Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

To Mask or not to two - Mask Megathread cont.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,446 ✭✭✭Seanergy

"Our teachers"

I had a funny feeling you were still in primary school.

A well fitted mask does not require adjusting. The problem is not the children or the mask it's your mask attitude and level of education.

Sloppy fitting masks move just as masks that catch on stuble move. Quality mask education needed.

Children wear masks better than parents expect.

No, it's practical advice, but you knew this already, didn't you.

But what maybe you didn't know because their has been no public leader yet is that guidance has been updated to include airborne transmission.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,921 ✭✭✭Bananaleaf

Says it all that yer one doesn't even have kids herself.

Ah sure leave them at it and we'll go stock up on popcorn for when they're on here in January wailing that they don't know their Busy at Maths from their Bun go Barr 😆

M-alteasers goes well with popcorn.

The threat to pull children from schools may have been weighed up as potential harms(collateral damage) in April by the HIQA EAG members when the NPC 'reported' "concerned individuals acting indendently" but the game has changed now that NPHET have side stepped HIQA.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,839 ✭✭✭mcsean2163

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,677 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

I think the poster is nearly promoting more people to email them with all their posts about.

• Registered Users Posts: 150 ✭✭Teacher2020

How is mask wearing in children worse than physically restraining them in a car or a buggy?

No one wants to be wearing masks but we do it to keep each other safe.

What is the alternative? That we stay at home and go back to online learning. IMO they should be wearing them from Junior infants up but from 3rd class up is a good start.

I would do anything to keep schools open - they are better off in school wearing masks than at home not wearing them. Local arrangements can apply if children have hearing impairments or special needs - schools are used to differentiating accordingly based on the child's individual needs - this would be no different.

• Registered Users Posts: 289 ✭✭hesaidshesaid

I teach 5th class. Today there were 22 kids present (the rest off sick). 19 of them wore masks. We all survived grand. People totally underestimate kids.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,066 ✭✭✭xhomelezz

I think the poster is showing the level of stupidity of texters in pictures provided.

Imagine doing a quick vox pop with the kids at the breakfast table to see if they wanted to wear seat belts.

Mary I was the super spreader McCarthy in a nutshell.

When you follow the link from the HSE TWEET you get types of face coverings.

Cormican has to go. This is absurd ignorance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,332 ✭✭✭ginoginelli

Thats just straight up lies. Proper ffp level valved masks protect the wearer. In a recent(ish )study good quality valved masks were shown to equally protect as much as surgical mask as well. Maybe that's changed now though? As I saw in Hong kong they were blaming them for infecting someone in quarantine, saying they only protected the wearer. So maybe somebody can provide an update on that?

On cormican, He is dangerously incompetent. Hes responsible for two colossal errors in the pandemic. Our stance on masks, and stopping contact tracing in schools. Theres probably other stuff behind the scenes as well.

The fact that the man still has any influence says a lot about the hse.

No surprise the Journal turned the comments off for this article.

Anti-mask groups used Telegram to bombard National Parents Council over child facemask rules.

Where were you looking?

25 for 25. 5 packs of 5.

50 for 100. Not sure about wrapping.

10 for 10. Individually wrapped.

Obviously buying from non reputable sources carries more risk of masks not being up to advertised spec. Whatever FFP2 you do buy, preform a light test with each mask before donning. Also it is very informative to cut open one of the masks to inspect the quality of the media, even better if you have a microscope at hand. If there are no holes from the induction process and the media looks of high quality, chances are the mask meets the spec with which it was advertised at.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,677 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

Ya, that's what they seem to go by from my experience.

I know a few weeks ago if you were going into a hospital as a day patient or visitor you weren't let into the hospital with cloth mask or one of the vented ones. You were provided with a mask mask by somebody.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,494 ✭✭✭fun loving criminal

They're making kids mask up. The more I think about it, the more crazy it sounds.

I'm all for throwing everything at this, after all you need to do whatever it takes, wear masks, ventilation, handwashing, reduce contacts, stay home when sick.

What I don't understand are people going around with those plastic shields and no mask under it. The Philippines had mandatory face masks and mandatory face shield on top of that as well. There needs to be a ban on these things here because people here think a face shield is enough. No it's not.

It's complete madness to be doing these measures in bits, over a year and a half and now someone thinks it's ok to mask up kids but they won't work on other measures.

@fun loving criminal

It's crazy that kids weren't masked up earlier. Cases are rocketing currently in the 5-11 group.

It should be said in the guidance how visors work don't work. But instead they are described as "not the best option for protecting". The comms around visors has been brutal.

The "read more about who may be advised to wear a visor" link leads to this.

Many people who have trouble breathing should wear masks and should not be encourgaed to wear visors.

Primary pupils from 3rd class up to wear face coverings until February.

The Department of Education will issue guidelines to schools later this evening, which will also include what exemptions will apply.

