Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Relaxation of Restrictions, Part XII *Read OP For Mod Warnings*

• Registered Users Posts: 9,051 ✭✭✭Red Silurian

11:30 includes a half hour drink-up time so effectively it's gone from 11:00 last orders to 12:30 at the weekends, and most places pushed the 12:30 out to about 12:45 or 1am, I hope to see that make a comeback

• Registered Users Posts: 18,211 ✭✭✭✭namloc1980

Well if there is a full rollout agreed then we have absolutely zero details of how that will work or who and when it will be used? Nada.

• Registered Users Posts: 32,136 ✭✭✭✭is_that_so

They want nightclubs to open so that they can that they allowed them to as per the plan. How they did so doesn't really matter and they popped into a local creche to canvass the rules!

• Registered Users Posts: 849 ✭✭✭MilkyToast

I don't know about that. I'm a bit of a hermit myself. Prefer hosting a dinner party to visiting a club any day of the week. I'm an artist, so I don't mingle in an office or whatever. I play my fair share of video games. And I've been opposed to every restriction right from the beginning.

Some of the people most in favour of it all that I know are social butterflies, and some of the social butterflies would have had no restrictions at all given the choice. It's down to individual levels of risk aversion, philosophy on government intervention, level of media consumption, awareness of propaganda strategies, etc.

“Of all tyrannies, a tyranny sincerely exercised for the good of its victims may be the most oppressive. It would be better to live under robber barons than under omnipotent moral busybodies. The robber baron's cruelty may sometimes sleep, his cupidity may at some point be satiated; but those who torment us for our own good will torment us without end for they do so with the approval of their own conscience." ~C.S. Lewis

• Registered Users Posts: 20,738 ✭✭✭✭yourdeadwright

Anyone have a quick run down of what restriction are lifted in pubs & night clubs ?

• Registered Users Posts: 933 ✭✭✭darconio

Are hospitality staff obliged to provide proof of vaccination? Watch out for who's serving at your table or pouring that pint, or the next deliveroo. I've seen human beings behaving "strangely" when cornered or when being treated like "outsiders"

• Registered Users Posts: 729 ✭✭✭SupplyandDemandZone

• Registered Users Posts: 18,211 ✭✭✭✭namloc1980

Pubs - table capacity moving from 6 to 10 and normal trading hours to resume. All other restrictions remain (i.e. masks when moving around, no bar service, covid pass and ID to enter etc).

Clubs - nobody has any fuking idea.

If it's the Rend Collective gig then it's been postponed

If your ticket is for the standing area of the crowd (usually called General Admission) then logically speaking this would be your "seat"

Logic isn't a strong suit of our restrictions though

• Registered Users Posts: 849 ✭✭✭MilkyToast

Well Aldi where I live do. They're a fiver each or five tests for €20 iirc. By the tills. I didn't buy any because I already ordered a big batch online, but they were definitely there.

Pretty sure you'll find anything that's in Lidl in Aldi a week later. 😂

“Of all tyrannies, a tyranny sincerely exercised for the good of its victims may be the most oppressive. It would be better to live under robber barons than under omnipotent moral busybodies. The robber baron's cruelty may sometimes sleep, his cupidity may at some point be satiated; but those who torment us for our own good will torment us without end for they do so with the approval of their own conscience." ~C.S. Lewis

• Registered Users Posts: 1,604 ✭✭✭Amadan Dubh

Can somebody explain that this means??

so they put the enforcement on business? so how are they to do that considering it's illegal to even ask if you've been vaccinated.

This is a nice little turn of phrase now altogether.....HTF do they enforce the covid pass??? He's saying mandate it without mandating it no?

Taoiseach @MichealMartinTD

sums up the Government's message on #Covid19 in three requests: Wear a mask when meeting indoors; if you run a business, enforce the Covid pass; and if you are not vaccinated, get a vaccine | Live blog: https://bit.ly/3AV7DgG

• Registered Users Posts: 729 ✭✭✭SupplyandDemandZone

They'll be closed by then possibly. I wouldn't put it past this shower honestly

• Registered Users Posts: 20,738 ✭✭✭✭yourdeadwright

Pubs will never be the same again willt hey,

The whole enjoyment of a pub is going to socialise, meet & char with people you don't expect to see there

There's nothing that would motivate you to leave your own home for a drink with the restrictions ,

• Registered Users Posts: 490 ✭✭Nyero

A few bars I was in just put a high table against the counter and lads gathered around that. So now we will have pods of 10 gathered around the "table" at the counter.

actually sorry, I misunderstood that, he means enforce entry to the pub via the pass.. sorry folks.....back to my book now.. 🤣

I saw that also... Very inventive to give the pub owners their due

• Registered Users Posts: 1,786 ✭✭✭snowgal

Its all very confusing tbh..............As per usual! Can someone tell me please, can I go to a fully seated Music event this Friday if I and everyone there have a vaccine passport? Will the event go ahead at full capacity in this circumstance? Because if not, the agent will pull the show..........

