Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Will there be another lockdown?

• Registered Users Posts: 9,972 ✭✭✭Degag

Because things change rapidly with this pandemic. Ergo, you aren’t going to say definitively that restrictions will come into force in 3 weeks time.

It’s going to be (and has been) more fluid than that.

The alternative explanation is that they never had any intention of relaxing restrictions.

This isn't the thread for it, but I just don't see restrictions being fully relaxed. There was never a level 0 in any of the living with covid plans. Level 1 was full of restrictions. I just don't see nphet ever not being concerned. Cases and the health service are always going to be the metric. We're close to 100% of the eligible population vaccinated and still there are heavy restrictions. This is really as good as it gets.

I think the hospitals are the obvious issue at the moment. We are largely restriction free currently even with that threat.

I think if the hospitals were in a better position then we’d be pretty much restriction free now, barring masks perhaps and some other high risk activities.

The 5% are causing alot of these issues ironically.

• Registered Users Posts: 107 ✭✭Moragle

I've had my booster as a health care worker. I'm also 18 weeks pregnant. Nothing fascist about it. I just feel that I'd like my child to live

• Registered Users Posts: 9,767 ✭✭✭hynesie08

At any stage, do you get embarrassed falling for this every time?

• Registered Users Posts: 9,767 ✭✭✭hynesie08

But my friends friends sisters brothers hairdressers fella got a WhatsApp saying we were definitely locking down?

• Registered Users Posts: 6,917 ✭✭✭El Gato De Negocios

It wouldn't at all surprise me to see some form of lockdown/more stringent restrictions/call it what you will, come early December. A 2 week "circuit breaker" to allow people to have a "meaningful Christmas". People will go absolutely balubas over the Christmas period anyway which will drive cases so the logical option is to try and stem the tide before the floodgates ultimately open.

You'd have a pain in your bollix with the whole fuckin lot of it. 🙄

• Registered Users Posts: 20,186 ✭✭✭✭El_Duderino 09

The term 2 week circuit breaker was used but did any country successfully do a 2 week circuit breaker? I remember countries doing lockdowns but I don't remember them lasting only 2 weeks.

As far as I can tell, lockdown takes far more than 2 weeks to actually have an effect. So the choices are clear. Lock down now and skip Christmas or have Christmas while the numbers get ever higher and have a longer lockdown in January. Take your pick.

Will anyone nail their colours to the mast and say which of the available options they choose? I suspect there will be far more Captians Hindsight who lazily wait for the government to decide which approach they're taking and then declare they would much prefer the other option.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,468 ✭✭✭✭Dav010

I think most people understand the distinction between a “document” sent by a Government Dept and one sent by the VFI.

• Registered Users Posts: 18,573 ✭✭✭✭kippy

That's a highly privileged definition of a lockdown.

• Registered Users Posts: 18,573 ✭✭✭✭kippy

The hospital's have always been the issue. Moreso now when we have s vaccine but cannot live with covid until we have more healthcare infrastructure.

Now is the time to reform the health sector.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,226 ✭✭✭Valhallapt

Children / grand children not allowed to go see parents / grandparents.

you seem to have a highly Dickensian view of what lockdown is. Sorry not everyone married within the 5km rule.

• Registered Users Posts: 692 ✭✭✭cheezums

Sounds like a lockdown is not going to happen. Fair play to NPHET for holding firm. The anti restrictions crowd will need something else to get outraged about.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,147 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

I'd be surprised myself at a lockdown before Christmas. It would be too economically and psychologically damaging. I could see them panic if we got another post Christmas spike like last year.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Registered Users Posts: 32,136 ✭✭✭✭is_that_so

That's what they came out with a week or so ago. It's just planning and also not to assume normality this year and by the looks of things the public are cancelling plans anyway.

I don't think we'll have a lockdown again unless it is absolutely necessary.

I don't think we have the money to do it and I think people are starting to see that they don't work anyways.

If it was free we'd be sitting in lockdown for the next year's.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,147 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

This. When looking at how things will work in the future or now, my goto position is to look at two things; human nature and follow the money.

People are tired of it all now. The initial panic of corpses lining the streets is long gone. The vast majority of those who died from it are around the average age of longevity anyway and the vast majority have serious underlying conditions. The majority have been vaccinated, especially the older and health compromised. The pandemic itself while tragic for those who did die from this bastard pox is actually the least deadly in history. People's mental and financial health have been seriously compromised. Governments and many businesses are running out of money. Another lockdown will be a very hard sell, as we've seen in Europe where the governments have tried. The angry protests are one thing, quite another are the numbers of people tacitly ignoring the rules when they can.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Registered Users Posts: 870 ✭✭✭DarkJager21

Neither is also a viable option. At this point with our vaccination rates they simply have to tough it out - imagine the optics across Europe and the world seeing a country with 90% vaccination rate going in to a lockdown again - it’s a white flag that the vaccines won’t end this either. Some indoor restrictions likely and probably going to be a miserable winter for the unvaccinated/those without certs but a full lockdown just isn’t coming.

