Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Covid 19 Part XXXV-956,720 ROI (5,952 deaths) 452,946 NI (3,002 deaths) (08/01) Read OP

• Registered Users Posts: 490 ✭✭Nyero

What are you on about?

If Butler said 80% where did she get it from, what was her source?

Why are you getting so uptight about this, unless we can see where she got 80% from then yes it seems she just made up a number.

And here we go again

"The CEO of the Health Service Executive said he does not think the recent rise in Covid-19 cases means hitting a "panic button", but it is a significant early warning that people need to continue to follow all the public health guidelines."

These people need to stop preaching, people have tuned out. If things go bad again its purely because they failed. Collectively, NPHET, The politicians and RTE.

We have minimal herd immunity due to pointless restrictions over 2 summers due to their failings.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,825 ✭✭✭Healio

Government need to come out with something Today, before this weekend turns into a one last hurrah type scenario where everyone goes out and lets their guard down; as they don't know when they'll be allowed to do it again.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,274 ✭✭✭bloopy

What percentage of the unvaccinated have underlying conditions.

I found it interesting when listening this morning that 'excuses' of a sort were made every time vaccinated were mentioned but the same was not put forward for unvaccinated.

Even some the arguments that anti restriction people were making six months ago were put forward - but only in relation to vaccinated icu admissions and deaths.

There is something murky going on and the unvaccinated are being used as the whipping boy.

Once again where is she getting 80% from, if Varadkar said 70% where is he getting it from?

Yes the % number will vary but where are they getting the breakdown of % vaccinated and unvaccinated.

It must be published somewhere for them to know what the % is.

• Registered Users Posts: 29,418 ✭✭✭✭odyssey06

Unless you can see the figures? What do you think her source was? Given her official role and is in receipt of reports from the HSE. Think about it.

Do you need to see every report from the HSE to backup statements to the media by NPHET, NIAC or members of the government about covid?

You have no grounds for doubting the information.

To say, there's a lot of confusion about these numbers, if they are going to make a big deal of them they should be in the daily report is one thing. But to jump to "yes it seems she just made up a number" is conspiracy theory territory.

So you are the one making up allegations, utterly without foundation, that Karina Butler, Chair of National Immunisation Advisory Committee (NIAC), has gone on the national media, and made up a number about patients in ICU.

This is obviously just a smokescreen.

"To follow knowledge like a sinking star..." (Tennyson's Ulysses)

I see it building a bit slower this year.

Like gradual increase all through November and then come December it will be party like the last night on earth knowing the lock down is coming after Christmas day.

• Registered Users Posts: 372 ✭✭Jimi H

Listening to Paul Reid earlier, it’s pretty clear that the hospitals are already at or close to max capacity. Personally I think there’s been too much focus on vaccinated vs unvaccinated. Over or close to 90 % vaccination is a huge majority. I don’t understand why they don’t have antigen testing. That could surely allow us to open up. And the absolute shambles of our health services, hard to know where to start there. Also, do we have any idea of underlying illnesses in patients?

It’s all set up nicely for NPHET. Hospital numbers have increased and there will be no discharges over the weekend so the numbers will only further increase ahead of their meeting on Monday.

And of course Tony will be back in the office.

No doubt Phil is currently dreaming up some doomsday scenarios with his models.

Government will be angry but won’t go against NPHET. MM will come down the stairs and tell us he knows how hard this is. Something about saving Christmas maybe.

You talk some sh1te to be honest

"in receipt of reports from the HSE"

The same as all the other data like daily cases, number in ICU, deaths, discharges etc, etc,

Any relevant information is published. There is no secret society passing % vaccinated between themselves.

"no grounds for doubting the information"

What information? 70%, 80%, 67% its like playing bingo.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,760 ✭✭✭Deeper Blue

So people need to people need to follow the public health advice, yet in 6 days we can do what we like?

That seems like a bit of a contradiction no?

People are only going to be confused and frustrated by this type of messaging and I believe it's the main reason that, like you say, people have tuned out.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,579 ✭✭✭✭AdamD

If the issue is unvaccinated people, it won't be solved by boosters..

These numbers are been used to keep people out of work and to continue restricting people’s rights.

Yes, they absolutely should be available to us.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,621 ✭✭✭giveitholly

Leo came out yesterday and said if we can't open on the 22nd it's because of the unvaccinated,Ronan Glynn berated them the day before,Now you have Karina on the radio again this morning,We have the highest vaccine rate in the EU and the few who decided not to get it are being blamed

If you can't see the agenda the last 48 hours then you are very naive. Government and NHPET officials flooding the media blaming the public and turning them against each other,thus deflecting from their incompetence.

No one in their wildest dreams would of said at the start of the year that close to 92% of adults would take the vaccine. Yet the 300,000 who didn't take it are the reason we can't go back to normal, Come on wake up and smell the coffee. And if that is a conspiracy theory then fair enough

• Registered Users Posts: 729 ✭✭✭SupplyandDemandZone

This time last year hospital's where dead, i know this because i was in for an appendix problem and i was seen, scanned and in a ward bed all within 2hrs of attending the emergency room for an operation to remove later that day. Try that in October 2019 and it would have taken at least 4hrs just to be seen by a nurse in triage and then another 8hrs sitting on a plastic chair before being scanned you'd be lucky to be in a bed that day at all.

