Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

No quitten we're whelan on to chitchat 11

• Registered Users Posts: 3,845 ✭✭✭Odelay

Considering his stud fee is £175,000 it must have been a sickening day out for the seller...

• Registered Users Posts: 10,785 ✭✭✭✭patsy_mccabe

It's a mere pastime for the rich. A local guy her got a six figure sum recently for a yearling horse. Stud fees were only €5k.

'When I was a boy we were serfs, slave minded. Anyone who came along and lifted us out of that belittling, I looked on them as Gods.' - Dan Breen

• Registered Users Posts: 18,569 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

Stung three times on the elbow by a wasp today. I’d forgotten how painful it is.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,777 ✭✭✭Lime Tree Farm

They seem to be particularly vicious this year, got a sting when I reached for the first taste of this year's plums. It took a week before the effect wore off. Splashed on the vinegar, took antihistamine and a paracetamol to ease the pain.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,194 ✭✭✭foxy farmer

Back around 99 I drained a low lying field that we used to call the bog. Got a man in to open drain along the bounds ditch, one deep drain using 9" conc pipes about 5ft and a few shallow stone and pipe drains. The farm over the ditch was growing maize and beet at the time. It actually grew prize winning sugar beet way back when.

I left the field to dry out for years. Had planned to lay it out this year as it was starting to go back to nature. A local man was tearing for beet ground so I left him to work it. He's here today pulling the fodder beet off it. A massive crop in fairness.

Meanwhile the farm over the ditch is growing trees. It was put into mixed forestry around 05.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,274 ✭✭✭✭Base price

I was in the house for most of the day catching up on paperwork and the feckers were crawling around the kitchen windows trying to gain access. In fairness you can't blame them as they are dying off this time of the year. I left a few over ripe pieces of banana in the corner of the garden for them.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,149 ✭✭✭Dinzee Conlee

So you drained a field in 99 and left it idle for 20 years?

• Registered Users Posts: 6,986 ✭✭✭kevthegaff

I find flies vicious these days, c%%ts

• Registered Users Posts: 3,845 ✭✭✭Odelay

Lassies and lads, tis the time of year to test your smoke alarms. Push the red button with a brush handle. Should have one downstairs and one upstairs at a minimum.

Don't rely on the alarm to bleep for low battery, doesn't always work, or might have been missed if a away for a few days during the summer.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,194 ✭✭✭foxy farmer

Not really. Couldn't reseed it at the time as it was still too wet. Was being grazed and topped since but rushes were getting very plentiful and furze and Sally trees growing along open drain, I took the lazy option and just kept pulling elec fence out from the expanding vegetation.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,125 ✭✭✭zetecescort

don't forget the carbon monoxide alarms too now that heating and fires/stoves are beginning to be used again

• Registered Users Posts: 29,547 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

firdt couple of rows I parlour are torture here with flies atm

• Registered Users Posts: 22,317 ✭✭✭✭Esel

And don't use a rechargeable battery in a detector. When they run low, the warning beep will not persist like a replaceable battery will, so you may well not hear the beep before it stops altogether.

Not your ornery onager

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 1,890 Mod ✭✭✭✭Albert Johnson

Asking for a friend, 2.2 Ford Ranger good or bad? It's a 152 reg 150BPH with 120,000 miles and looks clean. He'd be using it for daily commute and moderate towing, general all rounder for work and farming. I've heard mixed reports but don't know enough to say for sure.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,186 ✭✭✭ruwithme

On the ford ranger Albert, tell him to take a good sharp look underneath her, ideally on a car lift. She's seen a bit of tar since 152 & main roads have being getting a fair touch of salt in recent winter's & underneath is often overlooked by some.

There was a thread on the motoring forum a number of years ago now about a 2 year old Ford Ranger with a hole rusted in the drivers door sill. Struck me as a bad omen for them anyway. Mechanically on them I'm ignorant.

Rust is an issue I'd be wary of with anything bearing a Ford badge but you need to be vigilant with any jeep. This one is a UK import if that's better or worse, the usual company owned, UK motorway miles talk although to be fair it looks in pristine condition.

From a quick search online opinions seem very divided on them. For every good review someone else lists a tale of woe regarding oil pumps, replacement engines ect and says they wouldn't take a present of another one. I'd prefer a similar Isuzu Dmax but I don't think you'd get a comparable one for €18000 although the few thousand initially was better spent than trying to fix a worse cheaper yolk.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,186 ✭✭✭ruwithme

Even more salt then so on a uk motorway on a daily or regular basis. Bit of nonsense anyway when you see a ad talk of UK motorway miles.

Means nothing if the service interval for oil change wasn't met.sometimes when I see it in car ads in think "sure she was never off the road to allow time for a oil change"

I know a few fellas that only ever buy high milage older but clean yolks for much the same reason's. They'd tell you that someone minded it well to get it that far and that it was serviced to within an inch of its life to ensure reliability as the miles clocked up. You'll often see with people who buy new every 3 or 5 years that they'd do little with it apart from put diesel in it as they'll not own it when it starts to succumb to poor maintenance after a few year's. However free servicing as part of the sales package means this isn't as big a problem as it was previously.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,201 ✭✭✭orm0nd

Also warranty is void if not serviced regularly by main dealer

• Registered Users Posts: 6,118 ✭✭✭emaherx

You don't have to have a car serviced by a main dealer to protect warranty. Although I'm sure most main dealers are delighted most people believe it to be the case.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,766 ✭✭✭Dakota Dan

Watch out who you accept friend requests from, I know a lad that had to get the gardai involved after accepting a friend request from someone he assumed was in his breeders group, I can't put up to story but it got messy.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,157 ✭✭✭✭wrangler

You'd wonder why students apply to university far away when they clearly cant afford to live there.

Did you ever see a student refuse free food.....of course it'd go in a few minutes

• Registered Users Posts: 8,611 ✭✭✭Mooooo

While no doubt there are pressures on, same thought entered my head, free food, be gone in seconds.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,157 ✭✭✭✭wrangler

I saw bags of food being carried into the university,

The more food they can get for free will mean more money for drink, it must be the joke of the uni

• Registered Users Posts: 11,543 ✭✭✭✭Say my name

SVP had a food bank in a local town.

I know one couple who'd be fairly well made who used to go in for food. Not an ounce of shame or remorse taking it on someone else. Answer was if it's free take it.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,958 ✭✭✭cute geoge

The best of all my neighbour gets the svp hamper at christmas including coal he drawing welfare ,working round the clock and he having the finest house and car on our road some joke!!!

• Registered Users Posts: 9,732 ✭✭✭Birdnuts

I know of several examples of that down the country!!

ignore, wrong section

• Registered Users Posts: 2,209 ✭✭✭carrollsno1

As a fella i work with says "tis the best lads are on the dole and thats a fact"

Better living everyone

• Registered Users Posts: 18,569 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

Just on the students.

maybe these are folk from lesser backgrounds genuinely trying to better themselves but financially struggling to do so. Yea I’m sure there’s an amount of messing going on, but we have to acknowledge that rents and college fees are crazy here, and not all students are drunk louts, that’s a generalisation like all farmers are lazy rich hicks getting easy handouts from taxpayers.