Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Republic of Ireland Team 2023/24 [old thread]

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,496 ✭✭✭✭Mushy

Positive for the goal, negative for Raphs goal. He's been alright today, nowhere near as badas they made out at ht.

Idah coming on now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,915 ✭✭✭✭gormdubhgorm

All I was thinking was if Omobamidele was a young English player they would not be half as critical!

Edit- just stopped Raphinha running on goal few mins left of normal time.

Guff about stuff, and stuff about guff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,496 ✭✭✭✭Mushy

Yeah thought singling him out was odd. Very good block there, great experience for him. Hopefully keeps his place in the team after this

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,630 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Nice Guy

He's done pretty well overall up against a top class attacking player. He had a few shaky moments in the first half and gave the ball away, but an improved performance in the second half. Norwich would have got something from the game had Krul not had his error.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,831 ✭✭✭Patsy167

Alan Hutton - Former Scotland defender on BBC Radio 5 Live - "Omobamidele has looked so comfortable for one so young. He spots danger round about him, he's really had an excellent game today and a young player like that is something Norwich fans can get behind."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,989 ✭✭✭johnnyryan89

Similar to the one of the commentators I wouldn't even be that negative towards him for Raphinha's goal.

In terms of the international team things are looking bright for us defensively for years to come. Three young lads in Collins, Omobamidele, and O'Shea who could be Premier League regulars for years to come.

McGuinness is getting regular game time at Cardiff and you'd back him to be at least a top championship defender. Dunne has started a few games, came on as a sub for a few games, and has done well. Dyche has said he sees Dunne as someone that can go on to be a top championship defender.

In goals we've got three talented young keepers in Bazunu, Kelleher, and Travers. Anyone of them could easily be our number one keeper.

We do need some full backs to start coming through though. Unlike the GK and CB there really isn't any young players in the squad challenging the main starters. Manning has mostly played at CB and Scales can't get a game for Celtic. Hasn't even been in the last three match day squads. Hopefully we see one of McNamara or Kioso in March given Christie is our third choice and the Euros is probably Coleman's last campaign. If we're lucky Festy Ebosele can break into the Derby team and get some good minutes this season.

Ryan Johansson keeps his place in the starting XI to make his league debut for Fortuna. Currently filling in at RB as their first choice seems to be struggling for fitness after returning from injury.

It's a position he played while at Bayern, and something they seem to do with midfielders by coaching them to play at full back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,797 ✭✭✭✭Francie Barrett

Bit of a mixed bag. First half he was grand, wasn't put under too much pressure but did no wrong. Second half was a bit of a mess though. He was at fault for Eagles first goal when he let his man get by him to put a cross in that was headed home. I don't think he was great for the second goal either. He looked to be far too deep/central which meant the opposition winger he was supposed to be defending against was able to put another unchallenged cross in that was scored from.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,177 ✭✭✭Fandymo

Raphinha had him on toast for almost all of the game. Although he is not a left back. Norwich have to be one of the most pointless teams ever to get into the Prem.

If there was a game where the Norwich board have finally taught to themselves, "yeah this lad is a bit of a chancer at this level" when talking about Farke it would have been yesterday. You wouldn't have picked that line up yesterday in football manager.

Sticking your least experienced player in a position he's never played. In a system they've never used before. A system where you need to be tactically astute and really need the personal to make it work. Trying to do a Brighton by lining up as four at back but picking the players that can make it a 3-5-2/3-4-3 in game only works when you've got the personal and manager that knows what he's doing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,590 ✭✭✭LowOdour

From the Guardian today on yesterdays Norwich/Leeds.

"The man who lifted them was Raphinha, who has elevated his game in a team that collectively appears to have regressed. He did not have everything his own way against Norwich’s makeshift left-back Andrew Omobamidele, who himself looks an exceptional prospect, but came out on top when scoring a marvellous solo goal"

Omobamidele not going unnoticed

Antonio Conte appointed as Spurs manager and someone that loves his 3 at the back system. Another fresh start for Doherty with his third manager in 14th months since moving. Big international window for him to show some form.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,742 ✭✭✭Dr. Bre

Is Parrott still a spurs player?

Yeah he's only on loan at MK Dons and doing well. Joint first for goal contributions with four goals and four assists with all bar one goal coming in the league. Peter Kioso is next after him and Twine with three goals and three assists from wing back. The Irish lads are doing well there at the moment.

Good to see Smallbone back in with the U21s and Okoflex getting his first call up whose playing well with West Ham's U23s. Pity about Gavin Kilkenny being with the U21s, if Ferguson is with the U21s rather than starting for the U19s then it makes no sense having Kilkenny with the U21s when he should be up involved with the seniors.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,946 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

Ah I thought some of the lads who got named in under 21s would of got a call up to the senior squad

Scott Hogan and maybe Will Keane the big senior call ups tomorrow

Great to see Smallbone back, I think this call-up would do him the world of good as he tries to build up fitness for the season.

Nice to see Oko-Flex there too. I know a lot of people have been making some snide remarks about him, which I think are a bit unjustified. I remember watching an interview when he signed for West Ham saying he wanted to try and play his way back into the Ireland setup.

