Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

UCC - Would you believe it?

• 07-10-2021 12:10pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,265 ✭✭✭

I don't know, but I remember when I went to UCC as a student you would never and I mean never, give up good drinking money for food, especially when the food could be got for free!

Have things changed that much with students?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,647 ✭✭✭✭the beer revolu

Exactly my thoughts when I saw the notice.

I don't believe it's a reflection on how poor students are but rather a sign that young people love free stuff!

More money for fun stuff!

Edit : I'm not saying that there aren't any students seriously struggling - there always have been seriously poor students and, no doubt, there always will be. I just don't believe that this food bank and its popularity are reliable indicators of said poverty.

Post edited by the beer revolu on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,738 ✭✭✭lawrencesummers

If there is one thing that puts the fear of God into this government its the student population of this country having an organised protest, and something like this could be the catalyst for a big student protest that will gather massive momentum on housing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,265 ✭✭✭Mav11

I would agree that students love free stuff. Some things never change 😁. Its getting some headlines all the same.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,034 ✭✭✭Sonics2k

Jesus lads would you cop on to yourselves with this. Student rents are insanely high, I've seen places going for €900 per month for a room. That's more than many would pay in a mortgage.

When I was college going age it cost me €260 or so a month for a room (2004) here in Cork. Granted it was a dive but still. The sheer amount these kids are paying out is absolutely bonkers like.

So you don’t think that it’s being over hyped a bit?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,357 ✭✭✭Heckler

Utter scabs. Taking food from where its deserved so they can go to on the piss. Have a gander around the general UCC area on a thursday night and tell me these students are short of money for gatt. Queues outside Cissie Youngs, Anne Macs, Galvins offie.

And always buying the cheapest shite they can just to get pissed. Lived on Barrack Street and UCC students were a bunch of **** pricks. Pissing on my door, knocking over bins, smashing wing mirrors.

**** away from mammy and daddy for the first time and **** everybody else.

Oh and if Prick gets a conviction he won't get his visa to the the US so the Gardai leave it for them to be a prick abroad too.

UCC need to clamp down HARD and make an example of a few to get across that this is unacceptable.

Bars, cafes etc crying out for staff. Half of these freeloaders would be laughing at the notion. 18 months of students who maybe made 100-150 at best of a week in a part time job suddenly being paid 350euro for sitting on their hole. **** disgrace. and yes I worked all the way through Covid.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,957 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

They didn't have trouble paying the rents for their house party venues.

Ah now, don't deny them their university 'experience'.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,744 ✭✭✭SleetAndSnow

You do realise there are 20k+ students in UCC alone right? And another 10k or so in MTU in Bishopstown. Are you saying every single one of those 30k students in UCC/MTU go on the piss daily and spend all their money on food and drink? Every one of them broke wing mirrors, pissed on your door and cause hassle for the Gardai? Way to tar everyone with one brush. Not everybody gets pissed on slabs or vodka daily. Within this 30k population there will be at least 100 people who struggle to get food, and there is definitely more then 100

You do realise there is multiple groups within UCC alone that have weekly clean up events where they go around to all the local areas and clean up all the cans etc which have been left over by those students you mention.

As for the 350 a week, students were taken off the PUP at the start of the academic year and most students wouldn't have been getting the 350 a week anyway. Many of the students I know have moved to call centres etc where hours are more guaranteed.

A bit of cop on please

Source: A student in UCC.

I suppose for the 100 or so affected, finding a job is out of the question?

They might have a job? They could have other commitments that you don't know of, repayments you don't know of, they could have a disability which stops them from being able to get a traditional 'student' job, same as any person.

.People have different circumstances and are in University to try and better themselves in order to get an even better job.

We also do not know the age of these students, assuming they are young and on the piss is unfair. UCC has thousands of mature students attending lectures daily as well, could just as easily be them seeking support.

Post edited by SleetAndSnow on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,191 ✭✭✭screamer

A good lesson in the university of life, nothings free, if you want it, earn it.

Cynical me believes this is just another publicity stunt by a jumped up students union

Not saying that some very small number could not be, for various reasons genuinely affected. What I am saying is that the food bank shenanigan's seems to be nothing more than an over hyped, publicity stunt.

exactly what it is. Offer a UCC first year a can of beer or a can of beans and guess what they'll take.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,996 ✭✭✭✭fits

On a different campus (Dublin) I have noticed people are sleeping in their cars.

Jesus I could never afford a car until well after I finished college and was working a while.

I remember the toilet rolls being padlocked to the wall of the toilet cubicles in one college. I dunno if they do it in them all :-)

Was that the hard paper, Oifig an tSoláthair version? Great for tracing out things in school😁

If only they stopped spending all their money on drink!!! etc etc...

🙄 *pacman emote* <-- miss this one

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,727 ✭✭✭✭ACitizenErased

The state of the comments on here. Shame on ye. There is a LOT of students struggling.

Are you seriously saying students are choosing to sleep in their cars just so they can have drink? Or am I misunderstanding, apologies if I am but if I am not then that is a disgraceful comment imo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,727 ✭✭✭✭ACitizenErased

I've a friend who's currently going to UL living in his car. Can't afford accommodation. Comes home on the weekends to work in a bar in town. Same situation exists in Cork.

No, just responding to your original vacuous comment........

If only they stopped spending all their money on drink!!! etc etc...

with an equally vacuous response😁

I would have assumed that from reading my other replies on the thread and with the emojis I used, that you would have understood it to be sarcasm 🙃

And I couldn't have expected the same from you? Or does a sense of humour only run one way?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,996 ✭✭✭✭fits

• Moderators, Regional Abroad Moderators Posts: 2,403 Mod ✭✭✭✭Nigel Fairservice

There's probably an element of students and free stuff to this story and that probably hides the student union's point a bit. I was in UCC in the mid 2000s and you could rent a room for about €300 a month at the time. I saw in the comment sections of various news outlets covering the story from parents of UCC students saying they were paying €800 plus for a room. Rent today accounts for a much higher proportion of income than it used to for everyone, students included. It would have been much easier in the mid 2000s to rent a room on a student's part time wage than today.

They used rob them when they weren't locked away, it wasn't as if students couldn't afford them. If only they had a system where those deserving of it got the food and not just a big free for all.

Maybe the students living it up could help out their less well off comrades?

Or maybe the local residents would help out? (when they are not in the courts trying to get an injunction)

There has always been a disparity between what students could afford. I went to UCC in the late 80’s/early 90’s and had friends who lived in absolute dives on College road while others lived in the new Brookfield/Castlewhite apartments. When I moved out to train in CUH, some friends the only meal they got was the subsidised food in the Hospital canteen. So students who don’t have enough money is not new, it shouldn’t happen, but it isn’t new.

I heard the UCC SU president being interviewed about this on Newstalk, unfortunately she did herself no favours and was factually incorrect about a number of issues. Notably, she said students in UCC/Ireland pay more than any third level students in Europe, they don’t.

I also went to UCC in the 80's and remember Prof Connell Fanning during one of his lectures referring to the "penniless student living in the garret". Apparently this is not acceptable now!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,647 ✭✭✭✭the beer revolu

I'm afraid that my old fashioned brain struggles with the concept of impoverished students owning cars.

System error.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,732 ✭✭✭notAMember

I feel for anyone in poverty. Full time study is hard enough without also trying to juggle food and accommodation. But I'm also incredulous at a car in college? I didn't even KNOW anyone with a car, let alone have one. We used buses, old bike. Cars are an absolute fortune. Insurance, tax, tyres, maintenance, fuel, parking. Buying and running a car for a year could easily be 6k.

Are digs not a thing anymore? This was where you were living with a family, 5 days a week and went home at the weekend. Dinner and breakfast was usually included. Tended to be cash in hand...

I reckon there's a fair amount of students taking advantage of the situation who aren't in need of it.

A lot less digs around this year due to COVID.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 724 ✭✭✭lostinsuperfunk

Some students are commuting long distances because they can't find, or can't afford, accommodation in the city. They can come to Cork for necessary face-to-face classes and do the online classes from home.

Rent was cheap back in the day, and you didn't need a car if you were living in the city.

But nowadays running a car at €6k a year could work out cheaper than paying up to €9k for accommodation, assuming you can even find accommodation.

[quote]students in UCC/Ireland pay more than any third level students in Europe, they don’t[/quote]

As far as I know, our fees are the highest in the EU, which might be what she meant to say. Fees are higher in England however.

She said “Europe” and excluding our nearest neighbour would be odd even if she meant EU, the fees were higher in England even before Brexit when they were part of EU.

When I was there, classmates travelled from Mallow, Kanturk and Clonakilty daily that I can think of, commutes are not a new phenomenon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,931 ✭✭✭corks finest

Well said , think majority of UCC students aren’t pissing it nightly, my own kid works in Dunnes aswell as being a student and between work , study and football him and his mates get out maximum once a forthright and none of them are in rental accommodation, I’d hate for him to be struggling like some from outside the city who are stuck in the hyped up rental market and are juggling bills with living

That’s a great point ref not a free fir all giveaway

For