Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Michael Higgins Praises Travellers Contribution to Irish Society

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,517 ✭✭✭✭Flinty997

I think he's saying, why change when playing the victim is more lucrative. Perhaps I'm mistaken.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,131 ✭✭✭✭end of the road

the poster stated 40 hours a week until 65, for which i corrected him to state that not everyone works exactly 40 hours nor works until 65 for various reasons, so therefore you are actually agreeing with and are backing up what i stated.

the fact we pay for everything isn't relevant to what the poster said, since the poster talked about everyone paying for themselves, which ultimately isn't true, since the average individual is not likely to have paid the exact full cost of the services they use or have used, such as education, health, roads, etc.

ticking a box on a form does not make you of a religion.

• Registered Users Posts: 63 ✭✭irish2021traveller

I get your point of view I'm a traveller and to be honest I wouldn't give many other travellers water if they where dieing and for any one to say different your liers. I have worked since I got my leaving cert with admittedly is a rare thing come from my background and I think travellers are being left exactly where the government wants us with are hands out looking for free stuff with the rest of the settled population hating us for it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,138 ✭✭✭✭One eyed Jack

Your evidence consisted of a single article which you obviously assumed supported your opinion, and I never disputed the fact that there are legitimate cultures and subcultures and all the rest of it.

What I’m saying is that the attempt made in the article you linked to which identifies what they call a “culture of masculinity”, of which criminal behaviour is a subculture of the culture they just identified, doesn’t make it any more legitimate than it isn’t already.

I get what you’re driving at - does travellers culture lend itself to contributing to criminal behaviour, and the answer is no, no more than anything else lends itself to criminal behaviour observed in the general population. Individuals are entirely responsible for their own criminal behaviour. It’s for this very reason that only people who commit offences are held accountable for their actions, not anyone else who hasn’t committed an offence.

Researchers will come up with all sorts of evidence which they claim supports their hypothesis, and generally one of the easiest ways to ensure that their explanations are beyond question is to suggest that anyone who disagrees with it is too unsophisticated to understand it or hasn’t the intellectual capacity to understand it. Works wonders too among people who think of themselves as sophisticated intellectuals, even when an idea is complete bullshìt.

So yes, there is plenty of evidence to support your hypothesis, and no, most of it isn’t behind paywalls - hundreds of authors have written plenty of books on the subject, including the subject of “rape culture”, which you’re keen to point out isn’t a legitimate culture, precisely because it puts you in the cultural framework, as contributing to rape, in the same way as you’re trying to put travellers in the framework of contributing to criminal behaviour on the basis that they are travellers, ignoring the reality of people who commit offences among the general population, because your “culture” hypothesis doesn’t explain what contributes to their criminal behaviour.

You need to chill not all of us are like that and unless yours speaking from personal experience I don't know why you sit here typing about it and if you are speaking from experience no offence but you where gulable and you where probably going to be taken advantage of at some point if not by travellers then members of the settled community just saying my opinion

Ok now we are getting somewhere. Punishment specified for just travellers not my cup of tea but towards all the fighting and stuff 100% see travellers look at the settled community like there just not tuned to right frequency and that is why travellers hold them selves higher it's just a matter of fact and you are all not getting it the settled community might be targeted for the likes of a job like gutters and tarmacing job but other travellers suffer because they can get challenge to fight at any time by any member of the community publicly. Is publicly shamed and sneered at if they refuse and can have that same member or members kick in there door just because there grandfather argued with there grandfather 50 years before hand

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,320 ✭✭✭phonypony

Well, that didn't take long at all, did it? It's this 'you're vulnerable so you're fair game to be taken advantage of' attitude that makes people very weary and avoid having anything to do with travellers.

Btw, the president does not run the country.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,580 ✭✭✭jmreire

Fair play to you, was not an easy thing to do at any stage, and aside from the actual studying, you had to contend with possibly downright resistance from your family and friends. Kudus to you !!!. Also might encourage other Travelers to follow suit.???

Dude I lived in Dublin for abit and didn't want to leave my student apartment over some Dublin lads around the estate messing around breaking cars and was actually worried my car could get broken. But you don't see me saying all dubs are the same so cop on to you self grow up have an actual intelligent conversation and you might learn something

I actually do encourage it and 2 of my 3 sister are now doing studying to be teachers and the other doing higher level Irish along with the rest of her studies wants to be a guard

Didn't say it was fair game either but in a easier example if you leave your door unlocked your more likely to be robed. There are tricksters in ever walk if life. Just got to wise to there tricks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,320 ✭✭✭phonypony

Nor have you seen me say all members of any group are the same; I've merely said the attitude displayed above is a reason many people want no dealings with travellers. I'm quite grown up, educated and capable of intelligent conversation, thanks for the concern.

