Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Relaxation of Restrictions, Part XII *Read OP For Mod Warnings*

• Registered Users Posts: 24,357 ✭✭✭✭lawred2

Sorry I picked you up mistakenly. Yeah I'd agree.

I agree. They're the worst restriction for me.

But I just don't see the justification for them post-vaccination. They should be immediately got rid of, as happened in Hungary, and is set to happen in the Netherlands and Denmark.

• Registered Users Posts: 389 ✭✭Vaccinated30

Such pessimistic posts. October is 2 months away, 25½hours from now October will be next month.

• Registered Users Posts: 38,309 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

You'll be labeled as a complainer saying that

Don't you understand our betters know best and we should be jumping for joy with the news of the restrictions easing but we're not there yet. If we're not good little boys and girls then back to lockdown we go

• Registered Users Posts: 433 ✭✭redlad12

• Registered Users Posts: 18,438 ✭✭✭✭bucketybuck

One of the lads who was labeling people a complainer and saying we just needed to wait until the start of September now has this to say:

"You'll get over it."

It doesn't matter what is announced, it will be defended regardless.

• Registered Users Posts: 975 ✭✭✭Parachutes

They've become a bit of a political football. They've become a symbol of the pro-government, left wing crowd. Don't think the Government will get rid of them anytime soon, they are a great empty platitude to easily look like they are doing something without much effort.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,291 ✭✭✭bikeman1

Tomorrow will be more half hearted, reacting to the Twitter mob , watered down, caveated crap.

All making things complicated and nonsensical for no reason whatsoever. Why 60%? Why 75%? Why not in schools? Why 23:30? Why are weddings ok, but live theatre is not?

Make it simple, give the people something back, and open up. That’s what’s happening anyway!

• Registered Users Posts: 975 ✭✭✭Parachutes

Look at that lads username, will tell you everything you need to know 🙄

• Registered Users Posts: 12,962 ✭✭✭✭JRant

The majority of people have already moved on and are just going around most of the silly restrictions at this stage. Pubs closing early just means more house parties. Hopefully tomorrow we see this government finally listen to what people are actually doing and not what they think they should be doing. Honestly, has anyone paid any heed to the ridiculous restrictions on who and how many can enter your home. Absolutely daft rules are what they've specialised in for some time so don't expect that to change tomorrow. Instead of just coming out and saying all restrictions will be gone by a certain date (with some caveats) they'll have half baked nonsense about capacity limits etc. I mean, who in the name of jaysus is going to go in and count all the people in a venue to make sure they are at 60/75% capacity. It's just for show at this stage and will be roundly ignored in weeks.

"Well, yeah, you know, that's just, like, your opinion, man"

Will they ever get rid of them? That's what I wonder. I've yet to receive an answer to the question "If post-vaccination doesn't mean the end of masks everywhere (including on aeroplanes) then how do they ever go?"

• Registered Users Posts: 7,570 ✭✭✭Penfailed

Can you stop with this shíte? It's getting to be every other post from you now. Are you trying to hammer it home? Everyone reading this thread already knows that you think this. Repeating it over and over and over doesn't make it true.

Gigs '24 - Ben Ottewell and Ian Ball (Gomez), The Jesus & Mary Chain, The Smashing Pumpkins/Weezer, Pearl Jam, Green Day, Stendhal Festival, Forest Fest, Electric Picnic, Ride, PJ Harvey, Pixies, Public Service Broadcasting, Therapy?, IDLES(x2)

Was in a pub yesterday in Carlow.never asked for covid passport bs and fair play to the barman for not asking

• Registered Users Posts: 7,570 ✭✭✭Penfailed

This thread is mental. Only in a relaxing of restrictions thread would the impending announcement of most restrictions being relaxed garner bitching about what few restrictions are left. Unreal. Keep up with the negativity lads.

