Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Murder at the Cottage | Sky

I think we can safely say that making a noise and having Sophie come out to investigate was not part of the plan. (If we run with the contract killer theory)

either her appearance outside was unplanned (trying to escape, coming out to investigate on her own initiative, having a joint, etc) or the killer was waiting to strike when she emerged outside (she might have gone out to her car for something in the early morning)

• Registered Users Posts: 662 ✭✭✭mamboozle

I don't read much more into the manner in which the block was used other than as, from the murderer's point of view, a necessary coup de grace and the victim happened to be face up. Any attack prior to that could have been coldly carried out with Sophie quickly overwhelmed with blows or stabs. Everything about rage or passion is speculation that may have no justification. People should consider how much we might have learned had Ian Bailey been allowed to continue his investigations. And ask why was there such a determination to de-rail him.

While there has been a lot of talk about a botched investigation, there is no doubting the thoroughness of the examination of the 'evidence' from that investigation by the DPP. This has been dismissed by many people as coming just from some non-entity in the DPP's office while overlooking the fact that it was acceptable to the DPP, Eamonn Barnes.

Eddie Cassidy of the Examiner was central in setting up Bailey for some of the more ludicrous allegations.

On page 36 of the DPP's file, this is what is said about him;

"The most favourable assessment that one can apply to Eddie Cassidy is that he would

be wholly unreliable as a witness." I believe the DPP is saying Eddie is lying through his teeth along with some source who is almost without doubt a Garda.

It's all there on page 28;

"This means that Cassidy's source had informed him of the murder prior to 11.53 a.m.

on 23 December 1996. "

https://s3.documentcloud.org/documents/540818/83548065-sophie-toscan-du-plantier-dpp-file-2001.pdf

• Registered Users Posts: 1,775 ✭✭✭lintdrummer

Sophie was not at that stage intending to leave the next day. She had tickets to fly on the 23rd and 24th but had decided to go on the 24th. She had arranged to meet her housekeeper at midday on the 23rd. Her flight that day would have been early morning so there's no way she was planning to travel on the 23rd.

• Registered Users Posts: 14 huiwe878778

It’s no exaggeration to say the police destroyed the case. I do see why the DPP were so intensely critical of the Gardaí and completely refused to put this to court as a result of their incompetence and, in some cases, corruption. GSOC largely concurred, even if they lacked power to do anything about it. The plain truth is that Bailey would have almost certainly been found ‘Not Guilty’, when you consider all the tampering and inappropriate behaviour by authorities that was subsequently exposed - that kind of conduct is a gift to any defence barrister or bleach to a successful murder conviction and should be. Extradition to France would be equally crazy from a legal point of view and, again, it certainly should be that way.

However, there are many legal cases that cannot rightly or realistically be prosecuted, but in which it’s quite clear the accused is likely to be guilty and this is definitely one of them. It’s really only ‘Bailey Fanboys’ who so easily leap from legal innocence > literal innocence or simply amalgamate the two things completely. ‘There is absolutely no evidence against him!’ they cry, forgetting this isn’t a court of law - it’s a forum, basically a public square. Again, I totally agree that you can’t have murder cases being tried when the police in the case are shown to be that corrupt. It’s why O.J. Simpson got off in the States, for example, when we knew he was probably guilty. A good way to explain why is to say that police are the ‘evidence-delivery-service’ and if they are shown to be corrupt, there can be no delivery of evidence, hence no case.

But only a person who doesn’t properly understand the history of what actually happened in Schull or has their own bias - consciously or more likely unconsciously - would actually think Bailey is innocent in a literal sense, that he is some wrongly accused man worthy of pity! Many of you Fanboys recycle Ian’s own talking points. He’s pitching you a story and you’re buying it. There’s nothing wrong with us saying the strong probability is that Bailey is completely guilty of Sophie’s murder and referring to the many things that suggest that. No, the legal system we have cannot function if the Gardaí let us down like they did - but that doesn’t mean reality is altered and he didn’t kill her. The very strong probability is that he did kill her.

