Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

General Star Trek thread

• Registered Users Posts: 6,786 ✭✭✭Evade

The question was knowing about Omega is grounds to be promoted to captain wasn't it?

• Registered Users Posts: 10,501 ✭✭✭✭Slydice

I was working on the: what would happen with the info about this new omega particle and the circumstances around it.

New quotes system ain't great for selecting down to stuff like that nowadays.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 36,469 CMod ✭✭✭✭pixelburp

Fair enough; that was just "top of the head" thinking. I'd have thought a 90 year old has a host of physical delicacies that would make a launch problematic. But hey, I'm sure they'll work something out; and like I said, also sure Shatner's contract will cover these things too.

• Registered Users Posts: 32,136 ✭✭✭✭is_that_so

Indeed, good for him but a lot of mixed feelings about this space travel Bezos is promoting. Huge amount of ego invested in it! At least Musk's doing something useful.

After a bit of googling it looks like you get about 3g on the way up and 5.5g on the way down which are very survivable unless you're going feet first, redouts are much more lethal than blackouts. For comparison rollercoasters can exert that kind of force.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,501 ✭✭✭✭Slydice

New York Comic Con Trailer for Discovery Season 4:

More black clad ninjas.

• Registered Users Posts: 16,048 ✭✭✭✭AMKC
    Ms

I am not even bothered about that Discovery trailer. I will just watch Discovery when it comes out for a few episodes to see how bad it is to remember how bad it is and give up on it.

Live long and Prosper

Peace and long life.

OK without watching tell me how close to the mark I am...

Another emotion packed end of the universe event which only a rebellious Michael can resolve?

Ahh so small stakes this time round?

Thank feck for emotions and rule breaking (for no reason), oh and Michael obviously

The trailer makes it sound like she's saving the galaxy against orders.

I hope the last episode of Discovery has a skips to the further future where families across the universe gather on a particular day of the year to celebrate Michaelmas.

So more of the same. First Trek series I've even given up on. Made it as far as the Guardian episode and had to pack it in.

Seems like I've made a good call

• Registered Users Posts: 25,979 ✭✭✭✭breezy1985

End of the universe. Yep

2 maybe 3 mentions of "well do it togetherrrr"

Federation President telling Burnham she is the boss

Lazers, martial arts, lensflares, stupid ghost friend and over acted emotions

Also they are fking with the Ferengi look now

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 36,469 CMod ✭✭✭✭pixelburp

Star Trek Discovery can, to be blunt, get fúcked. It had my time and my patience but when I sincerely believe I could write better character arcs than that shíte, something's amiss.

What's remarkable is that in a few blogs I read there are many, enthusiastic boosters and fans of the show. Not in an ironic sense, or some alliance towards its values - but an honest opinion it's a Good Show© I presume these people American, and having never seen any other TV.

It's got a fairly wide split on Trek forums. 25% fanatically love it 10 out of 10 every episode and 25% are the toxic hate anything new or anything "woke" or anything involving women or black people. I don't trust the reviews of either crowd. But 25% also liked or disliked it for normal reasons.

The 25% who liked it for normal reasons preally seem to be tiring of the world ending roundabout and some people like me who didn't like it but we're not very vocal because we didn't like the pile on from the incel lads have finally crack and said "Fk it this is a useless show"

Some people just have no taste, if you take a look at the Star Trek Reddit some people, who have seen multiple Star Trek series, will claim STD is their favourite. The other possibility is some of those people are just doing their clapping seal routine because "diversity and representation" despite the quality.

I think a lot of those people are massively over playing how good it is in response to the other side. Early on some of the talk was pretty disgusting.Sadly people seemed unable to discuss the show on its actual merits or lack of

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 22,677 CMod ✭✭✭✭Sad Professor

Fourth season? I think you guys are mistaken. Star Trek Discovery is finished. Third season was its last and it wrapped everything up. Yup, all done. Whatever this "fourth season" is I certainly I don't need to watch it. No sirree!

Wait.

Just confirm something. Has Lower Decks been renewed for a third season? All this talk of Discovery and if that piece of shíte persists while LD dies, I may start a one man riot.

Thank the Prophets.

There is some sanity in this world.

I watched 2.75 seasons, I was firmly a defender of season 1 and even 2 as finding it's feet. Season 3 just doubled down on the flaws of previous.

