Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

New Facebook brand and Logo.

• 29-10-2021 3:44pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,007 ✭✭✭

This reminds me of something, oh yea

"Did you hear about the stone outside Dan Murphy's Door"

"what happened?'

"Someone put another one there, and made a Bollix of it"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,153 ✭✭✭✭EmmetSpiceland

The logo reminds you of that? How?

“It is not blood that makes you Irish but a willingness to be part of the Irish nation” - Thomas Davis

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,119 ✭✭✭Gregor Samsa

Hmmm. I'm all for seeing pudenda in almost anything, but this is is a major stretch.

I assume it's based on Zuckerberg's Halloween costume.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 83,858 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    M

It's pathetic from a bellend who thinks the world made him god.

Meta Muppets

designed for Myles Mayhem

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,012 ✭✭✭✭banie01

I dunno man, it's all a bit too meta for me!

Zuckerberg is a dead-eyed creep.

Looks like the logo (especially with the animation for the logo) for one of those baddie 80's movie corporations - thinking the ones from Robocop (OCP - Omni Consumer Products) and Aliens (Weyland-Yutani Corporation)

Also looks like some sort of cock and balls sex toy device?

Probably not what they were going for but that's the way that it has turned out!

Weird

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,833 ✭✭✭✭TheValeyard

Well..

All eyes on Kursk. Slava Ukraini.

• Registered Users Posts: 171 ✭✭play4fun1

google is alphabet inc, who cares

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,749 ✭✭✭Dr. Bre

It was only a meta of time..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,032 ✭✭✭✭Dempo1

Am I alone in thinking Zuckerberg is turning into a clone of Data from Star Trek.

I watched the absurd promo video and thought this guy is seriously loosing it. Does he actually believe the Facebook brand is not Toxic. Very odd, strange and increasingly disturbing individual. The best thing the PR team at Facebook could do is advise him to keep his mouth shut. Cringe and vomit enducing stuff.

Is maith an scáthán súil charad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,645 ✭✭✭silliussoddius

As long as I still find out that Bill Gates is going to try to inject me with 5Gee I don't mind, and I can offer my support to all the angles out there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,184 ✭✭✭riclad

Millions of people use zoom , video meeting apps, so in theory according to meta, people will meet up in virtual 3d spaces using Vr . I doubt it, around 1 per cent of gamers use Vr headsets. Why would anyone want to wear a uncomfortable Vr headset for hours everyday just to do business meetings when you can use zoom to do the same thing using Vr is also tiring and nauseating for many people

Also Vr equipment is also expensive versus simply using a laptop or pc camera which everyone already has

Vr is a niche interest which has not taken off with the public like ar

Right now there's a shortage of chips and graphics cards there's already 3d cameras and apps avaidable which can be used by users without using a Vr headset

Facebook owns Instagram and WhatsApp. So it makes sense to have a new company name the logo represents infinity

At least fb no longer requires a fb account to use an oculus Vr headset i just think 90 per cent of users don't care about Vr in an age when you can play games on a 4k TV i think it would be a nightmare if people were being forced to used Vr headsets just to talk to a business colleague as so many people now work from home using zoom

Remember Data lost it or short-circuited too. And in the Star Trek Canon the federation wisely banned manufacture of further such android model.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 92,982 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

More like Data's evil twin Lore who had zero respect for human live and Borg followers.

I hadn't thought of the evil Twin but yes 😏

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,817 ✭✭✭Darc19

so did anyone alphabet what it means?

Whoops, I meant Google which who's parent company is called Alphabet.

Its a corporate name that will be used at shareholder meetings.

Did you know that Sharpie pens, Camping Gas, Rubbermaid, Crockpot and many other household names are owned by a company called Newell?

Facebook will always be Facebook and it will be in a family of names ultimately owned by a company called Meta which the normal person on the street will never ordinarily use

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 805 ✭✭✭mrmorgan

it's scary what they are proposing....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,338 ✭✭✭✭Potential-Monke

Genuinely don't know why he didn't just call it Ads. Because that's what he's about, ads in fcuking everything!

So he's definitely going ahead with the Metaverse then?

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 92,982 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

Meta is pronounced like the feminine form of the Hebrew word for 'dead'.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,007 ✭✭✭deezell

BTW, was his presentation real or a CGI generated version of himself, like your man Huang from NVidea pulled off earlier this year? Some of it looked creepily processed.

https://www.inputmag.com/tech/nvidias-ceo-was-secretly-computer-generated-in-keynote-speech

Google did the same thing made new name alphabet that owns Google YouTube etc

There's a great article on www.pcgamer.com called the meta verse is bullsh1t worth a read maybe facebook thinks we all be working in Vr in the future doing meetings with Vr avatars this makes no sense to me it's like saying everyone will travel on electric scooters or electric cars in 2030

For practical and medical reasons many people simply can't use Vr headsets for hours at a time imagine having to put on a headset just to read your email I think Vr or ar augmented reality could have niche applications maybe for game designers or architects eg you could tour a large building in 3d before it's even built to see how it looks I just think Vr is only suitable for a small minority of users

People are already complaining of zoom fatigue and having to have laptop cameras on all the time as they work from home

Wearing Vr headsets would be even worse

Vr could be like HD audio dvds or 3d TV it may only have a limited appeal to the average user no matter how good the technology gets

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,948 ✭✭✭long_b

Basically it's this plus 10 mins in MS Paint

It makes sense to rename the company as the last week its been under attack from journalists who are going thru leaks from insiders about how Facebook works. They did not invent the infinity symbol its been around for years . It makes sense as the virtual world is infinite it has no end every minute theres millions of comments posted on social media and videos posted on youtube

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,128 ✭✭✭✭Oranage2

Facebook has too much of a bad rep a name change wasn't the worst. As for the VR, adults won't like it but if it looks like it's a VR mine craft then it will be a big hit. VR and gaming will definitely be a thing it's just a matter of Time before VR headsets become commercially viable. Then when it does Meta can say they were the first to do it.

