Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The country is going well or disastrously depending on how you look at it

It's a good idea, but it won't happen. Nothing would be allowed to interfere with Dublins position as the crown jewel.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,189 ✭✭✭Brucie Bonus

That's simply not true. Basically every party outside of FF/FG/Green are about building more affordable buys and rents for working people. Whereas FF/FG/Green are happy to throw our money at private companies and then lease or rent or buy off them. It's not sustainable and not a good deal for us.

I'll probably vote SF, just to see what happens. But I'm not optimistic.

It's a big undertaking but I think any vote away from FF/FG/Green will be a help.

You'll get even greater emphasis on immigration (non-Irish) which will further increase housing demands, along with the usual focus on social housing for the poor and working class. If you're anything close to being middle class in Ireland, SF will screw you hard so that they can provide for others they deem to be in need. Oh, and the grand push for a united Ireland which will result in massive expenditure, and subsequent tax increases to cover the costs involved.

While the main parties are bad.. really bad. SF are worse, because they'll do the damage and will be content to sit back while others have to deal with it. Short term feel good measures with long term negatives for both society and the economy.

Right now, I'd say spoiling votes is the best way to show your dissatisfaction, and the need for an alternative approach in Irish politics. Enabling SF or the mainstream parties just encourages the cycle of mismanagement to continue.

That's bollo.

They want to over haul direct provision. I've not seen any open border policy. Someone else will be along to say they are racist depending on the discussion.

The working poor and unemployed are being put up in hotels and 25 year leased properties. Are you enjoying paying for that?

While the main parties are bad.. really bad. SF are worse, because they'll do the damage and will be content to sit back while others have to deal with it. Short term feel good measures with long term negatives for both society and the economy.

You are describing Fianna Fail here and slow burn FF, AKA FG. Seriously do you not follow the news at all?

What's SF's policy on overturning our birthright citizenship referendum from before? Which 80% voted for, hint it's not in agreement with the 80%....

The disconnect between the SF party in the South and their supporters is off the charts. It's just a pity their voters don't investigate properly what SF represent when it comes to all forms of immigration.

What's their policy on asylum numbers? Again a massive disconnect.

SF aren't a nationalist party by any stretch of the imagination, they are internationalist and socialist if anything, unfortunately their supporters fall for their flag waving and rebel songs.

It seems you have your idea of a disconnect. I like their direction in housing. I'm pretty sure their recent surge in support wasn't from any lads singing rebel songs. Pretty sure they never strayed.

Whats their plan, open borders?

The hype is they are racist or their supporters are and don't know SF are open borders to immigrants. It differs based on the topic.

For me housing and health are the most pressing issues. Would love to improve transport but the current lot can't handle what should be basics after decades of making things volatile and worse.

I honestly don't see how anyone is worse than FF/FG. They don't hold themselves to account and are either corrupt or incompetent. Thats were SF are getting their support. If you think its all hard-core nationalists singing rebel songs you just might be from the FG HQ. That out of touch with the public. Its the electorate who are wrong...

• Registered Users Posts: 10,667 ✭✭✭✭maccored

you need more than 'just a good idea' to make a business successful. it isnt any easier now than years ago

• Registered Users Posts: 10,667 ✭✭✭✭maccored

how in gods name can they do any worse than the present government?

• Registered Users Posts: 6,667 ✭✭✭Feisar

A mate of mine is an ambulance paramedic, he'd frighten you with how thin they were spread.

First they came for the socialists...

Bollo? Welll... when you create points I didn't make, and then seek to argue them yourself, then, YES, I'd say that's bollo.

I said they're pro-immigration, which they are. I didn't make any claim of open borders. This is the problem with these kind of discussions that relate to SF. People can't avoid jumping to the extremes to avoid dealing with the truth. Numerous SF representatives have made speeches about being pro-immigration, and the need of Ireland to have a greater foreign population.

You really have problems dealing with what I've written, even when you quote it.

You made claims, I called them bollo. You asked me to refute your claims, you showing no evidence outside of stereotypes and scaremongering.

