Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Relaxation of Restrictions, Part XII *Read OP For Mod Warnings*

• Registered Users Posts: 6,857 ✭✭✭sporina

how does the hospitality industry feel about being to police all this? checking covid passes etc? I lost track of it all when restaurants etc wer allowed reopen indoors.. I rem some managers saying it was not their job - what happened then? and how do they feel now? seems all the responsibility is on them

ah they're never wrong, sure look Luke O Neil for example, 4 retractions in one journal

read the comments too 😂

https://retractionwatch.com/2017/01/09/example-authors-uphold-researcher-logs-5-corrections/#comments

A scientist in Ireland has corrected five of his papers in a single journal dating back more than a decade, after image-related problems were brought to his attention.

Four of the newly corrected papers have a common last and corresponding author: Luke O’Neill of Trinity College Dublin in the Republic of Ireland. O’Neill is also a co-author of the remaining paper that was fixed. O’Neill told us the mistakes were a “bit sloppy,” noting that he takes responsibility for the errors in the four papers on which he is last author.

• Registered Users Posts: 26,977 ✭✭✭✭Dempo1

Zara King just threw a spanner in the works, she's just back from Sweden, absolutely no masks, measures, rates lower etc, CMO stumped to explain why its so bad here, honestly, I'm stumped too.

Is maith an scáthán súil charad.

Paul Cullen, Irish Times, he's usually very probing when looking for facts , just asking CMO about Sweden

Did he not actually say numbers of over 60's rising , I've never said shooting up, I've asked why any rises in a clearly vacinated cohort.

• Registered Users Posts: 849 ✭✭✭MilkyToast

We're not talking 'bout construction,

or commercial heat induction,

Not on about the nomads

Nor the barge or ship or boat lads

We're on about the pub; and you'll excuse my harsh inflection

When I state a pint should be allowed without a **** injection.

“Of all tyrannies, a tyranny sincerely exercised for the good of its victims may be the most oppressive. It would be better to live under robber barons than under omnipotent moral busybodies. The robber baron's cruelty may sometimes sleep, his cupidity may at some point be satiated; but those who torment us for our own good will torment us without end for they do so with the approval of their own conscience." ~C.S. Lewis

• Registered Users Posts: 1,476 ✭✭✭floorpie

Now saying that we need natural immunity from exposure to the virus

• Registered Users Posts: 12,962 ✭✭✭✭JRant

What he's saying in a round about way is that his modelling isn't worth a shïtê.

"Well, yeah, you know, that's just, like, your opinion, man"

It is, was, and always will be, a pandemic of the very elderly and the very unhealthy.

“Of all tyrannies, a tyranny sincerely exercised for the good of its victims may be the most oppressive. It would be better to live under robber barons than under omnipotent moral busybodies. The robber baron's cruelty may sometimes sleep, his cupidity may at some point be satiated; but those who torment us for our own good will torment us without end for they do so with the approval of their own conscience." ~C.S. Lewis

Our very Owm CMO not checked in Dublin Airport, that says it all really

Should that not be a pandemic that actually affects everyone 🤔

• Registered Users Posts: 494 ✭✭Billgirlylegs

In fairness it isn't. If you are sitting, having some plank stand in front of you reduces what you see. You need to stand, blocking the people behind you, who need to ........., so it is de facto a "standing " area - which the genius / experts expressly say is not safe.

Utter and complete incompetence

• Registered Users Posts: 18,211 ✭✭✭✭namloc1980

A standing area at a gig is nothing like standing at your seat. Completely different experience. Has everyone forgotten what a gig is like?

• Registered Users Posts: 5,804 ✭✭✭Wolf359f

He said the incidence rate in all age groups is rising. If waning was significant, you would expect it to increase faster in groups who have been vaccinated earlier in the year.

I flew to Germany last week. The airline check the cert on both legs of the journey. No cert, no fly, and needed to have the passenger locator form filled out before being allowed on the return flight.

He even mentioned that he was checked that the far end. How many times do you need to show the cert exactly?

It's a pandemic that has effected everyone, yes. But that is down to the failure of the people who won the various political popularity contests to recognise it as a pandemic of the very elderly and very unhealthy and respond accordingly.

Doctors will always be ultra-conservative and easily swept up by official-sounding hysteria. It's no coincidence that doctors were the biggest and earliest supporters of the Nazi party. 🤷🏻‍♀️

Fair enough, he's also clarified that he was referring to the current rise rather than generally. I'm just tryingbto understand what is really going on, I've personally great respect for Philip Nolan, I'm just sensing a lot of vagueness from this briefing, that's all

The restrictions and lockdowns have affected everyone. This virus is predominantly affecting the elderly and those with multi co-morbidities.

I'm not entirely sure but to be honest, I'm not alone in hearing numerous reports of very, very poor adherence at Dublin Airport which I believe is disgraceful

• Registered Users Posts: 18,211 ✭✭✭✭namloc1980

Tony wants mask wearing everywhere indoors - even mentioning masks should be worn at concerts 🤣

I take your point but im not getting into a spat about Nazism

Doesn't make a lick of sense what's happening here. Since we've vaccinated almost the entire adult population our hospital and ICU numbers have only gone up. I think the HSE need to check the receipts and make sure they didn't order shots of saline at this stage.

• Registered Users Posts: 30,491 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

I'd like if somebody asked him ''What about when couples first hook up?''

OMG, as bad as the HSE are, I doubt that's the reason 😏

• Registered Users Posts: 6,556 ✭✭✭Micky 32

Vaccine waning does happen as it does with all vaccines. The initial antibodies wear off. If they didn’t your blood would become like a thick soup. Studies suggest that because of the antibody waning you are more likely to get an infection but it seems that for severe infection protection is still strong .

• Registered Users Posts: 3,213 ✭✭✭Mic 1972

Eligible people are anyone above the age of 12, Ireland is not 90% vaccinated

• Registered Users Posts: 2,219 ✭✭✭MOR316

There's a lot of people in this thread, from over the last year, who serious apologies to certain posters

Unfortunately I can't seem to see the culprits anywhere...

We've had some of the harshest and longest lockdowns in Europe, if not the world. Vitamin D rates are probably through the floor because of people staying indoors (they were probably already pretty bad anyway), gyms are closed so the level of exercise people are doing is down by a lot, people have not been socialising as much, which causes mental strain and increased cortisol levels, takeaway businesses have been thriving more than would be seen to be mere compensation for restaurants being closed (4 in 10 polled people said they increased their junk food intake since the beginning of the pandemic). Basically, a whole lot of people are a whole lot unhealthier, in a pandemic that is much worse for those in poor health.

I've as much respect for Philip as Philip has for Aldi/Lidl.. Catherin Martin has confidence in sorting it, didn't Catherine come out red faced and empty handed last time. Good oul Catherine, tell me less about the Debt to GDP ratio and more about those splendid windmills you're chirping on about eh!

https://mobile.twitter.com/irishexaminer/status/1428258091909451776?lang=ar-x-fm

• Registered Users Posts: 1,842 ✭✭✭Don't Chute!

Lads this Nphet crowd are out of fcuking control at this point. Grand Supreme Emperor Holohan telling us today to not focus on the things that are not open but to focus on the greater good. Who do these people think they are!? Remember of course when it was announced that they would be disbanded? And I and others on here laughed and said it wouldn’t happen? And others here scoffed and called us conspiracy theorists yet again? Remember that? Well here we fcuking are. When are people in this country going to wake up and realize they are being played for fools by a bunch of unelected spineless cretins?