Make no mistake about it this is a coordinated campaign to move the focus from our woeful health service to the tiny amount of unvaccinated people who have a right to choose what they do with or put in their bodies. I was very much pro vax until these last few weeks tbh and now i see this as an endless cycle of fear and mental warfare against our population. I won't be getting any 3rd jab now and will strongly consider my vaccination status next year when that comes around.

That figure was reported as 54% in early September and is 69 % now. Which would suggest it was artificially high early on in vaccinated populations due to proximity to inoculation.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,309 ✭✭✭✭hotmail.com

Soundings indicate that nightclubs may reopen but the cert will be kept.

This won't please a vast amount of conservative people in Ireland who want to keep restrictions.

• Registered Users Posts: 729 ✭✭✭SupplyandDemandZone

All followed by a story on the 6 o clock news about the 35 year old runner who didn't get vaccinated and is fighting for his life in Tallaght hospital. They'll be hiding one like that in their pocket to ramp up the fear.

There are not very many people who want to keep restrictions

Yep we have a fantastic vaccine performance, yet we dragged the absolute arse out of restrictions for nearly 2 years and now we are being primed for another delay in the reopening plan, whereas in England its unrestricted since the summer but our health minister started blaming them yesterday.

The RTE / GOVT / NPHET alliance are an absolute disgrace at this point.

We’ll still be wearing our masks and showing our papers with no further dates marked for the removal of these restrictions.

• Registered Users Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

@Deeper Blue wrote:

So people need to people need to follow the public health advice, yet in 6 days we can do what we like?

Well no, because the public health advice is not going to change in a week. The plan is to drop any actual restrictions, but the advice to the public will not change.

And yes, they absolutely should have been doing a lot more to make that distinction clear.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,278 ✭✭✭Cork2021

Lads!!!! If ye are listening to newstalk now! There’s a serious serious gombeen on! She’s definitely a plant on the show! Foreign accent and absolutely need to keep all restrictions! Christ!!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,274 ✭✭✭bloopy

Starting to feel like that was the plan for a while.

Just needed someone to direct the mob towards.

Longest and one of the strictest lockdown in Europe.

One of the highest uptake of vaccine in the world.

Vaccine passports in operation for three months.

Countries with lower uptake and less restrictions opened weeks and months ago.

Cases rising and the hospitals at breaking point with 70 in icu.

But it is the fault of a group of people who now number only 1 out of every 10 people in the country. Or maybe the brits.

Murky or no concrete daily or weekly stats released by the hse.

A group due to be disbanded within a week suddenly getting concerned again.

A vaccine passport that has not so far stopped a rise in cases, now possibly extended to prevent a rise in cases.

Arguments used by anti-maskers last year now used by niac this morning to explain the continued death of vaccinated people.

A leader going to concerts in the UK while 6 to a table indoors over here.

A party celebrating a murky appointment that is legitimised after the fact when even those enforcing the restrictions didn't know it was allowed.

But it is the fault of a group of people who now number only 1 out of every 10 people in the country. Or maybe the brits.

The below is the HSE advice on how to wash your hands, regularly. I doubt many are following this and no amount of preaching from the RTE alter will change attitudes.

1. Wet your hands with warm water and apply soap.
    2. Rub your hands together palm to palm until the soap forms a lather.
    3. Rub the back of one hand with your palm and fingers spread so you wash between fingers. Repeat with the other hand.
    4. Interlock the top of your hands and rub your fingertips - this cleans your fingertips and knuckles.
    5. Then finally grasp your thumb tightly and twist to make sure your thumbs are cleaned. Repeat with the other hand.
    6. This should take at least 20 seconds.
    7. Rinse your hands under running water.
    8. Dry your hands with a clean towel or paper towel.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,973 ✭✭✭✭titan18

I'd question it cos she has an agenda to cover her own ass. There are questions on why boosters aren't being approved to her and NIAC so she's diverting it to it's all the unvaccinated rather than the booster issue. When we're getting different stats from different people too on it nearly every day, it looks odd and everyone stats can't be right on it.

I'd question do we actually know the percentage vaccinated and the amount unvaccinated as a result. Getting accurate population numbers is impossible on any day, and the most accurate data is CSO data in that regard, and with the amount of foreign born people here, they could easily have got vaccinated in their original country or not even be resident here anymore.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,309 ✭✭✭✭hotmail.com

Tbh I didn't think that would change anyway next week. Ireland is too conservative.

But reopening night clubs is something

• Registered Users Posts: 209 ✭✭Ah_well.

Curious as to where you are seeing this? Is it just murmurings from some politicians on tv or have you seen something more concrete than that ?

• Registered Users Posts: 5,804 ✭✭✭Wolf359f

Lots of confusion on the % vaccinated in ICU.

There the initial report and the most recent. You can work out the figures from it: