Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

US and Nato withdrawal from Afghanistan...- threadbanned users in OP

• Registered Users Posts: 4,957 ✭✭✭kirk.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,538 ✭✭✭jmreire

He was not unarmed, he carried a big stick, and had a bloody big dog with him too !!! LOL. and he got beaten up once or twice. But a really remarkable man in all respects,,speaks about 10 different languages fluently. And he knows and understands Afghanistan and Afghans very well. Not surprising, they are a lovely people.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,702 ✭✭✭Dr. Bre

If only Afghan had oil! They would be like Saudi now . Really strict laws similar to taliban but wouldn’t be invaded

• Registered Users Posts: 16,572 ✭✭✭✭Loafing Oaf

Yeah but they're only looking to extend the evacuation by a few days; it's not like they want to hang round till Christmas. Do the Tallies really want to die in numbers on that hill?

• Registered Users Posts: 13,186 ✭✭✭✭jmayo

Never mind the Blackhawks. Luckily the Americans didn't ship the massive order that is still stateside.

The Mi-8/Mi-17s are of way more use in Afghanistan as they can carry greater loads, fly higher and now that the yanks are out of the picture they can readily get spares.

Ditto for any of the Mi-35s that they managed to capture like the one presented by India to Afghanistan that was captured last week in Konduz.

BTW that has really pi**ed off the Indians no end.

There were also load of MD 530Fs that were in Afghanistan that may have fallen into their hands.

No one really knows how many have been captured or how many were used by the Afghans to get to hell out of Dodge.

A fair few legged it to Uzbekistan, etc

An Uzbek government official has confirmed that 46 aircraft, including 22 fixed wing and 24 helicopters, and 585 Afghan airmen and soldiers had fled to Uzbekistan by air after the fall of Kabul.

The question is whether they may have to repatriate the kit back to the Taliban to maintain good relations with the new rulers of their neighbouring state.

BTW a lot of people here have been disparaging of the Afghans, the Taliban as having no fighting ability.

Yet here we are looking at another superpower legging it.

Never ever underestimate your enemy.

Also got to catch most of a very good documentary on al jazeera the other night that was following an Afghan army unit fighting the Taliban.

It was pretty eye opening.

They were sent into area to fight and told they would be a day, but were still there 45 days later.

One of the gripes some of them had was that they hadn't been paid in months.

They woke up one morning to find the police compound that was nearby has been abandoned during the night to the Taliban leaving all the weaponary and a new platform to attack them.

Eventually they had to pull out with wounded and very low ammunition.

You felt sorry for them because in affect they were being abandoned by the powers that be and as their commander said most of them were poor guys from some village that returned home wrapped in a flag.

And the Americans and British must have known that it was all a house of cards built on sand because the connected ones had lined their pockets.

I am not allowed discuss …

• Registered Users Posts: 2,010 ✭✭✭GooglePlus

The Taliban granting an extension and being diplomatic will bring them closer to a seat at the table with foreign investors such as China. They'd be fools to go down their usual route but anything can happen when power structures are not clearly defined from within.

Afghanistan's first railway was constructed only 10 years ago to link up with Uzbekistan and thus Russia to get minerals out.

Supposedly Afghanistan has lots of mineral resources and also could be conduit for gas pipelines from central Asia down to Pakistan and India.

They have 10 or 12 copper mines. They have baryte which yields barium. They have chromite that can yield chromium.

The US estimated they are sitting on a trillion dollars of untapped minerals.

Now not sure what is Taliban's stance on foreign mining operations?

• Registered Users Posts: 23,760 ✭✭✭✭Kermit.de.frog

Good points by the TD, former ranger, on the radio this morning (6 minutes in) that we are essentially freeloading off the French to get our people in to Afghanistan because we are the only country in Europe that has no heavy airlift capability. Not even one aircraft which would have done here.

He also says it costs us more to deploy than it would if we had aircraft to transport.

There may be movement on this before the end of the year though which is good.

You'd think this would be basic stuff but it's just another case of fecklessness really.

• Registered Users Posts: 24,253 ✭✭✭✭Sleepy

A probably dumb question but if the likes of Dublin Airport was still running at about 10k pax per day in December 2020 (amid Covid conditions), I'm a little confused as to why it's taking so long to get those waiting at Kabul out? Surely it'd be easier and safer to simply load the planes to the gills, transport everyone to a safe harbour and sort out visa entitlements there?

Would it be feasible to send back the ones you turn down in a month's time or whenever though?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,348 ✭✭✭basill

Any airline worth their salt is not going to go near Kabul. There are specialist airlines (eg: Omni, Atlas Air) that contract to the military and are well versed in operating into warzones. The only recent exception has been a DOD order requiring a very small number of aircraft from a handful of US airlines to operate rescue flights. I would expect these to be flown by reservists and no doubt they will be tooled up, there is already existing provisions for certain US pilots to carry firearms.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,702 ✭✭✭Dr. Bre

• Registered Users Posts: 2,209 ✭✭✭Mr. teddywinkles

a bit late now since they were hiding for the last 20 years

• Registered Users Posts: 40,291 ✭✭✭✭Gatling

Highly unlikely ,for instance if they flew 10,000 afgans here on short notice and a few weeks later we said we are only giving asylum to 500 we would still be stuck with the other 9500 permanently we rarely deport failed asylum seekers,

Only some like 1,400 deportations over 25 years have taken place here despite tens of thousands of asylum seekers coming and in a lot of cases refused asylum ,

Other countries do deport alot more and more often but for most part asylum seekers are free to move around country to country until someone does grant asylum or some kind of international protection

• Registered Users Posts: 4,072 ✭✭✭joseywhales

He was the prime minister the Brits needed but didn't deserve. Lost out in the popularity contest because let's face it he is a bit weird and looks a bit weird for most ordinary people's taste. What a pity though, to get Boris over an honest, intelligent, humble guy like that. You should listen to his great speech on the hedgehog in the commons.

