Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Katherine Zappone Envoy Gig

• Registered Users Posts: 19,663 ✭✭✭✭Muahahaha

I think Coveney still wants the top job but yeah would agree that this latest episode has damaged him badly, he had a good record up until now. If he wants it though he is going to have to move at some stage in the next 6 months, his deadline is December 2022 when the role of Taoiseach reverts back to FG so he'd want to have his ducks lined up in a row by next summer at the latest.

The other side of it is that FG actually needs a change of leader if they want to win elections. Varadkar has proved himself useless at this and if your leader doesnt know how to win elections then the party will end up in decline. Take a look at Varadkars electoral record

-2017, lost the leadership vote among the membership who overwhelmingly wanted Coveney 65%-35%

-2019 lost the local elections to Fianna Fail

-2020 lost the General Election to Sinn Fein and only got elected himself on the 5th count, i.e. even his own constituents are getting sick of him which is a very a bad signal for him nationally

-2021 lost the DBS by election, something that was easily winnable had he put forward the right candidate, yet another cock up by Varadkar. He literally snatched defeat from the jaws of victory and got beaten by Ivana Bacik of all people

So the fact of the matter is Varadkar doesnt know how to lead his party to election wins, which is kind of important when youre a party leader. If Varadkar leads FG into the next election it will go no different to the 2020 version except to return an even worse result. Mary Lou will wipe the floor with him in the debates and the campaign again just like she did last time out.

People forget that when that 2020 election (which was held at a timing of FGs choice) they were running high in the polls (32%) but then the campaign got under way and three weeks later FG tanked and ended up on 21% while while SF surged to beat them into third place. That result is all on Varadkar and it happened because he is a useless campaigner and a useless debater under pressure.

Nothing is going to change on that score at the next election, the main difference is that even more people than ever will be sick of the sight of him. When his own constituents dont let him top the poll while he is a sitting Taoiseach you know there is a serious underlying problem there. Sitting Taoiseachs are expected to top the poll, Enda Kenny did it, Bertie did it, Bruton did it,Albert Reynolds did, Haughey did it but Varadkar? Nope, elected on the 5th count showing that he isnt even popular in his own backyard. So if FG dont get Coveney into the leadership position then the next election for FG will be Varadkars fifth election loss in a row because losing elections is literally what he does.

• Registered Users Posts: 69,176 ✭✭✭✭FrancieBrady

Good assessment and mad to see his failures in a list like that.

I haven't believed for a long time that he will lead into the next election. Unless FG have a FFian death wish.

Mad too, to say it, but he could be in jail come the next election. Stranger things have happened.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,324 ✭✭✭Shebean

The complete worse thing that could happen to Varadkar is a resignation, a bruised ego and a high paying lobbying job. This is Ireland.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,365 ✭✭✭✭McMurphy

There is a very clear question mark hanging over any suggestion that text was the first time Leo had heard about any of this, and it comes from the language used by Katherine Zappone, see below.

At the very least, we know from that above, Leo knew what "next Wednesday" was about, and where it was being held, because if he didn't, his reply naturally would have been "sorry, next Wednesday what/where"?

Come to think of it, the language in the text is almost too full of clear information, it's almost script like it's so clear and precise. If some decent journalist gets to the bottom of the merrion affair, and what the true nature of Zappones "reception" was (IE was it a celebratory party for the role she hadn't officially got at that stage) Leo might be in deeper **** than he's already in. As he probably unintentionally revealed in that text her was fully aware of the party in the Merrion

So not only has he (your suggestion, not mine) "created an offence - GDPR wise", he might have actually hung himself out to dry by accidentally revealing actually how much he was aware of this crony appointment, and when how long he knew about it for.

• Registered Users Posts: 15,451 ✭✭✭✭Ha Long Bay

Wonder how he knew?

Maybe the text the day before would have tipped him off to the mysterious event?

Apologies, I used the Friday text not the Thursday one..... However this ain't your "gotcha" moment halong, jumped in two feet first again I'm afraid.

Pay attention below. 🤣

When I went to school, a "reminder" was a word used to remind someone about something previously discussed.

Posted by Ha Long Bay Maybe the text the day before would have tipped him off to the mysterious event?

maybe we need the text before this reminder one, and that might clear the whole mystery up further🤔

Measure twice, cut once halong.

He knew there was an event in the Merrion yes so what's your point? Where is the conspiracy? If you have any additional information please share it. If not its speculation and not sure that's allowed here.

We need to know if the event was a celebration of 'finalising' her appointment. It's clear the 'reminder' is evidence that there is other correspondence out there about the event that isn't being released.

No conspiracy, just a question mark hanging over how long Leo knew about the envoy role, and the party in the Merrion hotel, and what the true nature of the party was for. We know from that text, Zappone discussed the party with Varadkar sometime before Thursday the 15thz and we know Leo gave her his intention of attendance.