It has been reasonably claimed that Bailey telephoned Sophie’s office in France before the murder and spoke to her colleague. The colleague said that Sophie was a bit freaked out by it, but nervously laughed off the surprising call as Irish eccentricity, even though he’s not Irish. It’s also been claimed that Sophie told two people in France that she had met him and mentioned his poetry to them. Alfie Lyons, Sophie’s next door neighbour, even says he’s 90% sure he introduced them - not just pointed her out from the field, as Bailey likes to say. Again, Fanboys try and completely dismiss this, saying the friends of Sophie aren’t reliable or that it was declared too long afterwards, while neglecting to mention the reason some of it wasn’t known at the time is because of the poor work by the Gardaí - a fact they simultaneously rely on elsewhere in their arguments. Again, it can’t be tried because of the police, but that doesn’t mean it can’t be understood by reasonable people. I have seen Fanboys on this forum claim that none of Sophie’s friends ever said anything about her mentioning Bailey for over twenty years. That’s false. In some cases it was a few years and in one case, yes, it was 11 years and there were reasons for that. You can’t pretend it just doesn’t exist or shouldn’t count in reasonable minds. A connection between Sophie and Bailey very likely did exist. Not possibly. Not theoretically. But very, very likely to have existed.

People wondering why Sophie asked so many people to accompany her to west Cork at the last minute, should perhaps consider this in the context of the attention she was getting from Ian and which freaked her out slightly - after he phoned her office, she probably sensed that he didn’t grasp the boundaries and would have felt more comfortable with a friend there. People who protest that Bailey wouldn’t have been able to keep it quiet if he knew Sophie should remember that it’s probable virtually nothing had happened between him and her, that he was living with a partner already in a property that partner owned and of course he was a journalist who could obviously keep quiet sometimes if he had to. After initially claiming that he never got out of bed that night, Bailey was completely tripped up by his partner Jules who said he did and then just completely changed his story - conceding that he did get up for hours and technically even admitting leaving the house, when you consider where the colder property in which he claimed to be writing in the early hours was located. Years later he admitted on camera in the Sheridan documentary that his alibi is not really an alibi and indeed it’s not - he has no alibi.

As for people who think it’s unlikely that he would have walked to Sophie’s house that night, they don’t seem to be aware that he often went walking at night, sometimes naked and howling at the moon. Sorry, they weren’t ‘rumours’, this was proudly Ian’s bag and was just what he liked to do. They forget that he was drunk, he was horny and of course there was no party at Sophie’s neighbour Alfie’s - Alfie and his partner watched A FEW GOOD MEN on video and had an early night. People confidently dismiss the fact that he actually made reference to wanting to going over to a party at Alfie’s house that night when he was talking to Jules en route home from the pub. I believe Jules was telling the truth when she said that. Yes, I believe he said it and that Jules reported same. No, I wouldn’t send it to court, because again the police work in general is so tainted and Bailey’s barrister would rubbish everything, but my personal opinion and that of many others is that we do actually think he said it and she reported that he said it. Again, not talking about what can be prosecuted - just talking probability.

It does appear that based on Sophie and Ian’s little bit of prior contact and their shared creative pursuits and Ian’s well-documented sexual obsessions, he hoped something was developing between him and her. People who saw him earlier that evening have confirmed that he didn’t have marks on his hands and face, but he certainly did the following morning and they were not consistent with killing turkeys or cutting Christmas trees, as he pathetically claims. He had months earlir put own his partner in the hospital, she was very badly beaten and had clumps of hair torn out after he attacked her. Bailey is physically huge and almost certainly alcoholic. Jules’ then 14 year old daughter stated that her mother and Ian left the house not mid-afternoon but MID-MORNING and when asked to retract this statement years later by Jules, her daughter refused to do so. Actually her daughters recently started refusing to even bring Jules’ grandchildren to the house while Ian still lived there and now Jules has told Ian to leave, which he has. Remember one of the daughter’s even claimed Ian tried it on with her, too! Jules spoke to a man at a market stall the same morning the body was discovered - again MORNING, not afternoon - and told him Ian was off investigating a murder. This is all hours before Ian claims to have first heard about the murder in a mid-afternoon phone call - at a time when he shouldn’t have known about it. There are even people in the Irish media who spoke to Ian and were offered a photo of Sophie by him, not from the crime scene - just a photo of her! This is a professional journalist with many stories published in the past who is offering over the phone to a member of the Irish media a photo of the victim. Not from the crime scene - just a photo of her in life.

