Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Why do people keep going on about Coppers?

• 23-10-2021 9:21pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,969 ✭✭✭✭

I went there once. It was a nightclub - nothing more, nothing less - and there was nothing special about it. But it gets frequent mentions in the media and social media and on boards. It even got referenced in a new thread today. Hell, someone wrote a musical about it ffs.

Why? Sometimes it feels like it's the only nightclub in Dublin, or maybe the only one in Ireland. But it's just a bloody nightclub, and there's loads of them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,153 ✭✭✭✭EmmetSpiceland

Country folk and some GAA “heads” go there. Have been there, myself, a couple of times. Not great.

Best to head over to Krystle or D2 for an enjoyable night with less hassle.

“It is not blood that makes you Irish but a willingness to be part of the Irish nation” - Thomas Davis

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,020 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

Easy place to get the ride with like minded people!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,597 ✭✭✭tdf7187

It's a bog standard nightclub. It was far from the best in the 1990s when it started, it just happens to have been the most commercially successful Most of the decent clubs from that era have long since closed, sadly. Howl at the Moon was a fave of mine. The cool kids went to places like Sides and Shaft. Jeez even Lillie's Bordello has gone, not that I ever liked it, too pseudo for me. If you want a conspiracy theory about its success and longevity, think it's owned by an ex-guard. Of course, he could just be a cannier businessman than other nightclub proprietors.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,597 ✭✭✭tdf7187

@sugarman

I was only ever in two or three on your list and yet I was in loads of clubs in Dublin, mainly city centreish, some suburban, over the years. Just shows, as you say, how many there used to be.

It's a shithole.

Just somehow has.the name of somewhere to go for some people

Makes no sense

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,503 ✭✭✭✭Mad_maxx

Been in it twice but not in twenty two years

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,999 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

I ended up there as part of a works leaving doo... years ago.... all the hype, all the ‘headlines’ and then you get there at least intrigued to a point and then.... blandsville...

• Registered Users Posts: 2,677 ✭✭✭Happydays2020

Club 92 and Hollywood Nights were popular on the south side.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,032 ✭✭✭✭Dempo1

I've never quite got it, other venues such as Lilly Bordellos was the place to be seen ( for ghastly irish celebs and band members) for years, seemed like there was an article in the Sunday Indo gossip column by the equally ghastly Barry Egan, sharing the latest mind numbing celebrity news from utterly mundane celebrities seen in Lillys. Nowadays, the Sunday Indo just shamelessly plugs the latest hair brained business concept by a has been former model of irish celeb and call it an article.

Coppers seems to only have two claim to fame, Everyone talks about it but no one quite knows why and the unbelievable and extraordinary profits it generates.

Obviously with the excitement of Night Clubs reopening, anywhere that a Queue formed outside was going to get attention and Twitter didn't dissapoint with pointless and predictable videos being shared with a bemused and bored nation.

I was there once, hardly ground breaking and anyone I know that's been there is as bewildered as I am about the attention it gets.

Is maith an scáthán súil charad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,824 ✭✭✭The J Stands for Jay

They should have their licence removed for that 😁

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,338 ✭✭✭✭Potential-Monke

I've only been there once in my life, and the best part of it was the kebab from a place not too far away. I don't get it either, and I was a serving Garda at the time, so apparantly that was THE place for me. Just another nightclub, badly designed/laid out, full of the usual drunk fools. Nothing special about it. Think it was put to me by one of the frequenters:

The nurses go there, and they're haunty.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,639 ✭✭✭completedit

Such a bad place. Like honestly it's like some sort of wormhole portal to a poxy dirty smelly dance hall in back o beyond. Horrible. It's appeal in the years I went to it was always that it was just where you go when you are fucked. Some country people seem to like it unrionically though and think it's gas craic altogether. Place is basically kept alive by the mass movement of country people into Dublin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,338 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

The sense of irony starting a thread discussing why people go on about Coppers seems to be lost on some.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,211 ✭✭✭✭Suckit

I have been to it twice. But I think it is the cheesiness factor that has people going back. The other nightclubs are full of pretentious crap and people standing around trying to pose with their iPhone in one hand and their gunpowder and cucumber in the other. Not most peoples type of people.. But that's what they're going for.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,211 ✭✭✭✭Suckit

In the past 4 years, nowhere. But the likes of Krystle and House were often after a meal and I hated it. Every single time. Standing waiting for people to come back from their coke break to talk sh!t for another half an hour. Or the nights the occasional mad bast4rd would come and "doesn't care" so stands there doing it off a key or a little metal tube...

