Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Owen Keegan, DCC manager, sneers at homeless students

Think its a shocking tone to take in an official correspondence, whether a fella is public or private sector once you are setting out an official position on something you should have some standards, and hes well below par here

Im pretty sure one could counter whatever rubbish a students union had come up with without resorting to this level

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,045 ✭✭✭silver2020

But where's the letters the students wrote to him.

Personally I think more people should answer back sarcastically to those that write in a similar way.

As as others have said - why didn't they object? - Not only are the planning files public but this application also got news coverage in both the indo and Irish times when the application was lodged.

So the student were asleep at the wheel, but want to blame the someone else.

And the thread title is straight out of the daily mail school of gutterness. He did not sneer at homeless student, he sneered at the snowflake author who probably wrote a dialogue of tripe.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,020 ✭✭✭✭Spanish Eyes

On a general note, who watches the watchman i.e. Keegan?

As a previous poster noted, it is only since Covid that our streets have been opened up to outdoor hospitality, previously every barrier was put in place from sandwich board bans to removal of outdoor seating, bins, and lack of public toilet facilities. There is a lot more.

The city is looking better now than has in ages IMV. It now has a good vibe and it's great to see suitable streets being closed off to traffic in favour of them being used as they should be and are now.

Cork is similar, but more proactive, and it's a great success. I do not know Keegan personally but get the impression that he is not a city lover, nor is he proactive in making improvements to the city unless it involves bicycles!

I doubt he lives in Dublin anyway and escapes from his eyerie every evening away from what he obviously considers to be Dodge.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,234 ✭✭✭✭markodaly

Not objecting to a Planning Notice but complaining after the fact is the same as the many people who give out all-time about 'Da Guberment' yet when an Election comes around, they don't bother voting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,145 ✭✭✭✭Wanderer78

arseholes be arseholes!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,141 ✭✭✭✭listermint

I genuinely don't think anyone should have and to object to this one whatsoever.

It was given the green light as student accommodation it was purposefully designed. Wheres the argument to tear that planning up after the place was built and before it had one student pass through its doors.

The department in Dublin clearly don't have a clue what they are doing. They are choking the city of local and valuable workforce. All of these people work during colleges. There's an entire ecosystem built around it rather than throwing money abroad into whatever REIT picks it up .

Arse from elbow frankly.

• Registered Users Posts: 990 ✭✭✭Fred Cryton

Keegan is dead right...all the lefty populists, the Shinners, the students etc etc looking for cheap or free homes are not living in the real world. If it was possible for homes to be cheaper, they would be cheaper. They're not because it's not possible. We have entrenched building costs due to high wages, high land costs due to poor planning, and high insurance costs due to massive payouts. The lefty populists need to tell us exactly how they would substantially reduce those costs otherwise they are just full of hot air.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,800 ✭✭✭✭padd b1975

• Can you imagine the morale within the organisation he has managed… it’s not such a pretty picture.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,999 ✭✭✭griffin100

Power is a member of Soc Dem and is a pound shop politician in waiting. He has form for this sort of crap. To suggest anyone (even Keegan) should loose their job because he told the gobshite to p!ss off is laughable. Gary Gannon (another dim-witted Soc Dem gimp) has written to the Ceann Comhairle asking for time in the Dail to be made available to respond to Keegan's statement. That just about sums up the standard of politician in this country (and I'm including all parties in that). You have that goon James O'Connor threatening to bring down the government because some one horse town in his constituency wasn't getting a new road and a minister in Charlie McConalogue looking to spend €3bn of taxpayers money to keep his Dail seat. It makes you despair about the new generation of politicians, which seems as parochial and small minded as what came before it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,020 ✭✭✭Shelga

You do not talk to people the way Keegan did. Put simply, he is the one in the “customer-facing” role (not Power), who shows zero regard for these customers. He couldn’t give a sh*t about homeless students, and doesn’t even pretend to. A lot of people do not want someone like that in the role of City Manager, especially during a housing crisis.

I can just imagine it. Would you take into account the serious concerns of local residents and their councillors regarding an over concentration of student accommodation in the area?

Because they will vote? And the students will not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,631 ✭✭✭MrMusician18

I wouldn't expect students as individuals to really notice or care, but UCDSU, as an advocacy group interested in student housing should be monitoring the planning lists as a matter of course.

It's their own fault for not objecting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,020 ✭✭✭Shelga

We’re talking like them objecting would have instantly overturned the decision. Keegan could still just have told them to eff off and done what he liked, as he always does.

Keegan doesn't personally decide these matters. If there was an objection in then the ABP appeals process would have been open to them.