I asked where they open borders. I never said you claimed that. You were in fairness suggesting there'd be such numbers of immigrants it would damage the housing prospects of the natives.

You also claimed SF supporters were flag wavers singing rebel songs so I'll stand by calling that bollo.

The current lot can crash the country, lie about it. Try shift blame. Create health and housing crises. Watch them get worse and make them worse. Engage in cronyism with no accountability, tell lies, and let Tulsa and the Garda bounce from one scandal to another, whitewash the mother and baby homes investigation, leave Moriarty to gather dust etc.....but the others would be worse :)

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 26,923 Mod ✭✭✭✭Podge_irl

In absolutely loads of ways? Like untold numbers of ways.

Other parties may do better in government, but the hyperbole is a bit ridiculous.

Except at local level where they also block developments with ridiculous frequency.

"Building more affordable buys and rents" is a great policy, but without any substance to how they plan to enact it, particularly overcoming serial objections at a local level, makes it all ring a bit hollow.

Ireland shares many of its problems with other European countries and it would behoove people to not think that we are somehow magical unicorns with unique problems that we have created for ourselves.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,324 ✭✭✭Shebean

They are not unique but our housing strategy has made them consistently worse. Everyone bar FF/FG/Green say government are moving in the wrong direction with their new/not so new plans.

The defeatist attitude really helps FF/FG. 'It's the same everywhere sure what can you do?'. We don't seem to expect much from FF/FG/Green. Which is handy for them. Time for a change.

I'm not against a change. But every single party in the Dáil is responsible to some degree because every single one of them objects and obfuscates housing development at a local level. Actions are more relevant than words and SF, as an example, are absolutely as bad as the rest of them when it comes to housing on a local level.

My point is more that any discussion on how well the country is going necessitates a look at regional and global factors over which we have very little control. The housing issue is a problem everywhere which probably suggests it is quite a complicated issue to fix (or that governments across Europe are uniformly terrible, which I just don't believe).

Post edited by Podge_irl on

Sf, Sd, Pbp and Lab generally try block the same developments.

We allow too much to slide under, 'but we need houses now'. Like the problem only got noticed last week.

We've had plenty of time to try tackle the problems. FF/FG solutions make matters worse but that doesn't deter them.

Nobody has ever claimed it's an easy fix. Let's start by stop doing what we know doesn't work.

haha.. now that's funny. You didn't ask for evidence. You didn't seek to counter my claims with your own evidence (to show how wrong I was). Instead, you spouted off running away about open borders (which i didn't refer to once), and then that SF couldn't possibly be worse than FF.

As for scaremongering.. seriously? You've got be joking with that comment. Currently, 18% of the Irish population is foreign born. We have roughly 17k undocumented/illegal workers in the country... and you believe that immigration doesn't affect the availability of housing?

I didn't once call SF flag wavers singing rebel songs... go on.. quote me saying that.

So, perhaps take a few breaths, rein in your outrage, and consider for a moment what I did write... (I'm pretty sure it was another poster to talked about SF being flag wavers.. but that doesn't change how inaccurate you've been twice in a row).

• Registered Users Posts: 6,933 ✭✭✭smurgen

Not a normal country... https://twitter.com/morningireland/status/1451085905729630210?t=lXdhScTdE9nwthRuxQvGKA&s=19

• Registered Users Posts: 1,324 ✭✭✭Shebean

The traditional winter 'scandal of hospital trolleys' will be on us too.

Someone made some generalisations, threw in some scaremongering about immigrants. Are under the impression the rise in support for SF consists of flag wavers singing rebel songs. I got youse mixed up. My mistake. No need to lose the run of yourself. Calmness.

We had previously spoke.

I asked you were they for open borders. I don't believe they are.

We are over a decade in housing crisis. Immigrants are not the problem. Never claimed it didn't play a part. You can't come in and play tag for another poster and not expect crossed wires. He claimed SF would be looking to house immigrants damaging the prospects of Irish born. You are saying similar.

You are describing Fianna Fail and Fine Gael above. Who ever gets in will have a very hard time being worse than either of them. Let's hope they at least hold themselves to account.

Enabling others will rid us of the FF/FG cycle of mismanagement.

Was a Wexford family on the radio yesterday. Being made homeless tomorrow. Husband works. Can't afford anywhere in Wexford. Big housing problem there. I have it on good authority from a few posters that it's Fianna Fails fault, them having the most seats by far on the council.

End of the day housing and health are in a jocker and we need parties in power who will try something different.

Someone made some generalisations, threw in some scaremongering about immigrants. Are under the impression the rise in support for SF consists of flag wavers singing rebel songs. I got youse mixed up. My mistake. No need to lose the run of yourself. Calmness.

Again, what scaremongering? 18% of the Irish population is now foreign born, and most of that happened in the last two decades. That's an incredible change to the demographics of any nation. SF have repeatedly shown their interest and support (as have most of the political parties) of immigration, and the belief that multiculturalism is a definite benefit. Except, of course, that multiculturalism has consistently failed in modern nations, and has led to income disparities, and the creation of a secondary underclass.

Immigration does affect housing availability. That's true considering the range of housing given to refugees or those deemed to be in need of supports (yes, Actual Asylum numbers are rather low, but others are allowed in under the refugee initiatives), besides the range of immigration from the EU which has included a fair number of people who end up begging on the streets, or seeking financial supports from the government, and as such, would fall under the guise of needing social housing. Besides all the productive immigrants who earn well, and can afford to rent/buy properties in Ireland. More immigration means more population, resulting in more people wanting accommodation, and a greater strain on services.

It's not difficult logic to follow.

I asked you were they for open borders. I don't believe they are.

Because "Open Borders" is a meaningless concept, since all countries retain immigration policies, including EU members. It's simply easier for EU members (within the EU), but there's still no such thing as open borders. It's an extreme concept that is trotted out as an attempt to dismiss or distract from an argument.

I said that SF are pro-immigration, which they have shown themselves to be in the past. Now.. I don't know if they would change that stance if they gained power, although I suspect they wouldn't because they want to attract the foreign born votes.

We are over a decade in housing crisis. Immigrants are not the problem. Never claimed it didn't play a part. You can't come in and play tag for another poster and not expect crossed wires. He claimed SF would be looking to house immigrants damaging the prospects of Irish born. You are saying similar.

Similar, but not the same. The distinction is important. It might be easier for you to lump all differing opinions into the same group, but it hardly contributes towards a honest and balanced discussion.

You are describing Fianna Fail and Fine Gael above. Who ever gets in will have a very hard time being worse than either of them. Let's hope they at least hold themselves to account.

I'm describing SF. You seem to believe that SF has retained their position as an outlier compared to the main political parties, but there's little difference between them on a variety of issues, and they're just as untrustworthy.

And that's without even dealing with their links to the IRA, and whether we want a government that is controlled (or heavily influenced) by a paramilitary force as opposed to serving the electorate.

Enabling others will rid us of the FF/FG cycle of mismanagement.

I disagree, because I blame the evolution of Irish politics, and SF are just as involved as the others with politics being a profession, and looking to benefit from that profession. Honestly, I consider all the political parties to be corrupt, and negligent in putting the needs of the nation ahead of their own biases. SF in power will be little different from the others, except that they'll be less efficient, and more likely to make obvious mistakes due to their lack of actual practical experience.

Specifically, why do you believe that SF will do better than the other jokers?

End of the day housing and health are in a jocker and we need parties in power who will try something different

Sure, I get that.. but I don't believe that SF are the answer. Better to wait for a new party without the **** baggage that SF, or FF have.

It's really hard to take people seriously when they claim immigration has had no effect. Add to that our government's stated aim of massive immigration over the next couple of decades. But apparently that either won't cause an increase in demand for housing. Apparently. Or it will but the demand increase doesn't affect the market. Apparently.

Things have deteriorated quite a bit during Covid. Could've been a chance to overhaul things but nah. I'm in a big town and a friend tried to get a doctor's appointment. Apparently it was too long since she was in so she was taken off their books. Rang everywhere and no dice, eventually mentioned it to a relation who got on to someone for a favour. Things are pretty fucked when you can't get someone to take 60 quid off you for 5 minutes of time and sending an email. I've been waiting now I think 5 months for a private referral for a very routine procedure (it'll take 5-10 minutes and cost around 1500 quid) and yeah, I can't get someone to take my money off me.

