Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Kilkenny GAA Thread

• Registered Users Posts: 3,939 ✭✭✭blackcard

The timekeeper stopped the clock for the water break but the ref blew up for fill time as the clock showed 30 minutes and the announcer said that there was going to be a minimum of 2 minutes additional time?

• Registered Users Posts: 2 Bitoffun4477

Clocks have to be stopped for water break . It's in rule . So that time is not added in the injury time. Refs are supposed to only add the time they usually have for injuries, subs and delays they deem necessary to stop the watch for. IE. time wasting major mellee that takes time to sort and likes . So at round 30 and 60 mins on stadium clock the time for extra time is announced if being announced by stadium . Stadium clock only stops for water break nothing else .

• Registered Users Posts: 143 ✭✭sportsmaddad

The amount of media coverage this Galway hurling chairman is getting about Henry's recruitment is starting to grate a little. I've no problem with the appointment, but these interviews seem to be all about congratulating himself on a job well done. And he's not slow to remind us of the 750k at their disposal. Just adding pressure to the role I think. Best of luck to all concerned, but can we be spared the interviews until we see the results?

• Registered Users Posts: 512 ✭✭✭kilkennyboy

Results will be the key .No one will care what type of hurling Galway are playing if they are winning. Looking at thomastown last weekend and talking to some of the thomastown panel .The plan was to get in as much ball as possible to the edge of the square .something Kilkenny have been doing with 20 years.you would wonder is Cody's teachings ingrained into his former players.

Eddie well beaten in dublin with cuala

Henry's thomastown didn't improve from last year if anything have gone backwards.

Shamrocks without really catching fire are in a final .and if they do bring a big performance could win by 10+.

Think it's joeys last game as he is emigrating has been some servent and some medal collection.

• Registered Users Posts: 112 ✭✭ttowncat

Heard the same from the thomastown panel. Personally wasnt impressed with the line last Sunday but that is not to take away from the players' responsibilities. Henry has a good bit to prove as a manager- those ballyhale teams he managed to club all irelands would have managed themselves.

• Registered Users Posts: 633 ✭✭✭Mad about baa baas

On the field perhaps but off the field under Henry's tenure they had a lot of issues to deal with.. 2 tragedies on the road..also some of the young lads.on that team could have gone either way in terms of commitment to hurling/ other social activities..keeping them grounded and working is.no mean feat and I do think Henry deserves credit for that..

• Registered Users Posts: 640 ✭✭✭Fred Daly

Where is Joey emigrating to he will be a big loss to the shamrocks and county very under rated the best of luck. As regards Thomastown people thought they had it all the last couple of years they were lucky against teams.

• Registered Users Posts: 339 ✭✭droppingball

Not sure what your referring to about lucky against teams maybe give us an example. Thought we did go way too direct last Sunday alright. We played into Glenmores hands and the plan was to go direct and early.

Do feel Henry improved a lot of things, we now have a good centre back and he improved a number of the players as hurlers and got inside there heads and a number of players attitudes improved.

In fairness tullaroan were the better team in 2019, we should have beaten Lisdowney in 2020 and had the game won and gave away five frees. Last weekend Glenmore were the better team.

The hype around the team was a bit mad and not of Thomastowns doing it was all external stuff. Lot of people just assumed because Henry was there it was an automatic that they would win but as I said before Maurice Alyward couldn't correct everything but improved them, Henry has improved them and now it is down to the players to keep going now. Need a good coach next year with maybe less profile.

Heard he was going to America for a few years.And best of luck to him a gentleman and a leader of those young ballyhale lads.

• Registered Users Posts: 97 ✭✭jonniegoogle

Is the King staying on in Ttown or will the workload be too much? With the split season, it might be workable.

Freshford left that county semi final behind them last year, if you give away five frees against lisdowney that answer your question.

Thomastown were in control and Freshford nearly came back alright but didn't do enough, they hammered Freshford the year before in the semi.

Not sure what your point about lucky against teams is as they have topped there group 3 out of last four years, won league three out of four years. They have lost a quarter final to eventual winners, lost two County finals and lost a semi to what looks a very good intermediate team. Doesn't strike me as lucky, it strikes me as a good team who haven't gotten over the line or if you said they are weak mentally or lack fight when it comes to it i couldn't argue with you but lucky is strange way to look at it.

