Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Republic of Ireland Team 2023/24 [old thread]

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,796 ✭✭✭✭Francie Barrett

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,989 ✭✭✭johnnyryan89

Jimmy Dunne settling in well at QPR. Three starts in a row now and scores today against Preston.

Could Keane actually get a start against Azerbaijan? Idah only comes on in the 89th minute today. Clean sheet for Collins but had nothing to do really as both teams were shite.

I wouldn't start either. I think we'd be better going something like 5-3-2 with Hendrick, Cullen, and Knight in midfield with Connolly and Robinson upfront.

I'm thinking he'll go similar as the last Azerbaijan game but with Omobamidele in for Coleman, Hendrick in for Molumby and Robinson in for Parrott.

------------------------Bazunu

--Omobamidele - Duffy - Egan

Doherty - Hendrick - Cullen - McClean

----------Robinson - Idah - Connolly

Did we play 3-4-3 against Luxembourg, if so our front three were Browne - Collins - Robinson, and against Luxembourg it was Parrott - Idah - Connolly. This is the first time Robinson, Idah, and Connolly have all been fit (touch wood) going into an international window. Wouldn't be surprised to see it used again with the three lads playing as the attacking three.

Though I wouldn't mind Keane starting up front as he's playing week in week out and being more experienced might find himself in better scoring positions than Idah does.

Johansson on for Fortuna, they're 2-1 down.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,597 ✭✭✭Ferris_Bueller

That's the team I would most like to see as well. I'd rather see us line up in a 3-5-2 with an attacking midfielder than play with a 3-4-3 which I don't think has worked. If he does go with the latter, I hope it is two wide forwards such as Robinson and Connolly instead of playing someone like Parrott who was clearly uncomfortable in that role.

Not a good start. He mis controlled a throw-in from his own half that got intercepted by an NEC player who were able to counter from and score putting NEC 3-1 up.

Was thinking alright that Knight might start in that role as he played well there against Hungary. Let him push up to make it a three at times, but since it's a must win game I wouldn't be surprised to see him go with the three attackers rather than an a midfielder pushing up to support the strikers.

Think McClean might get the nod ahead of Stevens. In Kenny's press conference he was talking about Stevens versitility and wouldn't be surprised if McClean keeps his place in the starting XI. Similar I think Omobamidele keeps his place after last month's games. Though would have been interesting to see whether it would have been him or Collins that would have came on against Portugal had Collins not picked up an injury in camp. He was good today but both teams were shite today.

Also not sure if it was posted but Michael Obafemi has another hamstring injury. Jim Crawford mentioned it in his press conference when asked about players that weren't selected.

Mentions that Smallbone was asked to come in and train but Southampton have a friendly lined up during the break for him to play in so was left at his club similar to Johansson.

No news on Mipo Odubeko and can't remember if he said they'll be talking to him again as he mentions his phones always on for a phone call. So sounds more like Odubeko has to approach us in future rather than the other way around. Someone mentions Liam Delap and think he says they'll possibly be talking with him again.

Elouzedi enjoying himself, just assisted to put AIK 1-0 up.

U19s squad named for training camp in Spain.

Goalkeepers:

Arlo Doherty (Leicester City)

Dan Rose (Schalke 04) 

Defenders:

James Abankwah (St. Patrick’s Athletic)

Tayo Adaramola (Crystal Palace)

Val Adedokun (Brentford)

Bosun Lawal (Celtic)

Anselmo Garcia MacNulty (Wolfsburg)

Jevon Mills (Hull City)

Josh Seary (Preston North End) 

Midfielders:

John Joe Patrick Finn Benoa (Getafe)

Kian Corbally (St. Patrick’s Athletic)

Evan Caffrey (UCD)

Oisin Gallagher (Lincoln City)

Ben McCormack (St. Patrick’s Athletic)

Ed McJannett (Luton Town)

Harry Vaughan (Oldham Athletic) 

Forwards:

Aidomo Emakhu (Shamrock Rovers)*

Cristiano Fitzgerald (Boavista)

Zak Gilsenan (Blackburn Rovers)

Cian Hayes (Fleetwood Town)

Johnny Kenny (Sligo Rovers)**

Jamie Mullins (Bohemians)

Luke Pearce (Southampton) 

*Will join up with the MU19s after game one. 

**Will join up with MU19 after game one, subject to Under-21s call-up. 

International Friendly Fixtures (all times are Irish time) 

Friday, October 8 | Sweden MU19 v Republic of Ireland MU19, TBC, KO 2.30pm 

Monday, October 11 | Republic of Ireland MU19 v Sweden MU19, TBC, 11am 

Finn attracting suitors in England, Man Utd and Leeds leading the race apparently.

