Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Getting stronger getting older

• Registered Users Posts: 12,802 ✭✭✭✭Dtp1979

Bench press

The program I started several weeks ago is out the window as nearly every injury I picked up has affected each lift. The latest is my wrist. It was niggling upto 65 x 5 and when I loaded 70 I barely got the 4th rep up. Weight was fine, just pain. No idea what caused this. I’ve had it before and it usually goes away. Fingers crossed. 

40kg x 10

50kg x 6

55kg x 5

60kg x 5

65kg x 5

70kg x 4

Front raise 10kg plate x 3 x 15

SS

DB Rev flys 13kg x 3 x 10

Lat pulldown 100kg x 3 x 15

I got a pin made that allows me to add discs to the weight stack on the lat pulldown. 

DB paused shrugs 50kg x 3 x 12

Still is purchased for my lat pulldown seat with adjustable leg holder thingy. I’m also going to double that and make a removable foot pad for seared rows. I’ll be chopping up my old leg extension bench to do it.

Front squat 

40kg x 5

50kg x 5

60kg x 5

70kg x 5

75kg x 3 x 5

Weight was fine. Well doable. I’m gonna need to slowly increase the weight as the bar really crushes my front deltoids. They’re gonna need to be conditioned for this kind of treatment. 

GHR x 4 x 10

Leg extension 

Level 4 x 3 x 12

I’m lifting a lot more consistently than my log suggests. It’s an utter pain in the hole trying to find it, to post in the mornings.

Deadlift

150kg x 3

160kg x 3

170kg x 4

170kg x 5

delighted that 170 x 5 was completed. It is definitely a pb at that weight.

I’ve attached a video twice. I don’t see it now though. I see now boards still won’t let you upload from your library. This update truly is shjte

back to the old fashioned way. Reps were far from technically perfect

DB bench

32kg

Lat pulldown 110 x 3 x 10

side lat raises 7kg x 5 x 15

DB Rev flys 13kg x 3 x 12

Tricrp push downs x 3 x 15

BB shrugs 80kg x 3 x 12

curlzzz 27kg x 3 x 15

Bench press 

40kg x 10

50kg x 6

60kg x 5

70kg x 3

75kg x 3

80kg x 2

85kg x 2

90kg x 1

60kg x 2 x 12

I was contemplating going for 2 at 90 but didn’t feel I had it in my after the first rep so I left it. Still, I’m very happy to be writing  90 in to my workouts these days. 

Lat pulldown max +15kg x 5 x 12

Final 2 reps were half reps. Breaking point found. 

Side lat raises 7kg x 5 x 15

Might sound light but let me tell you, 7kg feels pretty damn heavy on your 70th rep. 

Tricep push downs x 3 x 12

DB Rev flys 11kg x 3 x 12 

Curlzzz  27kg x 3 x 12

Das felt gudt today. Ya

DB BENCH 

25kg x 8

29kg x 6

32kg x 5

34kg x 5

36kg x 5

29kg x 12

25kg x 20

Yesterday I deadlifted your to a 190 single. 

Today I was messing around seeing how heavy I could go with dumbells without feeling unsafe. It felt unsafe on the last reps at 36 when the dumbbell came across too close to the centre of my chest with arms fully extended and I lost a lot of power. At that point I was merely a passenger and it could’ve easily fell on my face/chest. I barely managed to get it back. 

Shoulders were feeling good for a change. 

DB Rev flys

15kg x 3 x 15

Lat pulldown 

Max +15kg x 4 x 12

Front squat

Paused squat 40kg x 5

50kg x 5

60kg x 5

70kg x 3

80kg x 3 x 5

The weight feels ok. I need to remind myself to keep the elbows high. I have a tendency to come out of the hole dropping the elbows, which in turn leans me a tad forward. 

GHR x 5 x 10

Not nearly as bad as I was expecting

Leg extension 

Level 6 x 2 x 10

Level 6 x 3 x 12

Post edited by Dtp1979 on

DB bench 

20kg x 10

25kg x 10

29kg x 10

32kg x 3 x 10

These felt heavy today. Think I’ll work on the 32’s for a while. Good challenging weight. 

Lat pulldown  max +17kg x 3 x 10

DB Rev fly 15kg x 3 x 12

Side lat raises 7kg x 3 x 15

DB shrugs 40kg x 3 x 15

Overhead tricep extension 29kg x 3 x 15

Bench press 

40kg x 10

50kg x 6

60kg x 5

65kg x 5

70kg x 3 x 6

Set 3 was technically the best and no surprise, the easiest. 

I’m still lifting away these days but I’ve completely fallen out of love with this new boards. 