Remember that just because the guards horribly let us down, that doesn’t mean everything they did and said was wrong. One guard who had seen Ian covering a previous story of an old man who fell off a cliff, said he was dressed casually on that occasion and asked the guard lots of questions. When he arrived at the Sophie scene, he was dressed formally and asked almost nothing before quickly leaving. The guard said he thought Ian looked like he was playing the role of reporter. I think that guard was spot on. Not for court, because his colleagues let him down. Out here, in reality. My view is that Ian has been playing a role throughout. I agree the ‘confessions’ were sometimes intended as sarcastic humour, but in the hope that people would think a guilty person wouldn’t speak that way. One of the few areas where I disagree slightly with the DPP is regarding some of these statements by Bailey, for example their argument that Malachi Reed shouldn’t be taken seriously because he didn’t express real concern until a day later, which I felt showed a misunderstanding of the teenage mind. Moreover, one of Bailey's statements was clearly not sarcastic humour, it was a full on confession while drunk late at night in his home to a man who testified to its veracity. It was wrong to just lump that actual confession in with the 'sarcastic' statements…

Indeed, as legally wrong as the French themselves were, to rely on such tainted evidence, they made at least one valid point. They suggested the Irish were looking at every part of the case in isolation and eliminating each piece one by one - then concluding that it all added up to nothing. That is a classic mistake people make, it is classic faulty reasoning and indeed it’s made by many commentators on this forum. Watch how people react to my post. They will cut up the sentences into little quotes and respond to each one. If any of the sentences existed alone, they might have point. But they don’t exist in isolation! You have to look at things comprehensively. There is a point at which circumstantial evidences becomes corroborative evidence. But again, the Fanboys don’t get that and live to rationalise. Some of these same people think Graham Dwyer’s mobile phone records should be ruled inadmissible and he be set free. It’s a slippery slope, when you merge legal innocence and literal innocence. Be careful who you are defending, lads - and I say ‘lads’ and fan ‘boys’ most intentionally.

Honestly, some of the nonsense these guys write on this forum is really astounding. 'It must have been morning because the bed was slept in, there were fruits and nuts in her stomach and the lights were off in the house and there was bread out?' My favourite fallacy is that ‘it must have been morning because otherwise it would have been too dark for the killer to see the cement block’! None of those things mean that it wasn’t night when the crime happened! She could have just gotten into bed. She could have eaten fruit and nuts at night, people often do so, while drinking wine for instance. The lights being off means nothing in the country, nor does the bread being out. You’re just projecting your own experiences and needs based on your own opinion. We know it was a full moon that night - most people who have been out in the full moon for a few minutes would easily have sight. And there is a strong suggestion that Sophie was, generally speaking, artistic and fearless. This was her property and she was known for telling people what she thought. It’s not just Daniel who said that, it was actually her known personality. 

The whole ‘French Connection’, a seventies movie title Bailey introduced to the case in his very articles, is preposterous. As ‘chicorytip’ correctly wrote earlier in this thread “The hitman theory was put forward by Bailey when he was interviewed by journalists in the days following the discovery of the body. He also penned articles for the Daily Star alleging Sophie may have met her death at the hands of one of the many lovers she had entertained at the cottage in the aftermath of the break up of her marriage. It transpired that she had only one short lived romantic relationship during this period with a sixty nine year old French film director. Bailey also claims Daniel Du Plantier was in financial difficulties and may have had Sophie bumped off to prevent her getting half his assets under the terms of any divorce. All of this was scurrilous, self serving tactics by Bailey purely to deflect attention away from himself being a strong suspect for her killing.”