I remember when watching him last season, I remarked that he would be far more suited to an English team than playing in Spain.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,509 ✭✭✭✭noodler

I won't lie, pretty annoyed to read Callum Robinson won't get vaccinated after all the trouble covid has caused Kenny's squads.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,036 ✭✭✭✭~Rebel~

Honestly, I’d be totally fine with a 100% vaccination policy for the international squad. Get vaccinated or you can’t be included. There’s just way too many people involved, too much travel, and too much risk for others to be indulging people.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 22,408 CMod ✭✭✭✭Pawwed Rig

I reckon he is leaving. He's apparently in the last year of his contract and there's no indication he's signing a new one. If he goes to an English club it would be on a free with no tribunal fee, so the risk is low for any English team. In terms of wages, I'd say a player on a youth team contract in a less prestigious Spanish club is earning something close to minimum wage, any Premier League team coming in for him will blow away what Getafe can possibly offer.

Frankly, I think England would just suit him as a player better as well. He looks like he has the strength and athleticism to play at the high level in England more so than the technical ability to play in Spain. Time will tell, but I wouldn't be surprised to see him on the move in January. If his contract is expiring, at least Getafe get something for him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,169 ✭✭✭✭pjohnson

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,776 ✭✭✭abff

I agree 100%. I’m also annoyed with Kenny for not having the guts to exclude Robinson from the squad until such time as he gets vaccinated.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 22,408 CMod ✭✭✭✭Pawwed Rig

If Kenny did that there would be a chorus of criticism. He cannot win in this scenario.

Other managers haven't done it and I don't hear a clamour to get them to. If Kenny told Robinson to stay home and then we got beaten by Azerbaijan then you can bet that people would be calling him stupid etc. A good cohort are just looking for any excuse to criticise him.

Whether Robinson is vaccinated or not does not really affect the team as a vaccinated person can spread the virus aswell. Given that he has had covid twice at this stage he is essentially vaccinated anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,279 ✭✭✭✭ben.schlomo

Are Premier League or Football league clubs excluding players that are unvaccinated from squads? No. Is there any uproar? No. Kenny is involved, ah yes let's get the pitchforks out. He really can't win.

Think some have said 40% of the squad aren't vaccinated which isn't a surprise. Only 7 teams in the EPL have 50% or more of their squad vaccinated. Newcastle is something like 35% so Hendrick could be another in the squad.

49% of the football league is vaccinated, up from 18% last month. U21s had to name two squads and could be without 7 players for the second game as non vaccinated players can't travel to Montenegro without having to quarantine when back in UK or Germany.

Might also be early in the season but Getafe have one point from a possible 28. Good chance they'll be playing in the second tier next season.

If Leeds are one of the teams interested then it could be a good move for him. Bielsa is a meticulous coach and look at the improvement for certain players at Leeds since he's come.

So you think Klopps comments on vaccination are part of the "pitchforks for Kenny" campaign.

Do you also think the Newcastle fans who called Darlow a variety of names are also against Kenny?

Talk about excluding players based on their vaccination status is crazy talk. There's probably another 5 or 6 lads in the squad who aren't vaccinated either, are we going to cull a third of the squad?

I'd look at it the other way around. Footballers are living in a fantasy land in comparison to the general public. They're being allowed to do whatever they want in an industry with loads of travel, and loads of contact with other people. This could be the sort of thing to push them to just go and bloody do it, the same as the general population have had to. And clubs/FA's are in a position where they can provide whatever medical resources - bringing in an epidemiologist etc - to firmly put whatever facebook-read fears they have to rest.

I wouldn't put any blame or responsibility on Kenny either, this isn't a manager thing it's an association thing, and something most clubs and FA's are handling poorly right now in just placating their players.

There's a clear agenda from the anti-Kenny people to use any and every thing they can to attack him and his work. If you can't see that then there's no helping you. There's plenty of valid things to criticize the manager for, this ain't one of them.

He probably is more protected having had it... it's still not a great reason to not take the freely available vaccine that will further protect him and others.

As for the "vaccinated people can spread it too" thing, that's like saying "sober people crash cars too". Yes, vaccinated people are capable of spreading it - but they are a) less likely to spread it, and b) shed the virus for a smaller time than unvaccinated people. The vaccine lowers your chances of getting it, lowers your chances of having a bad case, and lowers the chances of you giving it to someone else.

In a high contact industry, it should be mandatory. And as I said above, none of this has anything to do with a manager of club or country, it's not up to a manager to dictate or enforce medical policy, it should be a policy put in place higher up.

Perfectly reasonable take on it. But you know that won't work for those who want to bash the manager with this faux outrage. Be interesting to see the vaccine status of some of those calling him out on it.

Are these outrages elsewhere or something? Looking back through the discussion here, only one person expressed anything negative about Kenny in relation to this. So I'm not sure why there are so many more comments bringing the manager into it to defend the non-vaccination position. We either should have a policy of vaccination, or we shouldn't. The manager is irrelevant.