Minecraft has an update it already works in Vr at least for oculus headsets I just think Vr is a minority interest 1 or 2 per cent of gamers play Vr games theres a few good games half life alyx i just think most people don't want to put on headsets to play games and there's so many free games on pc Xbox game pass Sony had Vr on the ps4. Not many people used it I listen to gaming podcasts I hear very few people even talking about Vr games I think it would take a major release to get new users interested eg half life 3 on Vr or maybe a really good fitness game that had a well designed exercise program

Maybe kids are spoiled there's so many free to play games to play like fortnite

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,600 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

So it's like saying I'd like two pints of Diageo and a packet of Largo Foods.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 433 ✭✭GoogleBot

The only thing comes to my mind with new brand name Meta is that they want to control entire internet. Which partially already true with those small facebook logos on every webpage and hidden trackers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,497 ✭✭✭AllForIt

I can't believe they called their company Meta after Metadata. Like someone said earlier they might as well have called it Ads. Incredibly stupid given how contentious an issue it is for companies to mine for personal data.

But they didn’t call themselves after metadata, and in any case metadata doesn’t mean personal data.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,717 ✭✭✭YFlyer

Does Facebook have a complaint feature? People can report you, you get into Facebook jail, but you can't counter it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,157 ✭✭✭Mister Vain

The end goal is to get everyone's brains connected to the internet.

People on Facebook, or People with an actual Brain?

I think meta is a good name it's hard to find a company name that has not been used and is simple . Of course many company's change their name when there's a scandal or bad news reports about them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,569 ✭✭✭dublinman1990

What a way to give a bad taste into people's mouths. I mean Meta as a new name as the owners of Facebook, WhatsApp & Instagram. It all sounds very puzzling to me.

People have come to realize at some point that when a controversial company like this one gets to reboot itself with a new cleaned up image presented to their own eyes; the big question that should be asked at this point is Will they buy into it?

I think the answer is a resounding no.

The very same people that have been plagued by the existence of Facebook since they began their time on it as new way to connect with people online has made them more self aware later on since going into adulthood. If they left once it was known to have wrecked their mental health. They won't go onto join this rebadged cesspool company again once it is now known as Meta once they go on into their formative years. That sort of effect on their own mental health does carry a big influence in how their decisions will be spread to their kids if they decide to use it in the future.

They will begin to grow more sceptical overtime as to how this company can overcome it's tarnished reputation of what it did to people up to now & back then in the past. If you had looked up this story in the media once you had already left the platform. Do you think you would be tempted to go back onto this platform again?

There should be an old saying around here that everyone's answers are going to be different so they suit their own circumstances. But does that outcome become more widespread when this question is being asked in front of them?

Will they say no rather than saying yes?

Post edited by dublinman1990 on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,145 ✭✭✭✭Wanderer78

is it possible to avoid tax, if you change your baptised name, just like burgers?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,569 ✭✭✭dublinman1990

Ah jaysus. This is embarrassing. 😂

It turns out that there is another company in the U.S. providing custom PC's to customers called Meta PC's. The name is already trademarked in the U.S. after Meta PC's have been in business for about a year.

Surely his multi million dollar a year legal teams were on this. Though when you're operating on the economics of nation states, maybe you think you're an independent country, with your own laws. Who filed first I wonder? Huge payoff for the small guy I reckon, who seems exactly the type of vendor beloved by gamers and geeks. https://www.metapcs.com/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,280 ✭✭✭✭Sleepy

It'll be a nice payday for the MetaPC guys. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,067 ✭✭✭✭Kermit.de.frog

I take it the Facebook app is retaining it's name and Facebook.com domain?

New startup splashscreen on WhatsApp. Ugh.

The symbol and logo together. Collective term, metabolixs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,157 ✭✭✭Mister Vain

The future of porn.

Especially with their VR goggles! Where do I sign up?

So you’re sitting there with your VR headset on, kecks around your knees, furiously playing a virtuoso solo on the belly trombone while fully immersed in some sordid virtual MILF 3-way, all this time oblivious to your family returning home early from the shopping and walking in on you in all your cyber onanistic glory.

At least with an old copy of the Danmart catalog and a stiff sock you can keep one hand on the curtains and an eye out for potential embarrassment.

• Registered Users Posts: 29 grassmoon

VR porn is the best thing ever.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,002 ✭✭✭Dufflecoat Fanny

I deleted my facebook and messenger account after seeing this ad. I'd nuke WhatsApp too but its all we use in work

Dufflecoat Fanny? Is that an alias on a VRPorn site? I have this image of an elderly lady flasher.... and that duffelcoat wooden button/toggle in your avatar looks suspiciously like....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,817 ✭✭✭Darc19

You have to ask for two packs of intersnax these days. 🤣