No problem with the drugs.. By all means do them if you need them or want them, but the persona the people (in those particular places) think that they are getting from them.. They aren't.

If you want to do them, do them without the fanfare or the craptalk after doing. I found it less bullsh!tty in Coppers. Not non existent though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,309 ✭✭✭✭wotzgoingon

I was never there but did try on many occasions to get into night clubs in Galway and was never let in.

Why were you never let into nightclubs in Galway?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,677 ✭✭✭✭fits

If you could invent a hell for me it would be like coppers. Full of drunk messy people and awful music.

• Registered Users Posts: 468 ✭✭Shao Kahn

It gets mentioned so much, because it's full of Garda special branch sleeper cells.

So they need to funnel high amounts of traffic through it's doors in order to catch enough of the right fish in their nets.

Simple really. They're so arrogant, they're not even trying to hide it, they call it "coppers". (Duh!)

Or that could be a lie I made up, just to make all you dirty criminal people super paranoid. YOU decide!

"Tomorrow is the most important thing in life. Comes into us at midnight very clean. It's perfect when it arrives, and it puts itself into our hands. It hopes we've learned something from yesterday." (John Wayne)

Of course coppers isn't as pretentious of Krystle, Krystle is just Notions Coppers. Both are shite, as is House, and don't give a decent nightclub experience. The irony of calling it House....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,817 ✭✭✭Darc19

You're showing your age 😜

I'd call them Blinkers and Flamingos 😁

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,930 ✭✭✭Greyfox

It's a kip, crap music and people bumping into you everywhere you go. If you were to ask any of the clowns in the queue they would also admit the place is a kip, some people like going to a kip.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,537 ✭✭✭pgj2015

Have been a few times, nothing special about it, drinks are a total rip off, most of the people who go there are very friendly though, no snobs or anything like that. its supposed to be a great place to pull but I never did lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,718 ✭✭✭jackboy

I remember one night in coppers some skinny guy following me around, insulting me and trying to start a fight. It took a lot of ignoring before he gave up. On my way out he was sat on the footpath covered in blood with his face in bits.

Other than that, an enjoyable place to go to.

Ah don’t diss Dolly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,153 ✭✭✭✭EmmetSpiceland

“It is not blood that makes you Irish but a willingness to be part of the Irish nation” - Thomas Davis

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,957 ✭✭✭✭gormdubhgorm

Top of my head it has turned into an ironic cultural meme. It was initially a culchie embassy. Then the Dubs decided they like the atmosphere and it had a reputation for been ‘looser’ if you can’t pull in coppers etc.

So it had that ‘mystic’ and is/was the bridge between the urban/rural divide. It caught the cultural zeitgeist at the right time decades ago. Pints in flannerys are part of the ritual now still. First place my country cousin found when moved to Dublin. Flannery’s like a country pub - she was all excited. Then ‘graduated’ to coppers.

These days Coopers just a brand - watery pints, too many in and a fire hazard waiting to happen.

Post edited by gormdubhgorm on

Guff about stuff, and stuff about guff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,472 ✭✭✭BrianD3

People go on about Coppers because...other people go on about Coppers. I'd actually apply that to all niteclubs. Not as bad as it was in the 90s but still a case of "OMG, that club is like, soòo awesome, you MUST go! I'd say a lot of those saying this don't believe it and just do so to fit in and not seem like a dry sh*te. Add to that drink fuelled poor judgement.