I think you're right about Ferguson and Kilkenny. Ferguson looks like he would be better off staying with the under-19's for now, and Kilkenny really should be with the senior team.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,673 ✭✭✭AllGunsBlazing

Need to stick a man marker on Ronaldo from the minute he steps off the plane in Dublin and stay with him until he gets back on it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,831 ✭✭✭Patsy167

The new orange Football Association of Ireland 2021-2022 range will be released on November 5 2021.

Are we getting an orange away jersey?

If so gross enough

Hopefully not as the current kits are actually decent and only out about a year. Would have preferred the blue centenary kit to be used more as well.

Edit: yeah FAI just tweeted that it's going to be an orange away kit. Wonder will they try make a modern version of the old orange kit or if it will be all orange with some green trim around the neck and possibly sleeve.

Whenever I think of the last orange kit I think of McAteer's flying kung fu kick (at 1:32 here):

Curious to see how this new one is going to look.

Callum Robinson back in the starting line up and Taylor Gardner-Hickman who seems to be Irish eligible starting too at LB. Molumby is on the bench.

McGuinness and Dunne both staring in their game.

Kilkenny on the bench tonight along with Robbie Brady.

Jason Knight back fit and starting with Ebosele on the bench.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,711 ✭✭✭Speak Now

Who in the under 21 did you think would get called up? I suppose Kilkenny was close.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,948 ✭✭✭✭Kermit.de.frog

This was my first thought too. How many times did we use that Jersey?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,926 ✭✭✭deisedude

I wouldn't say he is doing well lately. He has been dropped for last few league games.

Is Scott Twine Irish eligible? I know he played for Warerford but think he is English and that was just convenient loan from Swindon who Lee Power also owned

Robinson looked back to his old self. Set up the only goal of the game and although he didn't get too many good chances himself, he linked up play very well.

Had never even heard of Gardner-Hickman before this, but he looked absolutely quality. He started at right wing back, but as Hull dropped deeper, he was operating more as a right winger. He gave his full back an absolutely torrid time and had the beating of him on several occasions. He could pass, he was tight defensively and had a bit of pace about him.

If Lee O' Connor is going to be sitting on the bench for a tier 4 team like Tranmere Rovers, surely it's an absolute no-brainer that Gardner-Hickman is called up for the under-21's next time out.

Would need to sort his paperwork if he was to play for us. Was only involved in a training camp two years ago but then covid hit so probably put a dent in anything happening at international level for some.

Ah sure we only have pride to play for and also trying to feck up Portugals World Cup hopes (few nervy heads in FIFA if Portugal have to take part in the Playoffs to qualify)

Did say I wouldn't be surprised if Aaron Connolly was dropped from the next squad and not surprised at all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,281 ✭✭✭✭ben.schlomo

He can't have any complaints really. Wasn't even in the Brighton squad last weekend and I didn't see him listed as injured.

We'll probably hear that he's carrying a knock. He didn't come off the bench when we were 4-0 up against Qatar and after that I said I can see him being dropped from the squad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,486 ✭✭✭pgj2015

Connolly would want to use will keane getting in the squad ahead of him as a wake up call and start putting the ball in the net for us when he does play.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,526 ✭✭✭glenjamin

He'd want to use it as a wake up call to sort out his behaviour and professionalism at club level first. He badly needs a loan move in January, and needs it to go well otherwise he'll be slumbing it out in the Championship permanently from next season.

Connolly definitely has ability, but he seems to be made of glass and has fitness issues. People are suggesting he should go out on loan in the Championship. Dropping down a level would give him more opportunities, but is his body capable of playing a 46 game season, or anywhere even close to that number?

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 12,294 Mod ✭✭✭✭Kingp35

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,170 ✭✭✭✭pjohnson

Christ thats awful.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 22,408 CMod ✭✭✭✭Pawwed Rig

Pretty bad alright. There doesn't even seem to be a decent shape on it. If it makes John Egan look like he has moobs what chance do the rest of us have.

Shows how a sponsor also ruins a jersey. Plus how do you make one of the shittiest crests around even worse.

Looks like a training top.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 331 ✭✭srfc d16

Like something you would get for free at a samba soccer summer camp

• Registered Users Posts: 696 ✭✭✭Stewball

It's a horrible shade of orange. I had such high hopes....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,948 ✭✭✭✭Kermit.de.frog

Not surprised at all about Connolly. His job is to score goals and game after game he just couldn't with the best will in the world find the net for some reason. Really frustrating player. Seems to be in a bit of a downward spiral.

Off topic a bit but how does a player know he's called up. Would they find out a few days before the squad is announced and would it be the job of a personal manager to sort out logistics and all that

Can imagine how much of a pain international is for some players esp with all the travelling and club managers in there ears constantly

If they're seeing it as a pain then they shouldn't be doing it. It's not as if they're off booking Ryanair flights and hire cars to get to games

Rumor has it he wasn't a fan of the orange and has walked in protest. Interesting to see who applies for the Director of Football role.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,424 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

Dokter going is no loss

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,597 ✭✭✭Ferris_Bueller

Orange kit is not nice, shame as I had decent hopes for it. Big step down from our current away which is a beaut.

It's hard to measure Dokters success. The general consensus seems to be that he hasn't achieved a whole lot, but the national underage leagues is a huge step in the right direction. Also our coach education is in a much better state than when he left. Hard to think of any suitable candidates for the role who are Irish.

When you're dealing with the political minefield that is the FAI and Irish football you're never going to achieve a whole.