Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

No quitten we're whelan on to chitchat 11

A lot more deliveries being done with covid, last year vans were being bought by companies sight unseen. Trades are busy now too so there's pressure on vans from all sides.

• Registered Users Posts: 29,550 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

Who'd have thought mayo and Tyrone would be in the all Ireland final?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,252 ✭✭✭Figerty

60 Years of tractor evolution in one picture..

• Registered Users Posts: 6,986 ✭✭✭kevthegaff

Their slot cheaper than a jeep to buy and run. My hilux in the last year has been criminally expensive. It would Make a repayment on a new one the money I put into it

• Registered Users Posts: 5,220 ✭✭✭Grueller

I have an 06 dmax here. She cost €1100 to get through the test last year and will probably cost near it again this year. 250,000km on her only so I hope to get another 5 or so years out of her. To be fair the €1100 wouldn't go too far on replacing her.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,986 ✭✭✭kevthegaff

A hilux is 40-45 new, mine is worth 7 to 8. When u look at a new one and minus some repairs, their starting to make abit more sense..

• Registered Users Posts: 5,220 ✭✭✭Grueller

I bought a tractor based on those figures too Kev.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,552 ✭✭✭✭Say my name

Irish exports of 2020 by value.

Forklift trucks stand out to me. Whether plant machinery exported to Africa is classed as forklifts.

Blood products at the top there.

Aren't the mornings gone fierce dark. ?

• Registered Users Posts: 8,232 ✭✭✭funkey_monkey

We'd do it now only to make sure tanks are empty for the winter. Stirred them at weekend. Going out later this week. Can't rely on decent weather at the end of the closed period to get it out so we clear it all now when the ground is good.

If you have sufficient storage, hold until you can get some better use out of it - otherwise get it out now.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,118 ✭✭✭emaherx

Decided to give up the day job to stay home and mind the kids. Gives me much more time with them and extra time to play farmer in the mornings too, as little one is in play school for 3 hours. Paid a lump sum off mortgage and now repayments are half what they were and without childcare costs we really won't be much worse off on our disposable income.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,332 ✭✭✭Suckler

Not jealous at all.......

Fair play to you though!

• Registered Users Posts: 2,149 ✭✭✭Dinzee Conlee

Best of luck Emaherx, I am positive you wont regret it. And if you do decide to go back, am sure you'd get a job handy enough with your skill set.

My missus gave up work after we had our third kid, as the childcare costs were getting big then. And she was keen to do so anyways, outside of the childcare costs. Must say we don't regret it, but you do miss the additional wage at times. I assume your wife is still working?

• Registered Users Posts: 6,118 ✭✭✭emaherx

Yes, she's a nurse so it's a good secure job with pension. I was only in my job 6 months, but they said to let them know if I plan on going back to work.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,222 ✭✭✭Dozer1

great decision to be able to make, too much money going out here to consider it but we've discussed it several times, lockdowns have really opened alot of parents eyes to how much time they see the kids the very best of luck with it

• Registered Users Posts: 2,947 ✭✭✭dzer2

You won't regret it.

I stayed at home for 8 yrs after my mum died to mind the kids, saved a fortune in child care and really got to understand what I missed with the oldest 2. To this day I would be a lot closer to the youngest ones. The memories and days that you have together at that age stay with them and they still bring up some of the stupidest things we done back then.

Really miss those days it's a pity they grow up so fast

• Registered Users Posts: 18,569 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

Spent the day about the Burren, trip down the cave and some hiking in the afternoon, photo at Fr Ted house 🤣

Burren certainly is a unique landscape and even this late in the year the abundance of wild flowers is staggering.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,567 ✭✭✭roosterman71

Young lad headed to preschool for the first time today. Wasn't a success. After an hour the Mrs went to spy and he was just sitting bawling his eyes out and being ignored. Says he didn't like it and no one would play with him and his mammy left him and he couldn't find her anywhere. Not sure whether to skip tomorrow and then let him go again Wednesday for a short spell or what to do.

• Registered Users Posts: 18,569 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

That’s a shame, did ye chat to the teacher at all about it ??

Mrs did. She just said he only started crying a few minutes before she arrived. Lad was hoarse from crying though. Don't think she was being 100% truthful. He's a shy lad anyway and hasn't been mixing with kids for pandemic reasons. We expected a bit of trouble at the start. Be the first time someone other than us or his grandparents have minded him.

Like the few that quit work to mind kids, working from home this last 18 months has been a gift really in terms of watching the kid grow and learn. There has to be a greater bond between all in these situations compared with sending them to creche when they are tiny

• Registered Users Posts: 2,149 ✭✭✭Dinzee Conlee

It’s a tough thing, to drop a crying child at the Creche. Would break your heart walking away and they roaring :(

Could ye stay for a while with him tomorrow, to help him settle in? I know the play school allows that a bit at the start of the year…

I think if you just drop and go, the longer you wait around the harder it is for the child. First 2 kids here were grand. Youngest lad cried a lot and the creche said he wasn't the type of child they wanted there....we sent him to a different place and he was fine.

This was drop and go. Not allowed in. They come out and bring them in from the gate. Mrs did that and left him. Both were upset! She went back after an hour to check through the window and seen him bawling on a chair. She brought him out then but it was arranged he'd only stay the hour beforehand to ease him in.

I've no advice for ya only I hope it get's worked out sooner than later, hate it here when the young fella is upset.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,829 ✭✭✭straight

Sound like a first child issue. Once you get to number 3 or 4 you will be glad to drop and go.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,794 ✭✭✭mr.stonewall

Little guy started pre school today. Stick with it and maybe try a few days where he will be in for only an hr. Start small and build up. Maybe if he brings something he likes to eat can help. Also time it so that he will be there when it's snack time. Our fella is quiet and loves to play on his own

We started him for a few days last week for an hour a day and by the end of the week he will be up to 2. Also to say to the minders to have some toys left aside that he is interested in, out lad it has to be cows, tractors and trucks and by the end of the week he was talking about playing with them

Will really help him to socialise with others and the preschool years help with the transition to primary school. Little lady started primary this week and loves it. It tough for the first 2-3 weeks. Don't give up, it's tough on the little man, your wife, yourself and also on the minders in preschool, but it will get easier with each day

Was talking to a pre school teacher at football tonight. She said today was rough. It will get easier. She said the worst was a foreign child with no English. Hard enough to console a child but when you don't speak their language it's tough going.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,219 ✭✭✭✭Nekarsulm

Had a weekend away in Donegal just past.

Lovely time in Donegal town, Killybegs, a night at St. John's Point ( great beach, and a bit of fishing too) and a day at Bundoran.

Bundoran is a touristy hell-hole, but Tullan beach is great, with 3 different surf schools vying for trade.

€25 for two hours, young lassie was wrecked after.

I'll tell you one thing, there's ner a mention of Covid Certs, or Apps or Shots or Jabs in Donegal town.....

Was in about 5 pubs, and it's like Covid never happened.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,200 ✭✭✭Good loser

Got three small sheds painted. Power washed. 540 sq ft round roof primed for rust then painted. Two others pitched roofs 120 sq ft and 150 sq ft primed and painted.

Overall 800 sq ft for 1k + vat.