in an Emergency Department, the drug that is associated most commonly with extreme violence is cocaine.”

irish mirror 2020 cocaine-use-synonymous-grotesque-violence

• Registered Users Posts: 3,817 ✭✭✭Darc19

But this was before it was found out that the gardai had got mf to change the height of the person she saw from average height to "very tall".

If all information known now was known then, the judge may have taken a very different view.

Christ, we now have people trying to start rumours of cocaine use involved.

There was not even the slightest suspicion of cocaine in any aspect of the case.

Can stupidity be banned from this thread

• Registered Users Posts: 1,514 ✭✭✭MoonUnit75

The judge heard all of this, Marie Farrell 2.0 was the 'star witness' for IB and the court heard all of her allegations that gardai pressured her into changing statements, changing her description, pressured her to make false accusations of intimidation etc. This was all put to the jury because the judge decided it was not statute barred as it affected an ongoing murder inquiry. The jury did not believe her.

She claimed the gardai put her under pressure to falsely report witness intimidation from Ian Bailey. She made 17 complaints over a period of time. So you'd have to imagine the gardai at some point saying 'thanks for making those five false complaints of intimidation, that's a great help, would you mind making another 10 or 12 false complaints and getting your solicitor to write to IB demanding he stop harassing you?'.

No, that was her second husband. Her first husband was called Michael Oliver, he was jailed for attacking none other than Bill Fuller with a knife. So that's the part of the tweet solved.... Still researching this.....

• Registered Users Posts: 4,958 ✭✭✭Deeec

There seems to be so much stuff going on down in West Cork. Everyone in relation to this case has personal intermingled toxic relationships and have created enemies of each other over the years.

Very good research. But I think the guy tweeting might not know of the first husband and is referring to the 2nd then, as he is clearly hinting at a child porn ring involving certain individuals in later tweets.

• Registered Users Posts: 838 ✭✭✭Gussie Scrotch

Yes, I always thought it was a place people went to for a quiet life. Pottery, growing veg, things like that.

It sound like Reservoir Dogs. Christ on a bike.

• Registered Users Posts: 288 ✭✭EdHoven

The first independent source I found stating Alfie Lyons is dead. Seems a bit at odds with what someone who claimed to know him was saying though. He previously lived in the US not London.

And he had a penchant for languages. I wonder what he was up to Stateside that he'd acquire Russian?

Yes I think your right.

I'm very interested in the Alfie/Leo weed business tho. This involved Garda receiving backhanders for turning a blind eye. Lots of corruption. Sophie reported goings on to the Gardaí......

• Registered Users Posts: 753 ✭✭✭OscarMIlde

Calling him a San Francisco hippy doesn't necessarily mean he lived in San Francisco, it could simply mean that he fits that archetype.

Had a feeling someone might get insulting about that little bit of statistical context, didn't expect call to ban it. False accusations of trying to start rumours should be banned.

Official reports suggest heroin was more common in Ireland than cocaine, but the latter was more hidden. But trafficking on to other countries...

from the Observer newspaper 2007

Ireland's cocaine coast

A recent bust in the 'Irish box' shows drug smugglers are ruling over the Cork shore

It was Wright who pioneered the landing of huge cocaine shipments off the south-west of Ireland in the early 1990s, leading to him becoming one of Europe's top drug smugglers. The 'Milkman's' route was first used in 1996, when the Sea Mist, a chartered yacht carrying 599kgs of cocaine, was seized in Cork harbour

• Registered Users Posts: 8,159 ✭✭✭saabsaab

I guess many yachts and 'fishing' boats have been used to bring in merchandise along that coast over the years.

IB tweeted he was living in States.

There has always been something weird about all this. I wonder if AL was an undercover cop or FBI agent in the US. Speaking Italian and Russian would be useful infiltrating crime gangs.

And being relocated to the back of beyond when your cover is blown would make sense.

Might explain why law enforcement didn't go after him.

• Registered Users Posts: 931 ✭✭✭flanna01

According to the Indo.. Some old boy in sheltered accommodation has contacted the Gards, with what is believed to be critical information regarding the French woman's murder.

Erm...... Could he not have done this 25yrs ago??

I mean.... I feel like the french are clutching at straws at this stage, finding people who miraculously remember information from 25years ago. Just more hearsay.

I guess while one could infer this elderly person is in Ireland the article doesn't explicitly say so. And the docs were shown worldwide.

If the info is something that happened immediately prior to her arrival at Cork Airport that could be someone on the plane. The person sitting next to Sophie said they hadn't spoken to her but is that likely on a Paris-Dublin-Cork flight?

• Registered Users Posts: 4,958 ✭✭✭Deeec

Exactly. Lets be honest an elderly persons memories of 25 years ago may not be the clearest. Its hard to believe this information can lead anywhere unless its somehow verifiable.

Whilst I'd be very very sceptical of the various people who suddenly remember things, I would say that you'd be very surprised at how accurate an elderly person's memory can be when talking about things many years ago.

The short term memory is different and you can be forgetting what you did yesterday or last week or even an hour ago, yet have near photographic memory of something 20, 30, 40+ years ago. I saw it with my own dad as he moved into a dementia stage - his recall of events in the 50's when he had to move from Northern Ireland was phenomenal, yet he would not remember having breakfast.