Gigs '24 - Ben Ottewell and Ian Ball (Gomez), The Jesus & Mary Chain, The Smashing Pumpkins/Weezer, Pearl Jam, Green Day, Stendhal Festival, Forest Fest, Electric Picnic, Ride, PJ Harvey, Pixies, Public Service Broadcasting, Therapy?, IDLES(x2)

• Registered Users Posts: 18,438 ✭✭✭✭bucketybuck

Its only 2 more months before they might be removed, whats the problem like.

All you have to do is wait until winter and then it will definitely be all over.

• Registered Users Posts: 15,084 ✭✭✭✭Ha Long Bay

Very quick and simple question did you get vaccinated?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,374 ✭✭✭SortingYouOut

A lot of people are in it for the complaining and will always find something. They'd find an oasis in a desert and drown out of spite.

Beverly Hills, California

It's funny, you can get thread banned for making a jokey comment. Or you can just be allowed post disingenuous stuff day after day after day and that's ok.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,786 ✭✭✭snowgal

Well regardless of some of the last comments here, I’m still genuinely delighted to see the way out of this and dates and numbers and goodbye covid crap hopefully. Agree at the minute from what we hear still confusing percentages and all but I’m just looking forward to good news tomorrow, a way out!!! We need to start an opening up thread now!

• Registered Users Posts: 38,309 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

What's to stop them turning around mid October and saying 'sorry lads the reopening will have to be put off for xx weeks because the numbers are too high'

Its hard not be a bit cynical when we know how easy it is to shut everything down. I for one cant wait to see the back of these covid restrictions and England has shown life can go on alongside this virus

• Registered Users Posts: 2,885 ✭✭✭dominatinMC

Some of the posts are actually hilarious. If you didn't know any better, you'd think they were trolling. But the sad thing is they believe the scutter they type.

• Registered Users Posts: 15,069 ✭✭✭✭charlie14

This thread is gas. I thought before any restrictions were eased the complaining could not possibly get worse. So much for that. Each time they have been eased it has gone up several notches. Right now I actually believe that if all restrictions were announced gone tomorrow morning and everyone to receive a thousand euro, this thread would be flooded within minutes with complaints that a thousand euro was not enough.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,550 ✭✭✭✭bodhrandude

I suppose we'll have to wait and see, hopefully we can get some trad sessions back in Galway for what is lifeblood for a lot of traditional musicians in the city.

If you want to get into it, you got to get out of it. (Hawkwind 1982)

At this stage I think the only thing that would result in a bit of positivity from the usual suspects on this thread is:

• Complete elimination immediately of all Covid measures, and by immediately that really means yesterday
    • outlaw the use of face masks punishable by public flogging
    • outlaw the mention of the words Covid and virus on all public broadcasts
    • Immediate commencement of show trials of politicians, public health experts and media with all those guilty of ever implementing or supporting any Covid measures to suffer one of the following punishments depending on severity of crime - loss of job and forbidden from working again in their field/ exile / imprisonment with daily public flogging.

The immediate implementation of the above in full has the potential to eliminate between 7 and 11% of the incessant moaning on this thread

• Registered Users Posts: 389 ✭✭Vaccinated30

That womans.

I set this account up having read boards for years and was following the vaccone thread. I was group 4 so wanted to tell people group 4 was being vaccinated.

Although what that has to do with the fact that tomorrow is October not 2 months away is beyond me.

Edit. : Tomorrow is September 🤣🤣🤣 next month is October

Post edited by Vaccinated30 on

• Registered Users Posts: 24,357 ✭✭✭✭lawred2

Speaking of creating new restrictions while simultaneously discussing the removal of restrictions

• Registered Users Posts: 6,669 ✭✭✭Allinall

Nothing to stop the English re-introducing a lockdown.

• Registered Users Posts: 23,527 ✭✭✭✭pjohnson

This thread has always been at its most upset whenever restrictions were eased.

Its like clockwork. If restrictions ease then they'll have nowt to complain about daily.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,861 ✭✭✭daheff

No its not. People who are vaccinated can still pick up Covid and transmit it to others (even those who are vaccinated). Do you think its magically going away on 22nd October?