Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

I want more free money

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,086 ✭✭✭✭listermint

Jesus some people have an absolute horn for misery. They see it . Take it on get all excited and then come straight to boards to spunk it all over the place.

Does it feel good getting all this off your chest ?

Would absolutely love. And I do mean absolutely love to see you look after a loved one 24/7 I'd pay good money to see the turn around of your joy after 12 months.

But sure youd probably leg it to the other side of the world to escape it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,015 ✭✭✭✭Dempo1

• Registered Users Posts: 1,760 ✭✭✭dudley72

The cost is listed in the article and it’s 7k per week.

I don’t begrudge her anything but I do think it’s bad journalism not to give the full picture as it just gives people ammunition against her.

in reality during covid this woman never got an extra penny while people are still sitting at home on more money than she is getting by choice. We have a crazy system when she suffers because other people play the system

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,234 ✭✭✭Be right back

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,131 ✭✭✭✭end of the road

ultimately irrelevant given nobody said it was.

ticking a box on a form does not make you of a religion.

I don’t think that anyone is begrudging her, nor envying her situation. However, when one agrees to have their story told in a National newspaper, it is important for the facts to be accurate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,827 ✭✭✭✭Wanderer78

...and yet again, we simply wont create the money, to try solve these issues, all because of bullsh1t economic beliefs and ideologies!

• Registered Users Posts: 3,427 ✭✭✭ZX7R

Ireland does not in anyway have a world class support for people with special needs or for there families.

Payments in Ireland are good by eu standards but that doesn't mean much living in Ireland.

Speaking from experience you have to fight tooth and nail for everything for your child from diagnosis to simple treatment.

Special needs school are so underfunded unless a government members child or relative is inrolled.

Best of luck getting therapys in public health best you can expect is half an hour corse and wing and a prayer.

As for private therapy the costs are astronomical.

I left Ireland a year and a half ago,my family and i purely to give my son the best we could .

He has been reassessed and diagnosed with 3 new disorders including his original in Ireland.

He receives daily speech,phiso, psychological too name a few.

And weekly neurological specialist. and developmental team work.

Mentally in the space of a year he as gone from 6 month old to a 4 year old he is 9 years old, I was told in Ireland be prepared to institutionalize him in the near future.

Give the woman a break sometimes a €100 could be the difference if they can get a takeaway, getting her hair done ect.

No doubt she spends every penny on her disabled child.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,636 ✭✭✭✭fits

Where are you now?

my child hasn’t seen a hse therapist in person since the pandemic started.

(Besides one session with physio to fit orthotics.).

I genuinely cant fathom how lone parents with children with special needs cope with poverty added in as well.

it is very very difficult to never get a break.

We moved to Poland would you believe.

Special needs schools and associated medical or therapys never ceased during the pandemic.

Deemed as essential.

Funny in a way during lockdown here seeing him go to school and his twin sister sitting at home doing zoom school.

Mine are twins too 😀. One typical and one himself. We have a great special preschool but only for that it would be very little.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

Beg borrow and steal and pay privately

do not wait for the HSE for anything

every day makes a difference

• Registered Users Posts: 102 ✭✭Cdemess

The

Post edited by Cdemess on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,227 ✭✭✭✭Potential-Monke

It's not going to be a popular comment, but it's one I thoroughly believe and live by. She made her bed, now lay in it. Yes, it's harsh, but I don't have empathy so I can see past the teary story. She didn't let all her income be known, not a hope she is only getting €290 a week end of. Lots of people don't get to treat themselves or their kids. Lots of people don't get to go on holidays. We're supposed to feel sorry for her because of her situation. Yeah, it's not easy, and certainly not one I would be able to handle. But when you decide (and by decide, I also mean not being careful) to have kids, having a child with disabilities is a possibility, and something that should be considered before having them and ensuring that you can afford to look after someone with disabilities. We already give a chunk of money, for free, to people just for having kids, and extra for those with disabilities. I also don't agree in calling her a carer, unless she has a qualification, otherwise she's just a parent imo.

Don't get me wrong, more can be done, but like Mica, like claims for falling over in public, why are the government responsible? Yes, I am heartless; build a bridge.

Too many probabilities in your view, how do you know she didn't plan all that you said before having the child.

People's circumstances change all the time.

Circumstances will change in your life at some point.

Hopefully somebody will help you weather that be a personal friend or government Aid, if you ever have to cross that bridge.

We do go privately but it’s not enough really. The multidisciplinary teams promised by hse are what we really need but can’t get that privately.

As for the she made her bed comment. I hope life goes smoothly for you mate but life has a habit of throwing curveballs even with the best laid plans.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

I presume the person is very young who made that comment

when you get older you realise you never give two fingers to the gods

I think this comment is a bit harsh. We are all victims of circumstances. While I queried the amount of welfare she receives, there’s no avoiding the harshness of her situation. The saying “Your health is your wealth “ comes to mind.

