Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Spiking.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,286 ✭✭✭Jequ0n

The official story via gardai contradicted her Twitter account of events. It is hardly surprising that people are suspicious of her story.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,177 ✭✭✭Fandymo

She is on Twitter telling the second story, or at least was at about 9:30pm last night, she has a history of deleting when new details come to light which contradict her. That is why i am saying she told the second story, because she told it. Is that ok with you Faugheen?

• Site Banned Posts: 12,341 ✭✭✭✭Faugheen

How did it contradict her story?

The two of them add up perfectly to me. It’s only in the minds of those who are clutching at straws and who are desperate for this girl to be lying that they are finding this information ‘that she left out’.

How can she leave out information that she isn’t aware of?

I was bottled when I was 19 outside a pub in Cork. I don’t remember being bottled, but I had the cuts and lacerations on the back of my head. My last memory was walking down the road and the next thing I know I’m in hospital.

Gardai told me I got up and walked a few more metres before collapsing again, and that I was helped my people who were nearby. Brought into an ambulance where I responded to paramedics questions. I have no recollection of any of this. I was ‘immediately unconscious’. The reason why Gardai were able to tell me a slightly different story to the one I was able to give them was thanks to witness statements and paramedic statements.

Scumbag was never caught, so it didn’t go to court.

• Registered Users Posts: 332 ✭✭MarkEadie

Some people/men are just always going to think its a case of women getting too drunk/high and then blaming being spiked as a way to not take responsibility. If you think like that then you have a bad opinion on women. If you can't take a womans word that she was spiked, and im sure she would be the one to know, then you're not taking women seriously in general, which is a pretty bad attitude.

@MarkEadie and @Faugheen

I don’t know…in her Twitter version she claimed to be straight unconscious. In the news reports that detail the investigation into the alleged spiking case it describes how she felt unwell, was escorted home and went to the hospital the next morning. Are you seriously telling me that those two versions line up?

It is ludicrous to turn this into a man vs women debate. Even the newspapers call it “an alleged spiking case”, because this is all it is for now. That’s not discrediting the alleged victim, but standard until the allegations have been confirmed.

• Registered Users Posts: 264 ✭✭SnazzyPig

Have the Gardai said that a report of spiking was made before their statement on Tuesday?

If not there is nothing to correct.

Yes there is. Because the Garda Press Office have since said they have received a report, whereas Grift are still reporting that there has been no reports.

Its responsible for a media outlet to correct the facts as they change. Grift haven’t done this.

I literally responded to this with an experience of my own and how both stories can line up. I don’t recall some elements of my own story, but Gardai can because of the statements of others that plug in the gaps.

What on Earth is the point anymore? You aren’t discussing in good faith.

I’m out.

Your comparison didn’t make sense, but if you can’t see that then you cannot be helped.

• Registered Users Posts: 264 ✭✭SnazzyPig

If the Gardai have changed their story then Grift should update that fact.

As in -

'We DID recieve a complaint of spiking but HQ was unaware of it as of Tuesday'

Have they changed their story?

• Registered Users Posts: 16,711 ✭✭✭✭banie01

This is going to be a long post, and apologies for that. I do hope that the salient points are considered though.

Gript's reporting as usual leaves a lot to be desired. For the sake of accuracy, the full statement from the Garda Press Office should have been included in their reporting.

But it's gript, and all their reporting has a significant skew.

I think we can all be reasonable on the single point that as a Garda investigation is now underway?

That a report has been made likely subsequent to whatever statement Gript relied on for the report, that we can now dismiss the Gript reporting at this point? A correction on their part would be nice 😉 but surely we know it's not coming.

It's report is at very best outdated and at worst heavily biased and based upon both a loaded question and dismissive reportage.

I don't know if the Twitter girl and the report to the Gardaí are one and the same? I also haven't looked at any of the Twitter reports other than the original one reported a couple of days ago that was subsequently deleted.

It's in the hands of the Gardaí now and I would hope that given in the original tweet? The victim claimed that multiple drugs were found in her system? That a full investigation is forthcoming and that any means of ingestion or administration without her knowledge are identified and the person or persons responsible are sanctioned appropriately.

Now with those potential sanctions in mind? I have already posted the options I believe are available in law to prosecute and I do think the legislation available currently is appropriate.

The advice proffered by the HSE and the Gardaí regarding self-care and reporting is I hope we all can agree? Appropriate and considered, without racing to label it as victim blaming, or blame shifting.

If there is any veracity behind the claims being made of widespread drink spiking(with drugs) and any veracity at all in needle spiking?

It needs to be reported by people believing they have been subject to such attacks. Without those reports and the evidence of toxicology reports to reinforce them?

Any and all reports of this being a widespread phenomenon are and will continue to be countered by the currently extant medical and academic research. That evidence that points to Drug Based Sexual Assault being a tiny proportion of attacks presented as such.