Lat pulldown max +17kg x 3 x 12

BB shrugs behind back 105kg x 3 x 15

Side lateral raises 7kg x 5 x 17

Tricep push downs 40 x 3 x 15

• Registered Users Posts: 24,600 ✭✭✭✭Alf Veedersane

It's shite, isn't it

Front squat

60kg x 3

70kg x 3

80kg x 3

90kg x 2 x 3

RDL 2” deficit 80kg x 3 x 8

Leg extension level 5 x 3 x 10

GHR x 3 x 10

DB Bench Press

32kg x 4 x 10

These arent getting any lighter but I’m getting through them

DB shrugs paused  40kg x 5 x 16

Cable push downs 32kg x 5 x 15

Really slow long pause at the top of the shrug. 

Db lateral raise 7kg x 4 x 15

Hammer curl 20kg x 4 x 15

Front squat 

60kg x 5

70kg x 3

80kg x 3

90kg x 3

100kg x 1

80kg x 5

Wasn’t happy with the 100, probably because i wasn’t strong enough 😏

RDL 100kg x 3 x 8

These were grand

GHR x 5 x 10

Leg extension level 5 x 5 x 10

Supersetted these for extra hardship

Bench press 

70kg  8, 7, 7, 7

I’m pretty sure 8 reps is a PB. 

DB Rev flys 13kg x 4 x 15

Lat pulldown max +18.5 x 3 x 10

DB shrugs paused 40kg x 3 x 15

Tricep push downs x 3 x 15

Curls 

So I’ve added to my collection, again. Bought a bow barbell for feck all. Turns out it still hurts my shoulder. I may go back to physio.

also got a reverse hyper machine.

also got a rogue Ohio bar specifically for deadlifting 🙂🙂🙂🙂🙂.

DB bench 

32kg x 3 x 12

DB Rev flys 13 x 3 x 15

Tricep push downs x 3 x 15

Lateral raises 

7kg x 2 x 18

9kg x 2 x 12

Curls x lots

• Registered Users Posts: 3,064 ✭✭✭j@utis

Deadlift 

Worked up to an easy 160kg x 3

Although the knurling seems fine it feels sharp when the weight gets heavier. 

Reverse hyper 10kg x 5 x 12

These were purely trial runs. I’ll get the feel for them in the coming sessions. 

GHD x 2 x 10

Bench press

70kg 4 x 8. PB 🙂

A good while back I remember being super impressed with Alf when he was repping 7 with 70kg. So I guess I’m quietly happy with the above set. Bench is progressing. 

Lat cable pull overs x 4 x 15

Just trialing this at a light weight for today. I can feel these in my lats, traps, triceps and upper pec where it meets the front deltoid but mostly lats. Not bad. Should really be a D or E excersise. 

Lateral raises 7kg x 3 x 20

Front squat 

60kg x 5

70kg x 5

80kg x 3

90kg x 3

100kg x 2

1 extra rep more than last time. It’s years since I hit a double on 100. These are slowly progressing. I’m around the weight I was at a long while back when front squats were at their best. I think my 1Rm is 110. Physio is starting next week so I’d like to be back to low bar before Xmas and hopefully by then I’ll have a new 1rm on the front squat. I’d like anything around 120

so I had been looking for some bumper plates for my new rogue bar as the mild steel plates scratch the bar. Most places on adverts/done deal were selling for over 3-4 per kilo. The average asking price was 350-500 for a 100kg set.

Then as my luck would have it I came across a guy selling 370kg for 600!!! Which is roughly 1.50 for a kilo. I couldn’t refuse could I?They’re in really good condition too. I have more plates now than a large restaurant. Time to offload a few of my older plates

DB BENCH 

34kg x 8

32kg  10, 10, 14

These were not a joy today. The last set was feeling good midway hence why I repped out 14, to my surprise. 

Lat Cable pullover 75lbs x 3 x 15

DB Rev flys 13kg x 3 x 15

Lateral raise 7kg x 4 x 20

• Registered Users Posts: 17,566 ✭✭✭✭Mr. CooL ICE

When are you accepting membership applications for DTP Strength Gym?

At the rate gyms are closing in Portlaoise I nearly could!

Deadlift 

Worked up to 170kg x 2

Reverse hyper 15kg x 4 x 12

GHD x 4 x 10

Leg extension x 4 x 12

Started light on the leg extension and worked up to a horrible pukerific last set of 12

Deadlift 

Worked up to 170kg x 1 

150kg x 2 x 3

Gravity was not my friend today. These felt terrible and heavy. I need to bring a second deadlift day into the routine. 170 shouldn’t feel this heavy for me

Reverse hyper  

20kg   12, 12, 15, 15

Upped the weight again today. A noticeable difference in the glute and hamstring fatigue. 

Leg extension 

Level 5 x 3 x 15

GHR 10kg x 3 x 10

I spent weeks looking for jammer arms for my rack and nothing was coming in less than 400 so I decided to make my own. Should be ready tomorrow or Monday at a cost of around 30euro