• Registered Users Posts: 952 ✭✭✭conor05

Did you ever hear such tripe ‘could of managed themselves’, Henry was an excellent manager for Ballyhale. To do back to back was a serious achievement, at the age some of them younger lads were they were partying a bit too hard from what I could see and Henry go then to knuckle

down in year two.

I have no fear of Henry as a top

manager.

Lot of the heavy lifting was done by u21 management in the club .kept everyone in line for a while. Tommy a proven coach also on board.Time will tell

• Registered Users Posts: 887 ✭✭✭DiscoStew

I could be wrong as I wouldn’t be up to date with the internal matters in Ballyhale, but didn’t the Mullen’s miss an U21 county final at some point? Was that not due to a lack of discipline or being unable to curb their socialising?

Freshford were well with Thomastown last year through all the match, Lisdowney deserved the victory saying giving away five frees cost ye the match is an under statement . A couple of weeks on here people attitude was that all Thomastown had to do was turn up for the rest of the season, Thomastown are like a horse that does all the early running in a race collapse then when the pressure comes on.

Agree with your points above about the early running and collapsing and that is fair to say and the evidence backs that up. I just disagree with using one match to say they are lucky against teams after all which makes no sense.

We have been intermediate and junior since the 80s and haven't been near winning an intermediate bar one county final in the nineties. This is our best team for years, we have been consistent in that we are in top four teams in the grade the last 5 years. As I said you can say weak mentally, hyped, decent but not good enough, soft when ground gets hard or whatever.

But nothing that has happened in the last 5 years is to do with luck or lack of it, we have just lacked something and that is it.

Anyway I have enough said

• Registered Users Posts: 80 ✭✭mooz

Great day for county final. Hoping it's a cracker!

• Registered Users Posts: 193 ✭✭KK36

Were ye not in a senior final in the early 90s???

• Registered Users Posts: 952 ✭✭✭conor05

Correct they were on the verge of putting in a transfer to their fathers original club James Stephens on the back of that under 21 fall out.

As far as I know it was Shefflin who sat them down for a chat and sorted it out.

• Registered Users Posts: 251 ✭✭Pigeon Chaser

Great match.

OLG did themselves proud.

Shamrocks are great champions though. Strong all through the team.

Disappointing to see the keeper take a dive in order to get a lad sent off though.

If you got a punch where he got it you would not be long about going down , he was mouthing at the goalie when the goal was scored he deserved red card.

• Registered Users Posts: 99 ✭✭kkclubhurling

Tapped Goalie on head despite being 5 points down and then boxed him straight in the throat.

One of the most blatant red cards you’ll see and an embarrassing way to end a county final after such a spirited performance.

• Registered Users Posts: 80 ✭✭mooz

• Registered Users Posts: 1,261 ✭✭✭JJs Left Hand

Great game that. Shamrocks just so professional and experienced. They don't do anything special but are just stacked with special players.

Some great raw talent in that Loughlins team all around the same age which is probably a disadvantage really but they should be contending for a few years now if they learn from it. Their performance today was largely based on emotion and I think if they managed to curb that a bit they'll be better in the long run.

Ridiculous red at the end by Loughnane but he was hyped as soon as he came in bouncing off his man and breaking a hurl. The box was just absolutely needless.

Absolute cracker of a County Final, best I've seen in years. 2nd half especially, it was one breath taking ncident after another. Fair dues to O Loughlins, only for a few missed chances and poor decisions at crucial times it would gave gone right down to the wire.

• Registered Users Posts: 10 jimbob2015

Fantastic game well done Ballyhale Shamrocks . Some performance by Olg too. A great advertisement for hurling. Agree with all the above about red card for Olg but at the match thought Kevin Mullan should've got a red at 29 mins for tackle on deegan. No attempt to play the ball. Hurl to the face & amazingly no free. Have since watched game back on Tv & confirmed my view a certain red. They are often given for less e.g.. Richie Hogan v tipp in 2019

• Registered Users Posts: 851 ✭✭✭Deskjockey

I wonder would Cody give Deegan a run in the forwards next year. He has performed well up there all through the championship and today as well

On today's performance he'd be worth a look. Put over some absolute beauties under ferocious pressure.