Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Coronavirus Pandemic Information- Local and Worldwide

• Registered Users Posts: 2,968 ✭✭✭yosemitesam1

If you went back to the summer of last year before ever there was a vaccine, that was said here.

They put blind faith in the vaccine which it never deserved and so kept up the hysteria, instead of cutting out the hysteria and just let the whole thing fade to the background by testing less.

You would forget that sweden in no longer the only country to have no restrictions now and most countries are much more free than here. Compliance is lower but yet they don't have the big problems we do because they're not looking for problems to be hysterical about.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,142 ✭✭✭✭wrangler

You don't know any of that, Compliance is unlikely to be lower than here, there's only a small percentage complying here, very little personal responsibiltiy too.

If they got a 100% vaccine in the first 12 months it would've been only a fluke, i'd guarantee you Tony doesn't give a sh.... Like all civil servants he just wants to be seen as doing his job. It's not like in industry where his job depends on results

From the start of vaccinations we were being warned we could nfect others so no surprise there

• Registered Users Posts: 11,195 ✭✭✭✭mahoney_j

Far from a Covid denier or anti vaxer but hard to keep up and trust what’s happening atm ….mixed messages ,confusion ,questionable decisions ,the constant ridiculing of a very small% of the population that are not vaccinated and implying that they are the cause of the current spread ….now dr tony and nephet comming out with a story that there’s huge outbreaks in the u 12s after been told all along and backed up with facts that it’s not really an issue for them …hard to keep up

then there’s the vaccine …blind faith put in it when now it’s obvious enough it’s not a huge help to prevent the spread …now they want people to load up on boosters ….for what …going to be a long winter and more lockdowns look certain

the big problem here is our shambolic health care system and the lack of accountability for the massive money threw at it …..out of a country of over 5 million it’s near on its knees with circa 500 Covid patients ….patients on trolleys and elective surgeries been pulled

• Registered Users Posts: 2,968 ✭✭✭yosemitesam1

I was off on my holidays wrangler. Seen it first hand.

No checks on health certs, people only wearing masks for shops, none of the nonsense of wearing a mask when not seated in a bar or restaurant, everything was pretty normal bar in the shops.

Everything is a lot stricter here in comparison, anyone I've talked to who has been away has said the same thing. They come back and wonder is there really a virus out there at all when we do more everyday but yet we have to do even more...

There will never be a vaccine that stops covid in its track 100% with zero transmission. It is simply not possible.

What we had was politicians who were so desperate to believe in the hype around the vaccine that they were happy to base their plans on that and nothing more.

It's just a matter of common sense now, you can go where you like and you know the risks. this virus isn't going to be contained.

To be putting conspirracy theories to it is over the top. Our biggest enemy is the public service, they have no idea of the harm that lockdowns do.

If they left people alone and let them learn what ever lesson there is from getting the virus or overloading the hospitals. it would eventually settle down.

Even getting the virus now is only giving two mths immunity so if you're unfortunate you could have it three or four times a year

I've been warning people about our health system for years, it's coming home to roost big time now. they're a solid waste of money

• Registered Users Posts: 6,676 ✭✭✭jaymla627

Absoloute bulls**t you only have two months immunity after a active infection, its a narrative that's out their to ensure the vaccine money train keeps rolling for big pharma, any concrete sources that clarify the two month statement

• Registered Users Posts: 18,564 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

herself was saying they are definitely seeing a rise in breakthrough infections in healthcare staff as their immunity started to wean after the six months. She’s hoping to get her top up soon.

she says it’s 100% obvious that those hospitalised with covid the vaccinated are much much less sick and less likely to be in icu. Many of those vaccinated and hospitalised have their vaccines longer and likely immunity has dropped.

our friend had a bad reaction to her first dose, didn’t stop her getting the second with which she was absolutely fine.

Our 13yo is having covid test this morning.

don’t think she has covid, sore throat bit of a headache, need test done to see doctor as she likely needs an antibiotic as has been needed in the past.

test is import though as we need to know either way to protect others.

OK From googling I can get information that it lasts from 3 to 61 mths. .