Above all, I want to add it’s particularly interesting how the Fanboys talk about there being no DNA at the scene, while they simultaneously also rubbish the Gardaí. In a violent altercation like that, there quite possibly was DNA at the scene - but if you rubbish the Gardaí like I do, it’s more reasonable or consistent to say the police probably just didn’t collect it. Yet the Fanboys leeeeeeaap from ‘the police were incompetent’ to ‘how come Bailey didn’t leave DNA?’ as if there is no contradiction between these two positions. He quite possibly did leave some, but look what happens when you cover the body with plastic, instead of a tent and when it lies there for two nights in December. When you don’t know what you’re doing and you’re in the middle of nowhere and it’s the early days of DNA. When the attack was obviously not pre-meditated and very much a violent, unplanned outburst in which the killer didn’t even enter the house (the door was locked from inside) and you admit yourselves the police were incompetent. Then you get a guilty man enjoying a police screw-up. When they WILFULLY throw away a gate, because they don’t realise it might be useful in future. No, they didn’t ‘lose’ it as so many say. They willfully threw it away and that’s actually something authorities do when they believe they have taken the samples they need. More weary, experienced authorities might keep the bloody gate. Yet the fanboys just move the goalposts around, just like.... Bailey does.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 14,900 Mod ✭✭✭✭whiterebel

One person, only mentioned once, and that recently:

financial motive - possibly most to gain.

Hard upbringing may have made it easier to organise such a barbaric act

May have known Sophie's movements……..

Melita Nikolic.

One thing makes no sense to me is why Sophie would drag 3 large suitcases to West Cork for 3 or 4 days?

• Registered Users Posts: 4,459 ✭✭✭FishOnABike

Was married with a child quickly afterwards.. He also did not let Sophie's son stay with him - he 'threw him out'.

Where does it come from that th was 'thrown out'? He was spending Christmas with his paternal grandparents in Solonge. His father, Pierre Jean Baudey, drove from Paris to break the news to him after learning his ex-wife had been murdered. Is there anything to show that he was 'thrown out' rather than simply going to live with his paternal family?

The husband said afterwards (in early 1997) that she was pregnant when she was not. Perhaps she has mislead him or she was mistaken?

Is it known for certain whether she was pregnant or not? Daniel Toscan de Plantier said that she was in the early stages of pregnancy and they had talked about it in their phone call on the night of 22nd December but he died without establishing proof of Sophie’s condition.

An autopsy, carried out by former state pathologist Dr John Harbison after Sophie’s Christmastime murder in 1996, was not divulged to her family despite repeated requests by her late husband.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,391 ✭✭✭tinytobe

I think that is a lot of circumstantial stuff you are writing here.

There is one point which you raised and I found very interesting about your posting: Bailey telephoned Sophie's office prior to her departure? Has this ever been confirmed? Did he speak to Sophie in person, or just her colleague or secretary? Record of phone calls would have been available back then as well. Did the police ever check up on that? Did Bailey call from his studio? If this is ever confirmed that it's proven that Bailey knew Sophie and had contact with her prior to the murder. This still wouldn't prove that he did it, but it would prove communication between him and her and quite possibly knowledge that Sophie would be in Ireland at a certain time.

However Bailey's motive for murder would have been the lowest of all the other options we've discussed here.

There is one other speculation I've also had regarding Bailey: What if Bailey actually wanted a freelance job in some way shape or form with Sophie or Daniel? Bailey smelling the big money. They had a discussion about it, he was rejected, and he killed her in a rage? If this was the case, then it would certainly put a bigger financial motive to Bailey than we are considering today.

The question about her early pregnancy also baffles me. Would the child have been Daniel's or somebody else's? If she slept around she would have been confident with contraception. Thus I would believe that the pregnancy wasn't unwanted at all. But why would she be wanting another baby now and with whom? Her husband Daniel whilst their marriage was about to break up? Possibly to save the marriage? It's quite a a good motive that Daniel would have wanted her out of his way and also financially rewarding.

It's another interesting line of enquiry.

they don’t seem to be aware that he often went walking at night, sometimes naked and howling at the moon.

This is utter nonsense and beyond a few perpetually stoned blow ins is well known by locals to be nothing but embarrassing and ridiculous false rumour. Maybe the grown man found running down the road with his toddler in his arms because he thought he saw Ian Bailey told you this?

As for the rest of your post, perhaps you should write a book? Murder at Roaring Water might be a good title, except of course, there never was a murder at roaring water.

• Registered Users Posts: 29,418 ✭✭✭✭odyssey06

There is no credible evidence Bailey knew Sophie. You have to be pretty gullible to believe witnesses several years later remembering Sophie having a connection to Bailey. Where were they when the murder happened. The Antartic? Pull the other one

Alfie may have introduced them v briefly. There is no record of phone calls, no letters, no sightings of them alone together.

