Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

2021 World Grand Prix - Oct 3-9

• 27-09-2021 12:34pm
    Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 12,275 Mod ✭✭✭✭

The World Grand Prix gets under way next Monday. It's been held in Leicester instead of the Citywest this year and I suspect it won't be coming to Citywest again.

The draw has been made:

2021 BoyleSports World Grand Prix

Draw Bracket

1. (1) Gerwyn Price v Michael Smith
    2. Martijn Kleermaker v Mervyn King
    3. (8) Dave Chisnall v Mensur Suljovic
    4. Joe Cullen v Ross Smith
    5. (4) James Wade v Damon Heta
    6. Stephen Bunting v Daryl Gurney
    7. (5) Dimitri Van den Bergh v Ryan Searle
    8. Dirk van Duijvenbode v Luke Humphries
    9. (2) Peter Wright v Rob Cross
    10. Nathan Aspinall v Krzysztof Ratajski
    11. (7) Jose de Sousa v Glen Durrant
    12. Callan Rydz v Jonny Clayton
    13. (3) Michael van Gerwen v Danny Noppert
    14. Vincent van der Voort v Gabriel Clemens
    15. (6) Gary Anderson v Ian White
    16. Darius Labanauskas v Brendan Dolan

Some great first round matches with the standout match for me being Price v Michael Smith. Notable player missing is Adrian Lewis as he continues to tumble down the rankings.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,753 ✭✭✭Dillonb3

Price v Smith the standout tie. Heta and Wade is another good one, I can see Humphries beating DVD

• Registered Users Posts: 2,651 ✭✭✭US2

It starts Sunday not Monday I think ?

Didn't realise Durrant qualified for this, he should withdraw really and probably retire.

• Registered Users Posts: 38,455 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

Hard to get used to this not been in Dublin

I imagine it's only a one year deal and it will be back in CityWest for 2022. If its gone permanently from Dublin could we get some of sort of new European major in its place ?

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 12,275 Mod ✭✭✭✭Kingp35

Not in the Citywest. The venue is poor because it's so hard get to and especially home from. The attendances have been terrible the last few times it was played there.

Maybe the tournament will be moved back to the Citywest but only if they are paying the PDC to hold it there.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 12,275 Mod ✭✭✭✭Kingp35

Jose De Sousa 4/6 to win 2-0 in sets. Free money.

Durrant 300/1 that's how far he's fallen. Wonder if Dolan might go on another run this year Double in/Double out makes a bit of a difference

I do like this tournment but it not been in Dublin takes away from it a little

Bloody Irish government and there slow reopening of the events sector

• Registered Users Posts: 2,651 ✭✭✭US2

City West was always empty until the second weekend. Delighted it's moved

Always a laugh up there

Remember done 2 nights a few years back and **** me I overdone it on the 1st night. Those jugs of orchard thieves are lethal

Kleermaker's finishing was brutal there

DVD looks some ejet with those earrings

• Registered Users Posts: 6,625 ✭✭✭ThebitterLemon

If you think that you should watch his old walk on routine…🤣

TbL

Bunting very impressive

TbL

The days of the pot belly darts player are ending

All about the slim clean cut appearance these days esp the 2 lads on now

Can’t stand the snail Suljovic, hope Chizzy dumps him out!!!

TbL

Enjoyed that Wade/Heta game.

Wade goes from the sublime to the ridiculous even couple of throws!

TbL

Enjoyed that game, The 2 looked like brothers

Price vs smith could be a good game

The bottler Smith come out again.

can’t ever see him winning anything decent

TbL

Delighted for Searle, one of my favorite players 👏

TbL

Jesus. Dolan was dross!!!!

TbL

Rydz was swatted away there by Clayton

• Registered Users Posts: 8,925 ✭✭✭PsychoPete

Andersons doubles could be his downfall tonight

Poor game there with White and Ando. White just had a better double start % than Ando 27% to 41%. Highest out only 58

• Registered Users Posts: 18,010 ✭✭✭✭paulie21

Anderson was woeful there and Ian White still nearly bottled it

No messing from Cross in set 1. Two lovely ton 80s at critical times. Wonder if there's a breeze there tonight, as there's been quite a few wayward darts so far, not least Wrighty hitting the big 7 in the last leg..

• Registered Users Posts: 11,277 ✭✭✭✭mdwexford

This always throws up some strange results.

Has some of the most bizarre quarter final line ups in PDC history.

So unlucky there by MVG

• Registered Users Posts: 7,767 ✭✭✭Deeper Blue

Jaysus when Mvg was coming on stage it looked like there was about 20 people there

• Registered Users Posts: 1,224 ✭✭✭SqueakyKneecap

Noppert impressive there

Great performance from Noppert