Things won't be improving any time soon either. Lot of kids being born, mostly into lower socio-economic situations, plenty of immigration, no or little increase in supply of doctors, nurses and dentists etc., but sure it'll be grand.

I never said immigration had no effect. The whole premise is coming off the idea that SF will allow immigrants flow in and rush to house them affecting Irish citizens in a worse way than we already are as regards housing. If this is not your claim then we are not in disagreement.

I don't see what's wrong with having immigrants come in on an as needed basis. That's pro immigration right? There are levels, yes. I would only be concerned if any party was suggesting a free for all, a policy that is so lenient it causes more problems. Of course.

Again, I was originally speaking on the housing crisis. I didn't bring immigrants into the discussion. I don't agree that immigrants are a bigger problem than poor policy and relying on the private market. I don't believe SF will send the crisis into a further spiral by letting more foreigners in which seems to be your point?

No. You described FF/FG/Green IMO. They are happy to sit back watch housing and health suffer. We've seen it.

As far as the IRA, I accept SF's links. Every party has an unelected body of advisors who colour policy. I've no interest in getting into an IRA debate. They existed for a reason and signed up to peace. Every main party has a similar history AFAIC.

I do not believe SF will have all the answers. We need to be rid of FF/FG IMO. SF are the best option currently. That's it really. I would make the same argument for PBP or the SD's in they were in SF's position.

I believe we have some hope SF will be different. In the least it will take SF some time to set up all the crony back door deals FF or FG slip into day one in office. If SF got in with a number of others, we might see a change. We certainly will not with FF/FG and what ever lackey they throw in with.

No. It's not better to wait. FF/FG have failed. They need replacing ASAP.

As with the last crash. Missed opportunities.

They want things back to normal and have no genuine interest in change.

Trouble is they don't seem to have any interest in normal. Healthcare services are getting worse, housing has gotten worse, the roads are in a worse state than I can remember in 20 years. There's been change but none positive. Even down to the CE schemes and the like, the absolute state of verges, footpaths etc., everything even looks like ****.

There's no easy answers and the longer we go the less likely it'll be possible to make positive changes. In my town the middle is dying while they're completely covering the land in one direction with houses. Nothing else except houses. And all those will have to come in the one road into town which already has tailbacks over a mile long at times.

By having a basically blank cheque for people who "can't afford" housing it has made it even more appealing to not work. The only way to raise kids with a stay-at-home parent that makes sense in most situations is to have both parents not work, at least officially.

If we start having proper inflation for a few years (looking more likely as more kinds of goods are nudging up, as well as loads of services jumping by a fiver in the last while) who the **** knows what'll happen. Could be some positive effects on housing but the government (the same as Sinn Fein or anyone else would do) will do all they can to prevent house prices returning to any kind of sanity.

Those worsening crisis are the normal I was referring to.

While we no doubt have people who want to avoid working or paying tax at every level of society, I do not think the work shy are the bigger problem. Pre Covid employment was pretty high. We spend a lot on supporting lower income workers, ironically the very people we relied on during covid to keep shelves stacked. Nobody can simply decide not to work, however there are benefits to remaining on a lower income, but I would be suprised if many working people have no ambition what so ever.

The problems and solutions are top down IMO. Looking at the low or no income is looking at symptoms brought on by the problem, not the problem.

I think the only time the government should step into housing is when working people, in great numbers, are struggling to rent or buy. When government policy is making that problem worse, we need to try different policies.

I'd say it's pretty bad when you need to pay a doctor 60 euro for a 5 minute consultation, regardless of whether thats by email, or face to face. It's one of my major gripes when it comes to the government(s), the movement of doctors into clinics, and the focus on making money as opposed to providing a necessary service. The doctors are turning into the solicitors... where you'll be charged for just about anything under the sun, and with dubious returns for what you paid.