Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

RTE 1: 'Today' with Claire Byrne

• Registered Users Posts: 4,709 ✭✭✭ShamNNspace

^ the equivalent of the unskilled mullarker whos sent on near the end of a junior b match with instructions to "make a nuisance of himself and leave the fancy stuff to the stylish lads" 🤔

• Registered Users Posts: 19,399 ✭✭✭✭Brendan Bendar

Wardy 16 was it?

What is going on here.

Premier current affairs programme ‘Today’ giving free advertisement to a promoter of concerts.

A concert not even given approval yet.

Washed out auld chancer got the smell of Pats money and said ‘I’ll have a bit of that’

Hopefully this thing will be quickly squashed, and we don’t have to listen to this rubbish for the next

few weeks

• Registered Users Posts: 412 ✭✭ghoulfinger

Great to hear all the people just being able to quit their jobs for a better quality of life, according to guest expert, whatever her name is. The Big Quit, yeah let’s just all hang up our boots, we got the Covid payment and sure wasn’t it great. There’s no inflation in the air, no worry about paying bills for the winter or any of that malarkey, no concern about paying the mortgage, sure another perfect job is around the corner some time. The money is growing in the trees outside, let’s just all pick those euro leaves.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,483 ✭✭✭touts

Another Mica puff issue with people who used the cheapest builder and the cheapest material now demanding the taxpayer pay them 100% compensation for their penny pinching stupidity. I've yet to hear anyone explain why this is my fault and why I, as a taxpayer, should pay for the Mica issue. I'll bet if we paid for the 100% rebuild they are demanding the same builders and suppliers would be used and would make a fortune off the taxpayer. If they put half as much effort into a legal cases against the builders and suppliers as they have into demanding free compo from the government then they would have had their homes fixed years ago.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,239 ✭✭✭Pussyhands

Fully agree!

If I get a builder to build a wall outside my house and a week later the wall falls over because the builder used shoddy materials, do people think government are going to refund me my money?

If I get a builder to build an extension and the wood he uses is rotted and it falls down in a few months, are governments going to refund me my money?

Ever watch an episode of Cowboy Builders? This is exactly the same thing. No one on that program gets tax payer money.

And some of the tactics used by the micaredress people are disgusting. They had a little girl with down syndrome holding a sign with some message she clearly didn't come out with herself.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,871 ✭✭✭✭elperello

The two posts above show that there is a lot of misunderstanding about the details of the mica and pyrite issue.

The homeowners are innocent victims in this sorry saga.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,731 ✭✭✭✭dulpit

The government failed to impose proper regulations, so now these people are in crumbling homes that are unsafe. Of course these people should be looked after. We live in a society, not a group of individuals. The lack of compassion and empathy from those 2 posters is astounding (although more and more typical on boards it would seem)

Innocent people get shafted every single day, government doesn't go around building them new houses though.

So maybe that means the government needs to do more elsewhere too? Not just throw hands up and not help people keep a safe roof over their head.

Just a modicum of research online will help you to understand the mica and pyrite issue.

Im not in favour of using children with placards in any protest whether it be right, left or centre or whatever, time enough for them to get involved in that sort of thing when they understand something of the issues

Or maybe take responsibility and not hire cowboy builders?

The only reason this is in the news is because there's a sizeable number behind it and when that happens...it means politicians get in on it for votes.

The problem with your question is government don't make laws for the single person. Who's going to fight my corner and protest outside the Dail if I hire a cowboy builder?

How do you know you're hiring a "cowboy builder" though? Because it's all self regulation, you have to take it on trust...

No sensible person would get a name out of a phonebook and hire a builder.

Let them downsize if their 90% coverage isn't enough. 250k in Donegal will build a fine house.

You are continuing to post about an issue you don't understand the detail of.

It's not about cowboy builders at all.

Your suggestion that people should downsize because they have been victims makes little sense.

Post edited by elperello on

• Registered Users Posts: 451 ✭✭MBE220d

Some people really don't have a clue do they, it has nothing to do with the people that build the houses, it has to do with the blocks that built the houses being contaminated with mica, the best builder in the country would have no way knowing that as it takes years to show up in the block.