By not making an observation, they've denied themselves the right to be heard. That's on them, but it's typical amateur hour from a student union tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,453 ✭✭✭✭Larbre34

Keegan has no influence on any Planning decisions that are appealed to An Bord Pleanála, thats the whole point.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,824 ✭✭✭The J Stands for Jay

Once the student accommodation was built, why would they still monitor it? Job's done, how could any reasonable person conclude that there was a need to monitor the buildings for any planning changes once they were built?

It's the one planning list. It's the SU that's been incompetent here, though Keegan is an eejit and a letter like that shows no political nous at all.

Good thing we have regulations and government departments to enforce them which prevents any shenanigans.

Any release of the other side’s letters yet?

Anyway, the correct response from the SU should be to buy all the land round Keegan's house and build on it.

Isn't that the same SU that bankrupted the only pub in the largest university in Ireland?!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,599 ✭✭✭Cyclingtourist

The title of this thread isn't supported by anything that's been posted in the OP or subsequently.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,517 ✭✭✭KildareP

Because such is the nature of planning.

A person can put in for planning to build a 5-storey extension on the back of their 200 year old house that's passed through 5 generations unchanged.

The local GAA club that's been there decades can put in for planning to host a late night concert every weekend.

Student accommodation can put in to temporarily change the purpose of their building - be that tourist oriented AirBNB, accommodation for front line staff to be close to where they're posted, provide a temporary shelter for the homeless or even to add a massive extension onto the current building.

Planning isn't static but there is a process there for you to object to changes of planning and whatever you submit must be taken on board by the council in their decision.

The current setup is, if you don't object as part of the process then you have no right to complain after the fact, up to and including appealing to An Bord Pleanala (who have the power to completely overrule a council's decision, which they have done many times).

I personally don't see how that could change, otherwise, every grant of planning will have to have a holding phase clause to allow anyone who might want to retrospectively object to the grant. This will do absolutely nothing for the construction of badly needed homes in this country.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,818 ✭✭✭Sunny Disposition

In fairness to Keegan it would be galling to have someone like that student complain about a planning decision after it is made, when they didn't make a submission on it.

That said his tone is way off, and he should have a bit of humility given Dublin's poor record on housing in recent years.

Ah for fecks sake.

"They should be monitoring planning lists as a matter of course". Give me a fupping break.

Thats the same as the Hitch-hikers quote that was left earlier in the thread. Effectively "If you didn't want a motorway built through your house, you should have been monitoring planning lists, and you had plenty of time to object".

An advocacy group, interested in student housing should absolutely be monitoring the planning lists. It takes no effort at all, I think you can even set up email alerts.

They did have plenty of time to object. If we allow and entertain retrospective objections for any Johnny come lately then nothing will ever be built.

Incompetence is no excuse.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,640 ✭✭✭Jinglejangle69

At the end of the day all the refugees fleeing wars etc that these student groups have been vocal about need somewhere to live also.

Unfortunately the situation at the moment means everyone can't be accommodated.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,677 ✭✭✭Happydays2020

Keegan should resign not because of this letter but because of the lack of pride that DCC have in the city. Great excuses in terms of tents but have a look at lighting - good tweet last week looking at a series of bridges missing lights. This is the basics of local government and he is overseeing an organisation that is not delivering this. They are quick to blame the Dept. too on guidance etc.

I worked in the Corpo in the late 90’s and this management would not have happened under then manager Johnny Cash.

It never occurred to them to monitor planning lists, because the "built for the purpose of housing students" buildings, had been built and were in operation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,800 ✭✭✭✭padd b1975

I saw that series of excellent tweets and it was great to see someone else document a bugbear of mine. I really really cannot understand why the council let its architects who are designing public realm install light fittings that it has zero intention of maintaining.

When they put the lights up on the Beckett bridge, my heart sank because I just knew they won't maintain them. Sure enough for fire fighters week, there was half a string not working.

To be fair, it's not just DCC, the dockland development authority are just as bad. Every single in ground light, bollard light at grand canal dock no longer works. The lights on the bridge flicker so much it's like a disco.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,975 ✭✭✭Charles Babbage

If a planning authority is considering student housing then it should seek input on the need for it from colleges and students unions.

That's not how it works. There are only a handful of notified bodies and they are state agencies and An Taisce.

They had their opportunity to object and they missed it. No point crying about it now.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,677 ✭✭✭Happydays2020

Agree with all that except that the DDA was subsumed back into DCC around 2012.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,975 ✭✭✭Charles Babbage

While you are right that they missed their opportunity, the system should be changed. Students should not suffer homelessness because last year's student union wasn't paying attention.

If they create a distinct category that is more likely to get planning in the first place, then that category should have some notification provision attached to it