Most lads, IME anyway, don't score in these kips. If you are 6 foot 4 and are a peacocking idiot then maybe. Or a badass Garda or Dublin GAA player. See yis all in Coppers! Average lad goes home alone and has a **** after he sobers up. Meanwhile, club owners, who in many cases are some of the biggest assholes you'll ever meet, are laughing all the way to the bank.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,301 ✭✭✭Hippodrome Song Owl

I haven't been in 15 years but went fairly often when I was in college. There was nothing special about it at all. However, back then it stayed open later than other places in the city, it had a far more lax dress code which suited many people, and I would agree it was far less pretentious than many of the alternatives. To be honest it felt a lot like a local school disco and people seemed more interested in having fun than in posing, which seemed to be the main event in other clubs of that "Celtic Tiger" era.

• Registered Users Posts: 750 ✭✭✭Vita nova

I knew there'd be someone along to call it a 'culchie' embassy/mecca/whatever and surprise surprise it's YOU. You really don't change your stripes, and btw, most people from the country (the real version or what you probably call the country) are no more culchies than most people from Dublin are skangers or west Brits.

I will agree with you about one thing though, Coppers and other similarly crowded nightclubs in confined spaces are fire hazards waiting to happen.

I remember being in the toilets and some lads were having a discussion about the Irish players who won a premier league title. One of them asked me to have a go, really sound guys in fairness, I like places like that where people chat to anyone, pity about the awful music. I remember another time being approached by a lady who asked me if I was a guard, im not but get told I look like one a lot, whatever that means. I probably should have pretended I was lol she was a ride. I stupidly said no and walked away.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,046 ✭✭✭✭bnt

I thought I had been there, but no, it was actually D2. Which wasn't great, so if Coppers is worse than D2, I'm happy to avoid both from now on.

Ye Hypocrites, are these your pranks
    To murder men and gie God thanks?
    Desist for shame, proceed no further
    God won't accept your thanks for murder.

―Robert Burns

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,184 ✭✭✭riclad

I assume people go to nightclubs to drink after the pubs are closed maybe to have casual sex. No one go's to nightclubs to listen to music also its in a posh area where journalists live so that helps with publicity

I used to go to night clubs to dance to good music.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,692 ✭✭✭storker

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 87,981 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

I was never there but it seems to be the most popular nightclub in Ireland

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,643 ✭✭✭Hamachi

Haven’t been to Coppers for ages, but always have a laugh there. As others have said, it’s unpretentious and stays open later than other places. It’s always good craic to head in with a bunch of mates, get hammered, and throw a few shapes on the dance floor. In my late teens and early 20s, I had the obligatory shift with nurses a couple of times. Thankfully, I eschewed the bean Garda experience though!

Some of the other night clubs named checked on this thread bring back memories. ‘Spirit’ on middle abbey street was a fantastic club. I also loved ‘Tripod’ and ‘Crawdaddy’. There must have been 15-20 decent sized nightclubs in Dublin back in the early 00’s. Does anybody know why they all disappeared? Is it just due to changing tastes?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,717 ✭✭✭YFlyer

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,012 ✭✭✭✭billyhead

Is the Palace nightclub still running. I had many a student night out their aswell as blooms hotel in temple bar.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,717 ✭✭✭YFlyer

I got kick out of a nite club in Galway. Just off of Earl Square. Monkey men were rough.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,957 ✭✭✭✭gormdubhgorm

What exactly does surprise surprise its you mean? Everyone knows the reason Coppers got popular was because it was full of culchies. A home from home. As in my example with flannery’s and my country cousin. Then some Dubs attended ironically to Coppers/Flannery’s at first and gradually realised the relaxed vibe was different to most in Dublin. Same sort of thing as Barry’s Hotel decades previous which served as a culchie embassy in Dublin.

Guff about stuff, and stuff about guff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,266 ✭✭✭✭Ash.J.Williams

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,365 ✭✭✭✭rossie1977

Because shock horror it's usually a fun night and won't cost an arm and a leg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,726 ✭✭✭Feisar

I used to like it because it was what it was, no notions. The Grafton Lounge for example, et al, notions.

First they came for the socialists...