Just asking : Would the block supplier have any way of knowing of mica contamination?

Are there any tests which would establish the presence of mica and other bad stuff in block material

You seem to know more than the average grunt about this issue.

Thanks.

The would if they tested the rock and gravel in the quarries before they made the blocks, but seeing that there was no enforcement and checks by councils on them, sure why bother.

So I would blame the quarries and councils for this, not bob the builder who buys the blocks in good faith, it's not a builders job to test blocks, if he had to do that where do you draw the line on tests, test the timber, roof tiles, windows, doors, bathroom suite, the list is endless.

This is why redress is needed. Issue wasn't a personal decision, it was an overall systems failure.

• Registered Users Posts: 933 ✭✭✭busunderer

rebrand Radio 1 to Misery Porn FM

Agree that redress is needed, but it shouldn't be borne solely by the taxpayer, Banks, mortgage providers and insurance companies should also be held liable.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,393 ✭✭✭golondrinas

DUP et al whinging that President Higgins won’t go north to celebrate partition. I wonder if the Germans had invaded England in the 40s would all the Brits turn up to celebrate the fact in the 2040s. ?..

• Registered Users Posts: 14,364 ✭✭✭✭ednwireland

Michael Clifford: People suffer because of slipshod regulation of construction (irishexaminer.com)

"Initially, the home insurance group Homebond paid out on claims from homeowners, but discontinued as the extent of the problem became apparent. "

tells you all you need to know about why the government is landed with it.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,130 ✭✭✭archfi

Is that Regina of FG praising the President of Ireland to heights unimaginable yet calling this country the Republic of Ireland?

LOL

The issue is never the issue; the issue is always the revolution.

The Entryism process: 1) Demand access; 2) Demand accommodation; 3) Demand a seat at the table; 4) Demand to run the table; 5) Demand to run the institution; 6) Run the institution to produce more activists and policy until they run it into the ground.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,483 ✭✭✭touts

Brief 60s segment on the violent riot at a Traveller funeral yesterday. Most of the segment was focused on stressing how it was a well respected family. Jesus wept!

They put a bomb under a car just a few months back.

It's getting nasty with them there.

Some amount of shyte-talk about this oul golf

• Registered Users Posts: 19,647 ✭✭✭✭Muahahaha

My understanding is that mica occurs naturally in all concrete blocks and is permitted under regulations but only if it makes up 1% or less of the block which is a safe level. However these quarries in Donegal (who were self regulating) were selling concrete blocks with up to 15% mica in them, hence all the problems now. They were supposed to be testing them but obviiously were not thus showing the absolute folly of the government allowing self regulation.

Ultimately the problem goes back to the Celtic Tiger days and the FF fondness for mixing self regulation with a bunch of cowboys, many of them FF donors in the Galway tent. It was the same with the fire safety regulations in Priory Hall, there developers were allowed to self regulate and say they had installed all the proper fire walls, doors, fire retardant insulation. Years later it gets discovered they didnt, developer is out of business or legged it and the taxpayer is left on the hook.

This all goes back to the culture of self regulation that FF ran during the Celitc Tiger years, if the industry was properly regulated the mica, pyrite and fire safety issues would never have happened Plus remember our banks were pretty much self regulated as well and look at where that ended up. If FF had of recognised that self regulation never works then this country would have saved billions. Other countries arent stupid enough to run self regulatory systems becasue they know some shams will always take advantage when there is no oversight. Whereas here in Ireland Bertie Ahern who loved self regulation and allowed the building industry to do what they pleased is now thinking of running for President.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,382 ✭✭✭Macy0161

I heard one fella yesterday giving out because they were expected to reuse the windows/ fittings in the rebuild. Now whatever about the blocks, nothing wrong with the windows except age - it seems to have moved on from rebuild costs to deal with the mica, to rebuild a 100% to current standards. I built around the same time, so I do have sympathy, but if I want to get new windows in, I'll have to pony up myself.