Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Biden/Harris Presidency Discussion Thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,121 ✭✭✭TomOnBoard

Sadly, the ISIS-K rear-guard action that was greatly feared over the past week has now begun. Yesterday's action at the airport is just the beginning of what could become a bloody couple of days as these lunatics try for martyrdom. Anyone at the airport, regardless of nationality (and including Talibs) will be seen as legitimate targets, just by virtue of being there. If the ISIS-K soldiers can get to take out even a single American, they won't care if they take out a hundred, or a thousand locals in the.process.

This is the ultimate point of a failed policy, and a.shocking defeat after 20 years of war. Afghanistan falls back to 2001, but with horrendously more weaponry. The one-winged chickens are truly coming home to roost!

As for Biden's political future, once the dust settles, the current knee-jerk screeching will all blow over! Anybody with a titter of wit knows this was not going to end well, and the end was always going to be messy. The needle of support for or against Biden won't move an inch among either the staunch Dem or staunch GOP supporters. Their respective levels of support for their side will only deepen and become more entrenched. As always, it will depend on how the middle ground react, once the thing is done and dusted. And that could go either way!

• Registered Users Posts: 13,544 ✭✭✭✭hotmail.com

Americans don't care about the loss of life. All you have to look at is their reaction to their covid death toll. They didn't care. They will say a lot of prayers.

Even after the disaster of Iraq, America re elected George Bush in 2004.

So Biden will escape this chaos and the poor Afghans will be left to pick up the pieces.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,915 ✭✭✭✭Danzy

There is more to life than US electoral politics.

There are many certainly delighting in Biden's mess but there exact opposites are pretending it is not a mess, that leaving it to the last minute was the only option.

It's a big boost for the Islamic State,who look like the only effective opposition to the Taliban and team left fighting Satan etc.

The Islamic State holding ground in Afghanistan, it and the Taliban using the country to spread Jihadism.

Neither being able to stop runaway Afghani population growth which makes the country certain to fail even more.

Yet what is the answer. You can't force the Afghanis to think different to the Taliban, can't force them to view women different.

That was tried for 20 years, it's failed.

This will be a running wound in the region for many years to come, a problem and threat for Europe as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,132 ✭✭✭✭Rjd2

No matter your opinion on the rights and wrongs of Biden's actions, this won't matter much long term politically.

American public want out and have for a long time simple as that.

Those in the GOP who think this will do wonders for them when it comes to voting still haven't learned from Trump . A huge draw when it came to Trump was he talked about the folly of forever war and teased similar withdrawals. He obviously did not follow through by hiring hawks galore!

• Registered Users Posts: 4,154 ✭✭✭Sudden Valley

I think in a few months time this won't be an election issue unless American hostages are taken if they don't get everyone out.

Do people really think that Biden is going for a second term? He looks and speaks like a very old man. Trump for all his fault never sounded so weak. I think the bigger issue for Democrats is that Harris has become as anonymous as Al Gore was years ago as VP.

Trump was popular and in many ways equally despised for disengaging US forces from the never ending adventurism of the previous 30 years.

The problem for Biden is his administration have acted as if they had no idea there was a withdrawal date. Not that they withdrew.

It was the lack of planning.

There is about 1500 US citizens left behind, if some of them start appearing in Isis videos, that will do significant harm to him.

It is not something that will blow over in 6 months, it could very well define his Presidency.

In wider geo politics it shows that America is very beatable when you have the population behind you, the effects of having a quasi failed Jihadi State in the region is one to watch as well.

It's all much bigger than poor old Joe or Donald.

Harris is keeping low so as not to be tainted by the problems of the pandemic and Afghanistan.

When the economic bounce comes she'll come to the fore.

Which is completely understandable and advisable. Let the one term President be the public face of the crappy times.

There May be 1k to 1500 US citizens left behind.

US Vice Presidents ly low because they have little constitutional power. They are largely irrelevant. Many in America regularly have no idea who the Vice President is at a particular time.

• Registered Users Posts: 336 ✭✭NaFirinne

The US is a fallen nation at this stage, and China is well on it's way of replacing them really soon as the number 1 world power in every way.

The Current administration have so far greatly weakend the US and Strenghtend China.

Did they do it on purpose or is it just complete incompentence.

I reckon the U.S. has done a deal with the Taliban that anyone left behind after 31st who want to leave, will be allowed leave on commercial flights. It'll probably mean paying over or releasing a couple of hundred million bucks, and committing to not bombing the **** out of stuff left behind, but that's small beer in the scheme of things. If anyone stays, once offered a way out, then they'll be on their own.

The Taliban had better make absolutely sure that ISIS-K don't get their hands on those who want to leave but who are still there after next week, 'coz if ISIS start beheading U.S. people on their way out (which is their main aim at the moment) its going to be carnage!

As for Afghans who can't get out by next week, may their God help them!

This is reductionist blather that adds absolutely nothing to debate or discussion in this thread. The US was never the No 1 world power 'in every way', and anyone who understands the totality of what comprises a world power would never consider China is replacing them in that context.

The US may well be the no 1 world power in terms of military capability; China is not even close.

The US stinks in terms of social justice and has done since forever. Sweden or Ireland would be much closer to no 1 in that trgard, and China's record in that regard is appalling.

US healthcare is a basket case, and never was considered no 1. Give that perhaps to the French or Canadians.

US environmental record is dreadful, but China's is thousands of times worse. I'll give that sector's No 1 spot to Scandanavian countries by and large.

etc.