Told ye it wouldn't be popular. Yeah, life throws curveballs, but we all have to deal with them ourselves. There are people in worse off situations keeping quiet. My own sister is a single mother to an autistic teenager. I would have left the country years ago if I had to deal with what she does. But because of that (and lots of other life stuff), I'm avoiding it by just not having kids. Also, I'm 37 and my views are shaped by my life experiences. There was a time I had empathy, but it's long gone.

I have kept close to my family, haven't fallen out with any of them (even though there were times I could), and I keep in well with them, because I do know that I may need help some day, and if I'm not having kids, I may need the rest of my family to help, but I also pay for private health insurance, private dental, private everything to ensure I'm covered. Yes, I may be unlucky and lose my job, one which I'm not fond of but it pays the bills, but I also have a job in an area which will only grow, something I deliberately went towards to ensure there's a future there at least.

Yes, it's harsh, but life is not easy. Take away the feelings, deal with the fact, that's what I do, and what everyone should do. No decisions should be made based on emotion imo, but people can't help themselves. Look at Cash and the others like her, milking the system because of peoples bleeding hearts. Not saying this lady is anything like Cash, but still, I can't help but feel that running to the media is an attempt to get peoples feelings on her side in order to benefit herself.

Sounds like she has no friends or family to help out. Or maybe she's like my sister, and thinks she can't ask anyone for help and will do it all herself, even though help is all around her. And no mention of the father. I can't take these stories seriously if they're not addressing all the facts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 352 ✭✭Snugbugrug28

Ah no. You're saying people who have disabled kids should have planned for it. That's not an unpopular statement, it's a stupid statement. Top dumb.

It’s like the old saying. Never point your finger at anyone. If you turn your hand over, there are 3 fingers pointing back at you. God Bless. Goodnight.

It's dumb to expect people to plan for the worst? I know prior to when I decided I didn't want them, if the conversation came up, the child having a disability is one of the first things I thought of, and if I would be able to handle or financially support that. I don't think it's dumb to include that in planning? Should we not plan for anything in general?

Pop it out and hope for the best is probably the worst way to have a child. Unfortunately, it seems to be a regular occurrence.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 352 ✭✭Snugbugrug28

Pretty much yeah. Deciding you don't want to have children because they might just randomly come out disabled is weird

Each to their own and all that. That was only part of the reason, there are many more, and altogether they made me decide to not have kids. I'm not the only one either, my cousin was mentioning it to me while she was pregnant, that it's something they both considered before trying. I genuinely think it would be mad to not even consider if it's something you could at the very least financially support. I don't think it's weird to consider all possibilities when making a literal life changing decision.

Just like a lot of other things, can't afford it? Don't get it. Or do get it, but deal with the consequences afterwards.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,412 ✭✭✭Jequ0n

Really? Because there is a considerable amount of posters here arguing that she deserves more money than she is given because she should also be able to enjoy herself. And praised for looking after her children, when I thought this was expected when one decides to have one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,068 ✭✭✭Murph85

What is the father contributing ? Typical you lot think the tax payer should stump it all up, rather than the parents who brought the kid into the world...

Plenty of hard working people funding this and they cant afford what you lit think she should have handed to her...

Yes, you are expected to look after any children you might have (unless you want to put them up for adoption, but domestic adoption is basically non-existent in Ireland.)

But, the thing about children is that even though they start life utterly dependent on a caregiver, they do grow up, and become more and more independent. And they do it surprisingly quickly. And they may even one day end looking after you.

A severely disabled child, on the other hand, still grows up, but remains utterly dependent so long as they live. They will actually become harder to care for as they get larger and heavier. That’s quite a burden to take on, and yet we see that people get on with it, knowing it will occupy the rest of their lives. But they can’t do it without help.

If the only way you can get your head around this is to take an instrumental view and ask how the taxpayer benefits, consider that projected the cost of this child entering the State’s care is €6k a week. It’s in the State’s interest that she remains willing and, more importantly, able to continue as full time caregiver to this girl so long as humanly possible. We don’t want her to burn out from physical and mental exhaustion. Given that, chucking an extra hundred quid a week her way so she can they can enjoy a holiday or whatever is small beans.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,131 ✭✭✭✭end of the road

what those posters are saying is very, very different to what you stated and the point you are making.

i would imagine looking after a severely disabled child is very difficult and all else, so a little break now and then is not a big deal, not to mention carers save the state an absolute fortune.

ticking a box on a form does not make you of a religion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,762 ✭✭✭Knine

As a Carer myself, maybe then she could put the child into residential care so she can go out & work & have some basic enjoyment in her life

She is saving the state a huge amount of money.

Some of the posters here need a reality check about the huge responsibility that comes with raising a child with a complex disability. It is 24/7 & you have to give up your whole life.

Respite for example during the lockdown's was non existent.

The saying don't judge until you walk in someone else's shoes is spot on here. Anybody could suddenly become a full time Carer. Absolutely nobody chooses this path. We do it out of love for those we care for.