Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Ryder Cup 2020 [Official Thread!]

• Registered Users Posts: 14,610 ✭✭✭✭callaway92

Not calling you a loser obviously, but that is a losers' way of looking at it. It's a unique spectacle and fun for the reasons I've mentioned. When the away team wins, it can then be considered a massive achievement, which is should be.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,301 ✭✭✭daithi7

Not calling you brain washed and unable to consider change, but that is a brain washed way of looking at it.

As I say, no other reputable sport would tolerate such a skewing to the home side. Only in the Ryder Cup, shameless loading of the dice further in favour of the home side is condoned.

Because according to you this leads to a better challenge when there is a rare away victory.

Yeah right!?! how's about improve every Ryder Cup as a contest & spectacle by taking away the extra artificial home advantages (course set up & extra practice & scoping of the course) - that's not a loser's mentality at all (?), it's a spectators mentality who wants to watch better contests!! Simples.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,610 ✭✭✭✭callaway92

• Registered Users Posts: 86,249 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

• Registered Users Posts: 16,359 ✭✭✭✭Loafing Oaf

• Registered Users Posts: 20,355 ✭✭✭✭Rikand

Dermot McElroy ? No, he's still plying his trade on the challenge and europro tours.

Rory McIlroy shed a tear or two though

• Registered Users Posts: 228 ✭✭kyleman

• Registered Users Posts: 2,907 ✭✭✭The Big Easy

He had been badly out of form, but was one of the few Europeans playing well coming into the cup. He had a top 5 in the first playoff event and a top 10 in the 2nd, missing the Tour Championship by a putt, he was the 5th placed European in the Fed Ex Cup and most importantly he was making birdies, lots of them.

Wouldn't have made a difference either way in the grand scheme of things, but there was no benefit to Paddy's insistence all along that Poults and Sergio were certainties for the team. Still can't work out how he thought that would help anyone.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,350 ✭✭✭dublin49

I am a huge Padddy fan ,always have been ,just wondering what will he be most criticised about,

not picking Rose,qualification process.underusing Fleetwood,fitz & westwood ,anything else?

• Registered Users Posts: 94 ✭✭someyoke

Noren also a great wind player, would have fancied the job Fri/sat afternoon.

Hopefully himself and molinari can get their form of old back for the next one, they'll be badly needed.

Only young players you'd really be excited about in Europe are hojgaard's, but Italy might come too soon for them.

Hopefully Migliozzi will be well up for qualifying for his home nations ryder cup. He wasnt far away this time around

• Registered Users Posts: 2,557 ✭✭✭Ardillaun

The Americans did seem better prepared this time. Another thing - neither Tiger nor Phil ever looked completely comfortable playing in the Ryder Cup.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,301 ✭✭✭daithi7

I thought the Americans looked all but unbeatable tbh.

Their players were ice cool, their driving was long & reliable, their approach shots impeccable and their putting awesome. Further anytime they got in trouble their recovery shots like their approach shots were better than the Europeans. There were some European players that held their end up in the earlier rounds e.g. both Spaniards, Hovlnd & Lowry but they nearly all faltered in the singles. Guys like Scheffler, Johnson, De Chambeau & Cantalay were playing perfect golf, with the other 8 Americans also majestic, making this the best US team to ever play in a Ryder Cup imho. They were simply brilliant.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,775 ✭✭✭Motivator

No they didn’t. Woods’ record is shocking but I heard an interesting point made last week by an American guy (could have been Rich Beem I can’t remember) and he said Woods was probably too big for the team. It would have been very difficult for any player to play with Woods such was the aura that Woods had. I don’t know if I agree with that statement because even Woods’ singles record was poor.

On a side note, I’m not sure if anyone heard that clown Gary Murphy on 2fm this evening. Talking about what European players would get on the US team. He named 5 players - including Lowry. I nearly put my car into the ditch laughing. I don’t know what planet Gary Murphy is on but McIlroy is the only player that would get anywhere near that US team and considering the players that didn’t make that US team I’m not so sure McIlroy would get on it. I never liked Murphy, I think he’s a bitter auld fella that is pissed off he had a crap career and before he went off air he had a swipe at Koepka about the number of majors he has. I’m no Koepka fan but hard to argue with what he has achieved.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,796 ✭✭✭Augme

• Registered Users Posts: 19 Stoolie

McIlroy did well enough on the final day ( when there was nothing at stake ) after his two days rest beforehand

• Registered Users Posts: 13,399 ✭✭✭✭ArmaniJeanss

FWIW, in cricket test matches, the wicket is almost always set up to play to the home countries strengths.

In tennis in the old Davis Cup format the home team in each round had choice of surface, and would pick clay, hard (indoor or outdoor) or even grass specifically to give themselves the best chance depending on the opponent.

In soccer the home team has a decent amount of settings they can make to their perceived advantage - pitch dimensions, amount of watering, grass height.

These are 3 reasonably reputable sports imo.

I don't necessarily disagree with your overall point (I think there's a case for declaring the Ryder Cup to be on neutral territory and having an outside overseer for the setup) - merely disagreeing with your suggestion that home-setup is unique to golf amongst major sports.

You dont think Jon Rahm might have gotten a pick for the US ?