On balance of probabilities Bailey is innocent for me. The Guards were incompetent but forensics were taken. All the prints hair blood etc was Sophies. Bailey volunteered samples. Nothing found at the scene or on the briars. Bailey had no motive at all. His alibi is shifty but then when drink is involved recollections can be hazy. It doesnt mean the void = murder.

The Guards lost the gate in the sense during the GSOC investigation they didnt know what happened to it. Not even well we last sent it to X enquire there.

They were incompetent re: establishing time of death and the tunnel vision focus on Bailey. Incompetent re the failure to interview the man mentioned earlier in the thread who lived close to Sophie.

They tried every trick in the book fair and foul to pin this on Bailey and the best they came up with was Marie Farrell and some non confessions.

But yeah that makes someone a Bailey fanboy? What lame internet debating trick did you pull that one from to try to be clever? You're not impressing anyone with nonsense like that in a post.

"To follow knowledge like a sinking star..." (Tennyson's Ulysses)

• Registered Users Posts: 1,160 ✭✭✭crackcrack30

@huiwe878778

I don't believe I.B Murdered Sophie but that dosen't make me or anyone else a "fanboy"

Baily had faults and was/is eccentric.... Annoying, a blowin, loud, wife beater, probably alcoholic, etc etc..

Reverting to calling names of alternate opinions and viewpoints would quickly close down forums and discussions...

My stance is that if the media and gardai put as much effort into fact finding real evidence rather than manufacturing and enhancing circumstantial evidence (as deemed by the DPP), then this case would and should be a closed case rather than a cold case.

@timeladsplease....I have read and watched & listened to alot (probably more than I should), and alot of these sources both contradict and misshape "evidence"

My point about the spot of blood found in the paddock need not necessarily have come from sophies body ... but possinly from the killers lothes or the head of an axe...? carried by the killer

And yes i've probably read most of this forum... Not just jumped in...

• Registered Users Posts: 89 ✭✭CowgirlBoots

Well, maybe she was bringing things from France she wanted to have in her Irish house. What's so unusual about that?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,775 ✭✭✭lintdrummer

@huiwe878778

Fair play to you for putting together such a comprehensive post.

I see where you're coming from about the weight of the circumstantial evidence and how it points to Bailey. But the problem is there is absolutely nothing concrete in any of it. It's all hearsay. One man's word against another. None of it proves his legal guilt, but I don't think it's correct to say that it points unequivocally to his actual guilt.

That is just your opinion, and that is all it will ever be, unless Bailey confesses or some concrete evidence turns up to prove his guilt. Many people have been tried and convicted before on circumstantial evidence only to be exonerated years later by hard evidence. He needs to be proven guilty beyond a reasonable doubt. To my mind that needs to be the case in and out of the courts. As things stand there is a reasonable doubt.

The "fanboy" language is unnecessary. There are people here who's opinion of Bailey's innocence is as strong as yours is on his guilt. It would be very arrogant to say that they are wrong and you are right. If you read back through the entire thread you will find there are actually not too many who are convinced of his innocence entirely, myself included, hence we are exploring all the possibilities and trying to get a better understanding of what other possible suspects exist. Not to eliminate Bailey, but to have a better understanding of the case. It is not for us to pass judgment, that can only be done by a jury of his peers. If we are going to personally pass judgment, then at least we should do it with as much information on the case as possible.

• Registered Users Posts: 3 cf80irl

It's actually the 2nd left after you turn right at Kealfadda Bridge, but that's splitting hairs :p

I do agree with you though...the house wasn't/isn't hard to find at all, unless you are hopeless with directions. And this still stands taking into account the area was likely quite different back in the mid 90s, compared with today. Dwyer's claim is absolute nonsense, but I wouldn't expect any less from him going by his blatant lying on the recent documentaries.

What you can't dispute is that the place is very, very remote. You hear that it is but you only get a true impression once you go there. Once you turn off at Kealfadda Bridge it is a very small/minor road, and the lane leading to the house even more so. It is not somewhere that you would 'happen upon' by chance.

