Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Why are some people so blatant about using their phone while driving?

• 20-09-2021 11:36am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,802 ✭✭✭pgj2015

I see it so much, I never use my phone while driving but if I did, I would be really worried and paranoid that a guard would see me using it.

I just saw a guy driving a big dumper on the main road looking at his phone, great idea.

Do the guards not bother catching these people or why do they act like its perfectly normal behavior?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,905 ✭✭✭BronsonTB

Only a tiny amount are actually caught...most Guards pass no heed (see this first hand)...Only the road traffic division will actually nail you hard if they catch you.

Should be higher penalties & a zero tolerance clamp down by every guard. Would soon change peoples views if they weren't able to drive legally as a result!

Sligo Metalhead

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 116 ✭✭scottygee

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,879 ✭✭✭StevenToast

Ive seen guards on the phone while driving....plenty of times...

They need to change that culture

"Don't piss down my back and tell me it's raining." - Fletcher

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,802 ✭✭✭pgj2015

I agree. I once saw some little $hit driving at 100 km per hour coming towards me texting. It is crazy behavior. like if he hit me, I probably woudlnt be here now, or might be in a wheelchair. ah but sure what does that matter, his friend was probably after sending him a text or he might have been checking if man united were winning.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,570 ✭✭✭Ray Palmer

I was cycling and indicated I was changing lanes wearing a high viz jacket. The woman in the lane swerved all over the place. . She looks at me and laughs "I thought you were are Garda because I was on the phone"

Me " Put your phone away as if you didn't notice I was a cyclist you weren't paying attention" Then she started cursing at me

I would like to be able to submit video of drivers on their phone while driving but they won't accept it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,888 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

Ah shur lookit, it's a road traffic offence only if you're caught by a guard.

Ah shur I never killed no-one when I was on the phone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,815 ✭✭✭SimonTemplar

It is part of the typical 'rules don't apply to me' attitude that exists in this country.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,071 ✭✭✭Allinall

Saw a guy in a top of the range merc with the phone in his left hand, yabbering away into it.

His car would have all the connectivity you could ever need to talk on the phone hands free.

That doesn't bother me, too much, . At least he had his eyes on the road. I see drivers all the time, with the head down, eyes off the road, because they are looking at their phone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,760 ✭✭✭Effects

No one really cares about drivers on their phones, that's why people have no issue with doing it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,123 ✭✭✭✭Del2005

They are exempt from most road traffic laws so they aren't doing anything illegal. But they should lead by example and they are terrible at that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 821 ✭✭✭POBox19

Nodding texters. That what irks me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,988 ✭✭✭mrslancaster

A few years ago we were on a bus from wexford to dublin and the driver was on his phone for most of the time, scary journey. Most of the other passengers didn't see it but we were in the seat directly behind. We didn't report it because he probably would have lost his job but always regretted that we didn't say something to the driver.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,815 ✭✭✭SimonTemplar

I care about it and it really does piss me off when I see it. People have literally been killed by drivers using their phones. But sadly some drivers are so selfish and irresponsible that they can't understand how dangerous it can be until it causes them to have an accident.

• I have a massive problem with people on phones in cars. I see it all the time. To drive a modern easy-drive automatic car you need your right foot, your two eyes, and your two hands in action (one hand to assist emergency steering scenario). There’s no other safe way of driving. Period.

Hands-free is something increasingly standard, but there is the human factor at play. Actively using hands-free means you are multitasking, and probably not giving sufficient attention to the road unless you are a very good multi-tasker, and most people is just don’t have that capacity. Great care is needed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,349 ✭✭✭SAMTALK

It's the young lads on tractors using their phones that really boils me ...

No one should be using phones but these young lads are barely old enough to drive these big machines on narrow roads , no experience and still have phones in hand

• Driving requires FULL attention. Nobody has any business being on the road giving less that all their focus. A car has high kinetic energy and moves in an environment in close proximity to obstacles and other moving traffic. Most drivers are in denial of the great responsibility they owe to their passengers and fellow road users.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,760 ✭✭✭Effects

I'm with you, but I think we are in the minority. I'm constantly seeing drivers either breaking red lights while on the phone, or not noticing the light go green. It drives me mad. Gardaí generally don't care, which makes it worse.

• I’ve been giving out about it nonstop. The number of times I have to gently tap the horn because somebody hadn’t I served the change to green, is unreal, and worse still are the people who do t notice the change to red. Few people drive with the requisite amount of alertness.

Travelling on the bus on M6, you are at the same level as truck drivers; the amount using phones is amazing. I know it's a boring road, they are usually massively experienced etc, but it is another aspect showing that this is normal behaviour on Irish roads. Would fixed camera traps, as in UK, do anything to reduce this?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,802 ✭✭✭pgj2015

I was behind a car the other day, the lady driving was doing 40 miles an hour, I was wondering why she wasn't going 50 miles an hour as it was a good road, the reason was she was having a great auld chat on her phone. sums up the attitude of these kind of people, I will hold up the road because I want to talk on my phone. A bluetooth ear piece is only 20 to 30 euro.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,380 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

The technology is there and it’s in the range of everyone. There is no reason for it...but it’s still quite a prevalent thing on the roads. Can get a Bluetooth headset for about 40 euros.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,915 ✭✭✭Jinglejangle69

What about truck drivers?

See them all the time.

Surely the company has to provide habdsdree.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,674 ✭✭✭✭AndrewJRenko

Exempt when in relation to the performance of their duties - not a blanket exemption.

Did anyone ask this Garda driver why she was taking a call at the wheel?

https://www.msn.com/en-ie/news/world/man-who-had-blue-lights-fitted-to-his-car-was-caught-pretending-to-be-a-garda-when-he-pulled-over-real-garda-c3-ad/ar-AAPIeNf

I don't understand it. I'm a far more careful driver when I use my phone because I know any incident will be deemed to be my fault.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,946 ✭✭✭buried

Hundreds of thousands of people are plenty blatant about the fact they can't drive properly at all, looking at their phone while they continue to do it isn't going to bother them in the slightest

Make America Get Out of Here