He typed McIlroy instead of rahm I'd imagine, as he mentions Rory again after.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,019 ✭✭✭youcancallmeal

I think anyone who knows anything about golf and watched all of the Ryder Cup will know there is very little he could've done differently to change the outcome. In the singles which is where the captains have the least influence on the outcome USA won 7 - 4 which meant Europe would've needed to be coming into Sunday with a considerable lead to retain the cup. The losing margin might have been smaller but no amount of different captains picks or pairings were going to beat the USA this time, basically the US players played accurately to their world rankings and PGA tour form which they don't usually at the Ryder Cup

• Registered Users Posts: 100 ✭✭Turfcutter

Let's face it, the single results suggests that complaints over the pairings and wild cards was academic. The Americans were going to win handsomely every which way. 

What about the crowd factor? The home gallery were quite boorish at times even though it was a done deal very early. Some of the European players looked a bit cowed when they missed something and the crowd were letting them know about it.

Imagine if the contest was evenly poised. I believe it would have been far uglier than Kiawah Island '91 and Brookline '99 for unpleasantries. If there was a decent European travelling crowd it may have helped a little. Maybe swinging the odd half point here and there to make it better than 19-9.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,610 ✭✭✭muddypaws

I don't often post in the golf forum, I do play golf, but don't watch a lot, I'm one of those people that just come in for the Ryder Cup and possibly a Major. I don't have a sports subscription anymore to watch it, but every 2 years I upgrade Sky for the month of September. So - I used to watch it with my parents when it was on terrestrial TV, then when I left home we'd watch separately but be on the phone on the Sunday, when it went to Sky somehow they'd end up visiting my house for the weekend - complete coincidence obviously. It's been a weekend writ large in my memory, lots of emotional memories around it, and now that both of my parents are gone, it means a connection to them and even more emotion. I'm not alone in this, I have friends around the world who don't play or watch golf, but love the Ryder Cup, and now that we have social media, we can watch it together but apart.

This year I seemed to be the only one of my friends with any interest in it, so I came in here because I was boring everyone on Facebook.

I think it has changed, I get the impression that it used to be a week for the players to have some fun and get away from the pressure of the Tour. It's not that anymore, it seems to have the same, if not more pressure now. I'm probably just old and crotchety, it's so commercialised, unless I win the lotto I doubt that I'll ever be able to afford a ticket to actually go. Maybe it's actually always been like that, but I was viewing it through European eyes, so the whole Darren Clarke year and the Seve thing meant something to us.

I really hope that it somehow retains it's specialness and doesn't just become another 'major'.

I promise I won't bore you all for another two years now

• Registered Users Posts: 368 ✭✭Luis21

He told the press the previous weekend that he had just asked the players who they fancied playing with. I know its mad that I actually just didnt pull the information from my arse.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,746 ✭✭✭sxt

Professional golf is one of the most singular sports in the world. Even more so in the last 5-10 years. It is all about data driven feedback and metrics

When ever you see a pro golfer win a tournament, you rarely see them celebrate after winning , because they are so zoned in like a com#puter program on the singular process and technique

Ryder cup brings out the human emotion, when you are not playing for yourself. It was lovely to see Rory Mcilroy crying after his singles match

• Registered Users Posts: 20,888 ✭✭✭✭FixdePitchmark

Am I missing something here. It sounds a very important part of the process. They know each others games backwards, they know the personality that suits.

In my club some lads won't even play outside the same 4 ball.

If your not actually happy with who you are playing with , it is doomed to failure.

Besides, they know each others strengths and weakness more than Paddy.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,557 ✭✭✭Ardillaun

An American victory wasn’t inevitable - nothing in sport is - but was highly likely. If we ran the Ryder Cup repeatedly in a best of seven series, we’d be doing well to lose 4-1, and 4-2 would be an excellent result. The captains can only do so much. Home advantage, the US fans, a significant disparity in player quality and the cohesiveness of the US team left few vulnerabilities. Despite all that, next time is not a foregone conclusion by any means.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,350 ✭✭✭dublin49

Critics and analysts have an ability to objectively lay out the respective merits of two teams and then post event totally ignore their own logic and let rip with personal attacks mostly on the coaches,.I well remember George hook slating Ireland when we dIdnt beat top teams or Giles and Dunphy giving out when we only drew away to Italy. Its part of the gig,Gatland,Dessie Farrell ,Horan all know you are a hero or dunce based on a hop of a ball.There is probably a maths formula that weights the value of world position of players versus home advantage.For me in the Ryder cup a home match is the biggest advantage and the headline yesterday that states US will dominate for 20 years is typical of the over the top reaction that is used to sell copy.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,520 ✭✭✭stanley1

Europe need to sit down and hammer out a masterplan, right now not 18 months down the road.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 18,984 Mod ✭✭✭✭slave1

Masterplan is simple, replace the guys fighting Father Time

Plan is not sustainable at present

Europe looks to successive losses, especially as US so young

It's just not like the old days when they had Tiger and Phil in the team

My stuff for sale on Adverts inc. EDDI, hot water cylinder, roof rails...

Public Profile active ads for slave1 (adverts.ie)

• Registered Users Posts: 11,368 ✭✭✭✭fullstop

You argued otherwise in your first post on the matter.

”He performed well when the pressure was off and there was nothing to play for”.

As far as I can see Keano was only calling a spade a spade. You can’t wait to have a dig about McIlroy when the chance arises and it’s fairly obvious you dislike him.