Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back a page or two to re-sync the thread and this will then show latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

The Irish protocol.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 69,741 ✭✭✭✭FrancieBrady

• Registered Users Posts: 23,876 ✭✭✭✭Kermit.de.frog

I think 11:30 but journalists saying not triggering Art 16, just an update on "progress"

• Registered Users Posts: 2,154 ✭✭✭opinionated3

Interesting timing, just as a group of manufacturers in NI have issued a statement in support of the protocol.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,391 ✭✭✭✭Furze99

We might contemplate leaving as it could be in the best interests of all the people on these islands. Is that not good enough?

It's called making the best of a bad situation.

What sort of solution do yous propose?

Brexit has fractured relations and the border has been used as political leverage by all sides in the debate.

You realise Francie the irony of you accusing the North of being a 'religious bigoted sectarian statelet'. You could say exactly the same about the Free State and subsequent Republic of Ireland - for those outside the Roman Catholic nationalist tradition, this state became a 'religious bigoted sectarian statelet' and in some ways remains so. Fanatical Unionism is precisely mirrored in Fanatical Nationalism and God knows, we have a lot of it knocking about.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,438 ✭✭✭Choochtown

So from manufacturing businesses in the North we get

"the best of both worlds" 

“absolutely critical for us grasp the opportunity that we have,"

“a very positive thing for Northern Ireland,"

“the protocol is something that Northern Ireland should cherish and develop, because it’ll offer us significant opportunity."

"The employment market is full, salaries are increasing. Those are not evidence of an economy in freefall. Those are evidence of an economy that’s trading and strong and robust “

"For us, it’s been nothing but positive. We’ve done very, very well. “

“source more locally, reduce their carbon footprint “

“it offers a competitive advantage”

and from unionist politicians we get ... what? "It makes us feel a teeny bit less British"

They are a disgrace with their attempts to f uc k up the lives of those they represent.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,508 ✭✭✭KildareP

Why in the name of sanity would anyone seriously contemplate Ireland leaving the EU to rejoin the UK?

Proposing this as a solution is akin to telling the abused partner they just need to love their abuser a little bit more and things will be OK. At least you'll be locked safely away at night!

Absolute nonsense.

If the UK wants to Brexit it's up to the UK to come up with the solutions that are in keeping with their obligations recent and past.

It is most certainly not for everyone else to dance to the UK's tune to give it what it wants to it's 100% complete satisfaction.

Put it this way - the present situation on the island of Ireland is not of the making of either Ireland or the EU!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,425 ✭✭✭PokeHerKing

These Islands.... I only care about my Island, Ireland.

So I repeat, what's your solution then????????????

That is exactly the definition of narrow minded Nationalism, one of humanities great curses. Be a patriot, not a nationalist.

• Moderators, Politics Moderators Posts: 40,204 Mod ✭✭✭✭Seth Brundle

Leaving the EU would be an incredibly stupid move economically or socially for Ireland and there are no indications that this might ever change.

As for Brexit being used by all sides in the debate as political leverage, you are forgetting (conveniently?) that the EU has always stated that it did not want the UK to leave and felt that all sides would suffer as a result. How exactly have they used it as leverage?

I repeat:

If the UK wants to Brexit it's up to the UK to come up with the solutions that are in keeping with their obligations recent and past.

It is most certainly not for everyone else to dance to the UK's tune to give it what it wants to it's 100% complete satisfaction.

Put it this way - the present situation on the island of Ireland is not of the making of either Ireland or the EU!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 352 ✭✭Snugbugrug28

Most of that is right yes but I don't think Protestant clergy are/were tools and certainly not all protestants were bad at any time. There has been a 'we are the masters' thing going on

Imagine suggesting that Ireland should join up with the UK when it's England who has thrown Northern Ireland into disarray just so Great Britain can get some trade deals worth 50p a person.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,425 ✭✭✭PokeHerKing

And by patriot you mean do what the UK Government do? To the detriment of our country? You need a dictionary amigo.

We have largely rejected the control of the CC, and dealt with what they did and are still dealing with it. I have certainly never denied what happened here.

Unionism has a long long way to go. They haven't in the main even accepted the wrongs that were done...much less put them right or properly hold to account those responsible. They are also steadfastly holding out in acquiescing to give full rights to all.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,629 ✭✭✭✭downcow

Don’t panic. We will still have all of the above but we will reach a compromise on Irish Sea checks. It’s win win.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,966 ✭✭✭fly_agaric

Your "solution" is awful. A cure much worse than the disease. You are definitely not a patriot. Advocating that Ireland commit hara kiri and also go against what both the public & government here desire (continued full EU membership) so right wing Tories and NI Unionists can have the best possible Brexit on their own terms could be viewed as somewhat, well...treasonous IMO. Both groups have always hated Ireland and opposed Good Friday Agreement anyway. This very right wing element in the Conservatives could be in power in the UK for a long while yet unfortunately, no actual guarantee the Good Friday Agreement survives their reign even if Ireland lights itself on fire to avoid an economic border with NI.

