Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Relaxation of Restrictions, Part XII *Read OP For Mod Warnings*

• Registered Users Posts: 6,464 ✭✭✭MOH

It's surprising because they've been insisting for the past year that children aren't spreading it.

So it's completely baffling, why would you want to stop young kids going to birthdays when they're totally not spreading covid? Can only assume she just hates children and wants to make them cry, only thing that makes sense.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,604 ✭✭✭Amadan Dubh

It's dismaying that people lap up restrictions and can't wait to jump in a queue for boosters as they have bought the deflection "the virus can't be tamed and keeps the situation evolving".

• Registered Users Posts: 19,422 ✭✭✭✭everlast75

Who is laping up restrictions?

Who can't wait to get a booster?

No one I know.

What I am prepared to do is do what I am told in the hope that this clown show of a government gets this all sorted, probably by accident rather than design.

• Registered Users Posts: 620 ✭✭✭aidoh

I got myocarditis from the vaccine.

It was not a big deal whatsoever. Mild tightness in the chest, similar to the general tightness in the chest you get with a bad cold/flu (and presumably covid). Had to spend 8 hours in A and E (purely because I don't have private health care) only to be given some over the counter anti inflammatories. Had I not suspected it was vax related (which it was) I wouldn't have even bothered going to the GP about it.

I had a bad reaction aside from that - I only took it to get a break from Ireland for a week in the sun and I'm still glad I did. I will 110% not be taking a booster shot ever though.

That was in mid October and the A and E was absolutely crippled already, so I now understand first-hand the pressure our hospitals are under. It was like a warzone in there and I really felt for the hospital staff, who were amazing despite dealing with a very stressful environment. They're starting from such a low base already that even the mildest uptick in numbers will have them overrun (just like literally every year pre-covid).

Only difference is now that covid is a thing, the Government can gaslight the entire country into not socialising to PrOtEcT the VuLnErAbLe.

Restrictions are easier than fixing the HSE but the big worry is that the HSE clearly isn't going to be adequately resourced any time soon, so restrictions could feasibly be remained every winter even with an entirely vaccinated population.

If we effectively run our hospitals with a myopic obsession on keeping covid out at all costs, then longer term problems will continue to creep up (like missed cancer diagnoses for example, and I've heard or 3 such cases in the past couple of weeks alone).

Anyway, we're in for another announcement to save Christmas in a few weeks, which will roll into another actual lockdown because we'll all go mad (apparently), then open up again in March/April once everyone is boosted.

I hope not of course but that's my gut feeling right now.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,393 ✭✭✭Macy0161

I think there was an expectation that it would prevent more infection and spread. However, all the commentary was that it would become like the flu vaccine and require an annual dose.

• Registered Users Posts: 16,616 ✭✭✭✭astrofool

I think that's the closet you've ever got to admitting that vaccines work! (and sincerely fair play on responding to the error on your post).

• Registered Users Posts: 16,616 ✭✭✭✭astrofool

I think a lot of people would be shocked the amount of times myocarditis is encountered during illness with many common virus. It's the severity of it that can cause problems very fast.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,444 ✭✭✭showpony1

They have closed the nightclubs 2 hours early & literally nothing else the reaction is as if they brought back Level 5 lockdown and not going 2km from your house.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,556 ✭✭✭Micky 32

It’s a wonder travel hasn’t been blamed and targeted yet with self isolation and quarantine rules being brought back.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,812 ✭✭✭✭bear1

I'm waiting for them to start asking for PCR tests to enter Ireland again.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,035 ✭✭✭timmyntc

Waning immunity rendering the vaccines useless over time sounds like an anti-vaxxer conspiracy - have you any proof of this?

• Registered Users Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

Oh right, I don't remember the HSE metioning any possibility of myocarditis when I was vaccinated. They also didnt mention anything about its less than stellar prevention rate and wearing off in under six months

Given the HUGE level of testing that was done on these vaccines before they were approved, they must have known and just forgot to tell anyone. Given we knew **** all about the short term effects the medium and long term might be interesting. Be grand, sez you. Trust the science, which in this case is apparently a faulty crystal ball in NPHET HQ

And now here we are, vaccinated to the gills, Covid still doing the rounds regardless and pretending another lockdown will do the trick and its all the fault of those pesky unvaccinated even though countries with even higher vaccination rates than us are in the same boat.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,885 ✭✭✭dominatinMC

• Registered Users Posts: 4,528 ✭✭✭copeyhagen

Annual? has there ever been a mention of that officially?!!