This comment alone is petty and to be honest doesn't even deserve a reply as you have just defended yourself but completely abandoned your point of are conversation and it's not a universal attitude of my culture but a personal opinion that if you fall for it by a few bad apples don't let that be you foundation on how to treat other members of the traveller community.

I'm not driving at anything. You implied that culture has no influence on behavior. So I just looked at studies worldwide with no connection to Ireland to see has anyone studied or researched it. Well they have. There's lots of studies. No point posting any of them them as you dismissed them all out of hand as invalid and bias.

If the same behavior was equally pervasive across different cultures and wider society. Then you couldn't associated it with anyone culture or subculture. But if it was disproportionally over or under represented in only some cultures or society's then its likely there is an association.

To be honest I only only ended up in this thread from the MDH thread on partition, and only there from a discussion on the effects of culture/religion, in another country outside of Ireland. While their opinions on Culture are polar opposite this this thread. The Dogma is similar.

If being being wise stops you from getting robbed. Then perhaps being wise will also stop you from being discriminated

You start off saying you’re not driving at anything, and you finish your post with that?

It’s clear what you were driving at, never mind the fact you’ve spent the last two days trying to drive home your point by telling me I’m wrong and it’s unlikely all the studies and research which you can’t produce because they’re behind paywalls is wrong (you know of course they all agree with you), but I’m being dogmatic when I simply refused to entertain your attempt to associate traveller culture with criminal behaviour?

Meh, I’m off to bed, too late for this craic 😒

Agreed and that's why I strive to be better then my predecessor's before me. Can't do any more then that.

Refusing to entertain something, (unquestionable certainty) while holding a belief and not be willing to discuss it. Is generally considered dogma. Yes.

• Registered Users Posts: 468 ✭✭Shao Kahn

You certainly are being extremely dogmatic throughout every post that I've read from you in this discussion. I haven't read them all though tbh, as quite frankly most of your posts just seem like a regurgitation of the last one.

And you are also desperately hanging onto one of the thinnest of straw-mans, by deliberately misrepresenting the term "it's not part of their culture". Even though you know very well that people are highlighting legitimate and well documented problems that exist within the travelling community.

Is that better Jack? We'll use the term 'community' rather than 'culture', and perhaps you can finally stop flogging this dead horse of yours? And who knows, maybe a more productive discussion could even take place? (call me a dreamer!) lol

So most reasonable people could agree, that travellers did not invent criminality, poor treatment of women, poor treatment of animals, lack of education, lack of employment etc etc. I won't make an exhaustive list, you get the point. But many people would argue, that they are very serious problems that exist within the traveller community as a whole. And at much more significant levels than you will find on average throughout the rest of the country. (that's the key point here jack, it's the scale of these problems within the traveller community - not that they don't exist on a lesser scale elsewhere)

Now you have stated on more than one occasion in this thread, that we have no business interfering with their culture/way of life. And I would fundamentally agree with you on that point. But then you have also stated that these problems being highlighted are not part of their culture. This seems like a bit of a contradiction. If these problems are not part of their culture, according to you, then how are we interfering with their culture by asking them to address these issues and clean up their act? I would love if you could tackle this question, jack?

"Tomorrow is the most important thing in life. Comes into us at midnight very clean. It's perfect when it arrives, and it puts itself into our hands. It hopes we've learned something from yesterday." (John Wayne)

Thank you for the mediocre psycho analysis much appreciated.

Isnt it great to be branded some kind of bigot for mainly stating fact and having an opinion.

Ireland 2021 great place to live.

Wow so much denial in this post it's ironic.

Why dont you deal in fact instead of picking the bones if my post.

People like me you know about me but reading this post!

You shouldn't be so quick to judge people.

I think Higgins is playing to the crowd here. Both the public in general but also playing politics. He's in the spotlight on two issues recently.

One is popular with the public but not politicians. The other is the exact opposite.

Coincidence? Unlikely.

As for the rest of it you can't have a discussion or compromise where people won't engage. Also where the discussion itself is censored or shut down on every platform.

• Registered Users Posts: 417 ✭✭chosen1

I'd tried to look up what percentage of travellers have a criminal record but there is understandably no statistics on it published. You claim that it is a minority engaged in criminal behaviour but I would recon its a large minority at that.

Most (not all) of the travelling families I'd know, would have had a member being before the courts on some matter or other in the past 10 years. You could take most of the women out those families as they don't usually tend to get directly involved in crime and it's probably an ask no questions about the husbands endeavours kind of thing. I'm from an area with a large percentage of travellers so anecdotally anyway, I would imagine a fairly large minority would have at least one criminal conviction.

My main problem with them is the fact that their culture is unfortunately no longer fit for purpose. Years ago, they would have been a useful part of life in rural Ireland with skills in metalworking and general farming labour. My grandad would have been very friendly with a good few of them and they didn't suffer much discrimination from the larger population.