It's a harsh but simple truth that, that which can be asserted without evidence? Can be dismissed without evidence. Moreso, in the claim of drug based sexual assault, the evidence available currently points to it being rare. If that is to be reassessed?

There really needs to be a growth in reporting. With reports? The Gardaí can be pressured to investigate and investigation will at the very least allow Gardaí a means of reviewing both patterns of alleged offending and any and all toxicology.

Post edited by banie01 on

I'm a pharmacist and there is no medication that can be given subcutaneously without it been immediately apparent you have just been jabbed. For effects as described by the lady on twitter. The only medications I could think about off hand would be ones you use in rapiq tranquilisation i.e. midazolam, haloperidol olanzapine and lorazepam and to achieve this effect, they would have to be given intramuscularly.

Pharmacologically, it makes no sense.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,376 ✭✭✭corner of hells

Damn you , damn you to hell for ruining this thread.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,436 ✭✭✭Quantum Erasure

so it was just this one incident? hopefully there's no more reports after this weekend

• Registered Users Posts: 13,504 ✭✭✭✭Mad_maxx

women are just people and people often make up stuff

this " trust women " business is as patronising as it is dumb

• Registered Users Posts: 13,985 ✭✭✭✭Potential-Monke

I was coming on to say the above, but maxx got there. Women lie. Men lie. We all lie. Especially when it suits us or to make a gain of some sort. Automatically assuming what someone says is true is grand, but it's not the job of the Garda to believe, it's their job to find out. I haven't seen the tweets, I don't even know what Gript is, but no one should ever automatically assume someone is telling the truth. There's 3 sides to every story. And especially on social media...

Not saying she's lying, but I'm not saying she's telling the truth either.

• Registered Users Posts: 28,939 ✭✭✭✭AndrewJRenko

• Registered Users Posts: 2,818 ✭✭✭Northernlily

Happened me and my work colleague on Thursday night in Munich. One of the most frightening things I've ever experienced.

My colleague arrived late so we only had 3 beers and 2 jaegers before moving onto a second bar where we had one neat whiskey. After that essentially things went mad. I found myself struggling with my senses collapsed on the side of the street vomiting uncontrollably. I was like that for a few hours in the freezing cold before coming around and being able to flag a taxi. Nothing was taken but my phone was smashed to bits. As if it was dropped 20 times.

My colleague was rushed to hospital but has no idea who called it in. His phone was taken/lost. We are unsure.

As for a motive, we think that it was just done for kicks at bar 2. Nothing was taken and neither of us assaulted or anything. I haven't been right for a few days, the mind is still very dazed and confused and my muscles are aching. On what was supposed to be a good work/social trip after the shitshow of the past 18 months it really knocked us. The pschological effect is massive.

We made statements to the police on Friday but understand it will be very difficult to prove. However the obligation is ALWAYS there to report as it could happen someone else and needs to be monitored.

I'm 34 and can handle my drink. I know intoxication and this was something entirely different. In them moments on the edge of the street, I knew was in bother, I was aware to a degree and wanted to move arms and legs and they simply would not work properly. I knew I needed help and was unable to summon it either by motion or by speech.

The drinks never left our hands apart from when it was handed to us by the bar staff. Our bank accounts / revolut spending correlate with what we think we drank.

Post edited by Northernlily on

Bear in mind the standard munich beer is significantly stronger than our weedy lagers. And if you were drinking dunkels or festbeers stronger still.

I understand that, but me and my colleague are both seasoned drinkers. As bad as it sounds I've been knocking back copious amounts of alcohol on nights out including in Germany for years and would deem Thursdays consumption as minimal in comparison. Always, I am in control when drinking and my friends and colleagues would say the same.

What happened was inexplicable. What I experienced tallies with other victim reports. The confusion, dizzyness, lack of control over arms and legs and vomiting. But at the same time being absolutely terrified as you know that this is not right yet you have no control. As I lied in the freezing cold I had reconciled with myself after a few hours that I might die.

I never thought it would happen to me but it seems its happened to me. It is all to easy to disregard these claims and very hard to prove.

As another poster alluded to, maybe there is a nasty movement formed online as reports are becoming increasingly widespread. I've certainly been focused on the issue the past couple of days.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,693 ✭✭✭Lisha

I do think there is something in the fears of spiking. I remember as a teenager double measures being bought for people as singles and so on. I’ve seen multiple times over the years a vodka being dropped into a pint. To get a mate drunker for the laugh, both types of incidents are equally wrong and especially sickening if the reasoning is to make a fool of the person or worse still sexually assault them.