• Registered Users Posts: 533 ✭✭✭Mr rebel

Just booked another weekend to Berlin for early December. Bring on the bar service and old fashioned mingling with people.

• Registered Users Posts: 17,182 ✭✭✭✭A Dub in Glasgo

I am going to 'The Stunning' and has already been resheduled 5 times! I thought this would be it though

• Registered Users Posts: 1,304 ✭✭✭coffeelover

Nice! Anyone know what restrictions are in place in Paris? Need to get away from this ****!

• Registered Users Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

The devil's in the detail here.

Because there aren't just 11 ICU beds available in the whole country. As of last night there were 13 ICU beds staffed and open. That is, ready and waiting to take a patient.

This is not abnormal, ICU beds tend to operate on a logistical basis. After all, if we had 100 ICU beds sitting open and staffed but unused, there'd be widespread wailing about wastage.

If you go back and review the HSE dashboard from previous surges, you can see the full picture. The baseline capacity in ICU is about 300 beds. As of last night, about 8 of them were closed for whatever reason, and there were 13 sitting unused.

So the number of available beds is about 21. And that's just the "right now" capacity. There is surge capacity available that can provide another ~70 ICU beds within a couple of hours.

Yes, there are 74 covid patients in beds that can't now be used for other things, but at this time of the year there's a good chance they'd be mostly 'flu or other respiratory disease patients anyway. There is no 'flu at the moment.

The hospitals are not bursting at the seams any more than they would typically be. "Precarious" may be an appropriate term, but we're a very long way from "struggling to cope".

NPHET are advising caution on the basis that we will consume that surge capacity in the next ~6 weeks, but ICU numbers basically haven't changed at all in the last ten days. They'd nearly want to be praying for that to change or they're going to look ridiculous.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,892 ✭✭✭the kelt

Quick question?

So im best man at a wedding this Friday?

Wedding numbers are fine, not an issue there, all grand.

Seating? Is it now possible to seat 10 at a table, giving the groom a bit of help on this so would be good to know.

Extension? I presume normal wedding hours, closing hours etc are am i wrong or is there some ridiculous rule now that everyone stays seated until 12.30 and then you can remove the tables?

Bar open or service at tables?

Live music, dancing etc: Permitted? (actually cant believe 20 months into this and 93% of people vaccinated can people dance at a wedding is actually a question)

Honestly the longer this whole thing ahs dragged on the more ridiculous its got!!

• Registered Users Posts: 6,357 ✭✭✭corcaigh07

My local Super Valu has them now, 5.99 for a single test. Also have seen them in large Applegreens.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,447 ✭✭✭RocketRaccoon

A local wedding here 2 weeks ago has resulted in 32 positive cases so far. So not as ridiculous as some will claim.

• Registered Users Posts: 195 ✭✭dubdamo

Yeah, have tickets for standing for that gig as well, nothing on the Olympia website, or ticketmaster as to whether its cancelled, i presume it is.

GBS and Myocarditis have a long association with vaccines and the viruses that the vaccines protect against. Except that the rates are always higher in those who had the virus. These conditions are caused by extreme immune reaction. The clots were not associated with the mRNA vaccines.

On ADE is actually a consequence of repeat infection not the vaccine itself.With Dengue fever a second infection is usually the more serious one which means it is no surprise that this also occurs after vaccination. The outcome in the Philippines was entirely predictable and indeed was predicted from the outcome of the trials. The stipulation on previous infection should have been included in rollout in the Philippines, and would have been included had the vaccine sought EU and / or US authorisation at that point, because thats what the trial data showed

https://www.cidrap.umn.edu/news-perspective/2017/12/sanofi-restricts-dengue-vaccine-downplays-antibody-enhancement

• Registered Users Posts: 1,444 ✭✭✭showpony1

For those asking questions about the nightclubs they basically laughed and said "of course you will be able to dance in a nightclub" but gave no other details about obviously the face there won't be bar service there and said specific info will follow.

I assume this means the full capacity standing concerts that are scheduled this weekend are now off.

I see many saying they don't mind table service forever in pubs - i don't mind the act of actually being served rather than getting my pint at the bar, it's more the spontaneous pint going in somewhere for a match or something in town and sitting where I want rather than this big song and dance of you going in and then putting you at some 6 seater table like an eejit instead of the bar counter etc. My brother tried to go into a live music bar last weekend with just 2 of them and they were refused as they didn't want to waste a 4 seater table on them and said come back if they've 4.

Amateur Psychologists out in force.

Real psychologists would have a field day here