Out of curiosity, has anyone ever put together all the so-called facts of the case, referencing their source and validity? I really feel this would be of huge benefit. So much is mentioned here without the ability to properly reference the source, so much so that at this stage a lot the 'facts' are, in reality, just hearsay and supposition.

Ralph Riegel points out in the Jim Sheridan documentary how when Marie Farrell lost all credibility in the high court, the only circumstantial evidence, laughable as it was, for IB being near the scene of the crime that night went as well. The DPP focuses on Detective Garda FitzGerald on page 16 and it isn't to praise him for all his efforts.

Some people would even go so far as portray the DPP, more than one, as Bailey fanboys. But by first deciding there was no charges to be brought, he was sparing the Garda blushes and very likely allowing some of them sidestep a court case that might have seen them having to resign.

Ian Baileys troubles should be seen for what they are. A warning to be very careful when you go poking your nose in what are matters best left to the 'state' to deal with. People are quick to dismiss the likes of Gemma O' Doherty who got kicked out of her job for annoying the powers that be. Maybe journalists ought to behave themselves. Barry Roche has popped up on a few of these documentaries, he started out on the Examiner alongside Eddie Cassidy but his measured views have seen him progress. Exemplary.

I would want to think it could have been Bailey if we could actually establish a stronger motive for him. This would have to have been something other than rage.

Why would Bailey want her dead? Was Sophie in the way for Bailey, his career maybe? and if so, why? What would be the financial benefit to Bailey? We all don't know that, even worse, we neither have DNA, fingerprints, hair or fiber of his clothes linking him to the murder scene. We don't even know the time of murder. Bailey wouldn't have used Jule's car, thus he must have hiked there, but building up a rage and an anger during a 1 hour hike and an evening in the pub doesn't sound credible at all and that all with the risk of being seen on the side of the road, or Sophie not even opening the door to him.

The only other two strong motives we know are:

The husband with the financial motive of avoiding a divorce and cashing in on the life insurance of his wife who was apparently in the early stages of pregnancy. The husband was probably also not too interested in having a child from a cheating wife he wanted to divorce anyway. Husband wanting the marriage to her to be over, but wife not, and also wanting his child? Separating the whole du Plantier estate? Child support payments? etc... Sophie's death would have been very convenient to her husband, and also financially rewarding.

The drug ring Sophie had possibly uncovered and wanted to do something against that. She would have been clearly in the way of somebody's racket, which we don't know who else was involved in? - possibly a corrupt Guard? maybe Alfie? or that farmer who grew cannabis? This scenario would not only have involved one, but possibly more people or a whole "network" who wanted her dead.

Any kind of casual sexual relationship Sophie may have had or is alleged to have had with somebody whilst in Ireland ( the German musician or that unknown Frenchman ) would most likely not have had any financial motive attached to it. In the worst case rejection could have resulted in rage and murder, however that's a bit too strong the way she was murdered.

I can't agree with you for saying "fair play" to someone for regurgitating an absurd conspiracy theory. People speak about the DPP's office like this was their first case when they bring a high degree of sophistication to their remit. No one can say that Ian Bailey is completely innocent of this crime any more that they can say the local priest or doctor is. All one has to ask is whether he is any more likely to be guilty. The DPP's office, where all the people whose livelihood depends on answering questions like this work, have given their answer. People have all sorts of reasons for maintaining the fiction around Bailey, some may be sinister but a lot of them are undoubtedly financial. For a lot of 'newspapers' it's the gift that keeps on giving.

I believe that if Bailey had been allowed continue his investigations we might not have found out who killed STDP but we would have heard some things about that part of Cork that the powers that be would prefer we didn't.

@tinytobe

Motive's

I'm putting forward another motive...

Sophies house property, land sale, right of way was being invaded and encroched upon to varying degrees.

1. someone using her house when away (locks changed)
    2. Dispute over gate being left open (right of way).
    3. Parking area now not in cottage holding.
    4. new fencing taking place in paddock as outlined in photo.
    5. Dispute surrounding ownership of outhouse..
    6. Continous travel/traffic at her very back door up to Alfies & fields.
    7. Sophies (a later day blowin) approach to dealing with any of these issues could cause resentment, conflict, rage?. I don't suspect Alfie due to medical /physical condition at that time but there are other neighbours within walking distance.