But on the other hand, as its the indo, its likely to be balderdash

• Registered Users Posts: 4,715 ✭✭✭ShamNNspace

^^^Imv as you get older a memory of an event becomes a memory of the last time you remembered that event ... The memory of an event will have changed substantially in the 25 intervening years to what actually happened 25 years ago

• Registered Users Posts: 3,337 ✭✭✭Wombatman

Some great contributions here. Thanks all.

The main takeaways for me are........

Did the Gardai make a complete balls up of the investigation? Yes.

Did notes and evidence go missing because they were trying to protect one of their own? Unknown. Most likely incompetence or trying to cover up incompetence.

Did the gardai try to frame Bailey because they knew they didn't have enough evidence to convict? Yes.

Was this because they wanted a patsy so they could protect another member of the force? Unknown. Unlikely.

Does this mean Bailey is innocent? No.

Did the fixation on Bailey damage the investigation? Absolutely.

Does any of MF's testimony have value? Absolutely not.

Based on the known verifiable facts what is the probability Bailey is guilty? Probably close to 50\50 in my mind. I think this is why people find the case so compelling. Theories involving Bailey are probably a little more believable, yet facts around other theories are lacking because of the guards fixation with Bailey.

Should Bailey be extradited or locked up? Absolutely not.

Should people believe Bailey is innocent or guilty, and allow this to cloud their judgement? Absolutely not.

If Bailey knew Sophie he would likely have been enamored by her. If he knew she was home and saw activity in her house on the night of her murder, it would be believable to me that he would go over, filled with drunken ardor, after Jules went to bed.

What is less plausible is him being able to leave no evidence and behave as normal if he did do it.

• No evidence - The guards were as good as useless and CIS technology was in dark ages. Can't convict without it in any case.
    • Behavior - He might have been behaving squirrely but this could have been attributed to the fact that there was a murder in the community. He must have giving off guilty vibes to the Gardai anyway. But would he have been able to keep it from Jules and the people close to him? Very unlikely IMHO.

If I was a member of Sophie's family I would be gunning for the Gardai, not Bailey.

In fairness, if the investigation was conducted properly and professionally the first time around, there would be no need for potential witnesses having brain farts 25yrs later..

Let me hazzard a guess here... Old man McTavish recalls meeting Sophie in an airport lounge in France, she see's he's three sheets to the wind and assumes he's Irish.. Gets talking about her little piece of the Emerald Isle on the West coast of Cork, and shares with him the news she it to meet a tall English dude in the locality, a fellow in a long black coat, that writes poetry in his spare time (when not out killing folk).

And there we have it... The final undisputed piece of evidence that Bailey new Sophie.

It would fall in well with the rest of the nonsense being spouted around here..

• Registered Users Posts: 67 ✭✭Massive Berevement

Big distinction between those two events. One was a tragic accident and the other was a brutal murder very close to where he lived. Hardly the same thing.

So he did ask questions then. Chances are the guards might have been more forthcoming with answers at the scene of an accident versus providing answers at the scene of a murder where their heads are on the block to crack the case and find the murderer.

• Registered Users Posts: 838 ✭✭✭Gussie Scrotch

Good post and I find myself in broad agreement with the points you make.

I would, however, rate the chances of Bailey being the perpetrator at less than 10% . There is, of course, no way to accurately calculate such a probability but, it seems to me, the more I read about the case ( I too am intrigued by it) the less likely it looks.

Nick Foster is showing himself up to be a slippery sleazy character. Challenging Bailey and then his lawyer to a public debate to be held in Schull, because he wrote a mediocre book about the case. Gutter tabloid drama at its very best.

The man is trying desperately to insert himself into the murder case to keep his career going. The more he is mentioned in the papers the more radio interviews and the more book sales. Profits from the death of Sofie.

An honours graduate of the Martin Bashir school of journalism.

i agree what is it to him he is not the gardai. Why should Bailey or anyone talk to a tabloid clown like Foster. Why should anyone talk to any journalist. Heard an interview whereFoster said it was his job to find the killer or some tabloid trash like that. That is why I would not buy his book even though i would like to read it. Might be in library. You would want to be some fool to be accused of murder and take part in a public debate .Martin Bashir school of 'journalism' is right

Journalism by nature is intrusive. Don't forget, Bailey wasn't shy at taking pictures of the battered Sophie with the full intention to flog themto the highest bidder.

Didn't Bashir do a number on Michael Jackson as well as Diana? It's a thick skinned occupation.

Nick Foster looking for a debate with Bailey in Schull is .... Well, it's punching above his weight Who is he to call for a debate anyway??

Although Bailey is an intelligent man, and has a string of letters after his name regarding his legal achievements, I doubt he'd do his reputation much good by participating in such a sh*t show.

For one, he'd be half steamed before he shown up at the venue. This magnifies his arrogant side, and is not endearing to a neutral spectator. He has the gift of coming across as a self centred prick without even realising it.

But the other side of the debate debacle is.... Why should he..??

The man has stated that he is innocent. There is absolutely no evidence to place him at the crime scene, no evidence found upon his person, and no reason, motive, or otherwise to murder a stranger. (that's right, no evidence that he even met Sophie)

Why should a man have to defend his innocence? If he is guilty, let Nick Foster provide the evidence to the Gards.. No debate needed.

Even if guilty IB doesn't have to talk to a journalist. Foster playing at being a cop

I didn't realise there were two people in Schull when Sophie was killed who went on to take their own lives. Mentioned in West Cork part 12 which i have but it's a long time since I listened to it

https://extra.ie/2021/07/02/news/irish-news/did-sophie-toscan-du-plantier-documentaries-overlook-crucial-elements-of-the-case