Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Travel to the states

• 13-09-2021 12:52pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,341 ✭✭✭

Has anyone traveled or attempted to travel recently on an ESTA visa. Just wondering what are the checks here in Dublin. Fully aware they're not open to travel pretty much from the EU

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,205 ✭✭✭✭Caranica

An ESTA is not a visa, it's a visa waiver.

Airlines are checking at the airport and then US immigration. Unless you qualify for one of the few exemptions you won't get through.

My friend has a green card and was home for a wedding. Had no problems at the airport but saw plenty of people having issues/being turned away at check in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 322 ✭✭Fiyatoe

Have you a green card / citizenship to US?

We're going to cancel our trip scheduled for Christmas to Florida by mid October - as it really doesn't look like it's going to open to anyone.

Different travel agents and news articles remain hopeful that US borders will open for thanksgiving/Xmas, I think that's just travel industry propaganda to get people to continue booking, when in reality there's slim chances.

Cases aren't good there it seems and they've the lowest vaccination rate among G7 countries.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,201 ✭✭✭benny79

Really? Thats shocking taught the states were flying it and dint really care if you were vaccinated or not once you get a test! Isn't Florida not even recognising the vaccine? Im meant to be going to Florida the end of Jan on a golfing trip. What are the chances of this happening?

not sure about january, but at the moment you definitely can't enter USA unless you're a citizen, have a work visa or a few other exemptions I'm not sure about.

Keep up to date with the latest news on the USA customs/border website.

Believe me I've looked into it , this was a trip of a lifetime for us so we're devastated!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,201 ✭✭✭benny79

Yeah ares is a trip of a lifetime too One of the lads travels alot to the states for work too. Bit of a joke since Americans are allowed travel here!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,501 ✭✭✭lonestargirl

I've travelled twice on an ESTA (I'm exempt from the proclamation). They are very thorough! I went to secondary both times and had my supporting documents examined. Very pleasant though and no issues as I had all that I need. I did see people turned away both times, not a hope you would get it if you shouldn't.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 85,540 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    GDY151

The next travel update is next Tuesday 21st. Another option is go via an approved third country like Canada or Mexico, spent 14 days there before entering US, expensive but an option.

Boris Johnson visiting US same day, lets hope that's a possible date for change.

Post edited by Atlantic Dawn on

thanks atlantic dawn, great info. We're going to reserve 2 accomms in dubai & Lanzarote on booking . com anyway so we're prepared if America is still not opened by October.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,584 ✭✭✭✭Creamy Goodness

Curious as to where you got the 21st date from? Not questioning it just wondering as I'm due to head to a family wedding in October and had planned to cancel the trip on the 22nd.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,962 ✭✭✭endofrainbow

Latest indicators are it won't be until U.S. midterm elections. Can't see it opening before Jan/Feb..

Huge spike in infections post Thanksgiving and Christmas last year . So probably New Year at least before decisions will be made.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,341 ✭✭✭ssmith6287

They are looking at the Canada and Mexico land border on 21st. My feeling is if that stays closed then there is little hope for Ire/UK/Schengen to travel. Im supposed to go over for Oct 28 for the Rugby but Im looking to change it for Feb. Hopefully there's a bit of cop on by then. They allow most of the world in, just not the most vaccinated countries

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,584 ✭✭✭✭Creamy Goodness

Appreciate the response, yeah it's a bit non-sensical tbh, head to Glendalough or Powerscourt on any given day here and you'll bump into a good few Americans (well not bump, you'll hear them before you bump into them). It's super frustrating.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 554 ✭✭✭brownbinman

"Breaking news: Vaccinated passengers will be able to travel to the US from the EU and UK from November onwards, the Biden administration will announce on Monday, in a major diplomatic victory for Brussels and London"

According to the FT https://www.ft.com/content/ed63aca3-baf7-4e6c-90bb-5630cef34c01

Confirmed but no details on what vaccines, bearing in mind AZ isn't licensed in the US. Also still that vague "early November"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43 maeve99

Not to go off topic but I just have to say it's ironic how America only implemented serious entry bans after Trump's exit out of the oval office. Failed to do it in his four years and COVID seems to have made it possible.

GDY151

Looking at a trip later in the year, it's gone up by about €100 since lunchtime. It's a complete gamble as to what to do next, wait until more flights are assigned to the same routes and prices perhaps drop or go as is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 360 ✭✭Humour Me

I would be checking if my travel insurance will cover any medical expenses/ travel expenses due to COVID before I would book any flights. Nightmare scenario, you test positive over there and end up with a medical bill that your insurance won’t cover.

He did but got rid of it before he left. Biden reintroduced it in Jan

Im sickened my flights were booked for 28 Oct. If they open on Nov 1st I will prob have a little cry

Any way rebooked trip for feb so this thread can be closed if you wish

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 648 ✭✭✭Conversations 3

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 556 ✭✭✭Kerry25x

Anyone know if you need a PCR test to transit through an American airport?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 626 ✭✭✭niallo32

Only an Antigen is needed. I transited through Boston from Canada on Wednesday

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 556 ✭✭✭Kerry25x

GDY151

If the test isn't real-time supervised it won't be accepted, doesn't appear to be supervised looking at the steps on their website.

This from CDC...