You don't seem to realise that WE are the losers in this fracture between the EU and the UK. If we could just pick up our wee island and drop it in the North Sea or Mediterranean, we'd be grand. The reality is that our geography has and always will have a major influence on how these matters affect us. It's no good throwing your hands in the air and saying it's all the Brits fault and it's up to them to fix it. Because we're the ones who are going to be f**ked.

We can live with it. That is the change. We are no longer dependent on what happens in the UK for our prosperity.

The UK don't seem to have realised that and have embarked on a 'use them' as a bartering chip strategy to try and rescue something from a disastrous 6 years of Brexit.

It has got them precisely no further on. The Protocol remains and will, if got rid of, result in a similar binding protocol keeping the trade border in the Irish Sea.

Unionism will continue to see that abstractly, as an actual separating border and take strategic steps to ensure that both physical borders and trade ones change.

The more the UK bully, the more people on this island will see where their future security and prosperity lies. Even in the north, the majority are happy with the Protocol as it is.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,117 ✭✭✭✭Junkyard Tom

Britain really is fortunate that the EU is a benevolent organisation, because if it wasn't it'd be getting economically throttled and pleading for mercy. I'm sure the Italians and Spanish would be only too happy to accomodate UK-based manufacturing, such as Nissan and Airbus, seeking to avoid trade friction in the GB.

Unionism lying about the effects should really be called out on this. Is there a single sector that is feeling adverse effects?

Protocol an opportunity not obstacle - NI manufacturers (rte.ie)

How?

If the UK does not align to EU standards, checks are required. That's why checks exist in the Irish Sea.

At the moment the delineation for those checks exist in the Irish Sea. If UK decides to align to EU standards, the need for these checks instantly disappear.

If, lets say, the NIP is scrapped, that checks in the Irish Sea is no longer applied by the UK, but let's say that the UK continues to refuse to align to EU standards.

Once checks aren't being done in the UK anymore, then there is no reason for the EU to allow NI retain the exclusive access to the Single Market for goods that it currently does.

The DUP et al will get exactly what they desire, to be aligned with the rest of the UK and be at one again with the party of "F**k Business". And good luck explaining that to industry who quite clearly recognise that overall the NIP gives them a distinct advantage over the rest of the UK.

So, again, unless the UK are going to align to EU standards, what compromises do you expect to happen and on whose side?

Bearing in mind, once again, that the UK have voluntarily, willingly - even triumphantly - signed itself up to everything that exists today in the NIP.

A patriot loves their country in all it's facets and seeks to improve it in their lifetime. Nationalism whether in our case that's Irish Nationalism, Unionist Nationalism or English Nationalism seeks to define differences by way of culture and thus divide people. Patriotism is a positive force for good. Nationalism is nearly always a destructive & negative force.

An Irish patriot should look to the best interests of Ireland as a whole and all it's people.

Brexit impacts us negatively no matter what. But it has happened and we aren't going to get a say in what the UK say or do going forward.

We simply have to accept it is what it is and try and fight our corner, thankfully, with the backing of the rest of the EU.

To simply throw our hands up in the air and go, right, well, we'll just rejoin the UK and everything will be OK somehow? How exactly?

You think the UK government are going to reward us for our loyalty, give us a pat on the back and go "Well done lads, thanks"?

You think the rEU are going to wish us well with a tear rolling down their cheek and a "don't be a stranger" farewell?

Not a chance.

Your suggestion of Ireland rejoining the UK as making the best of a bad situation is about as useful as suggesting everyone leave their windows, doors and cupboards wide open with the lights on 24/7 so that when someone decides to burgle you at least they don't smash your house up while doing so.

Our actions regarding the Protocol and the protection of all the people of this island is the very definition of a positive force for good.

We are not sectarianising it.

Look at wh is attempting to make it a Green V Orange issue. Get back to us then.

I get where you're coming from Francie and it's a reasonable position. The one thing I query is whether we can actually live with a rapidly fracturing relationship between the UK and the EU. I'm not sure we can actually live with that because it will have enormous impacts on the both the daily lives of people on this island and our business interests. What price are we prepared to pay? A trade war might effect some of the EU states to a limited extent but it would really screw us.

Post edited by [Deleted User] on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,576 ✭✭✭swampgas

The point is that we would be many times worse off outside the EU, with the current failing state of the UK as our neighbour, than we would be inside the EU with a failing UK state as our neighbour.

If there is damage to Ireland, it will be inflicted by the UK and we will deal with it. We will absolutely not be walked over or be pushed out of the EU, it simply makes no sense.

Nobody wants it to happen.

But we can live with it because the alternative cannot be.

The EU is our chosen future, until we choose something else we have to protect that. We have by all metrics persuaded the majority in the north of that too.

The ball, as to where we go next is firmly in the Unionist and UK court.