Approx 15years ago I was out in a nightclub with boyfriend and friends. I wasn’t drinking was driving and had only drank water. I remember the lights annoying my eyes and feeling very wrong and so I went to toilet. On the way I remember gripping the wall of the corridor and stopped there as I couldn’t move. I remember a female bouncer asking was I ok and I couldn’t form words. She told me I was a disgrace and left. I made It to bathroom (I was empty retching and felt like I needed the loo) and it was impossible to manoeuvre clothes to go to loo… nothing worked my hands were useless and I couldn’t talk. I remember lying on the filthy wet disgusting floor. My cream cords were ruined afterwards I binned them. I was there for ages I could hear and understand people but I couldn’t respond verbally. I was helpless.

at End of night boyfriend eventually found me and I couldn’t drive home. We got a lift. I remember v little only the feeling of knowing what people were saying but I couldn’t control my limbs or talk. I was weak n tired for a day or so after, it terrible .

I was possibly spiked I don’t know. I started getting migraines 6months after that. Maybe it was an extreme migraine after the lights but in 20+ years since I’ve never lost control of bodily functions like that.

There is no disgrace in pointing out facts about Munich Beers in comparison with Irish beers. A large amount of alcohol was consumed.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,375 ✭✭✭BrianD3

Toxicology/drug test after the incident? I assume you would have mentioned it if there had been one.

If your drinks never left your hands, what do you think happened?

a) you weren't as careful about your drinks as you thought and someone put something into them - improbable but has happened people

b) the barman spiked your drinks before you got them - highly improbable

c) you were injection spiked - highly highly highly improbable

Everyone thinks they can handle their drink but multiple factors affect tolerance from one session to the next. For instance, if a person is also taking prescription drugs or if they have picked up a bug from other people or are simply fatigued. And/or, as correctly pointed out by the other posters, the fact that beers in Munich can be double or more the strength of beers sold here. When you are in Munich do you drink at half the speed as you do here to account for this?

Unlike other posters with an agenda who won't give their opinion on the likelihood of actual spiking, you have at least given your account of what happened from your POV.

However as a general comment, this latest injection spiking panic is the biggest load of rubbish I've heard in a long time. As anyone with any understanding of medicine would know, the practicalities of it are such that it would be extremely difficult to execute "successfully". Given the very long odds, "success" would require a large number of attempts (with many perps caught in the act and some victims likely killed from overdosing) and a critical mass of amateur anaesthetists around the world who are willing and capable of doing this so that they can rape someone. The idea that such a critical mass exists is out and out misandry.

What probably will happen now though is a small number of scummy idiots will react to the publicity and stick people with thumbtacks and the like "for the laugh", similar to people who think shouting Allahu Akbar or bomb on a plane is funny. Or someone spitting in someone's face "there's yer coronavirus hahahaha".

@Lisha I think your accounts (like those of others) re-injected a purpose into this thread, which had taken a sad turn to different groups accusing each other of having their own agendas. Thank you.

Thank you. @Jequ0n I’m nothing special or unusual but I’m 43 now that happened when I was 23/24 and I still remember lying on a manky dirty floor unable to get up or talk to those helping me. I know I was dismissed as someone who let herself get too drunk and that makes me sad and a bit fearful of what could have happened. I was only drinking water. I rarely drank at that time. I’ve never done drugs.

People are too quick to say ‘oh they were partying hard’ ‘they deserved it if they couldn’t mind themselves’

I’ve heard several accounts of college students in Limerick and Tralee with needle marks the day after a night out in the last 2weeks. They can’t all be making it up.

But yet some do, and broadcast it on social media way before it has been confirmed. I am under no illusion that spiking happens, and that it should be treated seriously. But at the same time I find it very irritating when assumptions are presented as facts because this causes a lot of distraction and misinformation.

The accounts given you by you and by others sound like a bad trip, rather than a few vodkas added to a drink. I've been there but through my own making, so I can only guess that it must be far worse when you hadn't expected any reaction.

Well I definitely didn’t expect a reaction from still ballygowan…

• Registered Users Posts: 20,742 ✭✭✭✭yourdeadwright

Does this happen as often as people say it does ?

It seems most data collected would say it does NOT and the vast majority of people who think they have been spiked end up showing nothing on the toxicology reports

This whole needle spiking seems more primitive way to go about the crime , It seems like a terrible move by perpetrators

Am i missing something ?

Ps before anyone starts yes i know it does happen & its 100% never the women's fault & its a horrendous crime , I'm just wondering are we missing something ,

No toxicology and as I said very difficult to prove. I've been in a very strange state of mind since it happened where a mix of trauma and confusion has meant rationale and logic have been evasive.

Back in Dublin and still battling severe tiredness, a headache today and memory loss. My gf came to the airport to meet me last night and I went straight to my car and forgot she told me she would be there. (luckily I had noted the parking location in my inotes)

Waiting for my GP to call back with advice.For all the doubters all I can say is I hope it never happens to you. I am seriously worried about the current impairment in my thinking.

As attempting to find a motive, there have been attempted logins to my socials from Ukraine this morning which I've had to shut down.