I'd say they're expecting a post Christmas spike. He numbers aren't coming down so the only way for them to go over the Christmas weeks is up.

People talk a lot about Christmas day and sitting around the table spreading covid. I'd say that's The least of it. You're probably far more likely to pick up covid on a crowded 20 minute bus journey than a Christmas day in a house with 5 family members. I'd say the numbers will go up from the socialising, office parties, additional high street shopping and other Christmas activities. But those things involve spending money and businesses making money.

Pubs, restaurants and shops would be hit far harder by closing in December than closing in January. I've been saying I think they will try to stay open for Christmas and impose the necessary restrictions in January.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,249 ✭✭✭Gusser09

Agree with most of this. That's why I do believe that any talk of cancelling Christmas socializing is premature. As long as it's done in a safe and Covid concious manner than people should enjoy themselves this year. I don't think we should be considering asking people not mix this year for a second year in a row. 2 Weeks is a lifetime when it comes to hospital numbers etc.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,249 ✭✭✭Gusser09

• Registered Users Posts: 808 ✭✭✭Butson

Supposed to be getting married at end of February, 170 invited.

Not sure what to do. The joys.

Are you suggesting we should base our policy on the optics? It's a cute idea but not realistic. Based on how the government behaved in the past, how do you honestly think they will behave in the next couple of months?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,098 ✭✭✭Mr. teddywinkles

That and if they want people to take up the booster. No point if we're still carrying on like its 2020 again.

Locking down would send all the wrong messages to the public.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,325 ✭✭✭iLikeWaffles

With this tried and tested **** attitude you can only be sure things will get a lot worse. Those "who" died from it, don't you mean those that are dying from it - this is far from over. Yet the majority of people including those that are making decisions think we're in the clear, we are where we are because the underlining condition or communicated position from those making the decisions has been 'you're okay if you're vaccinated'; not at all the case! Yes it adds more protection... from you know death, but it is not infallible. You can still catch it, you can still spread it, and you may still die. Locking down was never about the healthy it was about protecting the vulnerable. That being the elderly, immunocompromised, hospitals capacity and those who have no choice but to be on the front line - Fire Services, Doctors/Nurses, Garda, Essential Workers to name just some. Another lock down should have already happened and the thing about lockdowns is that when they do happen earlier they do not have to last as long. The number of cases rising so suddenly speaks volumes that a lockdown should have already been in place or at the very least more stringent measures to keep it from getting out of hand, it has, is, and can get more out of hand. The Governments position of laying blame on those who are unvaccinated is the easiest route out of how badly the Government is and has handled things as far as opening up is concerned - to simplify, everything happened way too fast because of lobbyist pressure. Also trivialising it to be the "least deadly in history" doesn't make it any better in fact that position and attitude is why we are where we are - it has been underestimated at every strategic turn so I've little choice but to lump you in with the idiots on social media spreading misinformation and scaremongering with each one of their replies on this one Wibbs. Another lockdown here will not incite the same riots or angry protests to the volume that is being seen all over Europe, it took us 800 years to finally stand up for ourselves and overthrow British rule and we can't even stand with the Farmers, Teachers or anyone else that gets fucked over or ignored daily by the parties that have been in power for far too long. So it is one thing to be blaming people tactically ignoring guidelines and quite another when there is actually no official restrictions in place which does help to lower transmission.

• Registered Users Posts: 19,412 ✭✭✭✭Donald Trump

My advice would be to call it off

Nothing to do with covid .....just take your chance and run while you still can 😋

Its an incredible sentiment. Ignore the reality because it wouldn't look good? If the situation isn't good then I'd prefer them to act on that reality.

Having nice optics would be good if the situation is good. If the situation isn't good then it's unlikely to have nice optics, but that's just the reality.

Well have to see how the situation IS after Christmas and then worry about how it LOOKS.

• Registered Users Posts: 870 ✭✭✭DarkJager21

You are misinterpreting the point I was making - what do you think the news of a country with nearly it's entire population vaccinated jumping back in to lockdown would do for vaccine programs across Europe? At a time when countries are nearly forcing people to get the jab because of the low take up? This isn't simply about Ireland at this point - we've led the way on vaccination and now we need to display that we can get on with it.

The situation isn't good because we have a poor excuse for a health service, the numbers themselves are nothing at all to be concerned about given our population size but everyone has their eyes on the ICU figure. If we had a properly structured, resourced and efficiently run health service we would not even be discussing any of this right now.