The testing procedure must include a telehealth service affiliated with the manufacturer of the test that provides real-time supervision remotely through an audio and video connection. Some FDA-authorized self-tests that include a telehealth service may require a prescription.

https://www.cdc.gov/coronavirus/2019-ncov/travelers/testing-international-air-travelers.html

The antigen test at Randox is €35 euro and is sufficient.

The only other at home kits that satisfy the CDC or US travel authorities is the Binax NOW (w/telehealth). I brought some things back to my house in Ireland including a test kit and used it for my return.

GDY151

Is there full compatibility with the VeriFLY App for both testing companies at Dublin Airport? I can't see any mention of it on their webpages.

https://booking.randox.ie/

https://rocdochealthcheck.ie/

Yes. You will get a PDF which is your results/certificate and you can upload that as proof.

Will the antigen tests at a local pharmacy be sufficient for entry to the USA?

They are done in store and you get an EU covid certificate for verification.

I think so. As long as you can verify the result and that it's not one your performed yourself, I'd say you are grand.

Thanks, I'll confirm with the chemist when I get it done and post a copy of the cert

GDY151

Think it should once it satifies the documentation requirements, the result needs to include the following...

A test result must be in the form of written documentation (paper or digital copy). The documentation must include:

1. Type of test (indicating it is a NAAT or antigen test)
    2. Entity issuing the result (e.g., laboratory, healthcare entity, or telehealth service)
    3. Sample collection date
      • A negative test result must show the sample was taken no more than 3 days before the flight for air passengers who have proof of being fully vaccinated, or no more than 1 day before the flight if the air passenger is not fully vaccinated.
      • A positive test result for documentation of recovery from COVID-19 must show the sample was taken within the 90 days before the flight.
    4. Information that identifies the person (full name plus at least one other identifier such as date of birth or passport number)
    5. Test result

Before boarding a flight to the U.S., you will need to show a paper or digital copy of your test result for review by the airline and for review upon request by public health officials after you arrive in the U.S.

https://www.cdc.gov/coronavirus/2019-ncov/travelers/testing-international-air-travelers.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,272 ✭✭✭Barna77

With the talk of quarantine on arrival to the US, that's it, I'm cancelling my trip to the US :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,132 ✭✭✭andrew1977

Yes the are sufficient, my sister got one done in our local chemist and took off to America this morning no problem.

Chemist gave her a printed cert confirming antigen result negative , looks like the EU covid cert.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 661 ✭✭✭larry1

If this was in Dublin, do you which pharmacy this was please? I am travelling in the morning and would like to get one today. Thanks!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,062 ✭✭✭Icsics

I’m due to fly to US in the 26th, do the new testing rules mean I’ve to be tested on 25th it would 24th be ok?’

GDY151

You need to have been tested within 24 hours of departure so would need to be 25th.

there was a thread/newspaper article yesterday @Icsics , some company based in swords/ not far from airport are opening Christmas day to accommodate people like yourself flying 26th...

I can't remember the name but there si definitely one.

RocDoc are closed and so are randox apparently.. that might change with recent announcement

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,062 ✭✭✭Icsics

Thanks Flyatoe, we’ve moved departure out a few days, gives us time to get tests sorted

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,764 ✭✭✭peejay1986

Heading to US next week. Anyone know how I might arrange getting a COVID test in NYC before my return flight to Ireland?

I was under the impression that an antigen test would be ok, once done professionally, but I'm seeing conflicting information.

Aso, I've no idea where to go and get one!

Any help would be hugely appreciated.

Quoting my friend in the US:

"There are (airport) testing sites. Doctor or urgent care, and pharmacies that do testing"

Chicago airport do tests from $120! I assume you'd find the same service in NY.

Antigen is fine once carried out by a professional.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 61 ✭✭timtim2016

Got an antigen test done today in Pharmacy, received a print out of EU digital Covid certificate.

But it states on it that this is not a travel document.

Still suitable to travel to USA on?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,031 ✭✭✭lynchie

If it doesn't contain the 5 points required by the CDC mentioned in an earlier post above it won't be accepted. Generally the ones that state not fit for travel do not list your passport number or dob on it

Anyone travelling to the states in the next couple of weeks getting nervous at all?

I don’t believe the USA will have any more travel bans, it’s here I’m worried about. Not that lockdowns in Ireland can or did stop anyone travelling so far since 2020.

Just the shite with coming back if you happened to have it over there and then arriving into Dublin with it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 61 ✭✭timtim2016

Just home, flew with Delta both ways to New York.

Got an antigen test in chemist for going, test gave me an EU printout. Couldn't upload to Delta online, but it was looked at just before check-in in Dublin by a delta agent, couldn't join queue without it. Filled in all other forms online checking in.

Most places in states looking for proof of vaccine (EU cert sufficient).

Coming home, got a free test near times Square out of a van by a company called CTS, the day before we flew home. Results emailed to you.

Again couldn't upload but never checked in JFK or Dublin. Only thing JFK were looking for was proof of vaccine and passenger locator for Ireland filled in online.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,962 ✭✭✭endofrainbow

Ignore that post. That was back when, with the surge of the new variant, it was rumored the US might impose a quarantine, which in the end they didn't.

I didn't cancel my trip.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15 JanLee

Did you have to fill in a passenger locator form for the States? Heading on Saturday and can’t find one online. Thank you!