It's one of the best speeches I've ever seen.

Only landing in Bagram though, two-hour coach journey into the city from there

• Registered Users Posts: 4,935 ✭✭✭fly_agaric

Is it not deliberate, rather than fecklessness? The Irish defence forces are afaik very underfunded in all aspects, have been for decades (counting from the period post 90s or so where country could afford to resource them better) and Irish public and politicians want it like that. I can't really recall any recent politician mentioning them or their work or what they might need to do their job. So that interview is a first for me. Ireland believes our being "neutral" is all about about skimping on the budget for them as much as possible. You don't do that by spending alot of money on having military transport planes on hand + no doubt an expensive supporting infrastructure to maintain & run them.

It is probably some politician that wants us to look good.

It is a joke since we still need to cadge a lift to get them there and they need to beg a lift out as well.

Then he starts waffling about how great they are and how they could help if things go south.

Will they start begging for bullets and weapons as well.

We can't afford heavy lift aircraft because our politicians, or indeed the electorate, don't ever back a proper defense budget.

We have two Casa 235s and we don't have the crews half the time to man them, or maybe people forgot the R116 crash and why it was there in the first place. Besides one of the Casas is often U/S anyway.

Anyway they are used for everything and anything from maritime patrolling, air ambulance, military transport, SS&R top cover, parachuting ops. Oh and ministerial transport. And I think prisoner transport in the past.

We are getting the more modern big brother the Casa 295, but don't get your hopes up - we only ordered two.

Actually liked him after watching him before years ago on Afghanistan and he was one of few politicians that actually knew something about it.

I hear Camp Bastion is now available with nice shiny runway, but the commute to Kabul would be hell.

Post edited by jmayo on

• Registered Users Posts: 5,994 ✭✭✭kirving

Went on a charter flight to from Dublin to Spain about 15 years ago, operated by Omni Air International. I still remember how harsh the take off was, and that the pilot must have been used to flying into Kabul.

Sleepy seemed to be talking about removing them to a holding pen somewhere like Qatar, sorting out who is entitled to move to a western country there in less stressful circumstances than currently prevailing in Kabul, then sending the rest of them back to Afghanistan. I'm thinking the issue would lie not in the willingness of the Americans to repatriate failed applicants but in the willingness of the Taliban to accept them.

• Registered Users Posts: 40,291 ✭✭✭✭Gatling

It would be 2 sided issue for most part ,one side can say we're sending 100 people back to Afghanistan or elsewhere but they can also say no were not allowing people to be returned , which means what ever country they land in is responsible for them ,who in turn could say sorry we didn't fly them here so we're not taking them ,,

Guys like Stewart make me wonder about the appeal of politics. His previous pursuits of soldier, diplomat, author, adventurer all sound a damn sight more appealing to me than sorting out medical cards for Cumbrian farmers or whatever it is British MPs do.

• Registered Users Posts: 544 ✭✭✭agoodpunt

biden says no ext damage is done so might walk away let afgans sort out there own fate

He actually looks like a throwback to the old days and his life is almost like a young W Churchill even.

There are a lot of similarities in ways.

From old family, mind not as successful or high flying as Churchills, fecked off to boarding school as a young kid, then tries army, then diplomatic corp, then goes off writing, then into politics and after trying different parties.

Mind you he appears to have a lot more scruples than old Churchill.

He started charity in Afghanistan, that's how he met the American missus who is no eejit either, then actually followed up his promise that he wouldn't serve under Johnson and resigned.

At least he tried different stuff, saw the world, unlike a lot of ours that went to teacher training college, worked as teacher for a few years and then into politics or even worse never held a job in their life before becoming politicians.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,339 ✭✭✭✭jimmycrackcorm

Ironic isn't it, considering also the links between Al Qaeda, Audi Arabia and 9/11

• Registered Users Posts: 419 ✭✭Mullinabreena

This is a good summary on how Afghanistan became a failed state.

https://youtu.be/_jsvmQR19TE

• Registered Users Posts: 4,072 ✭✭✭joseywhales

I honestly think, he just felt that the more power he can obtain the more change he can make based on his life experience but obviously he ignored the fact that you can't survive politics as an honest person. He's coy enough too but these days I think you have to be willing to knowingly lie without flinching.

As his Father was in the Diplomatic service, he saw himself as following in his footsteps, and also entering politics, and one reason he did his walking tours was to gain first hand experience, instead of as he said, listening to 2nd and 3rd hand storys and fairy tales. And he succeeded in this 100%.

No they dont have widespread support amongst the Afghan people,quite the contrary. No one has good memories of the previous Taliban rule, they still have vivid memories of the horrors perpetrated on them by Talibs. Why do you think so many are trying to escape? Their main connection to the Afghan People was their links to the drug trade,,,,No Afghan agrees with the Taliban brand of Islam, none. The weapons ( not the newly acquired US ones ) and support would have been supplied by Pakistan, Iran, and anyone else who wanted to hit at the US / UK etc.

I'd say it was probably as a politician, he would have more influence on events, and a man with his talents would have the possibility to rise very high.