I think if the FAI were to simply say this was the position, it could have a big impact on getting those holdouts vaccinated - sure just look at Liverpool, in a league where less than 40% of the players are vaccinated, all of Liverpool's are, because the manager actively said "I think this is a good idea". As Klopp said, he didn't make it policy, but he also didn't have to, his players just did it once it became clear it was important in his eyes. Which to me says a lot of these players in the Prem and International sides are holding out without all that much conviction - they're jus being given a choice of 'do something' and 'do nothing', and are doing nothing, because they don't have to. Add in one or two strong dressing room figures bringing up a few nonsense anti-vaxx fears, and you'll have others just go along with it.

A little bit of strong and informed leadership by the organisations could go an awfully long way here I think.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,673 ✭✭✭AllGunsBlazing

I'd be more interested to see the vaccine status of the EPL clubs they support. And the reaction if a star player or two hasn't been jabbed.

Who the fcuk has beeen "bashing the manager". Not every single thing is part of an anti-Kenny plot.

It doesn't make any sense.

Kenny himself is vaccinated anyway.

Of course every thing isn't an agenda against the manager. I never suggested it was, go back and read where I said there's plenty for people to take issue with outside of this. There's plenty of clowns out there making an issue of it for the manager. Thats 'who the fcuk'! A scroll through sports pages on social media would see many of those comments. And as said by someone else already, someone here was also making an issue of it.

Hopefully when the press conference was over someone gave him a clatter for being a **** idiot and bringing it up in public for not being vaccinated and bringing unwanted attention to the squad before the games. Also surely whoever picks these lads to do press conferences should have known they'll ask him about being out with Covid and could have told him answer with this PR stock answer or just not sent him to do it at all.

Theres some assumption in there that footballers are intelligent though, they largely appear not to be. And we all know the FAI are expert in all things stupid.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,355 ✭✭✭Jim Gazebo

All this talk of not paying players if they don't get the vaccine. Complete **** imo. If work told me I wasn't getting paid because I wasn't jabbed I wouldn't be happy and I don't think others would either. I think it's everyone's choice. Ironically I got it because of a change in work arrangements and the fact I have to travel a lot now. Simply because it makes my life easier at airports really...

Players should absolutely get it but you cannot force people to take anything like this. I am shocked at how many don't have it though.

"All this talk of not paying players if they don't get the vaccine"

I haven't seen that suggested here by anyone at all to be honest. And obviously not selecting someone for international duty, or having an international squad policy of only calling up players who are vaccinated while the pandemic is ongoing, would not have anything to do with not paying players...

• Registered Users Posts: 2,355 ✭✭✭Jim Gazebo

My apologies. I read a lot on Twitter and another forum where it was suggested clubs should stop paying and playing players until they get the jab.

Ah gotcha, yeah, it's a nonsense position alright. it would be completely legally unenforceable. The most you could do in the club game is to just not select people who are unvaccinated.

I really do think just a bit of education - proper education I mean, bringing in specialists for the players to talk to and ask questions of so they can be left in no doubt that whatever conspiracy theories they've read are bunk - would go such a long way. The fact there's such a massive discrepancy in uptake between clubs would hint towards this too. I don't believe the lads at these high-uptake clubs are somehow more intelligent or open minded than the others, I'd imagine they've just been better informed as a collective by their clubs.

I just listened to the Robinson interview earlier, and he sounds properly dumb talking about it. Like, he had absolutely no comeback when asked 'why', and just sort of floundered around babbling with no conviction behind his reasoning or decision making. I can't believe that someone sitting down with him and properly drilling into his reasons wouldn't turn him around pretty quickly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,385 ✭✭✭franglan

Yeah he went straight to the "my body : my choice" and "choices innit" card akin to all other societal members who have done their own research. Not that I'm agreeable to it but the "here I've had it twice my immunity should be rock solid" response would have been easier stomached.

Isn't "brain fog" a potential long-term outcome from Covid?

Could have exacerbated an existing permanent condition in that regard in the case of Robinson.

Top lad is Chiedozie and couldn't meet nicer than him. When at Limerick he had time for everyone that wanted a photo, autograph, or just a quick chat after the games. Always had a smile on his face and gave 110% in everything he did.

Hopefully it works out for him, but being 24 he really needs to kick on in the next couple of years if he wants to be more than a possible squad player. His pace is definitely something we can do with in the team. Don't think we've anyone else that comes close to him for pace in the squad, though I'm sure Barry Cotter did beat him in a foot while at Limerick.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,945 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

Even though our world cup hopes are gone we need a minimum of 6pts in our last 3 games to take some pressure off SK

Can't see us beating Portugal here (tickets still not out yet for that one)

Scales in for the injured Manning.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,914 ✭✭✭✭gormdubhgorm

How does that explain the way he played long before COVID was a thing? 😀

I watched his interview about COVID. The journalist was actually very gentle and nice with his questions to Robinson. The journalist basically let Robinson dig his own hole and let him keep digging,

I got to be honest Robinson just sounded like a bit of a thick. No cop on. It would explain the way he plays as well all pace, no ‘football brain’. Basically a young version of McClean.

Guff about stuff, and stuff about guff.