Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Garda Recruitment 4th Quarter

• Registered Users Posts: 173 ✭✭AF96DUB

(deleted)

• Registered Users Posts: 15 JPS881

I wonder on average how many people actually apply for this campaign?

Its tough to say, but many predict upwards of 10k+ being possible at this point. A large number of people drop out at every stage, including right after submitting the application, they never show for the stage 1 exams, and so on.

Worth bearing in mind that on any given year, there is only ever going to be certain amount of what we'll call "serious applicants".

What does that mean for somebody who is preparing extensively themselves? It means there is unlikely to be many more people with whom you end up competinge with in the end, so you neednt be overly concerned about losing your place due to volume.

More likely is that you may be called later than you otherwise would have, but as usual thats a maths game, and is down to how well you perform.

It all depends on how well you perform. I am just curious if all of you were successful what specialist route would you go down in the guards? Or maybe would you choose to stay as a garda on the beat. One of the main reasons why I am applying is I am very interested in the criminology side of law. Down the line as garda I would love to become a detective.

I think becoming a detective is a reasonable long term goal to have for sure. To be honest, I wouldnt discoruage anybody from pursuing the area they feel appeals to them, the one exception being those few who intend to join with the sole purpose of being xyz, and wanting to get there asap - that will never end well.

From my own perspective, my first goal is to get into the uniform, I'm happy to be putting that on for a number of years. From the outside(ish) in, I'd love to give the local crime or drugs units a go, like yourself, the detective side of things will probably be what I am for long term.

I've no interest in working my way up the 'ranks' asap and get behind a desk, I'm sitting behind one of those as we speak and much better paid for doing so, the change is what I need.

Hey is the 800new recruits separate to the 600 they were to take on for this year?

Ditser I'm a bit relieved to hear that :) Rmot I'm finding them soooo hard the verbal.I am fecked if numerical reasoning comes up 😤

Me and Zuk text each other by WhatsApp so if anyone want to join us feel free to say and we can add you in.I don't use this Boards.ie much so I just find whatsapp easier for exchanging info about the recruitment.🙂

Cool add me in !

• Registered Users Posts: 58 ✭✭Iceomatrix

Would love to be added in too!

No bother, dm Lou your number there and she can add you.

• Registered Users Posts: 30 jonaldinho

What is the average age of people who make it to Templemore? I know 35 is the age limit but what would be the average age of applicants. I am 30 next year and am going to apply when the next recruitment opens up. Always wanted to apply and went through a few stages previously, however i was not in a fincancial position at the time to leave a better paid job. That has changed now and I would be looking to apply however just wondering how people in their 30s found it etc.

Any word on the average ages tends to vary between intakes and their reporting of it is inconsistent from what I can tell.

In the whatsapp group for 'soon to be applicants', the age range varies a lot, of the 20 or so, there are 2 people at 19/20 and then 3-4 more approximately 30, with the rest falling somewhere in between.

Like anything there would be pluses and minuses to being on the older side, but given the choice I'd go in with as much experience of life as possible, especially if soime of that was college or university and travelling.

• Registered Users Posts: 30 jonaldinho

Thanks for that reply. Id definitely feel more ready for it now. Certainly more ready than when I left school but even since a few years back. Just wondering, could i be added to that whatsapp group?

No bother at all, I feel the exact same myself.

Absolutely, feel free to dm me your number and first name and ill have you added.

• Registered Users Posts: 5 Jaf89

FYI - Kilroy college is doing a black Friday sale on the Garda Stage 1 interview prep course.

@Zux I sent you a dm with my name / number, can you please add me to the group?

You got it!

• Registered Users Posts: 88 ✭✭Physeter

Thanks for starting this thread - we finally have a home! @Zux I'd appreciate if you could add me into the WhatsApp group, I'll dm you now.

• Registered Users Posts: 2 shauna2020

@Zux would you mind adding me in too please. ill dm you now

Yep, will do!

• Registered Users Posts: 17 Mxrrk

Could you add me aswell please mate? It won’t let me pm you

• Registered Users Posts: 50 ✭✭Tashajulia1993

Hey can you add me in too if thIs is still going?

• Registered Users Posts: 3 Mochua96

Could I please be added to the WhatsApp group aswell? I would really appreciate it!

• Registered Users Posts: 29 LP404

Hi if the WhatsApp group is still going can I be added in too?

• Registered Users Posts: 2 siwezz

Could you also add me to the WhatsApp group chat too?

• Registered Users Posts: 21 Flyingfast

Hey all! Could somebody please add me to the WhatsApp chat if it’s still active. Thanks

• Registered Users Posts: 257 ✭✭Hyneser03

Hi all can someone add me to the WhatsApp group to thanks

• Registered Users Posts: 79 ✭✭PCO2019

Hi folks,

can I be added to the WhatsApp ? Thanks a mill.

• Registered Users Posts: 49 Irishguy215702

just a few things for applicants to consider when applying for the guards and need to go into it with eyes open:

Pension: many people join thinking the pension is great. we get fed this from our parents who are basing it on their era from their age. anyone joining post 2013 the pension is disgraceful. you will get about 215-230 euro a week when you reture at 60, which is in line with the old age pension which everyone in none state jobs get. when you join a station you will quickly be told of this and advised to pay into your own AVC to supplement your poor garda pension. this fact is kept very quiet as it no doubt will affect peoples thinking when applying for this job and correctly so. the lump sum payment at retirement has also been slashed since 2013. nobody realises this and isnt publicised about in the media nor will you find it marketed by the guards as a reason to join as it doesnt exist anymore. people are walking in blind thinking great pension setting me up for life

Rosters: as you may have read rosters are under discussion. despite the current one proposed being rejected by the GRA for non core guards to be working 78 days extra a year working 7 days on, 2 days off, 7 days on 3 days off on 9 to 5 hrs, and lose thousands due to not working to non social hours. this new roster is still going live despite rejection from the people it affects most resulting in extra childcare fees due to working more days, fuel costs for travelling to work more often. management have power to do this without consent which is shocking in the day and age of work life balance and 4 day weeks being considered by private sector employers now.

Work: I appreciate many have wanted to be guards since childhood and want it desperately for whatever is their reasons. if its for the day to day work then be prepared that it is all paper work orientated. everything is reports, duplication and beurocracy which snows everyone under. helping decent people is actually rare who for the majority will rarely come into contact with guards in their lives but to get passports sorted etc. you will mainly be refereeing domestics with people who call you to get one over on an ex partner due to child custody or if its current partners they will later withdraw complaints but for it to start again further down the line, mental health persons which you are not trained to deal with, frauds which you will be beating your head off a wall trying to progress but cant due to banks delaying you and outside of this any other crimes tend to be between one low life against another one or wrestling with drunk lads on cold rainy nights out facing taking a punch or a kick.

morale is rock bottom in the job, people are resigning in their droves as they see the realities and the work load expected of them, the day of staying in the job until retirement is in the past now which used to be the case for sure. i know many will view this as overly negative summary of the job so what i would advise is before following through with it talk to others you know in the job and hear what they have to say first. i dont know anyone in it that would recommend it anyways.