The new rule, which was recommended by Nphet last week, is to take effect immediately, and will be reviewed in February.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,290 ✭✭✭BruteStock

The UK are all in agreement that kids shouldn't be masked. Either they're wrong or we're right. Since this is a universal disease it only makes sense we should be all following the same guidelines.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,284 ✭✭✭Hippodrome Song Owl

Thanks, those were the some of the places I had looked, and Promed I think and a few others that came up. Even in those links it's €1-€2 a mask - quite a difference. So are they all reputable? And is there any reason for the €2 ones over the €1 ones?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,320 ✭✭✭✭odyssey06

Not really. Masks were mandatory in England until June... then didnt have masks for anyone. Now they have them mandatory again.

In response to the epidemiological situation.

Some countries have curfews as a measure. Some close indoor hospitality. Some push for WFH.

Its about utilising different measures to reduce transmission to a case / hospitalisation count the country can carry ... bearing in mind each measure has costs / impacts.

"To follow knowledge like a sinking star..." (Tennyson's Ulysses)

Volume wise I would suggest you start small until you find the shape/mask that works for you. That way if they don't fit your face well, pass them onto someone else to try and go find the perfect model/make for your face.

All 3 above came with the same cerification as the promed one you were looking at so after that it is down to size, shape and fit. After replying to you earlier I went and ordered 25 for 25 from fitzmedicalsupplies as someone asked me to grab a few P2's for them. I can provide feedback in a week if you ask.

Note THE €2 ones are behind the head ties = which as a general rule of thumb = better fit. But some don't like it on the back of the head/hair. I haven't tried the Haylard media but I believe it is excellent media. UK made so defo not counterfit.

If the fit is a bit slack on the earloop ones I tend to shorten the earloop slightly(tie a knot) and that increases my fit to near perfect. Just buy from pharmacies and or medical supply centers, as better chance of not being counterfit. Once it fits your face well, you've done your light check and inspected the internal media by cutting open and testing with a microscope OR holding each layer to the light to inspect for descrepancies your at the nearly as good as it gets stage.

Certainly buying in bulk at 10 for 10 or 20 for 20 makes far more sense than buying 2 for 7/8 euro.

Firm advice just sent to all principles. Felxibility to be shown for the first couple of days.

Pupils from third class and up in primary schools are required to wear a face mask or covering, and any claim that a child is exempt must be backed up by a medical certificate, the Department of Education has told schools.

In guidance sent to schools, it says that where a medical certificate is not provided a child or staff member will be refused entry to the school.

However, it also states that in some cases schools will be best placed to identify children whose complex needs are such that the wearing of face coverings may not be possible for them and in such circumstances a medical certificate will not be required for exemption.

The direction is far stronger than was expected, and has been met with shock by some school principals. One school principal, speaking to RTÉ News, said the instruction at short notice was disrespectful to children and school communities.

The Department of Education told RTÉ News that while the instruction regarding face masks applies from tomorrow, schools should show "flexibility" for the first couple of days, while families become accustomed to the new procedures.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,138 ✭✭✭✭Potential-Monke

I'd tend to think we're right on this one. Asian countries have been wearing masks since the 50s, we're just well behind the curve. They also wear the mask when they're not feeling great to protect others. You think the Irish would do that? John-O with his luminous phlegm on a good day won't wear one during a pandemic, not a hope he'd wear one to protect others from his own illness.

They're children, they'll get used to it just like anything else. And by all accounts, most kids seem to want to wear them, unlike their adult counterparts who think their rights are being infringed....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,503 ✭✭✭✭Mad_maxx

anytime you hear someone say " the kids - my kids want to wear them "

you can be full sure said kids were heavily encouraged - influenced by their parents to hold that view

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,138 ✭✭✭✭Potential-Monke

I'd be thinking the opposite. Kids are seeing the vast majority of adults wearing them, so I've no doubt they want to wear them too, that's what kids do. I'd be of the opinion that if a kid said they don't, that is the parents heavily influencing them. FFS, I used to tear up napkins at dinners and make masks out of them, kids love wearing things! Or so I believe. Wouldn't have one if you paid me!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,332 ✭✭✭ginoginelli

Just watching Donnelly on primetime. He was being questioned on the bizzare advice from the hse department on ventilation - AMRIC- that stated that hepa filters in school are not necessary. This is contray to advice from nphet, as well as a specialist group set up by goverment earlier in the year, as well as every scientist worth their salt.

My curiosity piqued at such a counterintuitive outlook. I became suspicious. There was at an all too familiar stench of incompetence about this. A quick google confirmed my worst fears. Guess who is the clinical lead of this AMRIC group? None other than our favourite saboteur in chief Professor Martin Cormican.

There seems to be no limits to the mans unchecked malfeasance.

This **** fool also sits on HIQA btw. No doubt he was as vehemently opposed to masking children as he was to the rest of the population before he got overruled.

Are goverment even aware of the damage this clown as done during the pandemic? Hes built his whole career on the merits of handwashing and seems to not even consider other forms of transmission. I wonder does he even accept the virus is airborne? It's like the acceptance of it might diminish his lifes work in his own eyes, so instead he continues to stubbornly trudge forward with outdated science and a defunct objective that's to the detriment of the entire country.

Martin Cormican is a dangerous idiot.