Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Things dat Trivyully Annoy You (part whatever) *MOD WARNING IN OP* NEW

• Registered Users Posts: 8,184 ✭✭✭riclad

Words are going out of use, no one releases an album anymore,

It's all singer x dropped her album today,

There are no more fans,

You are an Adele Beyoncé Stan etc

No one is criticised anymore,

They are dragged, why does every journalist want to sound like an American teenager?

It's like some UK djs used to put on American style accents to sound cool.

Podcasters on gaming tech podcasts talking about their kids, shut up, no one cares , kids are very boring, I listen to hear about games or tech , if I want to hear incredibly boring facts about kids I'd download a parenting podcast

No one cares about your kid going to school or learning to read unless they are related to you

Unless you are a comedic genius talking about your child is very boring to most listeners

People have children every day its not a big deal

• Registered Users Posts: 25,310 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

Even with the music press, you see heaps of albums on major labels that are dogshît but get semi favorable reviews...I used to buy Q, Uncut, Mojo most months and the reviews a particular point of interest... but I remember semi liking the killers who released an album Sams Town that was about 5/10 best ... and the reviewer creaming themselves, 8 or 9 out of 10.... most killers fans were indifferent to it.

Listening to RTE Radio1 and talk of the fuel allowance... One chap is on the prepay power

TA = Prepay Power - it's like one of them extortionate payday loans (except you have to pay in advance 😒).. Was on it for about a week once, as it seems to be the default setting when moving into apartments... At a rough calculation I reckon it costs about 2 1/2 times more than bill-pay from one of the regular providers... Hang your head in shame P O' C...... I doubt that chap ever availed of any services from them energia thieves 😣

• Registered Users Posts: 11,300 ✭✭✭✭castletownman

I am shocked.

Walking back to my car just after 3PM earlier and I encountered one of the resident addict women squatting down and relieving herself in front of someone's house. Meanwhile, what I assume is her boyfriend, complete with a flagon of cider in hand, was giving dog's abuse to two staff members of a hardware store that happened to be loading a truck in their vicinity. The same lad proceeded to fling empties at the truck when they pulled off, while she had whipped off her top and started going hysterical.

But do you think the gardai will intervene? Pffft. Not a hope.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 22,374 CMod ✭✭✭✭Pawwed Rig

Fully agree with castetownman's post above.

TA - If I give my full opinion on what I want to say I'll be looking at a threadban/warning etc, and I've just recently got 1 for less.

Just a partial opinion so (based on personal experience, and nothing to do with any evacuations either 😊)....... If an ornery Joe Soap (not a scummer, or 'well got' etc) was up (that is to say he would have to be arrested first, unlike the gentlepeople mentioned in referenced post) before the judge, and for a lot less, it would surely be 250 notes, plus expenses, he'd be down.. But, if he did what the poor unfortunate had done, it would surely be a monkey (that's 500 euro to those who don't know 😁) he'd be coughing up; and having to listen to his/her beakship telling the 'defendant' how they're "lucky you're not going to jail" 😬😠😠

Also, on the same topic; when it comes up in various threads on this site, TA that those 'tireless defenders of the downtrodden' would no doubt mention something along the lines of "sure they wouldn't be able to pay the fine anyway" / "What do you expect the Guards to do - they'd only be out the next day" 😠 Either it's a crime, or it ruddy well aint ffs... 😬

in case anyone's looking, I didn't "give my full opinion" , as no other "Nationalities" etc.. were mentioned 😊 Feels good to 'get that out' , a relief you might say, as "Jacinta" would no doubt attest to (if she even remembered).. It's a great Country if you're rich, or a degenerate scummer.....

• Registered Users Posts: 11,300 ✭✭✭✭castletownman

• Registered Users Posts: 16,191 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

Halloween decorations. Our ongoing love affair with Chinese made throwaway plastic shyte, aping everything Americans do.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,735 ✭✭✭✭EmmetSpiceland

It’s a great way of keeping kids entertained. I’ve always been a big fan of Halloween so I’m hoping it starts to get the full Christmas “treatment” with house lights and decorations going up at the start of the month.

“It is not blood that makes you Irish but a willingness to be part of the Irish nation” - Thomas Davis

• Registered Users Posts: 6,262 ✭✭✭Archeron

Furniture ads telling us that the kitchen is the heart of the home, where people sit around in gaggles of blissful joy being perfect. In my house the kitchen is a room where stuff gets cooked and if there are more than two people in it, it gets very difficult to move around.

Then again my kitchen isn't the size of a community centre like those in the ads, and I also don't have a really shiny bathroom big enough to host Olympic skating in.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,662 ✭✭✭✭Dial Hard

I'm in an absolute fouler with everything and everyone at the moment. Told my housemate I'd be keeping myself to myself for a few days as a result and she literally has not stopped talking to me since. She interrupted my work day four times to ask me stuff and has ambushed me on the landing twice in the past hour.