These days, that way of life is no longer viable and a huge chunk of them rely on the state for handouts. Others, top up this income with criminality as mentioned. Education is sadly not appreciated and even mocked and it is the only way that they will ever break free from that lifestyle, and with that the general population would be more accepting of them.

I do know a few traveller families that did push their childrens education and they are now in gainful employment and doing quite well for themselves. The like of these need to be held up as an example to others but most representative groups instead defend the indefensible, and cry racism when their behaviour is called out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,098 ✭✭✭✭Annasopra

"discussion" that calls a society where there is no travellers because they have all killed each other a utopian society should be shut down.

It was so much easier to blame it on Them. It was bleakly depressing to think that They were Us. If it was Them, then nothing was anyone's fault. If it was us, what did that make Me? After all, I'm one of Us. I must be. I've certainly never thought of myself as one of Them. No one ever thinks of themselves as one of Them. We're always one of Us. It's Them that do the bad things.

Terry Pratchet

In an discussion about not tarring everyone with the same brush, it's kinda ironic to do exactly that.

Report offensive posts.

You’re mixing up a couple of different things there to create a contradiction that doesn’t exist, and not only are you doing that much, but you’re now attributing things to me I didn’t say and I don’t know where you got them from.

I’ll start with your first claim that I’m being dogmatic. I can understand why it looks that way from your point of view when it’s not me who’s flogging a dead horse at all, but @Flinty997 with the whole trying to associate criminal behaviour with culture. I’m refuting their efforts (“I’m only curious”, my arse are they only curious!), because it’s using statistics to present a misleading statement as causation, when it’s nothing more than correlation of two different sets of statistics. Easily shown to be dishonest by showing that the vast majority of travellers do not engage in criminal behaviour. That’s why I’m saying it’s not part of their culture. If you want to talk prison statistics, then travellers are still in a minority among the prison population. So what’s your explanation for the 90% of inmates who aren’t travellers? What’s your explanation for the fact that 95% of inmates are men? How do those statistics fit with the paradigm of “culture”? All the association does in any case is absolve individuals of any responsibility for their criminal behaviour. In reality - individuals choose to commit offences, not because of their culture or anything else. The fact that travellers are disproportionately represented among prison population statistics suggests that they aren’t being held to any different standards than anyone else. Of course they’re going to be disproportionately represented among prison statistics because they have a much smaller population than the general population!

As to your second claim - I haven’t stated anywhere on this thread that we have no business interfering with their culture or way of life. I have said that it is the responsibility of the State to protect their culture or way of life or whatever you want, because they are recognised as an ethnic minority group. Anyone who wants to can say whatever they like to them and I couldn’t actually care less, you certainly won’t say whatever you like to them, you’d sooner just point fingers at all the things you see as wrong, that THEY should deal with. They’re more likely to deal with you by suggesting you sort out the issues in your own community first, because you start pointing fingers (and yes, travellers are often just as prejudiced as non-travellers, why wouldn’t they be, what with being able to give plenty of examples of their own bad experiences with people who aren’t travellers?). So both groups of people are basically just looking to point fingers at each other with neither group actually wanting to take responsibility for their own behaviour. That’s why the law exists independently of either group, so that neither group has to entertain the silly demands of the other groups or entertain their bullshìt. It’s what I should have done when @Flinty997 floated the association between culture and criminal behaviour in the first place. I tried reason, but was told I’m not open-minded, and now you’re suggesting I’m dogmatic because I refuse to entertain bullshìt? Perhaps I’m just not sophisticated as you guys.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,177 ✭✭✭Fandymo

Good googling, now perhaps you can answer my original question. What common cultural background or descent do they have separate to the lay-Irish?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,186 ✭✭✭✭jmayo

Oh what a load of bollocks.

Mickie D would of course have affinity with travellers.

After all most of them like himself have sucked at the taxpayers teat for their entire lives.

Mickie D the ultimate champagne socialist, lecturer in sociology a nice soft science bullcr** area suited no end to him, senator, TD and laterally president.

Nice to see one of the kids is following him into politics to continue the family trend.

I am not allowed discuss …

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,381 ✭✭✭Yurt2

That's a full bingo card. Where do I collect my hamper?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,186 ✭✭✭✭jmayo

As opposed to your shyte where travellers problems are all due to those settled folks who are not nice to them.

Your line is the modern tripe where it is always someone else's fault and there is no such thing as personal or group (when it comes to some beloved groups anyway) responsibility.

Maybe if travellers tried to get on with the other people in this country rather than shaft them at every possible opportunity then things would be better for them.

BTW lest the usual suspects come in with the reference to labeling any group the same, I am not saying all travellers.

But I think the stats prove that I can say most travellers.

And worse still the behaviour is condoned and excused by people like you when you don't blame them but others.

BTW does polite society in your world mean law abiding, being neighbourly, being non anti-social?

I am not allowed discuss …