Once again (you seem to have missed this the last time I posted it) if any journalist can uncover the true nature of Zappones party (let's say for arguement sake it was a congratulatory party for a job Zappone had not officially had at this stage) well then Leo could land himself in bigger shît than he's in at the minute. (Excluding the criminal investigation he's still subject to 😉)

Post edited by McMurphy on

It's fairly obvious from the texts it wasn't if the Tánaiste didn't even know about it when confirming he would attend the Merrion gathering.

Didn't know about the job?

Are we back to this nonsense?

Your friend you are close enough to, who wants to see you at an event or who 'or 😎 see you at the event and a separate time' mentions a new prestigious job and you just say 'nope'????

Are you having a laugh Ha?

The rational explanation was he knew what the reminder was and knew about the job but didn't know about the details (the 'anything') that were being finalised on the Wednesday.

Stevie Wonder would be able to see from the texts he had no idea about the proposed appointment. Just because you are trying to link the two things does not make it true.

If you have some information he did post it if not its hearsay and conspiracy and should not be entertained.

If he had no idea, why or how did he formulate the fecking question to Coveney about the fecking job.

Jaysus. 😁

Where in the text does it say he wasn't aware of,.or know about the envoy role? She asks Varadkar if he heard anything about her role (even that language implied or was a given she was getting it) which to me, and I'm sure many others, reads like sure was going over Coveneys head, to see if Leo might speed it up a bit.

Leo said "nope", I'm taking that to mean he's not heard any thing further/of any updates.

The text between him (Leo) and Coveney are open to interpretation imo.

There's many ways of reading the above, Leo's language is more of a "wanting an update" as a "WTF is this all about" but I admit could be read differently depending on what personal slant one might be looking for.

Because she asked him in the message. This is fairly basic stuff to follow in fairness.

As a friend, are you asking us to believe his only response to knowing she had gotten a new prestigious job was 'nope' and then moved on.

And then asked Coveney the next day about the job he didn't know about?

The reason the two of them are in the bind they are in is because they too, take people for fools. FG arrogance.

He didn't ask Coveney the next day though did he? That's just made up another piece of fiction from you.

Why did he ask SC if he knew anything about the appointment a number of days later when you are implying he was privy to this previously?

You are inventing a story that does not exist but if you have proof please provide it. If not its disingenuous at best.

He asked Coveney did he know anything about her becoming our LGBTQ Envoy.

For someone who didn't know he had a fair old stab in the dark to come up with that question.

I am beginning to think FG do believe people are stupid.

Again this is basic stuff he knew from this text. Not exactly a stab in the dark is it?

So he knew before, 'just before the cabinet meeting' as he previously claimed. He told a lie.

Going by both yourself and Halong's text postings it's clear Zappone is at least a casual acquaintance of Varadkar. They are discussing the event and if not that, another time to meet with Varadkar and his partner. So how likely is it, the first he heard about the envoy job was when she asked had he heard from Coveney about it? And how unlikely is it that he wouldn't ask 'what job?' Not very. They've clearly some kind of relationship beyond former colleagues.

What would be the chances of a very repentant Simon Coveney appearing on Tuesday, and spilling the beans on them all? Letting it slip the true nature of the Merrion gig, that it was (as we all suspect) a congratulatory party for Zappones new job that never happened, and Leo knew much more than he is telling the public about?

I can see this getting dirty, Varadkar threw an absolute curve ball at Simon releasing those texts, be great if Simon finds a set of balls and throws one back at Varadkar.

Could get even more interesting.

He said the first he heard about it was when Coveney got on to him. That's a lie. Zappone mentioned it days earlier. She even gave him the role/title.

How many did you tell tonight? I have no idea when the cabinet meeting was held but sure throw up a link to dates etc.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,928 ✭✭✭skimpydoo

The FFG supporters on here have some Chutzpah. Why do they continue to defend Leo and Co when deep down they know we are right.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,920 ✭✭✭10000maniacs

The whole story is nonsense. "He said", "she said", "he knew", "she told him". Utter nonsense. Covid is still out there. Brexit is still there. Let's channel resources to these important issues instead of analysing rubbish like this.

Zappone was clearly waiting for the 'finalising' of the job and that was the 'anything' she was enquiring about.

Never mind the very obvious clues that they are close-ish friends, even if she was a casual acquaintance, the fecking Tanaiste of the country's only reply to finding out for the first time (allegedly) that she had been appointed to a UN role was 'nope'?

Absolutely bizarre people are asking us to believe that.

Great addition to the thread. Your work will not go unrecognized. Anything to add to the conversation or did you think using FFG supporters will get you a few likes?

• Registered Users Posts: 4,928 ✭✭✭skimpydoo

That puts it all in a nutshell. One hell of a deflection but I expected nothing less.

Now you reveal you don't know what the issue is.

I think the onus is on you to research dates and what was said.