I've considered motives regarding the property and any form of property dispute. However, as I have written in one of my previous posts I could rule them all out, simply because nothing happened after Sophie's murder if she was in the way of somebody's aspirations or plans. No re-zoning, no new planning permission granted, nothing was ever built new or extended, and apparently for 20 years or longer not even a change in ownership until Shirley sold a couple of years ago.

Only thing that seems to have changed is that Alfie's house is newly painted in a different colour. Also a newer house had been built way way further down Alfie's and Sophie's which I guess may have happened a good 10 or even 15 years after the murder?

If there was a dispute like that, we would also have learned about it.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,511 ✭✭✭OwlsZat

• Registered Users Posts: 1,060 ✭✭✭Thespoofer

He quite possibly did leave some, but look what happens when you cover the body with plastic, instead of a tent and when it lies there for two nights in December

Cold does not destroy DNA. in  Marilyn Rynn's case it actually preserved it. Covering with a plastic might transfer some DNA but not all. And while the local grda did not know much about murder the forensic guys from Dublin did. I'm sure they would have checked the plastic cover too. I do not know whether he killed her or not so i am not a fan

What about one of the new age travellers using the bath? Would they have bathing facilities in their camp.?

There are people here who will keep banging on with long discredited lies as if it's 1998. Never mind, more than one DPP, GSOC, the Bandon tapes or High court evidence where evidence is heard that a jury is not allowed deliberate on. They will refer to recent articles about people in the gutter press as if they were gospel truth.... Come to think of it😀

• Registered Users Posts: 1,060 ✭✭✭Thespoofer

I have to say this but what is it with you and this 'drug ring' you're so fascinated about ? It's like you're trying really hard to push this agenda.

@huiwe878778

There is more credible evidence that Alfie Lyons was more likely to have been guilty of this murder than Ian Bailey?

I think an unplanned fit of rage and murder would put paid to any notions or grievances and the attention drawn by this case would make any grievances and disputes very minute, and trivial in hindsight, especially to the killer.

Sophies house remains with her family, there was never going to be any buildings or large developments just ordinary land disputes & old fashioned people chancing their arm with the blowin... they are happening in every parish every day ...some are low profile some are high profile & some lead to deadly conflict ...

I am neither so fascinated with the possible drug ring, nor am I pushing any agendas here.

I am just stating that the possible drug ring and Sophie seeing something she shouldn't have, knowing something and being prepared to do something would be a strong motive for murder. It was known that Sophie didn't approve of this activity.

There has been known drug trafficking in the area, on the rather isolated coast lines and isolated harbours.

Also drug trafficking can be very lucrative and financially rewarding, and given the fact that real good career perspectives were very limited in the area, it was probably a good way to make a bit of money in some sideline.

Murders in the drug scene are in general known for their brutality and to send a message.

And then there was that case where the Guards actually gave this ex-British soldier in the area drugs in an ill-fated attempt to get close to Bailey.

I would personally rate the drug ring similarly high in financial motive for murder as the husband / hitman theory.

Post edited by tinytobe on

• Registered Users Posts: 79 ✭✭Polly701

The 'fanboy' terminology is ridiculous.. I don't know if Bailey did it not. And nor does anyone else here.

But this is a fascinating case to discuss as there are so many elements to it. And we should all be able to discuss it without resorting to name calling.

I wrote earlier that Sophie's son had been 'thrown out' of Daniels House and someone queried the source - Ian Bailey said this in his tv3 interview and I remember reading it years ago too (although possibly I was reading that Bailey had said it.. I don't remember).

I also gave slightly wrong directions for the house - thank you for the correction.

No, I don't think so.

Alfie would have had a couple of "advantages" to Bailey. Alfie would have known exactly when she was there and when not. Alfie would have heard cars coming and going. Alfie would probably have known when she would do the shopping or when she went to bed, or if she was an early riser. Remember, Sophie's house didn't have curtains in many rooms so light would have shone outside easily.

If Alfie did it, he would fit more into the drug-gang motive theory than the husband hired hitman theory. Also if Alfie did it, then Shirley would have known. I don't think he could have hidden blood all over him from Shirley.

But again, that's only theory, nothing proven at all.