JUST LEAVE ME THE FCUK ALONE 🤬🤬🤬

• Registered Users Posts: 13,662 ✭✭✭✭Dial Hard

Also, the way this abortion of a site automatically bookmarks a thread for you every time you post.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,556 ✭✭✭✭AckwelFoley

• Registered Users Posts: 8,828 ✭✭✭PsychoPete

The kitchen is the heart of the home when it comes to my mothers house, it's the room where everyone is drawn too. Could just be that the Stanley cooker is on,kettle is boiled and scones or tart on the table

Neighbor a couple of doors up is operating a English language school from his home... no planning permission sought for the change of purpose... it’s not a one to one teaching scenario it’s a full professional classroom with 10-12 or so desks teaching adults, whiteboard set up in a conservatory and extension going by the photos on FB, but also the house across the road are running a full on crèche, the dumbfûck parents are coming to collect their little ‘angles’ and parking outside everyone’s gates partially blocking driveways, ‘on’ corners making it dangerous for people trying to get around said corners... a comment on the neighborhood residents association WhatsApp that when a lady asked a young couple to move a car so she could reverse out of her driveway she was met by “ sorry about that, but look they are putting their coats on, we’ll move it in two minutes they are just ready inside “...

one of our neighbors a solicitor is apparently drawing up some legal document, the Gardai haven’t been very much help in fact they’ve been useless “ well I don’t see what we can do, yes I suppose it would be illegal, erm, technically blocking, erm “....but a swift legal kick in the hole hopefully...

• Registered Users Posts: 30,497 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

I know talking about mental health is important but Rory from Rory's stories is really getting a little tiring now.

Post edited by freshpopcorn on

TA, insofar as the "upcoming Harvest Festival" is concerned; it's been "Halloween" around here for the last few months, and I aint talking about 'decorations' neither... 😏 Thankfully, though, they mainly let off them bangers etc during the daytime.. How they're getting away with it, is, alas, not beyond me, being as it's the "Usual Suspects" that are the perpetrators .. Nothing will happen, unless someone gets seriously injured..

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Regional West Moderators Posts: 60,119 Mod ✭✭✭✭Gremlinertia

The phrase 'mood music' has started appearing in emails to me through work lately.. First phrase to irritate me enough to judge the sender in a while.

• Registered Users Posts: 16,191 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

Daddy, why are things in the sea dying?

Well son, remember all that plastic sh1t we used...?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,461 ✭✭✭Sgt Hartman

Bus was 15 minutes late this morning. To make things even more annoying the seat back rests are too low so I can't lean back and sleep.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,957 ✭✭✭✭cj maxx

People who buy Picture This 's music. Don't you know that means they chart and get radio-play. Stop it PLEASE!

• Registered Users Posts: 40,413 ✭✭✭✭ohnonotgmail

I forgot to buy custards creams in Marks and Spencer at the weekend. As a result I am forced to eat Aldi custard creams. Every one tastes of regret.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,952 ✭✭✭mikemac2

My TA is the Euromillions syndicate moocher who "forgets" each time it's their turn

Oh they wouldn't be shy in coming forward if we won. I went on a rant on the WhatsApp and deleted it. Hmmm, this person will be removed in the morning.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,952 ✭✭✭mikemac2

edited out

My father was up at the craic of dawn to attend an outpatient consultation in the Mater. But in the meantime, nothing has been heard from him or the hospital. Spent the last two hours chasing up the department where he was going, 11 times the phone rang out and got in contact with somebody eventually a rude ignorant cûnt who couldn’t speak fluent English yet the Mater Hospital thinks... “that’s grand, sure here is a job where you can answer the phone to worried relatives in a medical environment and neither of you will be able to understand each other.”..

turns out after making more calls and obtaining contact with a fluent English speaker he’s going to be overnighted as they needed to complete a minor procedure which was as I’m typing told that it was 100% successful... and why could a healthcare professional not make a phone call to relate this information to us earlier this afternoon ? Ffs.

i know as a result of covid it’s not seen as the ‘done thing’ at this moment to be critical of health in this country but seriously....guy in his ‘80’s goes in for check up, not heard from for hours... gotta love this shîtshow of a country, not.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,193 ✭✭✭Patrick2010

I wouldn't have let any parent of mine in their eighties go to a hospital appointment on their own

the guidelines as set out by the HSE ...

”Go into the clinic on your own, unless you need to have someone with you.”

He doesn’t ‘need’ anybody, still drives and in ‘generally’ reliable health.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,193 ✭✭✭Patrick2010

Does your father not have a mobile phone you could have rung?

Absolutely, but as he was undergoing the procedure and recovering from it he wasn’t of much capacity to answer it :). Managed to get him eventually, thankfully he is doing and is feeling well, thanks for you concern ;)

• Registered Users Posts: 30,430 ✭✭✭✭Tauriel

When the person who picked the books I ordered online had dirty hands and didn't bother washing them before touching them. So now I have 2 new books with dirty hand smudges on what should be nice and clean white pages.