• Registered Users Posts: 6,676 ✭✭✭jaymla627

natural immunity with the failure of vaccines is the only way out of this, Sweden the poster child for how not to handle covid 19 according to the mainstream media never gets a mention now simply because its got very low cases daily now, and that you'd have to conclude is due to a large % of their population having natural immunity, combined with vaccination of the vulnerable, Ireland should if the vaccines worked have the lowest covid infection rates in Europe but are second highest per capita.....

The logical reason for this is our prolonged lockdowns led to not alot of high infection rates through community's so natural immunity acquired protection was /is low enough % wise throughout the population with all bets been on the vaccination route which hasn't worked

• Registered Users Posts: 2,946 ✭✭✭dzer2

Don't get this. The more times your daughter takes an antibiotic the less good it becomes also it reduces the immunity from the infection. Our little one was extremely chesty and went down with a dose about 4 times a year. Mrs kept taking her to the doctor and getting medicine for her. Got sick in Austria about 6 yrs ago took her to the chemist and told them what we normally got back home. Chemist said go home give her lots of liquids keep her warm and gave her soother sweets for her throat. Never being ill since.

It’s quite easy to understand.

when she needs an antibiotic she gets one, if she doesn’t then she doesn’t get it.

her problems with septic throats has reduced as she’s got older but of the doctor says she needs it then she needs it.

covid test today because firstly sore throat is a symptom of covid now and if the throat gets worse she will need a test result to see the doctor.

An additional factor in having the test is my wife works in the hospital and it would be irresponsible for her not to know if we have covid in the house.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,779 ✭✭✭paddysdream

Just on the wife working in the hospital bit .If your wife is vaccinated and has no symptoms then there is no reason she cannot go to work in the hospital even if every person in the household is covid positive ..That's not speculation ,hearsay etc .One of my siblings works in a hospital in a frontline medical capacity and was due to go into work a couple of weeks ago whilst waiting on her child's covid test result (sent home from creche with cough and high temperature ).

Rang her manager and told come on into work ,no issue whatsoever .Next door neighbour nurses in local general hospital and told me that one of her colleague's was working away and had 3 kids at home all testing positive .That was only 2 weeks ago .

• Registered Users Posts: 7,348 ✭✭✭naughto

The only issue there is that one of ye will have to take leave off work be it you or your wife while ye are waiting for results to come back

And I know a nurse that uses it as an excuse, she just gets a child tested if she wants a few days offf

Herself is a teacher, we had our young lad on the list for a test, he's asthmatic so regular coughs. Rang the HSE helpline for advice as to whether she could go to work or not. Advice was if vaccinated and showing no symptoms herself, away ya go.

It must very hard on her colleagues when she doesn't turn up for work. she took full advantage of HSEs statement last year that they needn't come into work if they couldn't

• Registered Users Posts: 2,946 ✭✭✭dzer2

Just checked with the wife, as I said little one used to be very chesty. Since we stopped all the medication. She has had only one real episode. She is too young to get the vaccine, has played all her sport back swimming, meeting her friend's. No sign of any covid all our lads have being back to normal since school and college reopened. Can see a fierce kick back if lockdown is reintroduced.

• Registered Users Posts: 29,514 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

At least they got some sort of a summer with team sports

• Registered Users Posts: 11,195 ✭✭✭✭mahoney_j

Massive I’d say …vast majority have played there part with guidelines /vaccine …govt continue to fluff and fart around with info and guidelines …hanging out to dry the small co Hort not vaccinated …now there saying despite what they said all along that the u 12s are a big issue ….vacines don’t appear as affective as they hoped and these fookin vacine certs like what difference are they making .and big elephant in room is our health service (not the staff)nearly 2 years into this now and it’s a big a shambles now as it was as start …govt should hang there head in shame over this …

Occ Health make the decision on a case by case basis for each staff member that is close contact. It will depend on staffing levels and staff member exposure to patients.

Daughters test came back negative thankfully.

her sore throat or headache isn’t getting worse, she’s still pale and spun out. She wants to ride her pony in the afternoon so it can’t be too bad.

2966 cases today.

I'm amused at the reduction of cases in hospital and no mention of whether they left in a box or a car

No they're starting the over 60s next week, has your parents got it

Clinic next week in local recreation centre for all aged 70 to 79 from 9.30am to 3pm run by the medical practice they're in

Herself got her booster jab yesterday. Bit tired today bit otherwise fine.

Mine didn't affect me in any way, hopefully we're good for 12 mths now but you never know