• Registered Users Posts: 30,491 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

I think lot's of places are rushing to get lights, markets, etc all done now because they know they might be told to cancel them of they leave the time go on.

• Registered Users Posts: 620 ✭✭✭aidoh

I take your point but there is a certain feeling of inevitably around all this and I personally won't be surprised at all when further restrictions are introduced in the coming weeks.

We've been softened up to the possibility of further restrictions already and the media are fizzing at the thought of it, egging on the government and intentionally scaring the sh!t out of our more gullible compatriots.

I think the rest of us are also so worn out at this stage that we'll just go "yeah okay, whatever".

I do in fact hope I'm wrong. Please quote this post in a couple weeks if so and I'll happily say my bad!

• Registered Users Posts: 729 ✭✭✭SupplyandDemandZone

Boosters for whoever wants one and let anyone else just get on with it. Scrap the ridiculous covid pass it serves zero purpose

• Registered Users Posts: 7,857 ✭✭✭growleaves

'I'm prepared to do what I'm told'

We're 4.9 million yes men.

The restrictions will end when people demand an end to them.

The government themselves won't end the restrictions voluntarily.

Not because they are a cabal of lizard people conspiring but because they are bureaucratic managers by nature and their instinct to manage will never atrophy.

Stop accepting technocratic visions of life because until you do being separated from your family and friends and being thwarted in pursuing any kind of life will just be technical details in a health and safety management program.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,065 ✭✭✭✭Furze99

Perhaps but this is lining up as three doses this year.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,393 ✭✭✭Macy0161

The timing also ties in with flu season/ winter, when even in before times viruses spread more frequently.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 10,665 Mod ✭✭✭✭Hellrazer

The problem is Irish people dont generally protest so we`ll never demand an end to these ridiculous restrictions - we are like sheep.

If I was the head of either the LVA,VFI or RAI Id have every staff member and their families outside the Dail and bring Dublin city to a standstill until they lifted these restrictions - but none of these groups have any balls either to tackle the danger to their livlihoods.

However you can voice your opinion to your local TD -copy and paste the attached file to any email program and let rip at them.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,842 ✭✭✭Don't Chute!

Just imagine what they were like for your poor colleagues.

• Registered Users Posts: 15,069 ✭✭✭✭charlie14

Do you know of any government that had a plan in summer 2020 based on some unsourced mention of variants which, along with not being identified were not even identified as variants of concern or and why they were of concern, that was also based on there being vaccines available in the future and not knowing even if there may, how effective they would be ?

There are many areas in which I do not agree with this government, but attempting to give them a kicking based on a plan you somehow believe they should have had in summer 2020 that somehow should have included those two unknown variables is to me is just kicking for the sake of it.

I notice that you haven`t included what you believe the 2020 plan should have been when those two variables were still unknown ?

As to my "unsourced" ECDC report on variable, it took me just seconds to find it. SARS-Cov-2 variants of concern as of 12 November 2021.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,962 ✭✭✭✭JRant

If there's one thing I absolutely despise it's the use of that term "play dates". Where and how did this abomination make it into Irish society. Feck off with your play dates, children have friends over, end of.

Oh let's not forget Foley is another dose. Parents would be mental to listen to this advice after children have been deprived of so much over the past 18 months. Let them have friends over, go to parties etc. These lemons will probably look to shut those things down in the near future anyway so may as well get them in now. Plus, they are sitting in class with most of their friends all day anyway so it makes zero sense.

"Well, yeah, you know, that's just, like, your opinion, man"

• Registered Users Posts: 15,069 ✭✭✭✭charlie14

What are you on about now ?

Does waning not obviously mean a waning in efficacy, and that a booster with over 98% efficacy will increase their effectiveness.

Where do you see in that an anti- vaxxer conspiracy ?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,444 ✭✭✭showpony1

I did find on week of the October 22nd lifting of restrictions and after the way NPHET were talking about keeping socializing/contacts down as they are literally opening all the nightclubs/concerts etc. very strange.

• Registered Users Posts: 975 ✭✭✭Parachutes

Inevitably, when everyone gets the booster you’ll be harping on “The 4th jab will bring us back to normality” You’ve said this at every turn. It’s always the next thing that will bring us back to normality but it never does, always more excuses down the line. Like a broken record at this stage.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,476 ✭✭✭floorpie

The usuals in this thread have called "waning" a looney anti-vaxx science-denier conspiracy theory since it was mentioned as a risk 6 months ago. Just a few weeks ago in fact. Even when shown papers from Pfizer describing the rate of waning.

Imagine you were saying in June that people would need another vaccine before the end of the year?..