Constant end of civilisation threats, always ONLY Michael who can save the day (no matter the specialist information required), always Michael breaking chain of command for no bloody reason.

Constant feels, oh Christ the feels. That entire crew needs a counsellor to help them to get a grip and be actual functional adults.

It's just Pew Pew Space Voyage. There is nothing Trek based other than name. It's not as clever as TNG, as character driven as DS9, for it's flaws Voy had better atories and writing, and Enterprise was really becoming something really good before cancelled in error (I'll never forgive them miscalculating the ratings).

All those shows had strenghts and weaknesses but they had a shared universe logic and core element which DSC and PIC **** on, at every opportunity

Im with you up until Enterprise. That was a poor show and should have been a warning to stay away from prequels but instead JJ an Disco but jump straight in

• Registered Users Posts: 12,432 ✭✭✭✭TheValeyard

I'm genuinely unsure if I will watch Season 4 of Discovery. I've tried to like it. I enjoyed season one and the mirror arc. I liked S2 with Captain Pike and couple of single arc episodes, but S3.... Ah here. I gave it a fair few chances. I'm just sick of end of world/galaxy/universe themes.

All Eyes On Rafah

I just find it crazy that 3 seasons in, the show still, broadly, can't figure out what it wants to be. From prequel to far-future; never managing to figure if it was an ensemble piece or Lead Character show (I still think the latter is a contractual arm-twist). Picard had its faults too - but at least it had a premise, and something resembling a story it wanted to tell (we can debate the merits therein).

Christ even its tone has been a see-saw; remember back in Season 1 we got some really grisly blood & guts - thinking especially of the visit to Discovery's sister ship when the spore drive went blip, and all that body horror. Now the violence has been broadly throttled back. I even wanna say personalities have changed slightly since Season 1, but I'd have to check. Until the show knows for sure what it wants to be and just goes for it, it'll always struggle. PIck a lane Discovery.

"Some people just have no taste"; this is always an option that'll never go out of style. It's rare my Creative Writing brain has screamed internally as much as it doe when watching Discovery.

• Registered Users Posts: 20,987 ✭✭✭✭Stark

I quite enjoyed Season 1. Okay it offended the canon gods, which I didn't really care about. I actually think you can do less damage in a prequel than a sequel as TOS/TNG/DS9/VOY(wow that does save a lot of typing)/ENT will always be there and Discovery can't take those away whereas a sequel somewhat binds future writers to respect the sequel's canon. And there was lots of criticism about it being too dark/the characters being too morally ambiguous. But I found the likes of Captain Lorca and the darker tone really enjoyable and I wish they just stuck to their guns on that. The end of result of over-reacting to every little bit of criticism reminded me of Itchy and Scratchy after Marge Simpson's interference in the show: "More lemonade, First Officer Tilly? Please!".

Overlooked the many flaws of Season 2 somewhat as Anson Mount was playing a blinder as Captain Pike. Season 3 however had absolutely no redeeming qualities, just pure garbage. And sadly it seems Season 4 is doubling down with it.

The funny thing is, outside the fan circle, Discovery is insanely popular. Any time it comes up in conversations with friends, they rave about it and talk about recent episodes like they're the best thing ever. I guess unfortunately for the rest of us Trekkies, they may have found the winning formula to give Trek "mass appeal".

Oh man; Captain Lorca was a fantastic character until the gutless wonders decided he was a pantomime villain from the Mirror Universe. Prior to that? He was complex, damaged but seemingly not irredeemable either, as he still seemed to have an explorer's spirit. Never once did the sadistic qualities of the MU's Terrans come through. Of course, we know there was a huge upheaval in the production team during that season's run ... so perhaps the original intent never was to have him become the cackling villain - but quick, the Mirror Universe is dark and cool and nobody knew how to write a utopia. Dark you say? Let's have the universe literally darker than ours.

Strange New Worlds is going to have such a microscope put under it. Lower Decks has definitely become a bit of a bolt hole for those fans feeling a bit spurned - but at this stage this new show with Pike could go either way. The noises coming out feel right, the little pieces of chatter from its cast sounding enthused about something a little more ... outward looking I suppose. While you'd hope that they take the correct lessons from the fans positive response to Pike himself.

• Registered Users Posts: 16,048 ✭✭✭✭AMKC
    Ms

If it ever comes to that I will happily join you.

Live long and Prosper

Peace and long life.