So, while the premise that the US is a 'falling nation' as distinct from a 'fallen nation' may have some merit, it is falling from a not very great height, and that decline certainly didn't just begin 6 or 7 months ago.

From the perspective of this thread, Biden inherited a bag of shite from Trump, deliberately seeded with countless booby traps and is attempting (sometimes poorly it must he said) to wipe off the worst of the excrement from a whole bunch of turds, before he even begins to try to polish them!

The patriotic rubbish that most Americans engage with and are excited by, disguises the many many flaws of US culture and society.

They are served by the worst news media in the world which is exclusively driven by ratings. CNN showed a concert the other night. A news channel showing a concert.

Absolutely! We all assess and indeed judge, through our own prisms. That's why facts are so important, and are the foundation of assessment and judgement. So, while our assessments and judgements may differ, our set of facts should not! If they do differ, either one of us is wrong or we both are..

• Registered Users Posts: 1,036 ✭✭✭pearcider

The sheer incompetence of the Biden administration knows no bounds. This wokepocalypse is only getting started for the United States.

https://www.zerohedge.com/geopolitical/erik-prince-responds-psakis-comments-issues-dire-warning-kabul

He criticized Washington "who decided to give up Bagram, our largest airbase in the region - which is actually defendable - to say we're gonna do our final staging out of Kabul, an airport in the middle of a city of four and a half million surrounded on hills by three sides, where just ten guys, with a couple of motor tubes can shut the whole place down and destroy billions of dollars of U.S. aircraft and kill 1000s of people on those aircraft, and that's what I'm afraid we're in store for over the next few days, a few hours." 

• Registered Users Posts: 10,507 ✭✭✭✭AbusesToilets

Harris will not be a Democratic nominee. She performed abysmally in the Primaries. I personally can't stand her, find her extremely insincere and her record in public office is terrible imo.

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 15,812 Mod ✭✭✭✭Quin_Dub

That would be the opinions of Erik Prince , owner of Blackwater , that most notorious Military contracting company aka Mercenaries , who is currently running a human trafficking operation out of Kabul charging people 6 grand a head on the promise that he'll fly them out.

Maybe they should be machine gunning civilians to keep things in line at the gates??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,511 ✭✭✭✭duploelabs

This is the same guy who wanted to charge £6500 per seat on humanitarian flights

https://www.forbes.com/sites/andrewsolender/2021/08/25/white-house-bashes-erik-princes-6500-evacuation-flights-efforts-to-profit-off-peoples-agony-and-pain/

6500 is a bargain in the circumstances. I suppose you work for free in your own life?

The Big Mans administration is so incompetent they literally abandoned tens of thousands to their fate with absolutely no planning whatsoever.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,706 ✭✭✭Celticfire

Of course a government rendering humanitarian aid would never ever think of engaging in these human trafficking practices of looking for payment.

Flight Costs: Repatriation flights are not free, and passengers will be required to sign a promissory loan agreement and may not be eligible to renew their U.S. passports until the loan is repaid. The cost may be $2,000USD or more per person.

This was posted 14th August on the OSAC website and only after huge blowback did the US government say it wouldn't pursue for the money.

Security Alert: Afghanistan, Repatriation Assistance for U.S. Citizens (osac.gov)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,083 ✭✭✭relax carry on

No issue with profiteering off the suffering of others. Interesting outlook on life you have there.

Everything we have from our food supply to your iPhone is predicated on profiteering from the “suffering” of others. Maybe read Adam Smith The Wealth of Nations and come back to me.

A chartered flight out of a war zone with private security detail. Sure you could spend 6 grand inter railing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,393 ✭✭✭Suckler

Comparing escaping a war zone with inter-railing.......

She dropped out before the primary got to her home state because she couldn't face the humiliation of losing it, all this despite having the backing of the corporate media democrat machine from the day she declared.

Maybe if they have a really bad mid terms, and Biden indicate he won't run, and concerns remain over the popularity regarding Harris, they may have to for a celeb?

Not impossible someone like the Rock is tapped up then, he'd win easily.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,372 ✭✭✭✭salmocab

The last thing that country needs is another celebrity in charge. It needs a steady hand to get it back on course, unfortunately it also needs the GOP to come back from the edge.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 36,711 CMod ✭✭✭✭pixelburp

This isn't the first time I've seen The Rock mentioned for political office, and I gotta ask: is there any truth in this, or sense then man actually wants to take a swing at a position? Obviously we have had plenty of Hollywood stars stand in or win elections and yes, Ronald Reagan was himself a former star but he still started as Governor (of California funnily enough). The Rock jumping straight into the presidency feels outlandish, while the man himself as struck as apolitical in his media presence.

He endorsed Biden last time and he has teased it previously. I know the National Review wrote an article he retweeted approvingly about running a few years ago so its something that he is clearly considering.

I can't pretend to know his politics in depth, but I suspect he'd run as a moderate Democrat closer to the Biden wing rather than the Bernie crew if pushed.

A lot would need to go wrong though for him to run, dire mid terms, Biden not running and Trump also not running!

Obviously the Harris scenario is very messy, how do you persuade her to step aside? And if you do, can it really be for a white man?

He's run the score up if he ran. The charisma he has is insane and he is popular with both sides which in this era is remarkable.

He'd also stop making **** movies as well.😀

• Registered Users Posts: 10,507 ✭✭✭✭AbusesToilets

I hate that we have to ensure this idea of politics by quota. Shouldn't matter what sex or colour a candidate. I want one who'll actually deliver on important measures. I'd hoped Biden could manage a few, but it seems that likelihood is rapidly diminishing